Caryn Altman's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [10]
Stacy Blackman Comprehensive Services
January 21 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Caryn Altman
While I debated hiring a consulting company for a couple of months, I couldn’t be happier with my ultimate decision to do so. I now think I was wrong to view it as an expense since it’s really more of an investment in you. My consultant, Caryn (previous admissions experience at Kellogg), was amazing from start to finish. She was extremely dedicated and responsive, with a turnaround time of less than a day most of the time. Her help on my resume, essay mapping and editing, interviews and school selection was instrumental to my success and sanity. I was accepted to 3 of 4 schools (I withdrew from the last school prior to accepting their interview invitation), and will be attending my top choice (Kellogg!) with a 75% scholarship. I also received the full tuition Consortium fellowship to Ross. There is no way this would have ever been possible without Caryn’s help, and I mean that sincerely. I know a lot of applicants hesitate due to cost (trust me, I was one of them; also, SBC offers flexible payment plans), but at the end of day I truly believe that money was a very small investment that earned me a significant amount in scholarship money. Also, many people decide to use their friends and/or mentors for essay editing. However, Caryn knew exactly what stories would work and how their effectiveness could be maximized. I don’t think many people could have shaped my essays as well as she did.

I don’t typically write reviews, but I understand how stressful MBA applications can be so I wanted to share my experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

SB (specifically Caryn A)
January 16 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By dmp380 joined: November 22, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Caryn Altman
I am what some would call a nontraditional applicant. Going into business school, I will be 25 and will have 3 years of work experience. I have worked for a nonprofit and a family business in real estate. I also have different personal interests than most people applying to business school and have done my share of moving around.

All this being said, from the moment I called Stacy Blackman, the staff were instrumental in putting my successes and achievements on paper and to life. Not only were they helpful, but they were honest, sincere, punctual, knowledgeable and resourceful. Specifically, I worked with Caryn Altman, a Kellogg graduate. Caryn takes her job very seriously. She treats your application as it is her own. Caryn would e-mail me daily, sometimes multiple times a day, with essay rewrites, tips, friendly hellos, etc. I should note that this is because I was very involved in the process and would constantly be e-mailing her first!

The Stacy Blackman team helps you construct the perfect application for business school. The consultants go above and beyond to give you advice on the GMAT (retaking it or not), the application, the essays, business school selection, the resume, and an in depth review of the interview process.

I am thrilled by my results. After applying to 6 business schools, I got into three of them (one being a top 5 school where I plan to attend next year). I plan to recommend Stacy Blackman (and specifically Caryn) to friends and relatives applying to business school in the future.

Thank you Caryn for guiding me and helping me get into business school. I couldn't have done it without you and the SB team!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Totally worth it!
January 13 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By chicagogirl2 joined: December 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Caryn Altman
I started working on my MBA applications quite early. I am an organized person and I had no doubt that I would be able to get all my applications together early, submitted for Round 1 without a hitch. But as I started to look at each of my schools, with all of their different requirements and essay questions, I instantly became overwhelmed. I got a 730 on my GMAT and thought that alone would get me in. But my career goals were not clear and I had no idea what to write about in my essays. I reached out to two MBA consulting firms and was immediately sold on Stacy Blackman.

From day one, the consultants at Stacy Blackman made an effort to get to know me. My consultant, Caryn, kept me organized so the application process never felt overwhelming. We had a schedule and she made sure I stuck to it. We spent a lot of time on my career goals, which made the essay process so much easier. Having her as a sounding board meant that I didn't stress throughout the three month process - not once. And because Caryn kept me to consistent deadlines, the work I put in was never too much at once.

I applied to three schools - HBS, Booth and Kellogg. I was accepted to both Booth and Kellogg and could not be happier. I am convinced that without Caryn's guidance I would not have been as concise and clear with my goals and that would have negatively impacted my essays and interviews. This was the best decision I made and I would do it again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great experience!
January 04 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Caryn Altman
Working with Stacy Blackman was a really good experience for me. My consultant, Caryn Altman, helped me with my applications from beginning to end, was supportive, and exceptionally timely with her responses.

Applying to business school is a lot of work and can be stressful/emotional. Caryn helped me stay on track with milestones for my applications and calmed me during stressful moments. I was also struggling to define my long-term goals and had a low GMAT score. Caryn made me go through multiple versions of my goal statements until I was confident that I was writing honest and inspiring essays about my career trajectory. Caryn was also able to convince me to do what was right for my application (i.e., take the GRE) even when it meant extra work and was something I wouldn’t have had the discipline to do myself. This ended up being pivotal and I so glad she urged me to do it. I am thrilled to have been accepted to both the schools to which I applied (with scholarships no less). More importantly, my experience with Caryn was about much more than just getting me into business school, but has really helped shape my goals.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Absolutely a No Brainer - Best Investment for BS
December 22 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 18, 2013 | 13 | 7 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Caryn Altman
After a quick and pleasant kick off with Erther Magna, Caryn Altman has been appointed as my main consultant at Stacy Blackman (Carol Grayson supported me with an ad hoc aspects of one of my application).

Both Caryn and Carol have tons good insights from having worked extensively as Admission Officers.
I felt very comfortable throughout the all process. Caryn has been able to structure an overwhelming process in more manageable pieces. Her experience allowed us to to leverage on every aspect of the work we were doing effectively.

The accessibility has been spot on and also the possibility to tailor my package towards the areas I felt the need to focus on mostly has been key.
Baseline - accepted to all the BSs I applied with their support (Tuck and Insead )

As mentioned by other reviews, SBC was absolutely fundamental in helping me communicate my story in the best way. I think I was a strong applicant with respect to several items but figuring out what to write and what to write not and how to convey the key messages is an aspect Caryn and I worked on a lot and at the end of the day effectively.

Finally I am happy with my personal choice - I can’t recommend more SBC and Caryn

P.S. Before committing to SBC I had a small beauty contest with other Consulting Firms. The flexibility they showed in every aspect of the process has been the final driver for me to push the button with them.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Stacy Blackman Consulting: Best investment yet!
February 25 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 5, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Caryn Altman
Caryn Altman came with the highest praise from a friend and I cannot echo that sentiment more. I was accepted to Booth and Kellogg and I couldn’t have done it without Caryn’s dedicated guidance and unwavering support.

She made every effort to get to know me as a person to put together a distinctive application. Caryn will be extremely honest with your candidacy strengths and weaknesses (which is exactly what you need), but more importantly, she commits to working with you to find solutions and positively frame your message. Her insights from AdCom’s perspective and willingness to reach out to the Stacy Blackman Consulting network for additional resources were the finishing polish that took my essays to a new level.

I can honestly say that no matter the outcome, I wouldn’t have had a single regret this application cycle because I know Caryn helped me put together the best application I know I’m capable of. A million thanks to Caryn and the Stacy Blackman Consulting team – I’m ecstatic to start at Booth in the fall!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Stacy Blackman Consulting - best choice for the MBA
February 18 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Caryn Altman
I didn't have a very high GMAT score and even though I had a strong resume I would have never been able to be admitted to 3 out of 3 top schools (2 with scholarship offers) without the outstanding guidance and help of Caryn Altman, consultant for Stacy Blackman Consulting.

Right from the first phone call, she made me comfortable with her always very positive attitude, which supported me all the way to my decision on which admission offer to accept. At the very beginning, she immediately understood my situation and identified the strengths that I needed to highlight in my application. Her insights and tips on the essays made my application strong and made it stand out in front of the schools' admission committees. Lastly, her tips during the mock interview were of unique value as I nailed all three interviews.

I strongly recommend SBC and in particular Caryn Altman, who I will never be able to thank enough for helping me through this decisive moment of my professional career.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

extremely helpful!!
February 13 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Caryn Altman
I'm not sure I would have had success with my business school applications had it not been for Caryn. She was an easy choice after a phone conversation- she gave me the immediate sense that she knew what she was talking about in all application aspects, unlike some other consultants from other firms I had spoken to. I didn't even know where to begin, and she was able to provide me with a reasonable schedule so that I could finish applications to 4 schools in about two months. I was plagued with the fear that I'd be a very generic consulting candidate, and she was hugely helpful in identifying the best essay topics that would showcase a variety of my unique experiences. Perhaps most importantly, our mock interviews together made me a million times more comfortable and confident when it came to the real thing!

It was such a relief working with someone whose opinion I knew I could trust throughout the process. I now have admissions offers to choose from as well as two scholarship opportunities!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Well Deserved Positive Review
October 23 | 2012

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 23, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Caryn Altman
I worked with Caryn at SBC on an hourly basis. Caryn's familiarity with the application process for Kellogg is unmatched, and her guidance on recommendation letters, essays, and interview preparation is well worth the investment for any top-5 MBA program. The attention to one's personal situation and tailored advice provided is premium for any admissions consulting service. I interviewed 4 different services before selecting SBC and Caryn. Additionally, responsiveness during the entire course of your engagement with SBC is very fast. Overall I give SBC and Caryn both 5 stars. I highly recommend engaging SBC if you have clear goals and a strong background, but may be unfamiliar with the MBA application process or not sure how to best position yourself. The school by school insight offered is the true value for this consulting service - it gave me a huge leg up in effectively and honestly presenting myself to adcom.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly satisfied with Stacy Blackman experience
May 14 | 2012

8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 10, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Caryn Altman
Caryn Altman was my consultant at Stacy Blackman. She previously served on the admissions committee at Kellogg and I felt that she had many good insights from having worked on that side of things. I felt very comfortable with her from the first time we spoke which is why I selected her to be my SBC consultant in the first place. We spent a great deal of time on the phone at the very beginning, because I had a few "blemishes" that I needed to overcome. We came up with stories that felt great to me and we mapped out all of the essays in advance so that writing them became a lot easier. We went through many, many drafts of my essays. We had 14 drafts of my first set of essays, and I also used my client liaison to review a few of those essays. The next school was much easier. Caryn supported me all the way. I think by the time I got my acceptance letters I expected her to come to school with me - she was just completely part of the team. I also used the SBC essay guides and thought they were a great compliment to working with my consultant. Great tips that I could just turn to at any time when I needed inspiration. Caryn very conscientiously checked in with me all along the way when I procrastinated and went silent. She gave me pep talks and great information. I used no other resources and walked away with three admits. I am going to Columbia next year.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.