GMAT Club

Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Since its founding in 2002, Veritas Prep has prepared tens of thousands students for the GMAT in more than 90 locations around the world. Today Veritas Prep is the world's fastest-growing GMAT prep and admissions consulting provider.

Save $100 + $250 bonus offer on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!
Veritas Prep Deal Page

Veritas Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course
 $1650  $1550
Reviews
355
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online
 $1650  $1550
Reviews
404
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Veritas Prep On-Demand
$850
Reviews
43
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now
Veritas Prep Immersion Course
 $1800  $1700
Reviews
18
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Veritas Prep Private Tutoring
$2450
Reviews
47
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Veritas Prep Private Tutoring
$4450
Reviews
47
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Veritas Prep Private Tutoring
$5950
Reviews
47
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Veritas Prep Private Tutoring
$7450
Reviews
47
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Veritas Prep GMAT Instructors

Ravi Sreerama
Reviews
311
Average Rating
5.0
Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Reviews
70
Average Rating
4.9
Anthony Ritz
Reviews
46
Average Rating
4.9
Chris Kane
Reviews
45
Average Rating
5.0
David Newland
Reviews
33
Average Rating
4.7

Reviews:

908 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
September 23, 2012
mariodj

Joined: Mar 11, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Veritas Prep Full Course - London

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Amit Kakkad

Location London, United Kingdom

I am very pleased with the Veritas Gmat Full course which I attended this summer, and consider it to be a very good investment towards my overall GMAT score and subsequent professional career.

In particular would like to highlight that Amit, our instructor, was extremely good in providing us with the right tools in learning, understanding and cracking the test. Example is I found out very useful the SWIMMER technic in approaching CR questions, and feel now much more confident in facing the verbal part.

Further Amit managed to add to every lesson the right sense of humour and positive attitude which made the 3 hours session much more interesting and easy to comprehend. In conclusion I would be please to recommend Veritas to other GMAT takers.

Read More

August 20, 2012
bladen45

Joined: Jun 26, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Vertias Prep worth the cost

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Eric Maltzer

Location Washington, DC USA

If you are looking for a class that covers every aspect of the GMAT in depth, Veritas Prep should be at the top of your list. Yes the class is expensive but the material presented is worth every penny. It is not
enough to simply know what information is covered on the GMAT. You need to know strategies for
answering each different type of question and Veritas Prep will give you those strategies.

Veritas has excellent material but the real difference maker for me was the instructor. The instructor in
my Veritas Prep class was Eric Maltzer and he was phenomenal. The classes ran late into the evening
(7pm-10pm) on Tuesdays and Thursdays but he did an excellent job presenting the material with energy
and insight. Eric was well prepared for each class and made a good effort to get to know each student. I
had one, sit-down, one-on-one discussion with him but others in my class had two or even three of
these discussions. He made himself available outside of class hours and even after the class was
complete. About 4 weeks after the classes ended I emailed Eric a question about the GMAT and he
responded the same day. He truly cares and wants to see each person he instructs perform well. Like I
said earlier, it isn't enough to simply know the material for the GMAT you need to me mentally agile and creative in how you solve GMAT problems and that's what Eric taught us.

Veritas is good at explaining a section then giving the class a couple of problems to solve. These
problems allow students to apply new knowledge and ask questions. Doing a couple of problems right
away helped the information sink in more for me.
My starting score on 25 May was 580 (38Q, 29V, determined through a Veritas GMAT exam).

Immediately after the class finished my score was 600 and I had done almost no studying beyond sitting through class. I know a 20-point jump isn't much but my verbal (weakest part of the test for me) went from a 29 to a 35 simply by sitting through class. Three days before I took the GMAT, I took my final practice test (again through a Veritas GMAT exam) and scored a 670 (40Q and 40V). I knew a score that high would get me into the program I wanted so I was completely relaxed going into the exam. I took the GMAT exam on 26 July and scored a 680 (46Q and 37V). I scored a 4.5 on the analytical writing. To Veritas’s credit they had excellent material on analytical writing and Eric gave an exceptional 90 minute class on writing. I simply chose not to focus my efforts on the writing portion and it showed. I received a 6 on the integrated reasoning section. Veritas had good material on the integrated reasoning section and Eric had taken a GMAT exam with the integrated reasoning about two weeks before the class ended so he had a lot of insight on that section. I felt my time was better spent focusing on the quantitative and verbal sections so that’s what I did. Overall my total score improved by 100 points from my first practice exam to the actual GMAT. Simply put, the results speak for themselves.

On 15 August 2012 I received my acceptance letter from the University of Michigan. That was my
ultimate goal and I truly believe Veritas Prep and specifically, Eric Maltzer were a big part of me being
accepted. I am now enrolled and starting classes on 5 September. If you need a high GMAT score to get
into a business program I highly recommend Veritas Prep. If you’re in the DC area, you should look up
Eric Maltzer.

Read More

August 16, 2012
Karite

Joined: Nov 11, 2011

Posts: 46

Kudos: 24

Gleecher Center

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Frankie Beecroft

Location Chicago-Wacker, IL USA

I signed up for the in person class located in the Gleecher Center. I started the course in May 2012. The class was supposed to help me to gain a better understanding of the GMAT. The problems in the workbooks are very similar to the actual GMAT problems and the On-Demand classes were very informative and helpful. You can always go back and watch the lessons again.

I gave Veritas Prep a very low score because the instructor for the course did a very poor job. The individual was always second guessing themselves and he or she did not seem thrilled to be teaching. At first the class started out very well but it went down hill from there. We went into the class somewhat confused and left out even more confused.

I did contact Veritas Prep regarding the situation and they offered me a retake. But why should the students have to retake the course because of a poor performance by their instructor. We expected more from a company with a reputation such as Veritas Prep. I cannot recommend this course because of my experience with them. And I did read the reviews and most of them were good.

PROS:
• Workbook problems are similar to GMAT problems
• On Demand classes are very useful.
• Retake Policy

CONS:
• The workbooks are instructor driven and you cannot self study with them because most of them consist of practice problems. Note: The workbooks have lots of space so the students can write in them.
• Veritas Tests are not representative to the actual GMAT
• No IR section
• Our instructor told us that he or she only takes practice tests to stay up to date.
• There are 14 workbooks for the class.
• Instructor’s lack of availability after class and lack of response when responding to emails.

Read More

July 31, 2012
akalpita

Joined: Jan 15, 2010

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
590 Q46 V24

Extensive study material!! Prepares you thoroughly

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Stuart Park

Location San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA

I was looking for GMAT class that will offer me longer duration class and Veritas offered 42 hours of classroom plus extensive study material.

Material is very good for practice. It prepares you to take the GMAT. I am confident after taking class. I like their online assistance as well. And 15 tests are a good practice. After doing all this and then OG I am confident to take the test now.

Our instructor Stuart Park was very knowledgable and very friendly. He would show us the short approach to a problem and make concepts clear for everyone. He often stayed back late ( after 10 pm) when one of us had any questions or needed help solving any problem. And mostly, he motivated a lot to take the practice tests and how to approach the GMAT.

I am glad I took this course. I would say, it's better if you already know what all is covered in GMAT and take the class, it will benefit you more.

Only problem I had was getting into the building. You need access card to get into and Stuart told us some of the old students didn't return their access cards so they were short of it. So, if you are late you have to call up and then get into the building. But it seems they are changing the location.

Overall, I totally recommend this course for anyone who needs lot of preparation and needs to gain confidence on how to beat the GMAT.

Read More

May 23, 2012
draysh

Joined: Apr 03, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
730 Q48 V42

Top Notch Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Weekend Course

Instructor Brian Galvin

Location Gardena, CA USA

I signed up for a weekend class with Veritas with the thought that I only needed something to force me to get me started with my studying. Long story short, I was very wrong. Veritas helped me see that there is so much more to doing well on the test than simply practice and some conceptual knowledge. I was fairing somewhat decently with GMAT practice questions prior to the course but I was not confident that I was at that desired 700 level ability, and the explanations in the practice book I had purchased (ahem, Princeton Review) were just not cutting it.

In regard to the class itself, I can say nothing but good things. The four 9-hour day weekend course was quick but highly informative. It did take a little mental stamina to keep focused for that much time at once, but it was definitely rewarding. Brian, the instructor, was a real pro and it was easy to see that he really cared about the quality and usefulness of the class. The materials he passed out were very structured and succinct. Everything he went over had a purpose, so you really get value in the time you invest. Most importantly, the course doesn't just serve as a quick fix for lack of self-study as I had originally thought. Rather, it re-teaches you how to approach the exam by helping you be more efficient and think in a manner that avoids all the pitfalls the GMAT likes to throw at you. I have taken several practice exams already and am consistently scoring in the 700 range. I know that Veritas played a huge part in that.

Read More

April 09, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent and Comprehensive

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Neil Moakley

Location Philadelphia, PA USA

I found Veritas to be a fully comprehensive and thorough GMAT Prep course. My instructor was excellent and the information provided in the books and in the answer section was very helpful. In addition, I found the online resources to be great and the access to additional tests, online classes, and instructors (either through a call in line or on line 'office hours') unparalleled. The diagnostic quizes and practice tests were a huge help, and the additional instructor support amazing. I would recommend this to anyone and am confident that my score would not have been as high without Veritas. All an all, a beneficial experience and well worth the price.

Read More

February 09, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 154

Kudos: 8

Self-reported Score:
600
730 Q47 V44

Improvement 130 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Matt Douglas

Location Anaheim, CA USA

i really liked that they offer a free course retake, which i counted on and ended up doing. you can choose to do your retake as a full course (like i did) or for people with less time, do the intensive weekend crash course (a popular choice). veritas offers the most in-class hours and practice exams than any other prep company (17). be aware that the practice exams they offer aren’t all theirs–2 of them are the free ones you can get directly from the gmac; 5 are from 800score, which you can also purchase from them; and only the remaining 10 are veritas…that’s still a lot though.

they also have a ton of great resources like diagnostic tests, online lectures (helpful if you miss a class), etc…and i personally think they have some of the better looking materials/branding (not that that’s important to your score in the least). i’m not sure if they’re still doing this, but since veritas offers admissions consulting services as well, you could also enroll in their one-day consulting seminar where you meet with some of their consultants, learn admissions strategies, and can ask questions. when i went last year, i heard they were thinking of discontinuing that because they said it was cutting into the consulting business.

by enrolling in the course, you have access to all those resources and get a complete set of books. there are 15 books and you go through 13 of them in-class. each book alternates between quant/verbal and the class structure also follows this format. the 2 books that aren’t gone through in class are both quant–book 0: math essentials and book 14: advanced word problems & quant review.

in my 2 classes i had 2 different teachers and i really liked my first teacher matt douglas. he’s so goofy and dorky and just made the class kind of fun. so if you’re in the san diego area, try to get him. i’m not sure how the other instructors differ, but between him and my other teacher mia mciver, matt spent most of the class going through problems from the book whereas mia had a slower pace and tried to spend a lot of time teaching the concepts.

i wanted to take a class to keep myself accountable. these classes are not cheap…at all. some of them offer free trials where you can sit in on a class on the first day and decide from there whether to enroll. i know both veritas and manhattan gmat do that. when i retook my veritas course, one guy was doing the trial and asked me for my input on whether he should fork out the dough and enroll. i told him then, and i’m telling you all now–the classes will not do anything for you unless you put in your due diligence. even though i told him this, toward the end of the class, he lamented that he thought his score would dramatically improve. there are plenty of people who self-study and do very well on their own…a prep course is definitely not needed. if you are self-disciplined and studious, i would say you don’t need to take a class. and even if you’re like me, you still need to self-study. like i said in my previous post, the average top bschool student put in an average of 100 hours on the gmat…that’s a lot of studying.

Read More

February 01, 2012

Joined: Dec 31, 1969

Posts:

Kudos: 0

Must-take course for non-quant students

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I can't say enough good things about Veritas Prep ... and especially Kevin. He took an individualized approach to each lesson once he had gotten to know each student's strengths and weaknesses. He gave me specific study advice on breaks and before/after class that really helped me. Overall, the course is very thorough--the books are great, the OnDemand sessions that accompany each book are infinitely helpful for those of us who don't always "get it" in the course of one evening, and the fact that you can call for help with any of the problems and even retake the course if you need to makes Veritas Prep a stand-out GMAT prep course in my opinion!

Read More

January 12, 2012
LetsGoMets

Joined: Nov 10, 2009

Posts: 248

Kudos: 49

Veritas Prep -- Very Helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online

Location Online

My verbal skills weren't that great in high school (I scored 630 on the SAT Verbal), but I did think they improved through college. Despite this, I signed up for a weekend intensive course through Veritas.

The reasoning for Veritas was twofold: The timing was best, and they offered a verbal-only course.

Anyway, because of the course, I had access to 8 practice tests. I didn't study anything else (until the course). I just took practice tests. I wanted to get the timing right. I actually would take the same test multiple times to make sure that concepts sunk in. Being that the test is adaptive, when you retake it and change a wrong answer (the first go-round) to a correct answer this time, you get new questions afterwards. I'd keep track of my scores the first time I took each practice test, but I would retake each test until I had a 790, and then I'd move on.

This process continued for 2 weeks. Note, I didn't study at all on the weekends (course time excluded), I thought my 40 hour weeks of studying was enough.

The weekend course was really an all day thing both Saturday and Sunday. I had my test the Thursday immediately following the course.

That Monday I wrote practice essays for the first time. I didn't think there was any need beforehand, and the course gave what was a surefire way to score a 6 on the AWA, so I just needed to make sure the timing worked. For the rest of the week, I just took practice tests during work. My scores were improving and I was consistently 730+ with verbal scores being anywhere from 38 to 49.

Read More

January 12, 2012
sweiner

Joined: Nov 05, 2009

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Veritas Prep Online -- I personally loved the Veritas program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Location Online

There seems to be quite a bit of suspicion regarding positive comments on this site, so let me preface my post by saying I don’t work for either of these testing companies. I’m just a guy who had ok grades in college and realized he’d need to completely destroy the GMAT to have any prayer of getting into a decent MBA program. I chose to do the Veritas Prep online course and admittedly really don’t know much about Manhattan GMAT, so I can’t compare the two curriculums. I can, however, say that I was extremely pleased with my GMAT score after completing the Veritas Prep course.

Before starting any of the online lessons, I completed one of the practice exams offered in the online course and scored a 610. I realize that you could argue the validity of using this score as a baseline considering that it isn’t “an official GMAT score,” but it’s, quite frankly, the only score I have to go off, as I’d never taken the GMAT before. After completing the Veritas course, I sat for the GMAT last week and scored a 730. Any way you slice it, baseline score or no baseline score, that is a pretty good place to be when testing day has come and gone.

I personally loved the Veritas program. The online course gives you a ton of flexibility and more tests and practice problems than you would ever really want to do. It puts all the resources that you need to get a great score on the exam at your fingertips, and helps to ensure that the time you’re investing in studying for the GMAT is being used efficiently. I think the highest compliment you can really pay to a preparatory course is that it ultimately gives you control over how well you will do on an exam, such that the more you dedicate yourself to their curriculum, the higher you’ll score on the exam. I honestly believe that the Veritas course meets this criterion, and that you can rest assured that there won’t be any surprises come exam day.

Read More


596 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Veritas Prep