GMAT Club

The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep Reviews

GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Save up $399 on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club
4.5 /5 Average Rating
5 star
95
4 star
57
3 star
9
2 star
2
1 star
0
Based on 163 reviews
February 07, 2016
Rfiske

Joined: Feb 06, 2016

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V37

Good Product

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

Having no idea what I was getting myself into this product was a huge help. after 40 hours of studying I was able to get a 640 (48Q, and 30V). I decided to give a little more effort and put an additional 60 hours in the second time I took the exam. My score went up 70 points to a 710(49Q, 37V)! My score was well balanced, but I didn't feel the extra 60 hours helped my quant at all. Verbal it was a huge help.

I was only able to study at odd hours (3-6am and 8-9pm) because I had an extremely busy schedule during my study months. This product was perfect for that schedule and yielded the desired results and 70 point improvement guarantee). Overall, I felt the product was worth the money.

Read More

January 12, 2016
jasonalleger

Joined: Jan 12, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
650 Q43 V37

Economist Highly Recommended

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I took The Economist MBA test prep. I loved that it is adaptive, and after my second practice test of scoring relatively well, it adjusted the level of difficulty to help me answer the more difficult questions. I felt that the verbal part really emphasizes a few key points, such as the use of 'one' and other sentence correction errors. While studying I kept wondering why it was so repetitive, but when I scored in a high percentile for the verbal portion I then understood why. I also really enjoyed the 1-on-1 tutoring sessions and found them very helpful. My only suggestion to those considering using The Economist is to schedule the tutoring sessions well in advance, as they tend to fill up quickly.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 27, 2015
Nafets23

Joined: Dec 27, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Great success with The Economist!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

Due to various factors, I only had 4 weeks available to prepare for my GMAT so I needed the programme that would enable be to achieve as much as possible in the little time available.

The Economist GMAT Prep allowed me to do a simulation test before I registered in order to gauge my level before starting the course. The course is clearly outlined and definitely helps to develop your higher order thinking skills and your approach to GMAT type problems. The fact that the course also adapts automatically to focus on your weaker areas is great.

After only 4 weeks of preparation and not even having completed the whole course my score went from 640 to the official score of 740.

Thank you!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 17, 2015
Jmnjd

Joined: May 22, 2013

Posts: 6

Kudos: 5

Unique adaptative system!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I started my Gmat Tutor course 3 weeks ago. I already tried other courses for Gmat but none have help me focus on my weakness as Gmat Tutor do.

Its a unique system were you are forced to improve your weakness while you don't waste valuable time on your strongest sections. Its amazing how good this works.

The course also show you updated statistics of your improvement (200-800 score scale) and your productivity (hours spend learning and course progress). This statistics are very interesting, although i think they could complement them with more, such as the accuracy rate by time of problem.

I also suggest Gmat Tutor to complement its offer with a The Economist free subscription - Its make all the sense as everyone knows the Economist as the best source to improve the reading skills of non-native speakers. Usually the first 3 months of subscription is cheap (12£ in UK and 30 € on Europe) - this values are a little portion of the costs of the course, so doesn't make sense why Gmat Tutor doesnt include this on the course.

I really advise everyone to try the Gmat Tutor for the first free 7 days - you will enjoy it! In 3 weeks i already improve 100 points avoiding careless mistakes.

Read More

November 25, 2015
NikitaO

Joined: Nov 20, 2014

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

The reasons for choosing Ecomonist

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I first encountered Economist GMAT Tutor as free iPad app which I installed and tried to use. It appeared to be interesting, yet inconvenient, mostly because of small answer choice button size - I have "made" really stupid mistakes many times. However, after I tried the course on Mac, it became clear that it is really good for me.

First, it did not contain long videos taking huge amounts of time to watch - all explanations are pure text and it was all I need. Since I can read rather fast, this form of explanation was preferable to me.

Then, it was course structure - it offers different topics and mixes Quant and Verbal ones you are currently working on with occasional flashback reviews of those already completed.

Another advantage is that I didn't need anything else to study - just my laptop, a notepad and a pen. No extra books, no other web pages - just me and Gmat Tutor. I understood that it is an advantage when was looking at other preparation tools and courses.

Finally, I really liked the material given and the quality of explanations. As a mathematician, I do not always agree with the methods offered, yet they are doubtlessly effective.

On my free Sample Test included I got Q50 and V31 meaning that I should concentrate on Verbal. Yet, reviewing sample test results in Quant showed me lots of stupid or careless mistakes I made, as well as lack of experience of solving certain specific types of problems. So while I plan to improve my Verbal score, I can certainly do much better in Quant - and this course is helping me with it.

So, summarizing my review, I see the following pros:
- efficient use of learning time
- really easy to use
- good quality of explanations

And the following cons:
- Math is sometimes simplified
- iPad app is not convenient due to small button size

Finally, the price. What I paid is really too much, and since I live in a rather poor country with high USD to local currency exchange rate, the course has cost me quite a lot. Yet if if will help me get the score I want and ultimately get into BS I want, I'll be fine with the price paid.

Read More

October 15, 2015
danileeg

Joined: Aug 26, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V46

Amazing resource for quant prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

When I first took a Manhattan Prep practice test, I got a 59% on the quant and a 710 overall score. I soon started using the Economist's app, and I loved it!! I only used it for Quant, but I saw that it made a huge difference. Super easy to use and it guides you at your own pace through all the material you'll need to know. I highly recommend this website for anyone who wants to up their Quant game on the exam. My score jumped to 770, and I didn't use any other resources at all. Only negative to the Economist app is that it seems like in order to schedule your "private tutoring" lessons, you have to reserve the time well in advance, even specifying what topic area you'll want to cover. Since I only had a month to study, this didn't make sense for me and I wasn't able to utilize that part of the package.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 20, 2015
TepperBound71

Joined: May 25, 2015

Posts: 21

Kudos: 11

Verified score:
640 Q42 V35

Improvement 90 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I didn't have much time to study for the GMAT, so after my first practice test and scored a 550, I was really disappointed. I had all all the GMAT practice books from a variety of sources (kaplan, official guide, etc.) and I seemed to be able to improve due to not having the strategy taught to me. After starting the week free trial, I realized that the GMAT Tutor was perfect for me. I only had about 2 months and got through about 60% of the course. I am glad to say that I improved 90 points to get a 640, which I am happy with for my first time applying! The only con was that I wish it had been obvious as for the total hours required in the course and that we could go back to previous lessons. Once you finish a lesson, you might get practice questions later, but you will not be able to see the main lesson again. Overall, I am really happy with the program! It was truly the only way I think I could have improved that much in such a short amount of time.

Read More

August 20, 2015
avik629

Joined: Mar 30, 2013

Posts: 95

Kudos: 35

Self-reported Score:
680 Q48 V35
690 Q50 V34
700 Q46 V40
730 Q50 V40

Absolutely unique!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

Of all the other courses that I have taken (magoosh, e-gmat, gmatpill, etc) Economist GMAT was by far the most real 'tutor' experience. The interface, language used to teach actually makes you feel like you are taking a live class. They slowly ease you into the theory, make you familiar with the concepts by testing you with problem snippets & then make you practice. This is done very organically. If you give a wrong answer they immediately show you where you went wrong. All of this is tracked in real-time which shows up in your progress chart. The ability to choose answer options with a 'sureness' rating is unique. I am not entirely sure , but I guess it is used in some algorithm to judge your preparedness. I was totally out of touch with the basics (like I could not tell you if 5:3:4 is a Pythagorean triplet without calculating), and it helped me get to the 650 plus level. Beyond which requires a lot of hard-work (read practice) and less or 'tutoring' in my opinion. Another thing that I liked about it is that, they straight away let you in on the nuanced tricks (like ball park estimation) that help to actually solve problems within time limits (like math problems in 2 min), which is the actual test and can mean the difference between 700 and 760. The tutoring sessions, AWA review & Ask-a -tutor features are a plus.

But all is not well with Economist GMAT. It has some serious drawbacks which I think needs to be rectified.

1.) You can broadly choose which topic you want to study, but you cannot specifically target a section, say, Rate-work problems. Going by their prescribed sequence is good for somebody who doesn't mind a strict curriculum.

2.) Practice tests and tutoring practice problems have same questions with changed numbers (at least in math section). So Practice tests would not be true reflections of your ability.

Essentially, if you have a lot of time or are not sure when to give the test, taking this course is a no brainer. However if you have a fixed deadline, it would take genuine effort to finish everything on this course and reap its true benefits.

Read More

July 06, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Great software - 100 point increase!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

Economist GMAT Tutor was invaluable in my GMAT preparation. I used this software exclusively and over a 3 month period got my score from 620 in my first prac test to 720 in my first GMAT exam. My verbal was already high, so I found it particularly useful for my quant learning. Really appreciated being able to work at my own pace, and access to tutors through ask-a-tutor and scheduled sessions meant I was never stuck on something I couldn't understand. The software recognised what areas I struggled with and focused on those areas in revision. Would definitely recommend the Economist GMAT tutor!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 01, 2015
DiananaH

Joined: Mar 26, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Loved the app!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I'm a fan of the app portion of this in particular -- especially b/c it let me study on the train and in 10-15 minute sections at a time on days when I didn't have a full hour or so to study. Having taken other GMAT courses/read through other GMAT books, this one really does take a different approach and gets you to think about the problems differently/more creatively, which I loved.

I focused mostly on the math section since that's where I needed the improvement.

Sadly, ultimately, it didn't help me correct my timing problems, so I didn't get as much out of the techniques in terms of a score increase!

Read More


93 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for The Economist GMAT Tutor