e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1337]
    Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep [514]
    
e-GMAT Quant Live Prep [155]
    
e-GMAT Verbal Online [668]
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

REAL REVIEWS
YOU CAN TRUST

We read, verify and individually confirm each review

How we verify reviews

Step 1

Purshase Verification

We verify that the reviewer was a client by comparing the email address they provide with the company's database.

Step 2

Identity Verification

We verify the reviewer's identity through one of the following:

Official GMAT Score Report

GMAT Club Membership Term

School E-mail Address

(Admissions consulting only)

Step 3

We manually process all reviews, and if a review does not meet any of the prior criteria, the review will not be posted.

Step 4

We pay $20 for each GMAT Course and Admission Consultan review only if we are certain it is a real review. If we cannot verify it, we won't issue a giftcard for it and we won't publish it.

We recommend that you only rely on the verified reviews in whatever decisions you make.

GMAT Course Review
17 out of 19 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Anonymous 3 6
Self-reported Score:

760

Q51

V41

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

I signed up e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep in June 2013. The main reason that I chose it was because of very positive reviews. "Best course for non-native speakers", "Huge improvement in verbal scores" etc. These advertisements and reviews really attracted my attention. I'm a non-native English speaker and I want to improve my verbal score. So I decided to buy the course. Having tried the course, taken the GMAT and later tried another source (MGMAT Verbal Prep Set), I feel I have to offer another side of story amid so many positive reviews here. Let's talk about the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
1. Provides a very well structured study plan with concepts and quizzes for each section. (This may be useful for anyone who lacks discipline)
2. Comes with free mock exams that can generate performance analytical reports. (However, the timer doesn't work well, leading to wrong timings of your response time)
3. The e-GMAT time was kind enough to extend my course when I couldn't finish it in time. (The login was valid for about 6 months and they extended it for 2 months)

Cons:
1. Repetition in both contents and methods. I completed the whole course and took notes diligently. At the end I found some similar notes appeared multiple times--some contents were repeated here and there. The few e-GMAT methods used to solve Verbal questions were heavily repeated.

2. Methods don't work. In theory they sound good. But after studying the course for 8 months, I found these methods very time consuming and mentally draining in practice. They just don't work well in mock/real GMAT exams.

3. The course is very inflexible. This inflexibility, coupled with the fact that the course is extremely content heavy, makes it very time consuming to finish the whole course. It took me 8 months to finish (I work full time). I can't control my pace. Some contents are easy for me and repeated too much. The repetition plus sheer volume of contents buries the important areas which I may be weak at. It feels as if you read a whole library of books within 8 months. At the end, your mind goes blank. Maybe you remember a little here and there but nothing stands out. ROI is just so low: you spent so much time reaping so little improvement in your verbal skills.

4. The online lectures are a COMPLETE waste of time (and money). This was very obvious. In a 2 hour lecture, the instructors would spend the first ~30 minutes advertising their course. Because there are many attendees, the instructor can sometimes spend half an hour just to explain one question and answer all the questions. I may have just one doubt on a question and managed to get a few minutes of the instructor's time to answer it. Often, I'm still confused after he/she answers it. Then the rest of the time was wasted on listening to him/her explaining things that I have already known. After 1 or 2 lectures, I decided to just watch the recording and found myself frequently fast-forward the videos. In a 2 hour lecture, maybe only 15 minutes was useful.

In mock exams, I could score between 690 and 730. After 6 months of running the e-GMAT marathon, my course was going to expire. e-GMAT team was kind enough to extend it by another 2 moths. I finally made my first attempt at GMAT and only scored 700 (Q50, V33, AWA 5.5, IR 8). It was a huge disappointment. e-GMAT team's kindness to extend my course may have only backfired: I felt I wasted another 2 months on a course with near zero ROI. I spent so much time (8 months) on e-GMAT yet I didn't feel my verbal improved at all.

After that I decided to try MGMAT Verbal Prep set. I had very good discipline and took just 1.5 months to finish the whole set. Took GMAT again and scored 760 (Q51, V41, AWA 6.0, IR 8). I was even surprised by myself that I could improve so much with MGMAT. I also have to credit MGMAT for its Quant. My quant was pretty solid and I didn't spend too much time on it. However, the "Advanced GMAT Quant" by MGMAT was really good on methods & tricks for the more difficult quant questions. That did help keep my quant score high.

So in summary I feel e-GMAT is a course that costs an enormous amount of time to complete and only gives you negative to marginal positive improvements on your verbal score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [3]
1 Commented by 3274K on May 01, 2015
Thanks! Im a non-native speaker, have given GMAT twice, stuck in the 700-710 range (Q49, V34-38). I want to cross the 740+ barrier? I've already covered the MGMAT SC, CR and RC books. I was thinking of e-gmat now but am wary looking at your review. Any suggestions on what would work best to improve my verbal?
2 Commented by mmorshed on July 23, 2016
You are absolutely RIGHT!!! I'm also a VICTIM of E-Gmat marketing!!! After completion of the course I found this is mostly Unnecessarily heavy and full of sounds which really DOESN'T COUNT to do well in real GMAT.
E-Gmat tries to present their methods as MANTRA!! But truly speaking this Mantra Works well ONLY FOR SELECTIVE questions they present in that scope but in reality those methods don't work much.

The Free video lessons are quite nicely presented and guys get fooled of having gone through those free goodies!! It is far far far better to go through directly to OG questions other than wasting time on the online courses they offer. This can be surely said that if anyone spends his/her time on OG explanations/directly on OG questions other than spending lot of works on E-Gmat's courses he/she will be benefited both by saving time and by doing well in actual GMAT.

Other than focusing on core message E-GMAT focuses on their spectacular presentations and this is my gut feeling having gone through their courses.
3 Commented by egmat on August 03, 2016
There are a few posters who, over the course of 2+ years have expressed their dissatisfaction with the course. This is in stark contrast with the other 1000+ positive reviews on the forum. While I understand that these two posters (@anonymous and mmorshed) here were not able to score high enough, there is overwhelming data that proves the effectiveness of our courses. Please read below for the same:

==1100+ reviews and accounted for more than 50% of all reviews in last 6 months==

e-GMAT is the only prep company that has 1000+ reviews on GMAT Club. To ensure that the reviews are genuine and are provided by students who benefit from the course, GMAT Club changed its review policy in October 2015 and required that every review be verified by providing a verified score report or a variety of other means. Since then, e-GMAT students have accounted for more than 50% of all the reviews posted.

Just to reiterate, there have been more reviews and success stories posted for e-GMAT than for all the other GMAT Prep partners combined. Moreover, this change in review process had the least impact on the frequency of reviews posted for e-GMAT. Open the link below to see the stats.

Link: https://goo.gl/UG2RSV


==The best instructors (4 out of Top 5)==

At e-GMAT we are known for the consistency of our methods. We developed the 3-step meaning based approach in Sentence Correction, and devised a methodical approach for Critical Reasoning (Prethinking) and Reading Comprehension (Reading Strategies). We solve each and every question using these methods so it’s natural that you would see these methods repeated everywhere. Ninety-Nine percent of people love that the same method can be applied to solve every GMAT Question. This consistency/repetition is the reason why 4 out of top 5 rated instructors on GMAT Club are from e-GMAT. You can see more data in the links below:

http://gmatclub.com/reviews/highest-rated-gmat-instructors

https://e-gmat.com/about-faculty/

It seems that the original poster did not like this consistency. Also, I am surprised that the original poster (who posted anonymously) mentioned that we do marketing in our online sessions. There is zero marketing in the paid webinars, which constitute the majority of live sessions and are exclusive to Live Prep students. There is no point marketing in the paid webinars since everyone who attends the same is already a paid member. Only free webinars contain some marketing, which is limited to 12 minutes out of the 120-minute duration. I am actually surprised that the original poster, having claimed to have viewed the recordings, failed to note this distinction. One other thing that the original poster did not mention is that every online lecture is rated by students and that we constantly seek feedback to improve. We would not do the same had we not been serious about student’s success.


==The course can have a significant impact in as few as 25 days==

Take a look at these success stories below:

http://gmatclub.com/forum/450-670-in-3-months-impact-of-last-3-weeks-219803.html

http://gmatclub.com/forum/debrief-550-to-710-2-years-6-times-163623.html

http://gmatclub.com/forum/keep-the-fire-alive-trek-to-760-from-610-first-mock-208020.html

The above success stories are three of the many examples in which students have completed the course in 3 months or less. Now, can you take 8 months to complete the course? Yes, if you don’t take the time out to study.

In fact, we conduct a webinar called GMAT Score Booster Webinar in which we teach how to leverage data analytics and improve from a V28 to a V37 in 25 days.


==Course architecture renders immense flexibility==

The beauty of our course architecture is that you can study at your own pace and create your own curriculum based on your current ability. A majority of our concepts contain pre-assessment quizzes that allow you to evaluate whether you need to go through the concept or not. If you are able to complete the pre-assessment quiz with high accuracy, then we recommend that you skip the concept. Do books provide this granularity and flexibility – No. Do we force you to use this flexibility – No. Do students who use it, benefit – Absolutely!!

Bottom line – the platform is flexible enough to allow you to focus on areas that will result in score improvement.


==Understand that success on the test depends on factors other than the prep course that you take==

This is a very important point. Neither your success nor your failure is entirely attributable to the prep course you opt for. There are other factors, such as your overall preparation level, how you perform on the test day itself, etc. Just yesterday, I worked with one of our students who did not score as high on his test (scored 700) because he messed up the first two questions (in SC) on the actual exam. How did we figure this out - by reviewing his Enhanced Score Report. Now this student scored 750 in his GMAT Prep mocks and has a high ability score in Scholaranium – our quizzing platform. Should he be blaming us or for that matter GMAC and blame the mock tests as faulty? Something to think about.

Similarly, the two posters (@anonymous and mmorshed) completed the course. I am also quite certain that they would have done quite well on mocks. If so, then they should also consider other factors that could have led to your low score. @ mmorshed - assuming I am not mistaken, your course access expired 2+ months back. Also, I don’t have a record of you writing to us after Oct 2015. How were your scores on GMAT Prep?

@mmorshed - I want to ask you – before solely blaming the methods, did you look for other reasons that could have led to a bad score? Also, did you write to us with your Enhanced Score Report to do a diagnosis of your performance on the exam? Prior to the test, were your ability scores on Scholaranium in line with the score that you expected on the real GMAT?

Success, especially on a computer adaptive test such as GMAT, depends on a multitude of factors, and as such no course can guarantee success for every student. Having said that, with 1000+ reviews, and more success stories than there are for any other prep company there is good data to prove that our methods work really well and that e-GMAT has helped more GMAT Club members than any other course has.
GMAT Course Review
E-GMAT Review
August 20 | 2012
11 out of 14 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By Anonymous 49 19
Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

I signed up for the sentence correction and critical reasoning sections. It cost $119 for both. I would recommend this course for a non-native speaker but if you are a native speaker of English then I would not recommend it.

E-GMAT can be useful because after each lesson there are quizzes to complete. The quizzes re-enforces the lessons. I am a native speaker and I thought the course would be useful but after using E-GMAT I purchased Aristotle Grail, which was more useful. I did not use the critical reasoning section because I used Powerscores Critical Reasoning book.

Strengths:

• Covers key areas in sentence correction for the GMAT
• Re-enforces the lesson with quizzes
• Can use at your own pace
• Different levels to complete before moving to next one

Weaknesses:

• Fairly new company
• Found too many errors with the software
• Probably more helpful for non-native speakers (not necessarily a weakness)

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Fundamentals
December 06 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By Kurai 57 9
Self-reported Score:

710

Q50

V37

Improvement:

10 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

I originally scored a 610 (Q47 V27) on my GMAT around September of 2015. When I decided to give the GMAT another go, I knew that SC was going to be the biggest obstacle I would have to climb. With the great reviews posted on GMATClub, I decided to give e-gmat a shot. I originally signed up for the e-gmat verbal prep, but eventually downgraded to the e-gmat verbal online. The customer service was great outside of the weird agreement they made me sign to get $100 back from downgrading.

As for the course itself, I probably spent a little over 100 hours going through the course. I did my very best to make sure I was learning everything I was going through and not just going through it. I found this course a great start for learning the fundamentals of grammar and is good for both low level and higher level verbal scorers. I did not however find their practice examples useful as they were always tailored toward the lessons I had just learned and once it came down to actually spotting the problems on real OG problems, it was hard to execute since it was tailored to be easier to spot in the lesson. Overall, the course was a good start to my Verbal battle and I believe it was worth going through. I recommend this class for the population they market towards, the non-natives and people who are poor with grammar like myself.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Excellent service!
December 06 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By hungthan1402 9 0
Self-reported Score:

680

Q51

V29

Improvement:

20 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

The GMAT has been a 2-year journey for me. I referred multiple blogs, books and of course The Gmat Club. I received multiple emails from Rajat Sadana of eGmat, offering free Live Sessions. The first time I attended one of those I was convinced that this was it.

The live session (for Reading Comprehension) explained to me how the obvious questions were not so obvious after all. Breaking the sentence down, looking for the keywords, actively reading and gauging the tone of the passage was a revelation of sorts.

My gut feeling about signing up did not let me down. Every aspect of a sentence be it SC, CR or RC, presented information I would not have otherwise figured out on my own.

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By sudhanshurometra 0 0
Self-reported Score:

720

Q48

V46

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

My GMAT journey started a year ago when i was just using online portals for my preparation and then i got to know about the online egamt course. Trusting my friend who suggested me the course i went on to buy the verbal course and trust me it id the best course available online for non-English speakers. the concepts used to understand the CR passages is flawless, which once mastered will give you the confidence on any CR question. Moving on to SC course; once you are done with the course it makes you fell like a master in English language.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By akhileshdas 19 6
Verified Score:

540

Q39

V24

Improvement:

100 Points

Quant:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Quant Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

I have been fighting with the GMAT prep for a long time now. The first time I decided to think about GMAT was in December 2015. I had some lapse in my project and I wanted to engage my self in something interesting. Also I was feeling stagnated in my career. So the obvious choice for an IT professional with 11 years experience - an International MBA - a move I figured would give my career a push. Anyway getting back to the topic of GMAT, when I read about it and attempted a few questions, I realized that this is a serious exam and needed dedication and good amount of prep but for me personally I needed help as my verbal was very bad and quant was just ok but not where I thought I was at start.
Well since I am a pretty lazy guy, I always need a target before me to help me focus and prep (Well it worked for me for my certification exams.. so figured it was my way for GMAT as well).
I started with an classroom program locally but I soon realized that they are not going to get me there. All my mocks I could not go beyond a V43 and faltering mostly in number properties as my algebra was good though my major issues were in Verbal. So started searching online how can I get better and stumbled upon a free webinar from e-GMAT. I enrolled it instantly and I was blown away with the approach they took and recommended. After trying their SC course and getting the most in my GMAT in the SC section, I decided to attend the free Number Properties webinars to check if Quant was actually also taught the same way as Verbal. To my surprise they had well defined processes for Quant as well and I realized that using their methods I can get my basics really strong and hence my Quant score could go up since I wanted to aim for V50 or V51 so that with a lesser verbal score as well I could make up a good GMAT score. Since I was a fan of the online sessions, I enrolled in Live Prep Classes. So far I was only able to finish the number properties module due to my hectic work schedule and some personal committments but I am able to solve 700+ level questions easily with high Accuracy. This has led me to believe that come March next year, I will be ready to take the GMAT challenge head on and score a 700+ with a V50 or V51 in Quant. Also what e-GMAT offers is a great set of tutors in Rajat, Payal and Neeti (have interacted with only these so far) and there customer support is pretty good (just wish that they can improve the turn around time on queries which sometimes takes longer than expected). All in all I surely recommend anyone like me to surely take the GMAT prep live (included both Live sessions for Verbal & Quant) as it is flexible, thorough and yet affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By akhileshdas 19 6
Verified Score:

540

Q39

V24

Improvement:

100 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Rajat Sadana

I have been fighting with the GMAT prep for a long time now. The first time I decided to think about GMAT was in December 2015. I had some lapse in my project and I wanted to engage my self in something interesting. Also I was feeling stagnated in my career. So the obvious choice for an IT professional with 11 years experience - an International MBA - a move I figured would give my career a push. Anyway getting back to the topic of GMAT, when I read about it and attempted a few questions, I realized that this is a serious exam and needed dedication and good amount of prep but for me personally I needed help as my verbal was very bad and quant was just ok but not where I thought I was at start.
Well since I am a pretty lazy guy, I always need a target before me to help me focus and prep (Well it worked for me for my certification exams.. so figured it was my way for GMAT as well).
I started with an classroom program locally but I soon realized that they are not going to get me there. I practiced hard but some how never managed to go beyond 600 in the mocks and my nemesis as per analysis was SC. So started searching online how can I get better and stumbled upon a free webinar from e-GMAT. I enrolled it instantly and I was blown away with the approach they took and recommended. I immediately decided to try their SC course as I thought if I can fix SC verbal would take care as I was doing decently in CR and RC and Quant was decent as well. Since my GMAT exam was already booked and I was slated to fly out for 2 months just after my exam for business, I decided to take the exam completing only 80% of SC. To my horror my actual GMAT score turned out to be 540 (Q39 V24). I was disappointed and went back home and ordered the ESR from GMAC. When I got my report I found that I had done the best in SC. My SC was way ahead of all other sections in Verbal. That is when I realized how good e-GMAT course was and how it had built my basics. I decided to attend the free CR and Number Properties webinars to check if those modules were taught the same way as SC. Once I attended these sessions, I was pretty convinced that I this course will help me get a good score. I enrolled in Live Prep Classes. The best part is whatever Rajat Sadana says in the intro of the free sessions about e-GMAT course almost all is true (well about the improvement for re-takers will verify once I take again the actual GMAT again) but if proof is needed, I have just finished CR modules of the course due to my hectic work and my basics in these have become so solid that, I am already scoring 640 in my mocks with a V30.. something which I was not able to do so earlier and this has led me to believe that come March next year, I will be ready to take the GMAT challenge head on and score a 700+. Also what e-GMAT offers is a great set of tutors in Rajat, Payal and Neeti (have interacted with only these so far) and there customer support is pretty good (just wish that they can improve the turn around time on queries which sometimes takes longer than expected). All in all I surely recommend anyone like me to surely take the Verbal prep live as it is flexible, thorough and yet affordable and gives you the confidence by helping you focus on the basics and processes that even on tough questions the correct answer just stands out.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Blindly trust eGMAT for Verbal
November 30 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By asg7889 2 0
Verified Score:

700

Q49

V35

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

Blindly trust eGMAT for Verbal

The GMAT has been a 2-year journey for me. I referred multiple blogs, books and of course The Gmat Club. I received multiple emails from Rajat Sadana of eGmat, offering free Live Sessions. The first time I attended one, I was convinced that this was it.

The live session (for Reading Comprehension) explained to me how the obvious questions were not so obvious after all. Breaking the sentence down, effortlessly spotting the keywords, actively reading, and gauging the tone of the passage was a revelation of sorts.

My gut feel about signing up did not let me down. Every aspect of a sentence be it in SC, CR or RC, presented information I would not have otherwise figured out on my own.

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
700 in 2 weeks
November 30 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By ypulkit911 0 0
Verified Score:

700

Q49

V35

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

E-gmat played a very vital role in getting 700 for me. Being an engineer Quant wasn’t an issue for me. I had to solely concentrate on verbal. I started researching on best material available online. After attending a few demo workshops by e-gmat. I realized e-gmat is the best option available for me to score 700 in 2 weeks. I diligently followed the material. I can guarantee that no one else can make SC simpler than e-gmat. The audio visual files followed by short Quiz for assessing the weakness and conceptual gap was one key approach that helped me throughout this course.
The difficulty level of the questions was also fair not too high not too low.. The best part of the course is the scholarium which has gold quality questions. One CAN NOT go wrong in actual GMAT if he/she has properly utilized scholarium.I’ll recommend everyone who wants to ace GMAT verbal to go for e-gmat
Finally I want to thanks to all e-GMAT team members ( Rajat, Payal ,Anubhav, Krishna & Shraddha ) for their support and feedback

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Excellent program!
November 29 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By astonishingangel 0 0
Self-reported Score:

730

Q49

V40

Improvement:

N/A

Quant:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Quant Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Rajat Sadana

I found egmat's verbal program to be very effective and hence I signed up for their quant course too. As expected, the quant program was just as good.

1. It exposes you to a huge variety of good questions (some much tougher than the GMAT). In the process, you develop the confidence to crack anything.
2. The questions are solved in a very structured manner. The concepts are explained well in a detailed fashion. There are self-assessments to identify strengths and weaknesses followed by the course, concepts, and multiple quizzes.
3. It comes with a detailed timetable. Hence it makes one very focused throughout the process of preparation. It helps to stay in control.
4. Like the verbal course, the learning is very visual and engaging and hence retaining the concept in memory also becomes easy.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]



533 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for e-GMAT
e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
70 points
International Student Score Improvement
70 points
Verbal
97%
Quant
91%
Most Reviewed e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
Payal Tandon [185]
    
Rajat Sadana [165]
    
Shraddha Jaiswal [75]
    
Krishna Chaitanya [67]
    
Japinder Kaur [38]
    
Save Up To $450
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$200 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code