GMAT Club

The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep Reviews

GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Save up $399 on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club
4.5 /5 Average Rating
5 star
95
4 star
57
3 star
9
2 star
2
1 star
0
Based on 163 reviews
November 24, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Perfect and fully adaptive!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

The Economist GMAT Tutor is a must-have tool for anyone who plans to write GMAT and perform at his optimum. I kept postponing taking the GMAT till I tried the economist GMAT tutor's trial version, that when I knew this was the right time to beat the GMAT. This prep make learning fun and easy to combine with a busy work schedule.

In just about a month of using this prep, I have been reassured that a top score is within my reach. The clarity and understanding I have obtained from this prep is overwhelming. The prep is so interactive and clear that studying doesn't feel as stressful as we know studies to be but boosts your morale to go on and on.

In my brief use of this prep, my drive and focus with obtaining a good score has been increased because with every passing day my belief a passing with flying colours soars.

I recommend this prep for anyone to just try the trial version and I assure you, you will not regret one bit.

Read More

November 15, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Perfect for self-starters

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I scored 750, and I felt the software fit my learning style very well. I had only a few months to prepare for the GMAT, and I wanted a course that gave me a lot of freedom to work on my own time, and that adapted to my level of learning. The Economist's course was perfect for me because it estimated my level of learning and began at that point. The practice questions it gave me were very challenging, and I felt that the practice exams were pretty well representative of the real experience.

I liked that the program tracks your progress, and estimates your score based on how you’ve been doing (this feature only becomes available after completion of 10-15% of the course). I also liked that the cost was the lowest of the online options I found.

Read More

November 11, 2013
mayabbi

Joined: May 04, 2013

Posts: 4

Kudos: 0

Improving the score for 80 points in three weeks

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I decided to buy Economist Prep only three weeks before my exam. I was searching for the course that would help me to revise all the topics and that would be interactive. Economist Prep was exactly that.

First, it has this great customer interference that makes the course really easy to use. Second, the course adapts the study content to your needs: for example I had to practice sets so long that I stopped making mistakes. Third, you can use a lot of additional services. For example essay practice was simply great!

What I also noticed is that I was never too tired for Economist GMAT tutor - when I came back from job I was often really tired, but I always managed to convince me to do a couple of excercices in Economist course. And when I started, it was hard to stop and go to sleep :). Another thing that I would like to mention is that, I found their exams quite representative - I got in practice exams 650 and this was the score that I got in the real test.

Although I am not satisfied with the score, I have to admit that I gain 80 points at least because of Economist GMAT tutor. So to sum up: for me buying this course was one of the best decisions I have taken in my GMAT preparation time. Good luck to all ;)

Read More

November 03, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommended

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I used the GMAT Tutor Complete Package to prepare for the GMAT and found it to be very good preparation for the test. My results on the real GMAT were 49 quant, 45 verbal and 8 IR. Here are the three things that were strengths of this online course.

First, it was excellent preparation for the format and timing of the real exam. The course is computer-based and adaptive, just like the GMAT, so it’s much better practice than studying using books or a non-adaptive website. When I took the live GMAT, my timing and pacing were just right thanks to the way the program forced me to hone my time management skills. I was able to work through the real exam calmly and methodically because I had had so much realistic practice. The real exam was automatic for me.

Second, the quant part of the course was very effective for me. I studied engineering, but it had been years since I’d taken a course or test and the course presented all of the math topics for me to revise. After working through the explanations of, for example, rate problems, I then had the chance to work exam-type problems increasing in difficulty as I proved I could do the easier ones. I never had to spend much time doing easy problems and was able to quickly move onto doing lots of practice at the right level for me. The quant problems were very similar to the level and type of problems I got on the real GMAT.

Finally, I thought the progress chart and score forecaster were very motivating. I enjoyed seeing my progress line increase week on week. The score forecaster was introduced later in the course for me (perhaps they just rolled it out). The score forecaster was very accurate for me. It predicted my GMAT score as 750-760 and I got 760 on the live GMAT.

I don’t think the Reading Comprehension was as good as the other components. In the program, you read a passage and then answer a single question, unlike the real exam, which presents a passage followed by about 4 questions. I mentioned this to the customer service and they were not defensive at all – they said they knew about this and were going to change the RC I believe. The SC and CR practice was very good.

I was definitely impressed by the course, especially the adaptive nature of it and the way it zeroed in on problems at the right level of difficulty for me at each point of the course. It’s easily the best online study tool I’ve come across.

Read More

September 26, 2013
taniasteyn

Joined: Sep 26, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

60 point increase in 3 weeks!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I cannot say enough about how great this tool was for my quant prep. But before I delve into that, let me just say now that I didn't do any of the verbal prep. My verbal score was already in the 45 - 46 range and I didn't feel I needed improvement there.

I had been casually studying for the GMAT since about mid-June focusing only on Quant. After 5 practice tests I saw 0 increase in my score (I scored 40 three times and 41 twice). I finally realized I needed help in this section, but personal tutors were too expensive and the other courses offered (through Kaplan etc.) would not let me go at my own pace/focus only on quant. So I finally signed up for the one week free trial. After a week, I was already seeing results, so I signed up for the full package. I only had 2 weeks left until test day, and in the end I managed to do about 65% of the quant material. I ended up writing the test 3 weeks after starting with the Economist and, after not sleeping the night before, I managed to get a 760, with a 49 in quant.

It was a great tool that allowed me to study on my own schedule (you can set lesson times as short as 5 minutes) and, with the mobile app, it was even more flexible. I loved the interface and the artificial intelligence which tailored the program to your needs. I also made use of the essay feedback option, and it was certainly very useful to have an actual person review my essay and give me written feedback!

The only con I could possibly think of is that you don't have access to "later" material earlier in the course. For example, I wanted to review the IR material, but couldn't get to it without completing the math sections that came before it. But if you have more time than I did, I'm sure you'll have time to be able to complete 100% of the material and this shouldn't be a problem!

I cannot recommend this program highly enough. It's a great way to learn (I find it a happy medium between a class and self guided study with books) and the team at the Economist is very responsive and helpful!

Sign up for the free trial! I invested about 10 hours in that first week and got a really good sense of how useful it would be for me. You have nothing to lose.

Read More

January 09, 2015
avpk729

Tanyasteyn, thank you for this review, i was wondering if i am the only person who is finding this program useful. Im in my trail period and have been wondering if I should invest in the full plan.
To see that you have gained positive result is such a motivating factor.
Congrats on your high score.

September 14, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excelent course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I decided to take an online course because my first GMAT test was not good. I had studied only with books and they were not enough to get the score I needed to apply. With the 7 days of trial, I realized that the Economist GMAT Tutor was what I was looking for. During the course, I learned strategies and ways to address the questions, which are valuable things that you need for the exam, but you cannot find in books. I do not hesitate in recommending this online course.
When I had doubts about Maths, I got help from Aaron. His explanations were very helpful!

Read More

September 14, 2013
maximum15

Joined: Aug 24, 2013

Posts: 11

Kudos: 8

Self-reported Score:
730 Q46 V44

Everything you need for an inexpensive price

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I was fairly confident in the all of the material but needed to brush up on some of the math and sharpen some of my skills for data sufficiency and critical reasoning. GMAT Tutor has been perfect for that. It's nice that I don't have to plan what I'm going to study because the course just knows what I need next.

One disadvantage that I've found is that, although the dashboard includes summary notes of the sections I've covered, I don't think there's a way to select specific areas to review. I understand that the system will have me review material until I've mastered it, but I do feel like there are areas I've mastered that I'd like to go back and practice since I mastered them several weeks ago.

Read More

September 14, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
680 Q47 V36

Best way to absorb methods and concepts (for non-native speaker!)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I signed in this course just one month before my GMAT exam and I had extraordinary results in such a short time!

I have been studying traditionally (books of any types) for some months, but I was not able to improve my score to my potential with the learning methods. I am a non-native speaker and in this situation an interactive way of learning helped me figure out where I was going wrong with my English and where there were conceptual mistakes.

I'd love to study from my place but I found that a computer-based course helped me have time to study everywhere and anytime! (there are sections from 5 mins to 60 mins and sometimes I ended up studying a 5-minute section waiting for friends in the car)

I had a really positive experience, but the cost is HIGH! My advice is:
- choose it only if you are really willing to use it (it deserves it!)
- don't cram like me! start using it some time before the exam!

Read More

September 13, 2013
rajkapadia91

Joined: Aug 24, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

GMAT Economist Tutor Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 200 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

The Economist GMAT Tutor was great! I took this course up as I really wanted to broaden my avenues and I wanted to attend a top business school. Before this course, I took the test and I scored a 350. That was a shame! After putting in two months of hard work and commitment into this course, I got 580 -- a 230-point jump...Thats fantastic. I am very satisfied with my score. The GMAT Economist Tutor is an adaptive tutor course. Every time you answer a question, it maintains your level of excellence.

What really appealed to me about this course was that the summaries provided after each topic helped alot. Even though I took down several notes, I really did not have to as the summaries were very helpful. I utilized all four personal tutor sessions and they were of great help. The only thing what bothered me is I had to wake up at 6 am and 7am for these sessions. If the timings can be changed, that would be great.

Another thing what I liked is the "stop signs". That was the best advice I got from this course and it always kept me alert.

The 3 stimulated exams were of great help. I had no idea that the integrated reasoning was not included in the score and was counted separately. I learned a lot of new things from this course.

Apart from all the services, the customer support was phenomenal. Great communication and everyone was very helpful. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their GMAT scores. Although it says that it guarantees a 50+ point improvement, I would say it guarantees at least a 100+ point improvement. One needs to keep in mind that full commitment is required in this course. I put in at least 3 hrs a day into this course.

On a side note - I have improved my grammar in such a way that it has helped me write great essays for applications.

Read More

September 13, 2013
bgribble

Joined: Jul 04, 2013

Posts: 5

Kudos: 131

Self-reported Score:
650 Q42 V38
690 Q45 V40

Review of The Economist course - quant section

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I signed up for the Economist GMAT Tutor course after reading about it on both GMAT Club and the Economist website. For me, the initial attractions with the course were its technical content, accessibility (i.e. using the course on an iPad rather than attending classes or lugging books around) and adaptability (i.e. the course adjusts to address weak areas). And the Economist brand was also a factor. So I decided to sign up. I used the course only for the quant section; I used other resources for verbal.

Technical content
The course exceeded my expectations in this regard. Every topic was more than adequately covered with the required depth of knowledge, and an appropriate mix of theory and practice (via questions during each topic). In addition, a strategy was provided for answering questions for each topic – I found this aspect to be the most beneficial of the entire course. Particular standouts were the strategies for sets and fractions (“bowties”).

Accessibility
The course exceeded my expectations in this regard. There was no loss of functionality when using the course via iPad. At the start of each session, you simply enter the time you have to study and the area (i.e. quant or verbal or both) then the course does everything else automatically. A couple of times I lost internet connection – the course took me to the area where I was when I lost connection. The interface was slightly smaller when compared to the laptop version, so I found myself tapping the wrong button at times, but this was only a minor issue.

Adaptability
The course was not quite what I was expecting in this regard. Although it is true that the course adapts to your weaknesses, the method used is to provide more questions for the topics for which you are weak while you are working on other subsequent topics. While in principle this appears to be a good method, at the time I felt that what I needed was a refresher of the theory and strategies, rather than more and more questions thrown at me. Unfortunately you are unable to revisit the areas of the course already covered, other than via a small summary of each topic on the home page which I found to be less than ideal, especially as the summary was only high level and the interface was clunky on the iPad (i.e. no quick way of finding a specific topic; difficulty when trying to scroll).

Other comments
 You have access to a tutor, either via email or with one-on-one sessions. My tutor (Isaac) was very prompt and thorough in answering my emails and providing feedback, as well as providing honest feedback. I didn’t take up the sessions.
 You can query individual questions, and a tutor gets back to you within 24 hours most of the time – this is a good feature.
 There are practice exams which are a good reflection of the feel of the real thing, although possibly not fully representative of its difficulty.

Summary
Overall the course was enjoyable to work through, especially when answering the practice questions and receiving feedback from the tutor (e.g. statistics such as % of questions answered correctly, weak & strong areas). The course is certainly effective in providing the technical content and strategies, and is very accessible compared to traditional methods of learning. Unfortunately these strong points are partially offset by its inability to revisit topics in depth at a later stage.

Read More


93 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for The Economist GMAT Tutor