Optimus Prep GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [41]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
 Optimus Prep Promo Code
Optimus Prep provides superior GMAT preparation with 99th percentile expert tutors at approximately  50% of the price of competitors! After analyzing several studies on the efficiency of all available tutoring options, we are convinced that we offer the best deal among all GMAT prep companies with a 70% probability of scoring over 700 points. Get the best price on Optimus Prep Courses

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Great Tutor!
January 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   London, United Kingdom |
I definitely recommend Optimus Prep. It was really easy to sign up and I got a private tutor for a very affordable price. They were also very flexible on timing and I was able to do schedule the lessons around my work schedule. Of course the important part was the tutoring and it was great. My tutor was a really nice guy who understood the GMAT and also understood how to teach the GMAT. I was really bad at data sufficiency problems and he helped me figure out some better strategies. My math score ended up improving quite a bit and my total score went up 120 points! So it was totally worth it and Optimus Prep is the way to go.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Review GMAT private tutoring package 30 hrs
January 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Chicago-N. LaSalle, IL USA |
I chose Optimus Prep because a friend of mine was a former customer. He told me that they have good tutors and are not so expensive like others. I was also interested in Kaplan test prep but I read in the internet that their tutors are not the best and have only scored in the 90th percentile. Since I tried to score above 700 to apply for some Ivy League schools I wanted to have the very best tutors. I contacted the customer support of Optimus Prep and found them to be friendly and helpful. They sent me a CAT code and I took a free diagnostic exam at home. The results were 590 which is slightly above average as I was told. I had learned some stuff by reading the books but was eager to improve my GMAT score with the help of a pro tutor.
My lessons took place in Chicago. I took the 30 hours package and later additional 10 hours. My tutor helped in every aspect of the GMAT, from concepts over time management strategies to Integrated Reasoning. I was very satisfied and took more and more of the included CAT codes. My GMAT Scores from the CAT codes came closer to the 700 bench mark. After my lessons were over I repeated the learned concepts and finally took my first real GMAT exam scoring a 710! I am more than happy that I achieved my goal after only two months of intensive learning!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Online GMAT Weekend Crash Course - Optimus Prep
January 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By petrapetra joined: January 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep GMAT Weekend Course | Location:   Online |
I took the online weekend crash course and found the teachers to be very professional and patient. All topics were covered and explained. If someone had questions the teacher explained them in detail. We had many example questions which helped a lot to understand the concepts. I did besides the course several hundreds homework questions and four practice tests. Thus I was well prepared but still learned a lot of useful strategies for timing and how to exclude wrong answers. After the course all my open questions were answered by email. I am satisfied with Optimus Prep because the course was compared fairly priced and I learned a lot of useful methods.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best GMAT prep - My tutor Michael was excellent
January 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   *Online, USA |
To be honest, I was not sure if I really should take online tutoring. I was very skeptical about these new methods or approaches and actually preferred traditional face to face options.

The huge price advantage and the chance to learn effectively from home are good arguments though. I discussed these aspects with my brother (he is a Wharton graduate) and finally gave it a chance. My brother learned for the GMAT without any help at all and spent a lot of time and frustration for it. The story had a happy end in his case (he took the GMAT four times!) but I was sure I should avoid trouble where possible and was willing to pay for professional support to reduce stress and number of attempts!

The lessons were organized very well and the support was individual since the tutor prepared a plan based on my needs. All emails were answered quickly and I had an intensive preparation that was worth the price! I am convinced that they have a great product and can recommend them.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Online lessons for GMAT
January 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   *Online, USA |
I was very busy and studying for the GMAT as I planned was proving difficult! The online courses helped so much because there were times where I absolutely had to sit down and study, and I didn't even have to go anywhere. We used a program called Webex where you can see a presentation and hear and see the tutor.

It was a great arrangement for me because I am so busy, we could schedule the session ahead of time and I would just go on webex and have the class. It was easy to use, too … I had no problems with understanding or seeing, the tutors knew what they were doing well and it almost felt like we were in the same room the whole times...

I didn't even know this was an option until I found Optimus Prep … I'm still pretty impressed!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
private tutoring online
February 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By despi joined: February 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   *Online, USA |
I took an online tutoring package and was very impressed by the individual service Optimus Prep offers. They even replied on Sundays and were always helpful. My tutor was very good and patient. He explained all concepts to me and showed how to avoid common mistakes! I really enjoyed the private online lessons with him. Jesse was a fantastic instructor who struck the perfect balance of knowledge, humour, and motivation. He is one of the best instructors I have ever had. My score improved over 110 points! I am really happy, that the lessons were so effective and the money worth it. Thanks again.

Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
January 2014, London Private Tutoring 1:1 Lessons
February 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   London, United Kingdom |
I am very satisfied with my GMAT preparation so far and can recommend Optimus. The tutor is always very professional and I saw a copy of his own GMAT score in one of the lessons. The GMAT simulations are very valuable since I can practice all concepts under realistic conditions. The on-demand course, which I got as part of my package, was really good and very complete. It helped a lot to prepare for the lessons and my tutor showed me even more tips and tricks for the verbal part. I had difficulties with understanding texts in the reading comprehension section. Reading many scientific articles as suggested by my tutor had a great impact! I scored a 700 and will retake the GMAT to improve my score…
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very satisfied
February 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   Berlin, Germany |
I found Optimus Prep because some friends had taken the GMAT before and almost all had to take it at least twice, so I wanted to make sure I was prepared for it the first time.

They were really helpful from the beginning, even while talking about what I needed/expected. I wasn't totally sure what to expect because I had never scheduled private tutoring outside of a university before. But as soon as I started the lessons it was fine! They helped make studying and preparing for the test interesting like it wouldn't have been by myself, not to mention a lot more productive. They explained to me what kind of things were often on the test, exactly how the structure is, and some strategies for managing the time (that was what I was most worried about). You could tell they had a lot of experience and were really familiar with the test. They knew where most people had trouble and helped make sure I was focusing on important parts, which helped me study better even in my own time. I also got lots of notes and material to use after the lessons were done, as well as homework to do.

My target score was at least around 650, and with their help I got even above that! I didn't even have to take it twice. Now I'm in the process applying for universities and I'm proud of my GMAT score, instead of worried that it's not good enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Private Tutoring boosted my score 120 points
February 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep Private Tutoring | Location:   New York (Manhattan), NY USA |
I took a private tutoring face to face option because I am sure that this is the best way to prepare for the GMAT. At the beginning I thought self prep would be enough but soon got the results for underestimating the different level of the GMAT – only 590 for more than 50 hours of intensive learning…That disappointed me a lot since I always had very good grades in school/college! I decided to give it a second try but this time prepare with experts.

I found Optimus Prep with google and compared them to other test prep companies. They offered a good deal and I bought the course and started to watch the on demand videos. They helped me a lot and, at the end of the video lessons, I had a good understanding of most concepts. After all lessons with my tutor, David, I was well prepared and took it a second time.

I was very nervous because I paid a lot of money and put in a lot of effort. However, I cracked 700 and my investment paid off finally!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
ON DEMAND COURSE
February 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I can recommend the on-demand course from this company. It covers many concepts and helped me to think in a different way. By that I mean that I am sure that the GMAT tries to trap students in most questions. If you understand the way they think, you know how to answer and which mistakes to avoid. These videos are definitely great. I decided to buy an on-demand course, because I prefer to watch videos and study on my own whenever I have time and feel like learning. It helped me also a lot to make notes from every video and learn them by heart.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Optimus Prep
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Optimus Prep Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
124 points
International Student Score Improvement
124 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $750
on Optimus Prep
+Up to $500 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Optimus Prep Promo Code