Bobby Umar's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [16]
Veritas Prep - GMAT Masters
July 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:  London | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
If you are considering taking the GMAT and wish to achieve a high score, I would, without hesitation, recommend at least considering VP.

Since signing up a few months ago, my experience has been unrivalled. Everything about VP is geared to getting me that high GMAT score I so desperately want. Below are the four key areas that I think set VP apart:

1. Their curriculum

There is a lot to learn for the GMAT. Entrants need to be familiar with an AWFUL lot of things, such as geometry, sentence correction and so on. VP have broken down this bank of required knowledge into 12 easy-to-read modules. Each module is broken down further into 'Skillbuilders', that introduce basic/foundation ideas and concepts, Lessons, where students are guided through the key areas whilst in class, and Homework, where students complete numerous drills and questions to get the learning set to memory. Breaking topics down has helped me understand ideas and concepts at a very deep level.

2. Their online portal

From the moment a student signs up, they then have access to an absolute plethora of information through their VP portal. This portal contains information that fully supports the curriculum and classroom teachings. Examples include videos of instructors working through the foundation ideas and concepts for each of the 12 topics, question banks and solutions for each topic, 17 full practice exams with debrief and solutions, access to online workshop sessions, and full soft-copies of the curriculum books.

This is all accessible from one's tablet or smartphone, so students can learn as and when they need to.

3. The course

My full-week immersion course was fantastic. It was structured such that it was assumed students had worked through the 'Skillbuilders' before the course. This enabled the teacher to then focus on the medium to high level learnings. We worked through one module in 3 hours, so did 2 modules per day. This was enough time to learn a fair bit, whilst still being short enough to not burn students out by day 3!

It is worth mentioning that this course is very concise. It assumes that students have already worked through the basic Skillbuilders, and will follow the course up by completing the homeworks and practice exams. This is great for me - I was prepared to put the time in, and am still working through my homework questions now. I have noticed a marked difference in how I approach questions, and am getting significantly more questions correct than I did before the course.

Working through the course alone is fine if that is how you work. I thought I worked best that way, until I attended the course. Attending the class made me realise that I learned as much from my peers as I did from the books. It is so useful to hear how others tackle problems, how they struggle with certain areas, and how they are finding the GMAT journey overall.

4. The Tutors

Over the past decade, I have attended University, accountancy classes, CFA classes and now Veritas Prep's GMAT classes. Out of all of those classes, and there are hundreds of them, I never felt as engaged with the tutor about the topic as I did with my VP class. Sure, my undergraduate tutors were professors of Mathematics and were perhaps smarter than any other tutor, but I never felt as involved as I did with my VP class.

My tutor really took the curriculum and made it leap from the page. This is vital to retaining that information and learning.

My tutor was Bobby Umar, and I would wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone who wishes to nail the GMAT. The guy is a bit of a legend, in my opinion. Not only is he incredibly smart, but he is approachable, engaging and knowledgeable. If you can book a course with Bobby as the tutor, DO SO! For me, he alone could be a differentiating factor between prep providers - he is that good.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Fast pasted, but effective
June 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I didnt take the exam yet, but I found the course to be really helpful. I found the class to go really fast through the concepts, so if you havent started studying yet, you might be pretty lost.

My suggestion would be to sign up for the course, go through the books and then go to the class. In my opinion, books were excellent! If you are not currently working, you should be fine with keeping up with the pace, but if you are are, it might be challenging for you.

Also, Verisas provides you with a bunch of prep tests, so once you are done understanding the concepts and practising those, tests are an excellent way to practice.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Awesome GMAT instructor - Bobby Umar!
April 21 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By tejalt joined: April 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
For all of you trying to figure out which class to take for GMAT prep - sign up for Veritas Prep with Bobby Umar! I work full time and was concerned that I wouldn't pay attention during an evening course - Bobby is not only engaging and very knowledgable, but his tips and tricks on the GMAT and general MBA life lessons is fantastic! He will keep you motivated and in tune during the entire course - it is tough to study on your own and the tips that Bobby gives are great for getting through tricky math problems. I highly recommend taking a course with Bobby Umar!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Full Course - Toronto
April 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
If you're willing to put the work in, this course is for you. All theory / foundation is expected to be self-taught, classes focus more on high order thinking, which is great if you're aiming for a very high score.

What turned this course from a good one to a great one was definitely the instructor. Bobby Umar was extremely engaging and hands-on, he genuinely cares about his students and did a great job supporting each of us. He knows just about everything there is to know about the GMAT and has a strong ability to teach / apply that knowledge. He's very charismatic and full of energy - even when the material was a little dense, class was still fun and engaging.

I highly recommend this course!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Time well spent
April 14 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By marinahanna joined: April 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Take Bobby Umar’s class! It’s time well spent. Bobby has a real knack for simplifying seemingly difficult concepts and questions. This class has been a great guide to navigating the GMAT. Added bonus: the MBA life lessons.

It has also been helpful to have access to all the online resources at veritasprep.com. The explanations for the homework problem sets have been especially useful. You can also access course lessons online, which I found myself reviewing when I’m studying on my own.

I definitely feel better equipped for the GMAT with the strategies that I picked up in this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

GMAT isnt so scary anymore!!
April 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Osama Javed joined: April 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Veritas GMAT prep course is comprehensive and the strategies introduced are critical. The course comprises of 12 3-hour classes and these are filled with valuable content. Spread out over 6 weeks, I found this course to be efficiently laid out in a way that was neither slow nor overwhelming. I had ample time to prepare for the classes and the 3 hour classes were long enough to extract great feedback. The book-set for this course is one of the best resources you can find anywhere. Apart from the concise lessons, these books are loaded with great questions that test you as you progress. The online resources provided were also very helpful. I kept track of my progress and got to review the questions from the books. All in all, my experience with this course has been extremely positive.
My instructor, Bobby Umar, was simply amazing. He certainly had an expert command on the material and gave phenomenal feedback. He is a great speaker and a terrific teacher. He also has an uncanny ability to recalibrate a student’s expectations and fears about the GMAT, making a higher GMAT score seem completely attainable. I found this approach to be extremely effective and motivating, and this was reflected in my improvement. It’s scary and jarring tackling the GMAT prep on your own and it was a relief to have had Bobby as a teacher. So, if you are serious about scoring really high on the GMAT, you should definitely opt for Bobby Umar’s class. He is the man!!

To anyone who is considering Veritas Prep or have reservations because of its price, I cannot recommend it highly enough. It’s absolutely worth the price and I am very glad I took the Veritas GMAT course in Toronto.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Fun Times - Decent Content
November 28 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I took the Veritas course this fall on the recommendation of a friend who had enjoyed it and subsequently scored well on the GMAT. My experience was much the same.

Bobby is a great guy. He's smart and does his best to make the class entertaining so you can pay attention after a long day at work. In addition to keeping the course material engaging he also gave the class "MBA Life" tips about the overall experience that were always fun. I ended up creating a study group with 5 others from my class (which Bobby encourages) and we went out for drinks a few times. All good on that side of things.

Unfortunately, the downside of all the fun is that during class you very rarely get to the more difficult material at the end of each lesson. Depending on where you are scoring that is not necessarily such a bad thing, but for me it was always a bit of a letdown. Otherwise he is a great teacher and the Veritas material is very strong (I preferred it over both the official guide and the Kaplan books) and easy to follow along with on your own in case you don't get to it in class.

All in all a solid 4 out of 5 and I would recommend it to anyone looking to boost their score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly recommend Veritas Prep
June 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 180 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Did not know much about what to expect when I signed up for this course. Based on a short research I figured Veritas Prep will give me the most benefit in a short period of time. Just a few days later I received a box full of course books and other materials (note, headphone, pen...etc). And their website with variety of resources, practice tests, study plans...etc was done very neatly and professionally.

Our instructor Bobby was absolutely great from the start. He brought very pleasant and fun environment and also high energy to every class. He was very knowledgeable with every topic. He was very good.

Overall it's a great course but having classes on Monday then on Wednesday was little stressful. Perhaps Monday and Thursday would be better. Also 3 hour class was not short but for many times it was not enough to fully cover the material in detail. But it is not fair to complain about that since there just are a lot of materials.

I highly recommend this course.
Lots of strategies, great book, great resources, numerous practice tests, and fantastic instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Worth the cost, especially the instructor!
March 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By aac joined: March 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
Upon signing up for the course, I was impressed by immediate access to Veritas' online resources. Throughout the course, the easy to use and thorough selection of practice tests and library of class recordings proved immensely helpful. I was pleasantly surprised by the extremely heavy fedex that arrived containing the course materials.

Bobby was a fantastic instructor who struck the perfect balance of knowledge, humour, and most outstandingly - motivation. He was thorough with the lessons and quick to answer questions - whether quant or verbal. His energy and humour were critical to making the class a success, after all, this was an evening class and our group was coming from long days at the office. Bobby kept our attention and kept things moving.

Throughout the course Bobby was emphatic about ensuring we keep up with materials, create and recreate our study plans, and ultimately write the test. In this regard I believe he really went above the call of duty. I believe that I may not have written the test so soon after the course if it was not for Bobby's motivational words.

I do think it's important to point out that for one of the classes, where Bobby fell ill, we had a replacement instructor. He wasn't bad, but I definitely felt the difference in energy and proficiency between him and our regular instructor. I'd suggest sitting in on the first class before confirming the course if you want to ensure you get a great instructor.

Other details you might like to know:
- The course took place in an office in the downtown core - there was plenty of space and it was far nicer than I expected.
- Our group formed study groups outside the course and became friends, we still get together over 6 months later.
- The veritas materials are fantastic, and you can call their hotline anytime to discuss problems and get questions answered

All in all, this was worth the investment for me. It's not a trivial amount of money, but I highly recommend spending the extra dough to cover all your bases.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great teacher!
February 28 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By GEMc joined: February 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Bobby Umar
I just completed the Veritas course taught by Bobby Umar in Toronto. I had high expectations going in, given Veritas’ reputation, but Bobby was above and beyond what I expected. Not only is his knowledge of the GMAT material and strategies extensive…he is passionate, inspiring, highly entertaining, and provides tips and value beyond the course material. Further, he is deeply invested in all of his students and their success and is an incredible resource. Highly recommend his course!

Overall Veritas has a really great methodology that is really aimed at getting a high score...and the new materials are really a cut above the rest.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.