Angela Guido

Senior Consultant


    
Number of reviews [57]


Company: mbaMission
Packages: MBA Application Boot Camp   * School Packages   Hourly Services   Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course   MBA Student Services  
After earning her MBA from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business—where she was a Siebel Scholar and a member of the Dean’s Student Admissions Committee—Angela Guido joined the Boston Consulting Group (BCG). There she completed consulting projects for finance, consumer goods, retail, nonprofit and healthcare clients, while also serving as the firm’s Women’s Initiative captain and recruiting manager for North America. In that role, she reviewed resumes, conducted case interview preparation sessions and led workshops for hundreds of students at top ten business schools to help them succeed in BCG’s competitive interview process. Also while at BCG, Angela participated in writing Treasure Hunt: Inside the Mind of the New Consumer, a bestselling book by Michael Silverstein. Before attending Chicago Booth, she worked for a time in Seoul, South Korea, coordinating writing and communications training programs at KPMG, teaching English as a second language and writing for multiple local publications. A trained screenwriter, hobbyist filmmaker and holder of a BA in philosophy from Yale University, Angela brings the principles of deep self-awareness and Hollywood storytelling to her client work.

Angela Guido's Reviews
Highly recommend Angela!!
January 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 20, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I first heard about mbaMission through MGMAT and given that i had a very positive experience with MGMAT i felt comfortable in choosing them. I did, however, talk to consultants from at least 3 other consulting firms since i knew that getting help on 4 schools was going to be a significant short term investment. Of all the consultants i had researched, i felt that no one other than Angela had such positive reviews and client feedback history on various online forums, including GMATClub, spanning several years.

Once i signed up and had Angela as my consultant, she sent over a very thorough brainstorming document which took me more than one entire day to fill out. It forced me to think about EVERYTHING that has happened in my life so far, which was great because it helped me build a clear and concise picture of why i want to really pursue an MBA and several schools' essay questions themselves were answered through stories narrated within the document. We scheduled our first call and discussed the strategy for which 4 schools i would work with her on. We chose Stanford, MIT, Wharton & Booth.

Before we started on a school, i tried restructuring my resume from a coding/technical-jargon filled page to a more business school resume and sent it to her for review. She came back with several important highlights and indicators as to where i need to put more content or expand on a bullet more to show impact/result. In the meantime, we also discussed our strategy for the first school and i got to work on the essays as well so that i wasn't idle while she was reviewing the resume. I really liked this tandem work ethic because we were both then working on a document without wasting any time in between and it carried on till we were done with all the schools.

Six reviews of the resume later, after we couldn't identify any bullet/heading/formatting to improve on, my resume looked completely different than what it was to start off with. It presented my achievements and the results/impact that i've had in a very succinct and meaningful manner and in which i definitely could see how it was much better for business schools than what i had been able to do on my own. We went through a similar number of reviews for each essay and also reviewed the short answer questions within the schools' online application forms.

For each of the schools that we worked on we would schedule a call to discuss what the general strategy should be for me to answer the question properly and what stories about me i should definitely mention in the essay. Angela also answered any questions i had regarding any parts of the application from the schools we were not working together on. There was no doubt that she was definitely concerned about my outcome; apart from answering all my questions she highly recommended applying to a safety school myself as a back up several times since i was applying to only M7 schools. When the deadlines got closer she would even reply to any questions and even send back essays over the weekend even though she didn't have to as per the contract.

When i got an interview invite from MIT she coached me through the interview process, conducting a mock interview, giving me suggestions on structuring my thoughts and what to ask at the end. She also shared with me a list of questions other mbaMission clients had been asked so far in the interview process this season.

When i finally got an admit to MIT i couldn't have been more thankful and relieved. All of a sudden my initial hesitation to spend so much money on a consultant seemed totally worth it. Without Angela's expert opinions, suggestions and coaching i don't think i would have had as good a chance to get into my dream school. Even though i didn't make it to the other 3 schools i worked with Angela on, looking back i now realize the importance of 'fit'. While i was researching the application process, i had heard of how important 'fit' is and how each school had a distinct culture but i didn't think much of it until i actually interviewed at MIT and met people there and saw how much i can relate to them. I feel i got into MIT because of my personal story and how much more it identifies with MIT's culture as compared to other schools and Angela was instrumental in bringing that out in me.

I would highly recommend Angela Guido if you're looking to apply to business school and hire a consultant. Its great to have someone with several years of experience reviewing your work and guiding you during such a crucial stage of your career.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Angela Guido mbaMission Review - Thank You!
January 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I worked with Angela Guido from mbaMission for the one-school package. I just applied to HBS and was admitted. Working with Angela was one of the smartest decisions that I made during my application process. I was very late in getting my application together for Round 1. So for me, her ability to help me work/navigate through the time crunch, yet still help me convey my true feelings was incredibly helpful. It’s fair to say that our timeline was even unreasonable, yet Angela figured out ways to make it work.

Angela’s biggest strength is her ability to help you bring out what is meaningful in your story. We spent a lot of time going through numerous stories and lessons in my self-reflection (brainstorming) doc and ultimately synthesize what was most meaningful. She helped me dig deep and recognize valuable life-lessons that I would have otherwise missed. Angela is clearly a vet – she knows what is important from an admissions perspective and can help you showcase your best qualities.

After the themes of my essays were decided, Angela continued to help me craft the perfect story. She was incredibly helpful in helping me put together a clear, fluent, well-written essay. And her editing was on-point as she managed to improve my drafts without losing my personal touch. Every time I sent her a draft, she would respond (promptly) with clear feedback and thoughtful edits.

Overall, Angela was wonderful in every category. She was thorough and helped me with each part of my application (including my resume and the post-reflection essay). She was also very responsive which was critical to me meeting the deadline. I would highly recommend Angela!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great experience with Angela!
January 05 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 5, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
Early last year, I observed Angela from mbaMission lead a seminar for MBA applicants, and I found her approach to storytelling to be very helpful. In the summer, I decided to apply to MBA programs in Round 1. After a consultation with Angela, I knew that she would help me a lot, but like many, I felt unsure of whether working with a consultant was worth the financial investment. I took the plunge because I wanted to feel that I gave my applications my all, and it was absolutely worth it.

I chose to apply to four competitive schools and started working with Angela. When we brainstormed essay ideas, I initially struggled to come up with compelling ones. I held back on discussing various experiences that I didn’t think were relevant to business or leadership. When Angela asked me to talk more about struggles, I brought up these seemingly disparate experiences, and she was able to connect them to reveal an evolution in how I approached my work. She helped develop a framework to write my first essay using these experiences, which made it easier to execute. This helped me get on a roll in crafting all of my essays and made me view my experiences in a new way. I wouldn’t have written about some of the professional experiences that affected me personally if Angela had not helped me realize I could do so appropriately and artfully.

So far, I've received admission to HBS and Wharton, 2 out of 4. It may become 3, as I'm still waiting to hear back from one school. Even if I had not gained admission, I think I would have still felt that working with Angela was beneficial, because the skills you hone are applicable beyond MBA applications. You may not have to write another essay about a time you worked in a team, but you will have to maintain a resume, interview, articulate your value, and be able to tell your story for the rest of your life. Going through this process with Angela improves your ability to do that. You will come out with better self-awareness. The MBA application process can be an intense journey, and it’s nice to have a knowledgeable, supportive friend along the way.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

mbaMission Review (Angela Guido)
December 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I opted for the start to finish package with Angela Guido and I have to say, it is the best decision I’ve ever made. I had a relatively high, well balanced GMAT score, but a GPA that was well under the average for any reputable MBA program. In addition to this hurdle, I had a large employment gap on my resume.

Angela is a true story teller, and was an enormous help in working with me to craft my own personal story into nine compelling essays. She was an enormous support when working through the self-reflection process that each application requires, ensuring that my own strength of character and personality would shine through.

I would equate working with Angela to going to a great tailor. You can own a designer suit, but it doesn’t matter unless it’s been properly fit. Angela really helped me to brainstorm creative ways to approach each application by asking the right questions and providing thoughtful feedback. I was uncomfortable when one of the schools I applied to offered the opportunity to submit a creative presentation in lieu of an essay. My instincts told me to take the safer route and just submit a standard essay, but Angela pushed me to take a crack at the presentation, and with her guidance, it became something that I was quite proud of.

Angela was diligent, thorough and always responsive. I really appreciated her honesty and perfectionism, sometimes blunt but necessary. If something wasn’t working, she would tell me, and then work tirelessly to make sure it reached a point where she felt it was the best it could be.

She is very knowledgeable and has great instincts about each program. Resultantly, she was able to provide advice as to when to stretch the limits and when to be more conservative depending on school and essay prompt.

I was ultimately admitted to Booth, Columbia and Wharton. I never thought in a million years I would ever get into a top ten school, let alone three, and I know this is a direct result of Angela’s partnership.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

SuperAngela
December 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 28, 2014 | 4 | 2 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
After spending hours researching mba programs, I knew that I wanted to work with a consultant during my admissions process. Upon researching different consulting companies and reading reviews of consultants, I knew I wanted to work with mbaMission's Angela Guido as early as April 2014.

I contacted mbaMission in September 2014 and a prelimianry evaluation phone call with Angela was scheduled for the following day. I let Angela know that I was targeting the top Canadian MBA programs. Angela advised me that it would be a good idea for me to target the Round 2 deadline in January and get my GMA score closer to 700 rather than apply in the round 1 deadline of November 3rd.

On October 20th, I attended a seminar organized by my number 1 choice school. Meeting and chatting with the admissions committee and several other prospective applicants made me realize that it was in my best interest to apply in the Round 1 deadline. This gave me a little under 2 weeks to brainstorm for my essays, write rough drafts, finalize them, fix my resume and everything else that goes in between.

I came home and immediately wrote an email to Angela and asked her for her advice. Angela was quick to respond and said that I should indeed target Round 1. We set up a skype conversation the following day and laid down the groundwork and plan of action as to how we would achieve our target. What followed was a series of emails and brainstorming sessions. I would email my rough drafts to Angela in the morning and she would send me her comments in the evening. Looking back, it was like watching a well oiled machine at work and everything was very organized.

Throughout this entire process, Angela helped me bring out my strengths and weaknesses and how we could best present them to the AdCom. Angela, through her years of experience, brought with her powerful insights and a sense of calmness to this very hectic process. To start from nothing and finish a stellar application for a top MBA program in under 2 weeks is not an easy task, one that would've been impossible without the guidance of Angela.

Needless to say, the whole process was made even sweeter when I found out that I got accepted into my program of choice and Angela played a huge role in the process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

MBA Missions: Angela Guido
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I initially contacted Angela in mid-July for a free 30 minute consultation to talk through my admissions strategy and she remained an advisor throughout the process. Round 1 applications were due in about 6 weeks and I had not done anything other than taken the GMAT. She provided a gameplan and assured me that if I worked efficiently, I could get the applications in on time for round 1, which in my case, would give me slightly better odds.

Angela gave me honest and open feedback and delivered great value to me. My resume transformed tremendously. I had all the right experience, but she helped me convey it concisely and in a results oriented manner. She was also very helpful with brainstorming essay topics. Not only did she give honest advice on essay topics, but her background as a writer was a true differentiator. When B-schools get 10,000+ applications, I knew my essay had to be unique and engaging and Angela has stellar experience advising students on how to remain engaging and on point, while still inserting creative personality.

She stayed in contact with me throughout the whole process and held an "interview seminar" which trained me on how to organize an answer to any question and how to use stories from my past to engage the interviewer and give relevant examples.

Most important, Angela has an effervescent personality and a joy to work with. She genuinely wants to see you be successful and was a great resource to help me through this process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Admitted to Booth and Kellogg Part Time
October 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 3, 2011 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I was admitted to the part time programs at Booth and Kellogg. My GMAT was 80 percentile, so I knew that the qualitative components of the application would need to be top notch.

I did a FREE 30 minute consultation with Angela Guido. I specifically chose her because she is a Booth alum and is very familiar with the Chicago MBA landscape. She also had great reviews and a reputation for story telling. After going through the application process, I now believe that story telling is the #1 most important aspect of a successful MBA application. A quality story and personal brand can absolutely compensate for weaknesses in other areas of your application...and this is something that you have 100% control over.

General Experience:

I was surprised by the amount of ground we covered in 30 minutes and the high quality feedback that Angela provided in such a short time. I had three pages of useful notes by the end of the call. This wasn't a session to upsell me on services, this was quality conversation for 30 minutes straight and I felt that Angela genuinely wanted to help me.

Angela knows her stuff and was immediately able to identify areas of concern in my overall application package. She was super easy to talk to and made me feel comfortable despite the fact that I was exposing myself for constructive feedback.

I feel like I was set on the right path and was given useful feedback to use immediately. I'm confident that she could add extensive high quality feedback through a regular consultation package after seeing what she can do in 30 minutes.

Immediate Value Gained:

The most valuable feedback I got was on my resume. Moving from showing responsibilities to showing impacts and how to do this. This was sort of a wake up call for me overall and translated into viewing the components of my overall application in a completely different way.

Angela also gave me a lot of feedback on areas of my experience to highlight that would resonate with the adcoms of both schools.

I felt like it was a great use of 30 minutes because I was able to takeaway very specific pieces of feedback and was able to apply general feedback to the overall application.

I would recommend Angela to anyone going through the MBA application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

MBAMission & Angela Guido: Smart choices
July 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 5, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
I knew I would benefit from using a MBA consultant but what I received was far more than what I had expected. Angela Guido was my consultant and I knew I would be a good fit after our initial complementary call. Coming from non-English background, I wasn’t particularly confident in writing essays. For this, I had expected her to “fix” my essay to make it more “glamorous”, but instead she guided me to write my essays on my own that would have my unique colors. At times, she would barely tell me to revise my essay even though I thought it sucked, and the other times, she would tell me to completely scrap my essay even though I thought it was a decent draft. Yes, my essays might have had some grammar errors here and there but they truly sounded like my own work. And Angela did a fantastic job guiding me to making that final product. From constructing good stories and a stronger resume to preparing myself as a professional interviewee, she was always there for me. She made me realize who I am, how much I have achieved and what I really wanted to do after business school.

The results were phenomenal: I applied to 8 schools from so-called top 15 schools (I did 5 schools with MBAMission) and I got interview invitations from 7 schools, waitlisted by 3 schools and accepted by 3 schools. I got off the waitlist from one school in the end. I also received $40k scholarship from one school and that’s where I am headed this fall. I was again impressed how Angela kept in mind of my success for the additional 3 schools I did on my own. She was genuinely happy when she heard the great news.

I don’t know if I would have had to same results had I done all these on my own but I highly doubt it. I would highly recommend Angela Guido and MBAMission to anybody considering going to the B-School. You won’t be disappointed by your return on investment. $10k does sound a lot but hey, you’re going to need to spend around $200k during your MBA and an additional $10k can really get you far.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Angela Guido, more friend than consultant
June 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By an0nym0use joined: June 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
In late November 2013 I decided to bite the bullet and apply to business school. Given my poor timing, I know that the R2 deadlines had passed for a few schools, or were coming up in the next few weeks.

I decided to use a consulting company (Google suggested mbaMission) to help me focus and distill my applications for 4 dream schools that I had in mind, in the meanwhile I began preparing to apply to 6 schools on my own – that’s right, I applied to 10 schools, hoping for a Fall 2014 admit, and hadn't written a single essay yet at that point!

I chose Angela after watching her short description video on mbaMission’s website, and was impressed with her screen writing experience – I figured it would be good to have someone like her inject some panache into my writing, and I’m happy she said yes to working with me.

I’m not a stellar candidate by any means, but I do have a diverse background, and Angela was instrumental in helping me dig through my experiences to frame very strong and emotive essays.

The key thing I’d like to clarify is that she didn't spoon feed me, in fact she only intervened in my writing when she felt it got either too verbose or lost its impact. She has such a good eye for strong narrative it’s uncanny, she’s able to rein you back in when things veer off-course.

From start to finish I had 5-6 weeks (crazy I know), and with xmas/new year breaks in between, I knew I was under the hammer. I was worried that I had chewed off more than I could handle, but Angela stepped up, and made sure to motivate me to send her numerous drafts within quick succession – I think at the 2nd week in, we were literally doing 1-2 drafts a day!

More than anything though, I believe Angela and I gelled quite well because she assumed the role of a friend, rather than someone who was being paid to help me refine my application; I was worried that the opposite might occur, and that it would be such a rigid arrangement, but honestly, couldn't have asked for better.

Full disclosure: I applied to 4 schools with Angela’s help, the top 4 b-schools, and I ended up getting admitted to Wharton (my 1st choice), and wait listed after interview at another (entirely my fault – interview was so bad since I was sleep deprived from travelling).

Of the schools I applied to on my own, I got admitted to all 6.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, while it isn't necessary to use an admission consulting service, they can help distill your mba application, and this is by no means an easy task. It’s a completely different ball game for the top few schools, and if you’re under time constraints, as I was, or are unsure of whether “reach” schools are really within reach, then I’d recommend getting in touch with Angela or mbaMission to help them help you.

Angela, you’re a star – highly recommended!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

couldnt have done it without Angela!
May 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Angela Guido
When I had first planned to apply to business school, I was actually fairly against hiring a consultant - giant waste of money, I thought, I could do it myself with the help of a few friends to read my essays... then I spoke to a good friend of mine who had attended MIT Sloan and also happened to be a Manhattan GMAT instructor, and he informed me that over 50% of HBS admits use consultants. Great. But then I started looking at how much work b-school applications were going to be, incredibly more time-intensive and all-consuming than undergrad, plus at that pt, I wasn't entirely sure what I wanted after b-school/with my life.

So, on the recommendation of my friend, I started looking at the resources provided by mbaMission. I signed up for their Boot Camp to see if I could improve my essay-writing, not expecting too much, but I was completely blown away. The series was incredibly comprehensive and extremely useful, making me realize how much I didn't know about the application process, and the subtleties to writing essays for each particular school. Angela, who led the sessions, was amazing and after hearing her process, I knew I had to have her as my consultant!

This was mid-July at that point, and Angela was already entirely booked for the upcoming application season, but she managed to squeeze me as her last client!

We got right down to business. From the very start, Angela completely picked me apart - my life, my dreams, my ambitions, my entire professional career - and somehow magically brought it all together in this wonderfully comprehensive story that really spoke to who I was. It was amazing how she could understand me so well and so quickly and really drill down and identify what motivated me, what I was good at, and what I wanted out of my life and career. She had an uncanny ability to ask just the right questions – those incredibly powerful probing questions that are hard to answer bc it forces you to dig deep and find those moments in life that shaped who you are and how you think.

It sounds funny, but Angela truly helped me better understand myself. And once you really know yourself and what you want, writing essays about those topics becomes that much easier! Angela helped me brainstorm every single essay before I started writing, setting a game plan for how all the essays for a certain school would flow together. As I started writing, I had quite a bit of trouble staying within the word count limits (usually at double the length in my first draft), and Angela was immensely helpful in teaching me how to be more concise and impactful with my words – she wouldn’t just cut them for me, but forced me to learn how to be more concise and efficient. She taught me how to be a better writer!

In total, I ended up applying to 5 schools. With an average of 3 essays for each school, and at 4-6 drafts apiece, I wrote over 70 drafts – all of which Angela turned around in 48 hours, and helped me refine for each particular business school. That would’ve been an impossible task to ask of any friend or number of friends, and they wouldn’t have had the context or experience that Angela brought to the essay-writing process.

But the essays were just one portion of the application where Angela’s help was invaluable– Angela helped my recommenders with their recommendation letters, she did numerous practice interviews with me, and even after I received my acceptances, she connected me with her old clients to help me in my decision-making process! She was there for me and more throughout the entire process, from start until the very end!

Now looking back, I don’t know where I would’ve been without her. I have absolutely no doubt that my applications were much, much stronger than they ever would’ve been without Angela’s help!

And to give you some context – the five schools I applied to were Stanford, HBS, Wharton, Booth, and Kellogg. In the end, I didn’t get into the first three, but received generous scholarships from the last two. Thanks Angela!!! :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.