GMAT Club

The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep Reviews

GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Save up to $399 The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club
4.4 /5 Average Rating
5 star
24
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
2
Based on 33 reviews
November 04, 2019
dcummins

Joined: Feb 14, 2017

Posts: 1314

Kudos: 719

Verified score:
650 Q47 V33

Good, but could be better

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

I used the Economist GMAT when I first began this journey in 2017.

Disclaimer: my review is based on my experience with Economist GMAT back in 2017 up to August, 2017. I am not aware of the design and features in the software right now.

There are many pros and cons to this software.

The cons:
- you can't choose specific modules to focus on as the software decides what is right for you. There were times when I didn't think it was a good idea for me to be focusing on very advanced concepts such as Perm+probability, so it didn't make sense for this software to regurgitate it back at me.
- in line with my first con, the software doesn't allow you to go back and review content... this is a real pain because you need to either take screenshots or jot down the content as you go and if you miss out thats it. Kapish.


Pros:
+ great support from the staff. The staff are really friendly and supportive and take the time to teach you whatever it is you want. I will say though, that it would be better to build a longer-term relationship with a tutor than to alternate back and forth with someone, as you could do via the platform, as a longer term tutor should have a vested interest in your success.

Read More

July 24, 2019
lauraucros1

Joined: Jun 21, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q49 V40

THIS IS TRULY THE BEST GMAT COURSE PREP OUT THERE!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

After taking a Manhattan Prep class and still not hitting my target score, I decided to give the Economist GMAT tutor a try. I can now say it was the best decision. If you are taking the GMAT soon, I recommend you spend money on this program - it is worth it! They have a score increase guarantee, so it is really a no-brainer. My favorite aspects of the Economists GMAT tutor were that the program is self-paced and that they focus a lot on strategies to reach the right answer. It was also really nice not having to take books everywhere.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 24, 2019
EmiDibe

Joined: Sep 21, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

Couldn't have done it without it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

Pros:
- provides you with easy to use, understandable frameworks tailored for the kind of problem you are facing. They really help to reduce the time solve each problem
- if you get a problem wrong, you will have to face this problem again, effectively making sure that you have understood the theory behind it, and not just read through the solution.
- the app was easy to use and provided on the go support
- on the web version the program provided daily objectives that helped a lot in following the study program.
- AWA correction service was very helpful
- test simulation were pretty realistc

Cons:
- the app didn't have all the features of the online version and could be improved
- I didn't find the tutoring sessions very helpful (that's why I used only one)
- I think that a metric that shows your weakest areas, your improvements over time would have been helpful
- after you are done with a topic you can't review it again, only a synthesis will be available
- daily study objectives are pretty standard each day and should have been more tailored

I want to point out that the cons are very minor and do not detract from the overall usefulness of the course.

Read More

December 20, 2018
Ajita1010

Joined: Aug 08, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
610 Q42 V32

Economist GMAT tutor was most helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

My experience with Economist GMAT tutor was simply marvellous! I did not want to choose the traditional method of classes every evening, since it does not work with my method of studying. So I tried out the Economist GMAT tutor's free 7-day plan and loved it. I signed up for the premium plan which is valid for 6 months, allows you to practice 6 tests and 6 essays and also provides 6 tutor sessions. Plus you get an online subscription to the Economist magazine.
The format of the Economist GMAT website is so beautiful; you start with basic concepts and further difficult concepts are unlocked as you proceed further, so it all feels like playing a game! Any doubts are cleared by their tutors instantly and the solutions given for each question are so conversational, you feel as if it's a friend talking to you. They also have an excellent mobile app, which I used while commuting, thus ensuring that I was losing no time at all.
The online video sessions with the tutors are super helpful, since they give you methods, tips & tricks to solve any type of question. These online tutorials really boosted my score, especially the ones with the tutor Jake Wengroff.
AWA essay templates provided by the course are also brilliant.
Overall, this course made my life more comfortable during the GMAT, boosted my score in a huge way and allowed me to choose and design my own study method. Must-buy for individualistic learners who hate rote learning systems.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 09, 2018
Paris1989

Joined: Dec 09, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q48 V40

The Economist Prep course gave me what I hoped for

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

I bought the ultimate prep course of the economist which is 6 months long. It allowed me to take my time and prepare without being in a rush. This by itself reduced the stress most candidates usually have by having to sit the exam last minute before the application deadline. The program was really satisfying and it helped a lot to learn. It was even fun at times. The way that the material was designed helped me really learn what I had to in order to reduce the time needed to reply to the questions. It presented the same type of questions through different perspective and through repetition I learned how to solve the questions and quickly recognize what kind of problem I was solving for. I improved my score and I got a 720. I had taken the gmat twice before and never before had I achieved a 7+ score...

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 27, 2018
ny2mba

Joined: Dec 23, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent Service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

I selected GMAT tutor as a result of its flexible nature. I wanted to make sure that I was taking in all of the content, so felt that the written nature of the program was preferable over other programs that featured videos. I found the "ask a tutor" feature to be the most helpful portion of the ultimate package because I could get detailed analysis on any question I was confused on. I found myself asking for more detailed explanation of many verbal questions, which is why I rated the verbal portion of the program as a 4. I scored a 600 on my diagnostic test, and ended up with a 730, so was more than happy with the final results. The AWA prep created a simple formula that allowed me to score a 6.0 with very little practice. I would definitely recommend this service to anyone that cannot commit to an in-person prep course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 05, 2018
lawstudent23

Joined: Mar 05, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q45 V42

Better than I could have ever hoped for!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

I’m a law student in my final year of a five year course in India. My interests lie primarily in corporate law, venture capital and entrepreneurship. I wanted to give the GMAT while I was still in law school to apply to a few deferred MBA programs. Since I’m on a residential campus and I decided pretty late that I wanted to give the GMAT, I couldn’t go to any actual classes I decided to do a google search for online courses and hope for the best! I came across the Economist GMAT tutor, and after a few days research I decided to go ahead with it. My math skills have always been week, and after four and a half years of law school which has included no math at all, I was pretty worried.

The Economist GMAT tutor turned out to be excellent. While studying for my law school semester exams (5 subjects), I was able to study for the GMAT as well thanks to the way their GMAT course is structured. The tutors are all great (at least the ones I interacted with!) and extremely accommodating. The course focused a lot on methods to solve sums quickly which I thought was extremely helpful and exactly what was required. The verbal section of the course also had great methods of identifying the type of question and remembering the rules associated with it.

I ended up with a 710 (Q45 V42) on my first attempt with a 96 percentile in english. After 65-70% of the course it just makes you practice and that really helped. The practice tests and the ability to review them and discuss them with your tutors was extremely beneficial.

I would definitely recommend the Economist GMAT Tutor to anyone thinking of giving the GMAT!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 03, 2018
sahilbhel

Joined: Apr 26, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q50 V33

Overall Satisfied - Got a 40 points increse

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

I bought the ultimate prep package which comes with 70+ point increase guarantee I got a 650 on my first practice test. This was my baseline score.

I had 7 days of free trial before I pay for the course. At the end of the free trial I completed almost 10% of the course and was definitely convinced that it's worth spending.

Overall, the course content and methods explained in both Verbal and Quant were very helpful. I was comfortable with the format and my course progress. However, 25% down the course I took the second practice test and got 640. This got me worried and I decided to use the live strategy sessions with GMAT tutors. I got some good advice from Isaac who helped me improve my time management issues. Although, it took me 2 more GMAT practice test to figure out the most optimal way to manage the time, once I figured my score was consistently over 670.

I scored a 690 on my last practice test with Economist and scored 690 and 710 on 2 mba.com tests. Eventually, on the D day, I got 690 (V33 Q50).

I was able to cover most of the topics (although took me 6 months since I am a busy full-time working professional). The tests were great and similar to the real test. Also, the live sessions were helpful in assessing the practice tests and discussing customized strategies based on the performance.

Overall, my experience with Economist was good. I would recommend this course to people who are busy working professionals and prefer to prepare at their own pace.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 07, 2017
oayoub

Joined: Dec 07, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

from 590 to 730

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

I took my first practice test after a few hours of class and got a 590, and after I finished my class I got a final 730. I took a 6 month course since I have an irregular work schedule requiring to work overtime. For this reason, I could not study for 2 or 3 months and it was not until the last 3 months that I started studying almost everyday after work and on weekends.

The pros of the course would be :
- It starts from the basics. It is not necessary to be familiar with mathematical concepts or be strong in grammar to follow the course. I loved that the explanations are very detailed and the course does not assume you have prior knowledge.
- Another point I liked was the "ask a tutor" feature. It is possible to ask a tutor whenever you have a question. I did not use this feature a lot but I think it's very important.
- The tutoring sessions are a strong point in this course. you can schedule up to 6 sessions in quant, verbal, IR or AWA sections. I used all my sessions and they proved to be useful. I recommend to take a strategy tutoring sessions after few hours of studying. My tutor Jake gave me several advices on how to study, when to take the practice exams..etc
- Each time you can choose from a selection of 5 subjects from Quant or verbal section.
- It is also very helpful to submit AWA essay for correction. It is basically simple if you know the basics and stick with the provided template.
- Sentence correction !! This section is excellent. Even as a non-native speaker, this section became my strong point in the gmat. The course has extensive explanations and treats all the points and traps you could encounter in the exam.
- Quant section is also very well made. As a "science" person, I kind of knew the concepts in the quants but I forgot some of them. the course explains the basics and gives tricks on how to solve most types of questions you would encounter. and just to clarify, I don't think a person who is good at maths has a great advantage. If you follow the course, you can learn ways to solve these problems fast and different from how you were used to do.

The cons :
- It would be great if they offer a search option to search for the subjects already studied
- It is not possible to come back to previously solved questions (except for the exams). but you can always screenshot an interesting question to review for later
- After finishing the course, you cannot choose which part to review. the review is categorized as per the gmat sections ( Critical reasoning, Data sufficiency etc), but you cannot choose which type of questions to review.

Other comments I would like to add
- The IR section is hard compared with the real exam (at leas in my case). I had a hard time with the multi source reasoning of the Economist. However, the real Gmat exam IR section was not that hard, so the course kind of trains
- Don't hesitate to use the tutor's feature, tutoring sessions, AWA correction
- I don't recommend taking practice exams before finishing around 70% of the course. You can take maybe one exam to see your initial level but not more.
- Personally I think reading comprehension was the hardest part for me, and I think it's very hard to improve quickly. So, I focused on sentence correction, critical reasoning, and quant section.
- The course needs dedication and spending enough time for each subject

Bottom line : I enjoyed this course and it helped me get from a 590 to a 730.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 11, 2017
juanialmarza

Joined: Jul 11, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

From 480 to 730

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 200 Points

Course The Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

In the first practice exam I took I got a score of 480. After 5 months studying with The Economist GMAT tutor I improved to 730 in the real test.
Pros:
- You choose when and where to study. I work 9 hours a day I would have hated to have had to go to a class room. I would study sentence correction on my phone on my way to work, Quant and Verbal on my lunchtime at the office and again Quant and Verbal in my pajamas at home.
- The whole experience is similar to the GMAT test. Since you are always in front of a screen, doing timed exercises, when you do the practice exams or the real test, you already it works. No surprises and I guess you get less nervous.
- Superb in sentence correction. Even as a non-native speaker, there is little you can do to improve Reading C and Critical R, but when it comes to SC this tutor makes a difference.
- Good explanations. In Quant and Verbal the explanations to the problems are complete and easier to understand compared to what I have seen in other tutors.
- Top level tutors. The Skype sessions that come with the TE are very useful when you feel weak at a particular subject.

Cons
- The only thing I can think of is that when you feel that you want to do exercises of a Quant certain topic (lets say probabilities), the TE does not let you choose that topic. Anyways, you can always go to the GMAT Club forums and get an overdose of the kind of problems you are looking for.

Bottomline
I truly recommend TE tutor. I am sure I could not have gotten 730 without it.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

4 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for The Economist GMAT Tutor