e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1354]
    Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep [522]
    
e-GMAT Quant Live Prep [157]
    
e-GMAT Verbal Online [675]
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

REAL REVIEWS
YOU CAN TRUST

We read, verify and individually confirm each review

How we verify reviews

Step 1

Purshase Verification

We verify that the reviewer was a client by comparing the email address they provide with the company's database.

Step 2

Identity Verification

We verify the reviewer's identity through one of the following:

Official GMAT Score Report

GMAT Club Membership Term

School E-mail Address

(Admissions consulting only)

Step 3

We manually process all reviews, and if a review does not meet any of the prior criteria, the review will not be posted.

Step 4

We pay $20 for each GMAT Course and Admission Consultan review only if we are certain it is a real review. If we cannot verify it, we won't issue a giftcard for it and we won't publish it.

GMAT Club requires that users verify their identity before posting a review.

GMAT Course Review
17 out of 20 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Anonymous 3 6
Self-reported Score:

760

Q51

V41

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

I signed up e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep in June 2013. The main reason that I chose it was because of very positive reviews. "Best course for non-native speakers", "Huge improvement in verbal scores" etc. These advertisements and reviews really attracted my attention. I'm a non-native English speaker and I want to improve my verbal score. So I decided to buy the course. Having tried the course, taken the GMAT and later tried another source (MGMAT Verbal Prep Set), I feel I have to offer another side of story amid so many positive reviews here. Let's talk about the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
1. Provides a very well structured study plan with concepts and quizzes for each section. (This may be useful for anyone who lacks discipline)
2. Comes with free mock exams that can generate performance analytical reports. (However, the timer doesn't work well, leading to wrong timings of your response time)
3. The e-GMAT time was kind enough to extend my course when I couldn't finish it in time. (The login was valid for about 6 months and they extended it for 2 months)

Cons:
1. Repetition in both contents and methods. I completed the whole course and took notes diligently. At the end I found some similar notes appeared multiple times--some contents were repeated here and there. The few e-GMAT methods used to solve Verbal questions were heavily repeated.

2. Methods don't work. In theory they sound good. But after studying the course for 8 months, I found these methods very time consuming and mentally draining in practice. They just don't work well in mock/real GMAT exams.

3. The course is very inflexible. This inflexibility, coupled with the fact that the course is extremely content heavy, makes it very time consuming to finish the whole course. It took me 8 months to finish (I work full time). I can't control my pace. Some contents are easy for me and repeated too much. The repetition plus sheer volume of contents buries the important areas which I may be weak at. It feels as if you read a whole library of books within 8 months. At the end, your mind goes blank. Maybe you remember a little here and there but nothing stands out. ROI is just so low: you spent so much time reaping so little improvement in your verbal skills.

4. The online lectures are a COMPLETE waste of time (and money). This was very obvious. In a 2 hour lecture, the instructors would spend the first ~30 minutes advertising their course. Because there are many attendees, the instructor can sometimes spend half an hour just to explain one question and answer all the questions. I may have just one doubt on a question and managed to get a few minutes of the instructor's time to answer it. Often, I'm still confused after he/she answers it. Then the rest of the time was wasted on listening to him/her explaining things that I have already known. After 1 or 2 lectures, I decided to just watch the recording and found myself frequently fast-forward the videos. In a 2 hour lecture, maybe only 15 minutes was useful.

In mock exams, I could score between 690 and 730. After 6 months of running the e-GMAT marathon, my course was going to expire. e-GMAT team was kind enough to extend it by another 2 moths. I finally made my first attempt at GMAT and only scored 700 (Q50, V33, AWA 5.5, IR 8). It was a huge disappointment. e-GMAT team's kindness to extend my course may have only backfired: I felt I wasted another 2 months on a course with near zero ROI. I spent so much time (8 months) on e-GMAT yet I didn't feel my verbal improved at all.

After that I decided to try MGMAT Verbal Prep set. I had very good discipline and took just 1.5 months to finish the whole set. Took GMAT again and scored 760 (Q51, V41, AWA 6.0, IR 8). I was even surprised by myself that I could improve so much with MGMAT. I also have to credit MGMAT for its Quant. My quant was pretty solid and I didn't spend too much time on it. However, the "Advanced GMAT Quant" by MGMAT was really good on methods & tricks for the more difficult quant questions. That did help keep my quant score high.

So in summary I feel e-GMAT is a course that costs an enormous amount of time to complete and only gives you negative to marginal positive improvements on your verbal score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [3]
1 Commented by 3274K on May 01, 2015
Thanks! Im a non-native speaker, have given GMAT twice, stuck in the 700-710 range (Q49, V34-38). I want to cross the 740+ barrier? I've already covered the MGMAT SC, CR and RC books. I was thinking of e-gmat now but am wary looking at your review. Any suggestions on what would work best to improve my verbal?
2 Commented by mmorshed on July 23, 2016
You are absolutely RIGHT!!! I'm also a VICTIM of E-Gmat marketing!!! After completion of the course I found this is mostly Unnecessarily heavy and full of sounds which really DOESN'T COUNT to do well in real GMAT.
E-Gmat tries to present their methods as MANTRA!! But truly speaking this Mantra Works well ONLY FOR SELECTIVE questions they present in that scope but in reality those methods don't work much.

The Free video lessons are quite nicely presented and guys get fooled of having gone through those free goodies!! It is far far far better to go through directly to OG questions other than wasting time on the online courses they offer. This can be surely said that if anyone spends his/her time on OG explanations/directly on OG questions other than spending lot of works on E-Gmat's courses he/she will be benefited both by saving time and by doing well in actual GMAT.

Other than focusing on core message E-GMAT focuses on their spectacular presentations and this is my gut feeling having gone through their courses.
3 Commented by egmat on August 03, 2016
There are a few posters who, over the course of 2+ years have expressed their dissatisfaction with the course. This is in stark contrast with the other 1000+ positive reviews on the forum. While I understand that these two posters (@anonymous and mmorshed) here were not able to score high enough, there is overwhelming data that proves the effectiveness of our courses. Please read below for the same:

==1100+ reviews and accounted for more than 50% of all reviews in last 6 months==

e-GMAT is the only prep company that has 1000+ reviews on GMAT Club. To ensure that the reviews are genuine and are provided by students who benefit from the course, GMAT Club changed its review policy in October 2015 and required that every review be verified by providing a verified score report or a variety of other means. Since then, e-GMAT students have accounted for more than 50% of all the reviews posted.

Just to reiterate, there have been more reviews and success stories posted for e-GMAT than for all the other GMAT Prep partners combined. Moreover, this change in review process had the least impact on the frequency of reviews posted for e-GMAT. Open the link below to see the stats.

Link: https://goo.gl/UG2RSV


==The best instructors (4 out of Top 5)==

At e-GMAT we are known for the consistency of our methods. We developed the 3-step meaning based approach in Sentence Correction, and devised a methodical approach for Critical Reasoning (Prethinking) and Reading Comprehension (Reading Strategies). We solve each and every question using these methods so it’s natural that you would see these methods repeated everywhere. Ninety-Nine percent of people love that the same method can be applied to solve every GMAT Question. This consistency/repetition is the reason why 4 out of top 5 rated instructors on GMAT Club are from e-GMAT. You can see more data in the links below:

http://gmatclub.com/reviews/highest-rated-gmat-instructors

https://e-gmat.com/about-faculty/

It seems that the original poster did not like this consistency. Also, I am surprised that the original poster (who posted anonymously) mentioned that we do marketing in our online sessions. There is zero marketing in the paid webinars, which constitute the majority of live sessions and are exclusive to Live Prep students. There is no point marketing in the paid webinars since everyone who attends the same is already a paid member. Only free webinars contain some marketing, which is limited to 12 minutes out of the 120-minute duration. I am actually surprised that the original poster, having claimed to have viewed the recordings, failed to note this distinction. One other thing that the original poster did not mention is that every online lecture is rated by students and that we constantly seek feedback to improve. We would not do the same had we not been serious about student’s success.


==The course can have a significant impact in as few as 25 days==

Take a look at these success stories below:

http://gmatclub.com/forum/450-670-in-3-months-impact-of-last-3-weeks-219803.html

http://gmatclub.com/forum/debrief-550-to-710-2-years-6-times-163623.html

http://gmatclub.com/forum/keep-the-fire-alive-trek-to-760-from-610-first-mock-208020.html

The above success stories are three of the many examples in which students have completed the course in 3 months or less. Now, can you take 8 months to complete the course? Yes, if you don’t take the time out to study.

In fact, we conduct a webinar called GMAT Score Booster Webinar in which we teach how to leverage data analytics and improve from a V28 to a V37 in 25 days.


==Course architecture renders immense flexibility==

The beauty of our course architecture is that you can study at your own pace and create your own curriculum based on your current ability. A majority of our concepts contain pre-assessment quizzes that allow you to evaluate whether you need to go through the concept or not. If you are able to complete the pre-assessment quiz with high accuracy, then we recommend that you skip the concept. Do books provide this granularity and flexibility – No. Do we force you to use this flexibility – No. Do students who use it, benefit – Absolutely!!

Bottom line – the platform is flexible enough to allow you to focus on areas that will result in score improvement.


==Understand that success on the test depends on factors other than the prep course that you take==

This is a very important point. Neither your success nor your failure is entirely attributable to the prep course you opt for. There are other factors, such as your overall preparation level, how you perform on the test day itself, etc. Just yesterday, I worked with one of our students who did not score as high on his test (scored 700) because he messed up the first two questions (in SC) on the actual exam. How did we figure this out - by reviewing his Enhanced Score Report. Now this student scored 750 in his GMAT Prep mocks and has a high ability score in Scholaranium – our quizzing platform. Should he be blaming us or for that matter GMAC and blame the mock tests as faulty? Something to think about.

Similarly, the two posters (@anonymous and mmorshed) completed the course. I am also quite certain that they would have done quite well on mocks. If so, then they should also consider other factors that could have led to your low score. @ mmorshed - assuming I am not mistaken, your course access expired 2+ months back. Also, I don’t have a record of you writing to us after Oct 2015. How were your scores on GMAT Prep?

@mmorshed - I want to ask you – before solely blaming the methods, did you look for other reasons that could have led to a bad score? Also, did you write to us with your Enhanced Score Report to do a diagnosis of your performance on the exam? Prior to the test, were your ability scores on Scholaranium in line with the score that you expected on the real GMAT?

Success, especially on a computer adaptive test such as GMAT, depends on a multitude of factors, and as such no course can guarantee success for every student. Having said that, with 1000+ reviews, and more success stories than there are for any other prep company there is good data to prove that our methods work really well and that e-GMAT has helped more GMAT Club members than any other course has.
GMAT Course Review
Superb SC and CR course
December 10 | 2013
10 out of 11 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By coolb12345 22 15
Self-reported Score:

700

Q49

V35

Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

I am non-native speaker of english and indeed ,till my higher secondary ,the medium of instruction was Hindi. So, in GMAT world my weakest area was verbal. I prepared with standard study material such as manhattan GMAT sentence correction and power score CR and even taken a local coaching to improve my verbal score. But I had a lot of doubt which remained as doubt.

Then,I attempted GMAT on 25th April 2013 and got 660 ( Q49,V31,AWA 4.0,IR7). After my 1st attempt I realized that to cross 700,I have to get good understanding of the SC followed by CR and RC. In July 2013, I attended a strategy session of e-gmat conducted by Rajat and went through the free trials of e-gmat.Then, I joined Verbal online as was convinced that Verbal online will be suitable to my work schedule and my laziness.

Frankly till 12th November 2013, I did not utilize the course properly and was just going through files of SC,CR and RC intermittently. From 13th November 2013, I started seriously preparing for GMAT as I had decided to give GMAT a final shot ( Now or never). In ten days I went through all the files of SC,CR ,and RC and then I read all the articles of e-gmat on Gmat club. All the concept i revised in my mind several times.

After this, I got opportunity to attend Verbal workshop on 24th November.In the workshop, I performed poorly. In the analysis of the workshop, as told by e-gmat, I noted down the reasons for my falter ( they were five in number) and then made a plan to overcome from all those reasons.I devoted one day for each reason and then gave Gmatclub verbal test, Kaplan online test ( 3 tests) and manhattan online test ( free test) . My scored improved considerably as I scored V 38 Gmatclub verbal test, below 81,83and 95 percentile in Kaplan online test and V44 in Manhattan free online test ( This I gave second time. First time I gave this test in March2013). As less than a day left for my test, I went through AWA and some quants question, but did not prepare for IR. Finally, On 3rd December I gave the GMAT and scored 700 ( Q49,V35,AWA 5.0,IR4.0).

During my 20 days preparation, I realized how good the verbal online course is. Special mention for SC, because I think this is the best course which anybody can take and become comfortable with nuances of SC- sentence structure,meaning and spotting the errors.SC is structured in very easy to understand mode . Moreover, the articles written for SC is superb.In CR, Structure and pre-thinking steps gives a solid understanding of the argument. In RC, solution technique for Inference question was best.But the best part is verbal workshop. I recommend everyone to attend it,because it gives you the points where you have to focus (even you have studied full and getting a good score in mocks).

Finally, Thanks to e-gmat. I recommend Verbal online course to anyone who have problem in verbal, especially in SC and CR and who wants to give the test in very short duration.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Two words - Worth it !!
January 12 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By SwSw 0 0
Verified Score:

650

Q46

V34

Improvement:

50 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

e-GMAT Verbal courseware is a step in the right direction. When I started my prep, I was confused with varied courses provided by Multiple vendors. With no specific measure, i decided to get a feel of the courses from few vendors, eGMAT being one of them. The Free trial, free sessions by Rajat alongwith with strategy plan helped me zeroed in on e-GMAT VO course. Before starting, I was doing Good on RC, average on CR & disaster on SC. With help of Verbal Online, I was not only able to retain my strong areas, but also got free of a nightmare 'SC'. The conceptual clarity, flow of understanding from SC to RC & structure courseware from eGMAT helped me improving by 7 points in Verbal section.

Though my own study plan floundered due to only effort in Verbal, thereby impacting my overall score; I would suggest anyone aiming a 700+ to put faith in eGMAT & their complete pedagogy to achieve their goals.

In spite of that, I'm going for the courseware again to boost my scores and would get back to this post as I come out with with flying colours (Fingers crossed :-) )

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By prats910 0 0
Self-reported Score:

650

Q46

V34

Improvement:

30 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

e-GMAT verbal online course is one of the best courses I have taken so far in my life and it was a really good learning experience. Being posted at a relatively remote location of India, it was really difficult to access live courses and that is what is forced me to choose an online course. What I I liked most about e-GMAT are as follows:

1. e-GMAT's well-structured interactive course gave me an experiential learning through a step-by-step methodology for solving the practice questions.
2. The course encouraged me to first develop my concepts and then focus on timing, thereby helping me to reduce errors.
3.e-GMAT's focus on addressing the meaning related issues helped me improve my sentence correction dramatically.
4. e-GMAT's pronounced emphasis on the difference between ability and accuracy helped me understand what is actually required to score higher in GMAT. I improved my overall score by 30 points.
5. Webinars are just awesome. The recordings of webinars are good enough to clarify the concepts they address.

The specific modules/features I liked very much:
Sentence Correction: Modifiers
Reading Comprehension: Paragraph summaries to developing Main point.
Critical Reasoning: The concept of Pre-thinking.
Overall: Scholarnium-an awesome collection of 700+ questions that helped in sharpening the edge.

Having completed the course, I now feel confident about writing good English, which would help me in writing better B-school application essays. e-GMAT also helped me in my final hours of preparation by extending my courses. Thank you e-GMAT for all the valuable support!!!!

My 2 cents: e-GMAT verbal course is the best!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Awesome product
January 11 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By Akshay1 1 0
Self-reported Score:

620

Q45

V31

Improvement:

90 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

I've done quite a few GMAT courses (online & classroom), but didn't see any course even close to this one. Be it verbal or quant. Once you are done with the course, you would know many things that you didn't know earlier.

I took the whole course (verbal+quant). I was among the first ones to opt for the quant course when egmat first launched it. I would say verbal is a notch higher, especially for non-natives, if you compare it with the quant course. However, that doesn't make the quant course any less.

This is the course which will take you to a level above your's irrespective of where you stand.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By ujjwaldheer 11 0
Self-reported Score:

630

Q47

V29

Improvement:

N/A

Quant:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Quant Live Prep
Location: Online

The Quant course offered by e gmat is practice driven and offered you a lot of good practice questions to improve your skills.The e gmat process helps you develop logic to solve questions.Even though they do not recommend taking shortcuts , but once you master their methods , you will be able to think out of the box in really difficult questions which will take your score to great heights. After doing their Quant course , you will feel confident , you will have a solid base , you will be able to solve difficult questions with ease.I recommend this course to anyone and everyone

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By ujjwaldheer 11 0
Self-reported Score:

630

Q47

V29

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

The Verbal online course is really great. They teach you everything from the basics and help you focus on the fundamentals , which is a key factor in GMAT success. Their Prethinking method in CR helps you develop your critical thinking and greatly helps in improving accuracy and confidence. Their SC course i would say is world class and makes a ton of difference to your SC ability.Their focus on understanding the intended meaning of the sentence makes it really easy to crack the most difficult SC questions. The reading strategies in RC they teach you keep you engaged while reading and helps you read the passage more actively

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Worth giving it a try!
January 07 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By revanthnov 2 1
Self-reported Score:

670

Q50

V30

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

When I took a mock test (GMAT Prep) in the beginning, I found I was good at quant and terrible at verbal. After doing my research, I came across e-GMAT. I opted Verbal Online course and found it to be extremely useful, particularly for my SC preparation. I like e-GMAT’s focus on logic (following same set of rules for all the questions) rather than mugging up various rules, thereby simplifying one’s Verbal preparation. My accuracy in SC section improved significantly after taking e-GMAT’s Verbal Online course. Additionally, this course is very structured. It has both pre- and post-assessment quizzes for every concept. If you are a person who can prepare on your own without any guidance and looking for resources to improve your verbal skills, then I would strongly recommend Verbal Online. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By rahulbaha 0 0
Self-reported Score:

660

Q50

V32

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

What I personally feel is that e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep is the best course I found till date. I was struggling with my Verbal part. After going through the course I feel a bit more confident with my Verbal.

The course is very interactive and the strategies are best, what I personally feel, as it has helped me a lot. Especially in the SC and CR section the way to approach and solve the questions is good.

The Live session are good too, interactive and all the queries and doubts are clarified as if one is sitting in a proper classroom.

Overall I feel that this course is very helpful and worth a try if you are struggling with your Verbal.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By sarvaanjan 12 6
Self-reported Score:

730

Q51

V36

Improvement:

120 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

Style of teaching:
•The courses are well paced and I personally felt that they were a bit slow.
•The good thing about e-GMAT is the retention rate of the information.Everything is so structured and systematic that you will be able to understand the toughest of concepts with ease.
•The courses are taught by instructors of Indian background.So I(being an Indian) felt this accent to be very comfortable.
Rating for Style of teaching:4.5/5
Quality of curriculum:
•They have extensively covered all the concepts of Verbal.One thing is for sure,they did their homework ;) All major models of SC,RC and CR are identified and are dealt in different modules.
Rating for Style of teaching:4.5/5
Quality of Tests:
•There are three types of tests,
1)Post assessment quiz after the lesson.This is ensure that you understood the concept clearly.[Typically 6-7 questions per quiz]
2)Practice quiz:This is to ensure you get enough practice.[Typically 7-8 questions per quiz]
3)Application quiz:This is to ensure you can apply this module to GMAT like questions.[Typically 4-5 questions]
Rating for tests:5/5
Tech:
•I think this is one area e-GMAT is lagging behind.Currently their modules are available only on PC.No mobile app is available and we cannot access their lessons on mobile browser too.
•Their modules are based on flash players and I faced few difficulties some times.But every time I faced some difficulty,e-GMAT tech team came to the rescue in no time :)
Rating of Tech:3/5
Improvement of Score:
•e-GMAT helped me improve my score by 120 points.I got a 610 in my initial diagnostic[Q50,V22] and I scored a 730 in my actual test[Q51,V36].
•Overall I would definitely recommend e-GMAT if you want to improve your verbal score.
Overall Rating:5/5

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]



533 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for e-GMAT
e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
70 points
International Student Score Improvement
70 points
Verbal
97%
Quant
91%
Most Reviewed e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
Payal Tandon [187]
    
Rajat Sadana [166]
    
Shraddha Jaiswal [75]
    
Krishna Chaitanya [67]
    
Japinder Kaur [38]
    
Save Up To $450
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$200 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code