MBAPrepSchool Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [58]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
Where GMAT Prep Ends, MBA Prep School Begins. Featuring on-demand video tutorials, MBA PrepTools, project management tools, private campus forums, up-to-the-minute school news feeds and members-only private events.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Tyler Cormney
April 18 | 2012

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By misterchipper joined: February 7, 2010 | 37 | 6 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I was introduced to Tyler through a friend who used Tyler through his admissions process (who matriculated at Sloan). Although moderately reluctant to spend money on something I could possibly do on my own, I realized that an MBA admissions consultant could be very helpful – not to mention, it seemed that >50% of applicants who matriculated at a brand name school used a consultant.
As such, I began researching various MBA admissions consulting firms (the Big 3) and speaking with their past customers. Although some of them did seem happy with their experience, I estimated that about 2/3rd were either 1) woefully unimpressed with the work 2) felt ripped off 3) did not get into a top school 4) were given a “guarantee” of admission that amounted to worthless.
With this information at hand, I quickly moved to secure Tyler’s services.
What differentiates Tyler from everyone else is that he is incredibly creative, incredibly knowledgeable, wonderful listener (he remembers absolutely everything) incredibly disciplined, and intensely focused on crafting a compelling narrative. My undergraduate school was impressive, my GPA was not, and my leadership background was not particularly interesting – however, Tyler was able to help me craft an incredibly, fascinating story to tell the admissions committee. Even more importantly, he was able to help me better understand/determine what I want to do with my life.
In summary, getting into a top notch MBA school is very hard – there are hundreds of other people just like you and I with similar GMAT, GPA, and leadership experiences. The key (that I reluctantly learned) is that you must separate yourself from the rest of the pack by crafting a compelling narrative – at which Tyler is second to none. I highly recommend Tyler – so much so that I referred my younger brother to him (he is now matriculating at Kellogg). Tyler is absolutely, unequivocally worth every penny.

Feel free to PM me if you have any questions
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend Chris Aitken & MBAPrepSchool
April 07 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By fw120 joined: April 7, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
I was introduced to Chris by a friend, and spoke to him and several other consultants are various firms before making a final decision on who to work with. Part of why I chose Chris was his balanced (in my view) take on the strengths and weaknesses of my candidacy in our initial call. Compared to other consultants who dwelled on the positives, I appreciated Chris’s attention to the gaps in my application, and his focus on how to address them. To be honest, I didn’t leave that first call feeling completely optimistic about the whole process, but on reflection I decided that’s what I was looking for from a consultant – someone to challenge and push me, and therefore help improve my application in ways I wouldn’t be able to do on my own.

I was late to the Round 1 process (Chris and I first spoke in August), and Chris helped me figure out a sensible number of schools to apply to (3). In retrospect, having seen other friends’ experiences, I’m very happy I didn’t push to submit more, and equally happy that I made sure to get apps in to all of my “top” choices within the same round. The videos / materials / worksheets developed by MBA Prep School were also a real benefit early in the process.

After our initial call, it was clear that I had a long way to go in creating a coherent “story” to tell across applications; the brainstorming and ideation exercises provided by MBA Prep School really helped me to bring forward the strongest elements in my background to deploy across schools and essays.
All that said, I think the personal dynamics really make or break this kind of relationship, and this is where Chris really shone. He certainly passes the “good guy” test, and – as I had judged from our initial call – was consistently supportive and easy to work with, while always challenging and looking to improve the final product. Most importantly, I never once felt like I had anything less than Chris’s full attention and commitment to my application – I might as well have been the only project he was working on. This was especially important given the short timeline we were working with – and frankly, time management was another primary reason I had engaged a consultant in the first place.

Chris helped develop a clear timeline to manage the process of getting 3 strong applications submitted, and he pushed me the whole way to accomplish that goal.

This process is tough. Working with Chris helped me internalize that, and realize that all you can do is put yourself in the best position to succeed and then roll the dice. Chris helped me put my best foot forward in all my applications – and even so, there were some surprises and disappointments. In the end, I got into one of my three top schools; and I also got a generous scholarship. I’m happy with my outcome, and grateful to Chris Aitken and MBA Prep School for helping me get there!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Extraordinary consultant!
October 22 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
With little more than three weeks to apply to my three dream schools (Kellogg, Tuck, Yale SOM), I had very little room for error and no time to waste.

Insert: Tyler Cormney.

After a speed dating rotation (i.e. free 30-minute trials) with the most highly recommended MBA consultants available, I signed with Ty believing he could provide something I just could not get working on my own. I could not have been more right!

Ty is an extraordinary coach. From the moment I signed on, I felt that he was as invested in my success as I was. With such a tight deadline, it was invaluable to have a counselor whose feedback I trusted wholeheartedly. Ty’s advice is the product of having worked with hundreds of applicants, and I felt the value of it through every step of the application process.

As a “career switcher” into brand management, I specifically appreciated Tyler’s guidance in crafting a detailed career goals plan. He helped me identify my transferrable skills, coached me through informational interviews with professionals at various levels of their marketing careers, and even put me in touch with his own contacts!

In three short weeks, Tyler motivated me through his entire process of approaching MBA applications. When I finally pressed “SUBMIT”, I was confident that I had put the best “me” forward in my applications and I would have no regrets regardless of outcome.

As Ty has often reminded me, “It’s not where you begin, it’s where you finish.” In hindsight, I know exactly how different my application would have been with and without Tyler’s help. I feel so blessed to have made the choice I did to work with Tyler Cormney.


- Kellogg, Class of 2015 (with scholarship); admitted to Tuck and Yale SOM
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly recommend Chris Aitken!
September 12 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
A good consultant is highly adept at helping with editing essays. A great one is so much more – he is a mentor, a coach, and a friend.

I can say, without reservation, that Chris is a fantastic admissions consultant. I would recommend him without reservation. With his help, I was overjoyed to get admitted to a top 5 school. But even if my application process had been unsuccessful, I would still recommend him.

Firstly – Chris genuinely interested in *you*. I interviewed 7 other admissions consultants before selecting Chris. Unlike others that simply delivered a ‘templatized’ pitch, Chris had done his homework into my background, and seemed genuinely interested in learning more about who I was on our call. This is critical because the more interested a consultant is in digging deep into your specific story, the better his ability and desire help you craft a unique message.

Secondly – Chris is approachable and balanced. Through the process, Chris helped draw out not only my strengths, but also my weaknesses. Because he’s just such a “good guy” it’s really easy to open up to him. This is absolutely crucial in developing an authentic, self-aware application.

Thirdly – Chris pushes you – hard. Applying to business school can be a physically exhausting and emotionally draining process. While Chris sympathizes with this, he doesn’t let you off easy. He pushes you to go through every aspect the MBAPrepSchool process (which in itself is great, by the way) and constantly drives you to conduct deeper research to better understand yourself and develop more specific messages.

Fourthly – Chris is aware and nuanced in his approach. A small but telling example – every time Chris came across a blog / article that he thought could help me – he’d email me its link. Another example - some admissions consultants conveniently told me that all of the schools were “pretty much the same”. Chris believed the exact opposite and drove me to understand the unique flavor of each school. Additionally, I’m an Indian applicant – and Chris, well, isn’t Indian. But his general awareness and ability to learn quickly was so high that this didn’t matter – indeed he served as an excellent bridge between my Indian mind-set and the culture of each of my US target schools. In an environment where you’re constantly trying to differentiate yourself from peers with similar backgrounds, while simultaneously trying to demonstrate fit with your target schools, these little things go a long way.

Finally, and most importantly – Chris is highly committed and always exceeds expectations. Despite my hectic international travel schedule, Chris always figured out a convenient time for us to speak. Most importantly, I never felt like I could not reach out to him because I was using ‘too much’ of his time. Quite the opposite – he pushed me to engage with him constantly and we spoke as often as I felt necessary. His turnaround time for feedback was consistently quick – responding to multiple essays within 12 hours. As admissions deadlines approached, I expected his availability to reduce drastically given the pressures of juggling with several clients simultaneously. This did not happen. I don’t know how he managed to do so, but he always made time for me. Chris never compromises in helping me put my best foot forward, even if it meant going beyond what was ‘contracted’. When things unexpectedly get tough, you want somebody that you can rely on in your corner no matter what. Chris is that person.

The obvious outcome of my interaction with Chris was that I was able to get into a ‘dream business school’. But on reflection, I realize this engagement has had a more lasting impact – through it I learned a lot about myself. This will not only help me through business school, but life as a whole!

Thank you Chris!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Chris Aitken is the real deal -- attending MIT Sloan this fall
April 17 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
Nothing but good vibes and kudos for Chris Aitken. I applied to 4 schools, was accepted into 2, and ultimately selected MIT Sloan because of the school’s strength in tech and entrepreneurship. A year ago, the mere thought of getting accepted into a “Top 5” was a pipe dream and yet here I am. Chris was absolutely instrumental in my application process – no doubt I wouldn’t have had such success without his coaching.

I was referred to Chris through my work colleague who had been worked with him and was accepted into a couple of top business schools the previous year. Before enlisting with Team Chris, I held a few introductory calls with other b-school consultants. From my initial calls, it was evident that Chris had just the right amount of realism and idealism. I felt that this approach really fit me. I never liked hearing that I could “do anything” but also didn’t appreciate people who saw me as anything less.

I started working with Chris in August 2014 and since I intended on applying Round 1, I was already fairly late to the process. For folks with busy work schedules, hiring Chris is a must. The cost of a great consultant / coach such as Chris more than outweighs the amount of time saved trying to figure everything out on your own. Although I was late to the process, Chris created a work plan for me and led me through the vast online resources at MBA Prep. We did a ton of brainstorming and planning upfront, which paid off big time down the road. Chris challenged me to think critically about my story and helped me put my best foot forward for each application. Although I have a fairly traditional background (banking/PE), he helped me discover many “hidden gems” that I didn’t even know existed. Throughout the entire process, Chris was very engaged, hands-on, and detail-oriented. Chris genuinely cared to see through my success.

The application process is brutal and time-consuming but with the right coaching and advice, it can be strangely insightful. In many ways, the process acts as a professional “life check.” Looking back, I would say the numerous hours of conversations I’ve had with Chris helped me truly understand what I wanted to do with my career. I consider Chris to be a good friend and life coach. I’ve been fortunate to work with him and would absolutely recommend his coaching.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Unequivocally Recommend Chris Aitken & MBA Prep School
April 29 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rolyat421 joined: February 4, 2014 | 53 | 24 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Chris Aitken
If you are fortunate enough to have the opportunity to work with Chris Aitken during your MBA application process, I unequivocally and wholeheartedly recommend you do so. Working with Chris was one of the most transformational experiences I've gone through thus far in my life. Not only did our time together end in my eventual acceptance to my dream school, Stanford, but also I've emerged the other end more confident, more directed in my career, and better equipped to take full advantage of the opportunities that will be available to me when I matriculate this fall.

I reached out to Chris in February as a hopeful Round 1 applicant. At that point, I had yet to take the GMAT and was only a few years out of college. I was also well aware that, as someone with no GMAT score to benchmark from, vaguely defined career goals, limited work experience, and relatively lackluster post-college extracurricular activities, my dream of attending Stanford rightfully seemed preposterous. And that is exactly what many other consultants told me.

But not Chris. While he was always realistic about my chances and never gave me false hope, when I told him I believed I could achieve this, at no point did he doubt or discourage me. Even come July when I started questioning my candidacy, Chris supported me not with lofty words, but with practical, insightful advice that helped me grow and gain the confidence I needed to continue forward.

Chris is the kind of consultant who truly cares about the individuals he works with. Yes, he has all the qualities that may seem obvious to look for -- he never worries about the amount of time you spend working together, turns around strategic guidance and essay suggestions inconceivably fast, and truly knows how to help you craft your best application while remaining true to your unique voice and story. But Chris is so much more than just a consultant. He is a true friend who continues to give me guidance long after my Stanford deposit has been submitted. He sends me articles that he thinks I will find interesting, invites me to lunch when I'm in town, and continues to give his insightful perspective into my career choices. He is truly invested in the outcome of my life, and not just my applications. I feel fortunate to have him in my corner.

For those of you just beginning the MBA application process, I am jealous of the transformational journey you have ahead. I sincerely believe that Chris Aitken and the MBA Prep School team are the best possible people to take that journey with. They not only helped me reach my MBA goals, but also helped me unlock my true potential. I am forever grateful for their support and cannot recommend them enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Worth it every single penny. Result: got admitted in my top school with scholarship
January 25 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ftuzzo joined: October 6, 2010 | 20 | 15 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Virtual Consultant  
It is time for me to write this review.
Chris and Tyler did a great job to walk me through the process of applying to top business schools.
Once I was done with the Gmat...a new journey began...
I did not want to spend a lot of money but I needed help..so I decided to invest for a seasonal pass (it was 97$ v good deal). I am so happy I took this decision. The video course gave me flexibility to follow it with my work schedule. On my free time, I was watching those videos as I was advancing during my application process. From essays (choosing the right stories), resume (the right format... very helpful for international students) to the interview process. MBAprep walked me through all these important steps. It was v helpful for the price I paid..On the top of the excellent preparation that the videos gave me, I really found v helpful the bi-weekly conference calls. Those conference calls create a safe environment for students to ask all kind of questions (interviews, essays and anything you might have in your mind related to your MBA.) GLAD I made this choice...THANKS A LOT Chris and Tyler. Hope this review helps other students choosing MBAPrep. If you are like me not willing or able to invest a large sum of money on preparing your mba applications, MBAprep will give you the tools to be competitive ... In my humble opinion in the end is always up to you (experience, work progression and etc) but You need to show those elements in the right way. Btw Thanks GmatClub for showing the right path from Gmat Preparation to the application process...
Best of Luck on your application process.
FT
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend Tyler Cormney at MBAPrepSchool
April 17 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By LionO joined: October 21, 2010 | 23 | 2 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I would encourage anyone who’s serious about earning an acceptance letter to a top-10 MBA program seek out Tyler’s consulting services. Before hiring Tyler, I interviewed other MBA admission consultants and quickly found Tyler’s approach to the application process, supported by MBAPrepSchool’s videos and useful tools, was the best fit for me – comprehensive, well structured, and logically thought-out. I had excellent resources to walk me through literally EVERY step of the application process.
Tyler’s contributions didn’t stop there. His background in creative writing helped me think critically about how to craft application essays that really brought my strengths to the surface while framing my story in a way that told a compelling story. With Tyler’s coaching, I produced applications that far exceeded what I could have produced on my own.
As an older (early 30’s), non-traditional applicant, the odds were certainly stacked against me but with Tyler’s assistance, I earned an acceptance letter to a Top-5 MBA program! I can’t recommend Tyler’s service enough, thanks Tyler!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Finally got that acceptance call with Tyler's support
May 21 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By pkatmi joined: September 8, 2010 | 77 | 2 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
It's been a long time coming. This was my second application season, the first time I went on my own and it did not work out as I had expected (hoped actually).

The second season, I signed up with Tyler Cormney from MBA Prep School and without a doubt, it was the best decision and investment in the MBA application process.

I have no hesitation in saying that without Tyler’s help, I would not have made me into a top 10 MBA program with a scholarship to boot!

Coming from one of the toughest applicant pools –Indian male with an engineering degree and technology experience, I knew it was going to be a tough application season. And as if that wasn’t enough, my age certainly wasn’t in my favor – I was already over 30 when I applied!

I knew my margin for error was extremely small. And that is where Tyler’s help made all the difference in the world. I needed to put in a top-notch application where everything fell perfectly into place and Tyler ‘guided’ me in creating one. And this is what I want to stress on – Tyler wouldn’t do your work, he will be your guide. You will do the work, you will spend the long nights working on those essays, and at times you will get frustrated. But you know what? In the end, when you get that acceptance call, you will know that it is truly you who has got accepted, it is your hard work that has paid off. And that is one of the best feelings ever!

Thank you so much Tyler for pushing me through this. For bringing out the best in me!

Oh and there’s one more thing I’d like to add – Don’t be surprised if Tyler doesn’t try to sell himself too much in the initial consultation call! Frankly, that is what sold me to go to him. He is unlike many other consulting companies in this regard who will try to sell their services aggressively. With Tyler it works the opposite way. The real magic starts after you sign up not before!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Admission Consulting/Online Course
January 27 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By iAqua4 joined: February 6, 2009 | 35 | 6 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Virtual Consultant   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I initially found about Tyler and Chris when I was going through some forums and found their advice to be unique and then signed up for an information interview to understand and go through my profile. This is the call when I was introduced to the online service which was very new. My conversation on phone had given me a confidence that this would be a worthwhile service specially from an international students point of view since it is difficult for international students to afford a full application service from an international consultant. This is where the MBAPrepSchool's online tutorials helped me a lot.

This is the first recommendation that I am writing for any service and honestly can tell you that the book and the online tutorials that have been created by Tyler and Chris are really really useful. As an applicant what we need is a step by step methodology to create an application. This is only possible with one on one coaching. However MBAPrepSchool's online tutorials completely fill this gap. Not only you get a step by step direction but also understand what any business school look for in candidates. By any I mean any.

The international MBA application journey is a whole year journey if you want to get into a top school. It is highly important to get involved in developing your profile as well as doing a proper business school search. End of the day you will invest a lot of money whichever business school you choose. And before choosing any school you need to choose your goals. What do you want to do after MBA? The best help apart from everything that I got out of this service - understanding and designing my goals (which I understand that no other online service is teaching currently) and how to make a better resume. The goals part is very crucial and I can give my two cents that all HBS, Stanford people will be using the similar goals (the way it is taught in this service) to apply.

The other very helpful part of this service were- the weekly/monthly group calls where I could clear my doubts and the forum questionnaires which both Chris and Tyler used to answer very promptly. I can attest that Chris and Tyler were instrumental in improving my understanding of the process and that has helped me to gain admission to a top business school in US.
Thanks Chris and Tyler.

Best
iAqua4
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Discounts on MBAPrep School Admissions Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Save $100
on MBA Prep School
- On-Demand Video Tutorials
- MBA PrepTools
- Project Management Tools
Learn more