GMAT Club

The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep Reviews

GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Save up to $399 on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club
4.5 /5 Average Rating
5 star
67
4 star
27
3 star
9
2 star
2
1 star
1
Based on 106 reviews
November 06, 2019
Tesuque

Joined: Nov 06, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
760 Q49 V46

Solid GMAT prep course, great for self-paced learners

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

The Economist GMAT tutor was exactly what I needed in an online prep course. There is lots of flexibility in the course, from the order in which you tackle topics (given those topics don't have prerequisite material) to the speed at which you advance through lessons. I didn't want to do a course with videos, because some lessons I knew would take me longer to learn, while others I already knew and wanted to skip through. The Economist gave me this freedom with clickable, interactive lessons and the ability to "ask a tutor" anytime I wanted extra explanation.

This is also a great course for those who can't dedicate all their time to studying. I was studying for the GMAT while completing an internship, and this course was helpful in breaking things down to daily goals and targets for me to hit. The app was also a huge help in studying on the go. I would practice the verbal section in the metro on my way to and from work. (You can also practice the quant section in the app, but I found this less practical since it usually required paper and pen.)

The main criticism I have is about the "practice" options. Sometimes, I wanted to practice general topics like ratios or sentence correction. While you could opt to practice specific lessons within a topic like "ratio changes through addition or subtraction", you could not practice "ratios" as a general concept unless the algorithm suggested it. The algorithm was generally useful and targeted weak areas of mine, but there were points leading up to my test when it wasn't suggesting I study exactly what I wanted to study. This was not a deal breaker for me, and I would get around this by practicing each individual ratio lesson, but it is something that could have been improved.

Overall, the course was very helpful and allowed me to increase my score from good to great. The self-paced aspect of the course and many features (video tutor sessions, ask a tutor, etc.) I think would make the course a great fit for a variety of students!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 31, 2019
Pangolin

Joined: Dec 14, 2018

Posts: 19

Kudos: 15

Verified score:
710 Q47 V41

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

TL;DR: Content and features missing compared to competition. Tutoring not very helpful. Try the competition before you buy.

Economist GMAT Tutor was the first online prep software I tried and I made the amateur mistake of making a decision before trialing the online prep software from the competition.

I was attracted to Economist GMAT Tutor because of the combination of online prep software + live tutoring. Unfortunately, I very disappointed overall with my experience.

My main criticisms:
Quant content does not cover some concepts which are routinely tested on the GMAT such as venn diagrams, weighted averages, ratio problems where both quantities change and mixture problems.

Verbal content provides a strong foundation but does not address concepts for those targeting V40+. Eg. The content on modifiers, a crucial aspect of harder verbal questions, is only lightly covered. Furthermore, the focus on changes in meaning on harder verbal questions is also not thoroughly covered. I also found that the harder verbal questions on the mock exams did not accurately reflect actual GMAT, harder verbal questions.

I worked with two of their quant tutors and I was desperate for some experienced guidance on how to improve my quant score. I provided my tutors in advance with a full-breakdown of my situation, error-log insights but all I got from the tutoring were simple sessions where we ran through questions (no better than going through the threads of gmatclub and reading answer explanations.) One of the tutors even commented to me "I just don't know what else I can advise you on". - Not what I expected from a purportedly highly experienced tutor.

No analytics. This is a completely online piece of software but it provides you no statistics on what areas you are strong or weak at. (Various competitors offer this.)

No online error log. You can't save questions that you got wrong and re-visit them. (Various competitors offer this.)

Once you complete a topic you can't go back and review the entire material provided - you only get a brief summary of the content.

I eventually switched to a different online prep software and had a much better experience (and achieved the GMAT score I needed).

Read More

June 24, 2019
mmsab

Hi Pangolin!
I could not agree with you more on your verbal review. To which online prep did you switch? Heeeeelp.
Thank you!!!!!

September 08, 2019
jatinrajvanshi

Perfect description. This is exactly what I went through. Although, my problem was more towards verbal. I would strongly suggest anyone to go for other modules and not the economist. The only good part which I think about the economist was the evaluation of AWA's. That really helped in getting realistic idea on how well a person was writing. Apart from that, the full length test scoring was wierd. I always got more in the their SIT, as compared to GMAT Prep.

P.S.: I did exhaustive study from the GMATCLUB website. Solving, all OG 600 - 800 level questions. This really helped and got me a score of 680. I know its not 700+ ,but still better than what I would have got if I would have studies only economist material.

November 12, 2018
JasonTGirouard

Joined: May 28, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

130 Point Increase - Great Adaptive Learning!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

Overall: I loved the Economist GMAT Prep. Before signing up I tried the free trial of Veritas and Manhattan Prep's programs and found that they focused on force-feeding you practice problems, whereas Economist GMAT forced you to slow down and focus on strategy and the fundamentals before jumping into anything. Overall, I feel that this strategy most strongly contributed to my success.

Economist GMAT had a relentless focus on strategy as a whole, and strategy within each question type. I never would have thought that I'd be getting so many difficult problems correct, or that I would be able to diagnose "lost causes" so quickly.

While learning all of the fundamental sentence correction rules and math formulas can be very boring, Economist GMAT's adaptive learning program kept me focused and moving forward. It helped me build a strong base that I'm not sure I otherwise would have been able to create.

Economist GMAT's explanations are second to none. Every question helped me understand the fundamentals, and their adaptive program recognized areas of weaknesses and forced me to spend more time on them. It also forced me to revisit questions I had gotten wrong in the past.

I do feel that I wish that Economist GMAT had an option to focus exclusively on advanced topics when I was "approaching the asymptote" rather than leaving the difficulty of practice problems to chance.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 03, 2018
bermue

Joined: Nov 03, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q47 V37

110 points improvement while interning

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

When I decided to take the GMAT I was already working in an demanding internship. However I felt like I wouldn't have the energy to search for shortcuts and tricks on every topic after coming home late. I really enjoyed the ease of use of the Economist's program, that I was able to use it on the train or subway, and the personal lessons.
The best tips for me have been the ones on time management and test taking strategy, a subject which I underestimated until the very end. Gladly Isaac, whit whom I had two lessons stretched the importance enough for me to care about it. While I had some problems with applying them at first, they finally helped me to boost my test score a lot.
If you are a very organized and motivated person and have a lot of time I do believe that the GMAT is not a big problem. On the other hand, if you are working or for any reason have to take the test within the next month or two, I think that this program will take some pressure of you.
In addition, with the point increase or money-back-offer I haven't had anything to loose with this program, but my expectations have even been exceeded by far.
The only negative aspect I can think about is that you can not repeat a topic once you finished all the regarding questions.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 15, 2018
teteret

Joined: Aug 25, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Improved my GMAT score by 90 points

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I sat for my GMAT with minimal preparation and scored 670, well below my target score of 730. I tried the 1 week trial for the Economist GMAT prep program, liked the program and purchased the premium prep which guarantees a 70 point improvement. Within 1 month of using the program, my practice tests score were in the range of 750-770.

Pros:
Covers the key topic area for both quant and verbal with very clear guides and practice questions

Cons:
Once you have completed a topic, you can no longer go through the topic again. Instead only a summary is provided.
The AWA section is not very comprehensive but if your focus is on quant and verbal this will not be an issue.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 20, 2018
srsherrell

Joined: Jul 19, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
650

Economist GMAT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

The Economist GMAT platform helped me to achieve a 90 point improvement on the GMAT! I loved the ease of use of the mobile app and how I could study on the go or while waiting on people or appointments. I really needed improvement on the quant, my verbal was already in roughly the 80th percentile but it improved to the 93rd percentile as well.
Jake Wengroff really was by far the most helpful and caring tutor. He did an excellent job helping me comprehend some of the quant concepts and all around went above and beyond.
The one con of the Economist course in my option would be the inability to shift ahead to later topics but at the same time my score really improved so it could mean that their order served its purpose. Overall I would definitely recommend the Economist GMAT course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 10, 2018
mirandagrueiro

Joined: Jul 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
600 Q40 V33

On the go learning! Great Tutors

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I started with the program as a way to continue my studies without carrying to OG around. While traveling, I was able to use some offline features on the app. Tutor 1:1 are definitely worth the increase. I went to take the exam with 3 sessions under my belt and scored a 590. After 2 weeks and an additional 3 sessions I scored a 620. My baseline before starting the program was 540.

Bottom line - if you are looking to study while you travel this is great option. I was able to do very well in Quant (47 and 46) and in the 88th percentile in CR with this program. Schedule the tutoring sessions with a pattern in mind and focus on what you need to change!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 22, 2018
orangecarrot

Joined: Dec 21, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

Good program for learning!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I think the Economist GMAT prep course is a really good course for those who struggle with sitting down and reading prep books. I really liked the interface and found the lessons pretty useful.

Pros:
- I really loved working with Kasia during my "Live Sessions". She always put in the work to make sure I was learning what I could and I actually felt that she cared about how I would be doing on the GMAT.
- Overall, this course really motivated me to study for the GMAT every day and it was really easy to use and learn with.
- They have some really good tips and tricks for both Quant and Verbal. They not only teach you how to do math or what idioms to know, but how to tackle Data Sufficiency questions or Inference questions.
- The one week trial is a really good way to see if you would like using this course.
- Their "Ask a Question" to tutors usually give great answers.

Cons:
- I didn't use up my "Ask a Question" feature nor did I use up my "Essay Grading" features. The Economist doesn't tell you that it can take a week to grade an essay and that they're graded on first come, first serve basis. So by the time I got to working on the essay, there was no point in submitting one.
- Some of the questions in their CAT exams repeat from the prep course learning part.
- The "Help Desk" is only available on weekdays during normal work hours, so it may be difficult if you work full time and use this course on weekends or in the evening.
- Not all the "Live Sessions" are great. Most of mine were, but I had one guy who I literally asked to teach me the concept and instead he just kept asking me to do practice questions. In addition, the tutors are frequently unable to use the Economist platform and ask you to move to Skype which takes a couple precious minutes away from your lesson. (Kasia was super nice about this and always went over our scheduled session by a couple minutes to make up for it, but not all tutors did this.)
- They can only reset your entire practice test and not a section of it.
- You can't really skip sections or choose a random section unless you've completed the course/completed the parts of the course that they want you to complete.

Summary:
While I didn't use up all of my features, I definitely liked having them and would highly recommend the Economist prep course for those who are having trouble using the MP books or those who don't remember much math. If I were to do it all over again, I would still have bought this course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 09, 2018
alexandrudimitriu

Joined: Mar 09, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V40

Got me a 720 on my first try

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I bought the Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep 3 month plan on November 4th 2017. At that point, I had already been to some GMAT quant lessons in my city and knew absolutely NOTHING about the verbal part. On February 26th I sit my GMAT Exam for the very first time and scored a 720, Verbal 40, Quant 48.

I can honestly say that the Economist GMAT Tutor was the best preparation tool I could use. It's a very friendly program and it really taught me everything I needed to know in order to secure a good score. I was really impressed with the Verbal lessons, they carefully walk you through all the grammar you need for SC in a very interactive way. The RC and CR tips were also very effective.

The tutoring sessions helped me a lot, the tutors are really helpful and have plenty of experience with all kinds of students, so they know in which direction they need to point you.

All things considered, I think that the Economist GMAT Tutor is a damn good investment if you want a good score and I warmly suggest it to anyone planning to take the GMAT.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 27, 2018
justin7705

Joined: Aug 20, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
760 Q49 V47

Amazing Prep Software

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I used the manhattan books and 4 months of study to get to a score of 690. Two years later, the economist tutor brought me up to a 760. The difference is in the amount of practice available on your toughest topics. Instead of rereading the same section of a book over and over, this software presents more and more questions, all at your target score level, until it finally clicks.

The verbal sections are broken down well into bite-sized chunks that can be easily cross-referenced with the solutions in the official guide, so the synergy between the two is great. I relied less on the quant section than I did the verbal, but it does a great job of introducing difficult topics and easy ones alike.

The practice tests are different than GMATPrep, but effective. They always seemed to focus on topics that I struggled with. There was about a 70-100 point difference between these and my final official score.

Lastly, for those topics that you just can't figure out, the one-on-one tutoring sessions are amazing. I highly recommend Jake Wengroff not only as an excellent instructor, but as an avid supporter of my success. He took personal interest in me and my weaknesses, and gave me motivation when I needed it most. Especially useful sessions included a review of GMATPrep practice test questions that I missed. It was great to observe his question-answering process.

Overall, highly recommend. Especially if you are looking to dramatically improve your verbal score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 13, 2018
alqatamiya

Hi @justin7705

Your situation sounds much like my current one. I last took the GMAT in august 2016 and got a 680 (can't remember the exact Q & V scores as I cancelled the score due to disappointment in the result). I now have about two months before I start a job at an MBB consulting firm but want to take the GMAT again and aim for 720+ so that I don't have to study while working long hours. I haven't touched any material in 2 years so am a bit unsure whether to start again with the books or go with this tutor. I'm personally looking to improve my Quant rather than verbal, do you think this course would still be useful? And is it a set day by day study guide or can you take it at a faster pace if you need to.

Thanks for any tips you might have in advance, its much appreciated

July 14, 2018
justin7705

Yes I still think the course will be useful. It will do a full refresh of every topic and then allow you to focus on what your weak points are. It lets you go as fast or as slow as you want to, but it gates certain content so that you finish in order and don't skip around too much.

October 20, 2018
philipkim101

If your score is 690, does economist GMAT 70+ guarantee ensure a 750 or a money-back? Or do they limit your improvement to 50+ because of their terms and conditions? Their wording is very ambiguous so just wanted to clarify.. thanks for your time.

October 20, 2018
justin7705

Before I purchased the product I reached out to their support staff about this exact question and they were very helpful.


38 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for The Economist GMAT Tutor