Prep MBA Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [21]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Prep MBA Review
May 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Packages   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
Alex Leventhal at prepmba.com came highly recommended by several of my college classmates. They felt Alex had “significant value-add” and noted that they would “fully recommend him without any hesitation.” Now I feel the same. With Alex’s help I was admitted to my top choice school – Wharton!

After first reaching out to Alex, I received an immediate response. He set up an introductory phone call to get to know more about me – my background, my interests, and my aspirations. He had me complete a several page biography, filled with numerous, detailed questions. Unlike other services I considered using, Alex sincerely wanted to get to know and establish a meaningful relationship with me.

Once I made the decision to move forward with Alex, we selected my target schools. He was extremely knowledgeable about the requirements of the various programs, and his advice during my selection process was very realistic.

After talking through my interests and narrowing down my target schools, we proceeded to develop my narrative. Alex made an effort to learn about and understand my past experience in order to help me create a cohesive narrative. He had significant value-add in essay brainstorming and even had numerous sample essays to share with me for reference points during the brainstorming process. Alex has been in the advising business for a while, so he had a sense of what would work and conversely, what mistakes to avoid. His expertise made it easy to trust him. Alex was critical and provided honest and constructive feedback.

When I reached the interview stage of the application process, Alex supported me with extremely helpful and accommodating mock sessions. Specifically for Wharton, the ability to practice the unique group interview was very important and he organized mock group sessions. The ability to experience the interview setting in advance of the real event gave me much greater comfort and confidence than I would have had otherwise.

Alex’s deep knowledge about the programs and the application process as well as his structured work plan made him a wonderful and hugely successful MBA consultant. Alex proved to be an effective and reliable resource throughout the application process. I had great success using his services and would recommend Alex to anyone that is beginning the application process!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
prepmba review
May 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 16, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Packages   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
I was initially referred to Alex Leventhal of prepmba.com by a college classmate. Even though she had been accepted at her top choice, HBS, I was skeptical of admissions consultants in general. After an introductory discussion with Alex and receiving the detailed biosheet that Alex uses as a foundation for getting to know clients, I quickly warmed to the idea of working with Alex on my applications. As time progressed it became more and more clear that this decision was the right one.

Working with Alex on everything from selecting references and writing essays to prepping for interviews really gave my application a cohesive feel. Crafting a unique story for yourself is definitely a key advantage in the admissions process and Alex really helps draw that out by getting to know you beyond just the bullet points on your resume. The admissions process for top MBA schools is so competitive that attention to small details in your application can ultimately be the deciding factor in landing at your top choice. Alex ensures that each final application product is perfectly polished to guarantee the maximum chance of success.

Even though prepmba.com is a one-man-shop, I always felt that Alex was easily accessible and was very thoughtful and helpful in answering my questions and providing feedback. Even when I thought essays were “good enough”, Alex pushed me that extra step to make sure that my essays were the best they possibly could be. There was never any limit on the amount of time that Alex would spend in helping me get to that next level.

Since working with Alex, I’ve recommended three friends to him and each of them got into their top choice schools (Stanford GSB, Stanford GSB, and Yale SOM) and had similar glowing things to say about his service. I’ve heard very few, if any, similarly positive experiences from friends who have worked with other admissions consultants. I’d suggest Alex to anyone who is truly serious about the MBA admissions process.

- Wharton 2014
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on Prep MBA
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I Highly Recommend Alex Leventhal from PrepMBA.com
May 17 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 16, 2012 | 6 | 6 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Packages   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
As a candidate with an extremely low undergrad GPA (below 2.3; yes, that’s not a typo) trying to get into a top 20 MBA program, I knew I had my work cut out for me and needed the appropriate guidance. I performed a search for an admissions consulting firm and went through almost 10 intro calls with different consultants. My intro call with Alex Leventhal (www.prepmba.com) really stood out to me because I could instantly tell that he was not looking to make another quick sale of his services and was very honest and upfront with me about my chances at my target schools and what I would need to do to maximize those chances. He made no promises but vowed to help me give it my best shot. I also appreciated the fact that I was able to speak directly to the person that was going to help me through the process – someone with a Harvard MBA and over 9 years of experience in admissions consulting that was running his own successful admissions consulting firm.

My experience working with Alex was great. He was very flexible with his schedule and was willing and able to accommodate my timeline for submitting applications. He was very responsive and always provided a time frame for when I could expect to hear back from him regarding the many questions I had or essays I submitted to him for review. He was also able to provide amazing feedback to me regarding my “story” in my applications and how I could best position myself to business schools. Through his guidance, I was able to create a much more cohesive story that really fit my background and my passions.

I would highly recommend Alex to those thinking about and looking at admissions consulting services, and plan on doing so to my friends applying this next admissions cycle. His support and guidance through the admissions process was exactly what I was looking for. I did a two school package with Alex and am extremely happy to say that out of those two top 20 business schools that I applied to, I was accepted with merit scholarship to one and waitlisted to the other with the potential of getting accepted at a later date. I was successfully able to overcome an enormous weakness in my application and Alex was a key reason for that!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Prep MBA - Great Experience
May 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Consulting   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
When I initially decided to apply to business school, I was determined to navigate the process without a consultant, having little understanding of what a third party could add to my personal application and story. After discussing with a number of friends who had recently been accepted to my target schools, however, I was convinced otherwise. My most trusted friends said they had done their research, talked to a number of firms, and ultimately decided to work with Alex Leventhal. Each had been accepted to their top choice, and highly recommended his services.

From my research on prepmba.com and initial consultation, Alex created a very personalized process, making sure he got to know me well before ever suggesting how to craft my story. He takes the time to understand your background, passions and goals. Coming from a finance background and having made no decision on what I ultimately want to do, Alex pushed me to reach into my background and experiences to come up with a more unique story and focused career path. Without his guidance, I would have been much more generic in my answers, and probably blended right into the massive pile of applications.

I did the two school package, and was accepted at my top choice, Stanford. Alex’s knowledge and understanding of what the top schools are looking for and advice on tailoring your application were essential. His help in preparing for the interview process was also an extremely useful tool – helping me bring more excitement and confidence into my answers.

With Alex, you know what you’re getting. He’s a Harvard MBA so he understands the process from first-hand experience. He is also a one man “firm” who is focused on achieving the best outcome for his clients, so you know you won’t get passed off to a junior staff member. He’s always available, and most importantly, will give you his honest opinion. I would and have recommended Alex’s services highly to many of my friends.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on Prep MBA
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Amazing... I wouldn't have gotten into Columbia Business School without PrepMBA
June 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 26, 2012 | 1 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Packages   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
I can honestly say that I would not have gotten into Columbia Business School if it weren’t for Alex Leventhal at Prep MBA. As a candidate, I had a below average GMAT score (sub-700), bottom of the acceptable GPA range, generic work experience (investment banking), and no other ‘special sauce’ that really stood out. As I thought such was the case, I knew I had to look inward and write some amazing essays. After brainstorming with Alex, I felt differently about having no ‘special sauce’ and had the confidence to write great essays about parts of me that I didn’t realize were unique and interesting - Alex proved his weight in gold.

I was starting the application process and after talking to several friends, decided that I would ‘play the game’ and find an admission consultant to help me with my applications, and most importantly, my essays. My good friend highly recommended Alex Leventhal at Prep MBA so I gave him a call to learn about him and his process.

After speaking with Alex Leventhal for about 30 minutes on the phone, I knew he was the right person to hire as an admission consultant. Alex was candid and straight forward with his general admission advice and as I would soon learn, an amazing and creative business school essay consultant and fun person to work with.

Alex deeply understands the ‘MBA admission game,’ especially when it comes to the application essays. Alex closely guided me as I struggled think of unique and creative essay topics, and by the time we were done with our brainstorming sessions, I had come up with amazing essay topics. I consider myself to be a decent writer, but with Alex’s help, I learned how to write interesting, creative, and engaging essays. Alex also did an excellent job editing my essay drafts, a key part of the writing process that I found extremely helpful.

Alex’s consulting process is really what I think separates him from other consultants. Alex gave detailed, thoughtful and candid advice at all times and I could really tell he was thinking about me and preparing for my sessions. He also did a great job keeping me on track – he was keen to keep me on pace to be sure I met all deadlines with time to spare.

Overall, I 100% recommend Alex as an admission consultant and again, with all honestly, I am confident that I wouldn’t have gotten into Columbia Business School if it weren’t for his consulting services.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
PREPMBA review
June 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 12, 2012 | 10 | 3 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Packages   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
After a disaster of applying b-schools myself in 2011, I decided to work with a consultant in 2012. Someone who had a very successful application season recommended Alex on the Chinese site forum.chasedream.com. So I contacted Alex and he responded right away and scheduled a free 30-min consultation. His straightforwardness, genuineness and easy-to-approach manner made me choose him. During the initial consultation, Alex took the time to get to know me and made sure he had answered all my questions, and our conversation went beyond the scheduled 30-min length.

Working with Alex has been a great experience. He responded all my questions within hours, and the turn-around time for each essay was 24-48 hours. When he was super busy with other schools’ deadlines approaching, he will notify you that he would take a bit longer to get back to you, which is quite understandable. He will not forget you! Since I come from a scientific background and I had no idea how to explain my work, Alex supplied me essays from other scientists whom he had worked with. This was very helpful. When I still couldn’t write my story clearly, Alex would talk to me over the phone and walked through my thoughts and turned it into a plain language. He took great effort in understanding my story.

I strongly recommend using Alex, and use his multiple school-packages to get started, so you don’t need to worry about going over your budget. Alex will not satisfy with mediocre essays and he will make you change essays as many times as necessary. And during the whole process, there were ups and downs. But every time after I talked to Alex, I felt motivated and ready to work on my essays again.

Alex also helped me craft out a clear career path (short/long-term goals), which is very critical in the application, and made my stories readable . I got into Darden and with a scholarship that I have never imagined!


Darden '2015
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on Prep MBA
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Prep MBA review
June 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 3, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Packages   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
If you only read the first line of this review: Alex is exception and I am confident that there is no way I would have been accepted into the Ivy League program I was, if not for him (sorry for the vague reference to Ivy League but I'm going for a degree of anonymity).

I'm an international student (from Australia) and the conversion of our grades to a 4.0 system is seriously rubbish - whilst Adcoms know this, I still had something like a 2.0 undergrad GPA when converted. When I found this out I freaked. I had a GMAT of 690, which is also below the average for anywhere good.

I approached Alex (and a bunch of other consultants) to get a gauge of my chances at being accepted anywhere respectable. Alex was the only one that didn't bullshit me, which is the simple reason for going with him at the time (I wasn't referred to anyone).

The biggest thing that Alex did was help me craft a narrative of my life, from what I've done, to where I want to go. It sounds simple but I can't stress the importance of this enough. It's very hard to draw out the stories that make you special by yourself. I found that it's because you are living your life and the things that might be gold to admissions are everyday to you. Alex identified what stories I should be telling (that I hadn't even considered as important) and helped craft a whole narrative of my life through the essays and resume, so admissions got the best possible understanding of who I am and why they should accept me. It was astounding how poor my first attempt at the essays was compared to the end product.

After getting interviews at every place I applied (again only Ivy League schools), Alex helped me conveying the right stories from my life in an interview. Breaking down stories into key components that needed to be hit and practicing with me how to deliver them, and to which questions they should answer.

I would consider myself a 'high needs' client for him, and he gave me all the time I needed, without ever making me feel like I was taking up too much time, in order to produce a polished product to deliver admissions.

The experience is very personal and probing into your background and what you really want in the future. You really can't put forward a lie, or admissions will see through it. You work with him and him only, not getting palmed off to a junior consultant or anyone. You get to understand that he genuinely wants you to succeed, in what is the really onerous task of getting into a business school.

I honestly can't recommend Alex enough for anyone, whether you're worried about not getting in (like me) or just wanting to nail getting into the best school possible.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Prep MBA
June 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 6, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Packages   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
Prep MBA was recommended to me by a colleague who had worked exclusively with Alex Leventhal the previous year. My colleague, who was accepted to both GSB and HBS, had described how Alex familiarizes himself with his clients so he can effectively guide each through the business school application process. What my colleague did not mention was the countless hours Alex spends with each applicant, the creativity with which he approaches every essay and the structure and knowledge he brings with his experience.

Alex exceeded my (very high) expectations on all fronts. He is hard working and really brings a personal approach to helping you. Unlike some other consultants, Alex does not pass off his clients to junior staffers. He is direct with his feedback and very responsive, making the process less painful and more efficient.

I really think that Alex is unique and his dedication uncommon. I give Alex a lot of credit for helping me get into my top choice and highly recommend using him.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on Prep MBA
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I highly recommend Alex Leventhal from Prep MBA
June 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 10, 2011 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Packages   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
I initially contacted a number of admissions consulting firms, and immediately Alex’s service stood out in that he handled the intro call, and not a sales intermediary. He spent 45 minutes with me in the initial consultation even though he said that he would spend 20 minutes. He really took the time to know me. I could tell he was passionate about his service and helping me think through the critical issues.

Many companies suggest you can get into the top schools without spending careful time-Alex was quite honest about my chances at a range of schools based on what he called “my MBA vitals”. His PrepMBA.com business is his, and he does not have a team of junior staffers. He is a Harvard MBA, very articulate and funny, and will not BS you.

Before I decided to work with him, he helped me to connect to a former client that he previously helped. We had a Skype conversation and talked about working with Alex. His honesty and his professionalism are the key decisive factors for me to work with him.

Working with Alex proved to be amazing. His service was very personal and he was almost always able to accommodate my schedule and last minute queries. I did a 2 school package and got into both schools including my first choice, Wharton. The time we spent thinking through my career plans, and how they connected the dots with my previous experiences was probably a huge reason why I got in. I was not really sure what I wanted to do and I was going to write about a career direction that was not really supported or well explained.

I would highly recommend Alex. The two things about him that most stand out are his creativity and his sense of essay structure and logic. He was always able to come up with a different angle or way of looking at my experiences and I was always amazed that we got the essays down to the tight word limits.

Furthermore, Alex kindly accommodated his schedule to help me prep the interviews under tight schedule. His two interview prep sessions gave me the confidence and the skills to present myself truly and professionally.

Some of my friends used consultants and had fine things to say about them. But I feel strongly that Alex is uncommon. He is sincere, hard working, brilliant and often made me feel like I was his only client. Getting into B-school is more of an art than science. The science part you have already done with your GMAT prep. Having someone like Alex to guide you through the “art” side of the application has been a eye opening journey to know yourself better but also presenting the best of you to the business schools of your dreams.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
100% Satisfied with PrepMBA experience
July 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 1, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Packages   Consultant:  Alex Leventhal
After being admitted to Stanford Business School with Alex Leventhal's help, my friend urged me to work with Alex as well, and I'm so happy I did. I'm not one to buy into added services to help a process that is expected to be completed alone, but I can say without a doubt that Alex was an essential resource in earning my admission to INSEAD-my top school of choice.

I never once felt like the clock was ticking with Alex - he continuously made himself available for my questions (some of them silly ones) and to talk me through my experiences to help me craft essays that would stand out but would also be completely true to who I am. My favorite part about working with him is that he really kept me honest - he didn't encourage me to add things that I didn't truly believe. And if there were things I didn't want to highlight in my essays, he helped me either see the value in discussing them or helped me understand why wasn't necessary to include them. Things about that I would have never guessed would be interesting to a school turned out to be things he encouraged me to write about that really added color to my essays and helped my personality shine through. He taught me how to tie together my experiences and skills through stories to present my best possible self to the admissions committee.

Alex Leventhal (Prep MBA) was great - he's practical, clear, honest and obviously an expert in his field, which helped move the process along quickly and thoroughly. He's also friendly and approachable, and I always looked forward to talking to him. I had applied to business school years before with no luck, and after working with him and learning his techniques - techniques I would have never come up with myself - I can see that I really couldn't have done it without his help!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on Prep MBA
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Prep MBA
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here