Dave Goldstein


    
Number of reviews [7]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Full Course  
Locations: Online   Boston (Fin District), MA  
Dave Goldstein's Reviews
Essential for the GMAT
June 16 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Shines joined: June 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Boston (Fin District), USA | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
I have not taken the official test yet however, my practice scores have already increased by 50 points. Dave was a great teach and made class enjoyable with little jokes and fun GMAT facts. He made sure that every question was answered either during class or after the standard portion of the class was over. This class walks you through a lot of little tricks that can turn 3 minute questions into 30 second questions. An example of this would be using a number line for weighted averages instead of doing it algebraically. The 90 seconds saved on these types of questions can be used elsewhere. I would definitely recommend this class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent for any level of preparedness
January 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By maltbiet joined: January 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Boston (Fin District), USA | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
I as extremely impressed with the level of service and teaching I received throughout (and beyond) my Veritas Prep MBA course (full length, in-person). The provided class and study materials are thorough, well written, and sufficient for test takers regardless of their preparedness.

Veritas will set you up with both 12+ workbooks (one for each class, covering each topic area of the GMAT) that offer both instruction and practice problems and accompanying solutions explained. On top of this, you'll be given 1 year of access to Veritas' online resources. These include video tutorials (should you miss a class or want a refresher), multiple sample problems, links to additional resources, and more. Months after completing the class, I'm still using these online tools.

The instructor (Dave) was a GMAT genius and an excellent teacher. Not only have answers for every GMAT-related question our class asked but he managed to engage a class of thirty students, all of varying qual and quant abilities, with poise. Approachable, knowledgeable, friendly. Dave was exceptional.

I strongly recommend Veritas Prep. I feel well supported as I prepare for the GMAT and the business school application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course
September 03 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
I would recommend this course to anyone taking the GMAT. I learned many tricks to tackling the tough quant and verbal questions. Dave, the instructor, was very helpful with tackling a hard problem in simple steps. He sent us flash cards and helpful material to supplement his class. The books are also very helpful as they have the whole lesson right there with enough hw problems. Even though this class was online, it was just as interactive as it would be if someone were to take it in class. In fact, I preferred the online class to the in-class sessions just so I could focus and not get distracted in my own space.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas-Full Course In Person
March 03 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By andrews123 joined: March 3, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Boston (Fin District), USA | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
I went into the whole process thinking I wanted to dedicate 2 full months of learning in class, studying on the side, and taking as many practice tests as possible - with the goal of taking the gmat once and being done. I started in the middle of winter when the snow was falling and there were less distractions associated with spring/summer/fall activities. I did the 3 hour sessions with Dave two days a week and found them to be very beneficial.

Dave is just a good person with the students best interests at heart. He is there to help in any way he can and give us the necessary skills to master the gmat. I liked the course layout of breaking down the types of disciplines (arith, geometry, reading comp, stats, etc) at the start, followed by the later sessions of piecing it all together (advanced verbal, advanced word problems, etc). This gave us the ability to see the strategies and employ them in class and on our own before we brought it together later in the course.

The time went by really fast - 2 months seems like a good chunk of time to dedicate energy to master, but in reality it goes by very fast. I'd recommend giving yourself a few weeks to a month of time after the course before taking the exam. I gave myself a week and a half and felt a little crunched at the end trying to synthesize everything I learned and apply it on practice tests. I also felt I didn't dedicate (nor did Veritas course) to the integrated reasoning or the essay. I wish I had a little more time to practice the essays, even though that is not the most important of sections on the exam.

Dave did a good job of breaking down the classes as well, starting with problems from the previous class to test our aptitude and what we remembered. He then dove into the class itself and we would do strategy, a few examples together, and then a few alone and then work through them. He always gave multiple ways to answer questions and always added takeaways for us to use more globally to answer later questions. I found this method of teaching very effective for me personally.

Overall, I'd rate the course very highly and would recommend it to others. My score improved 100 points exactly from where I was on my first dry run practice test. I also found that I am naturally more of a quantitative person but did much better on the verbal. I felt that this course is directly to credit for that increase in verbal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Value
January 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 5, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Boston (Fin District), USA | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
My experience with this course was excellent. I had taken the GMAT without any formal prep in Oct 2009 and didn't do as well as I had hoped. I learned some crucial tips and tricks in this course as well as how and what to study.

The day-to-day course hours may seem long but the instructor makes the time fly by. We always started and ended on time with the option of staying late to review extra questions. If you're looking to start from scratch or if you need a brief review of some trouble spots, I would highly recommend this course. It's well worth it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas is veri-good!
February 28 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By brianhfree joined: February 28, 2012 | 0 | | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Boston (Fin District), USA | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
The Veritas course was thorough and well thought out. The 14 lesson format makes it easy to digest the insane amount of content that the GMAT requires. Veritas also does a nice job of revisiting and reinforcing key content every few weeks.

Dave, the instructor, was awesome. He made the lessons easy to digest, and did an excellent job of explaining the multiple ways to solve a given problem. He also made himself extremely available out side of class to field any questions we had.

Before I took the Veritas course I thought there was no way i'd be able to tackle the GMAT-- 7 weeks later and I'm shooting for a 700. Excellent class all around.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Instructor
February 05 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By gqgypsie529 joined: February 5, 2012 | 0 | |
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Dave Goldstein
I took the live online class and i couldn't recommend it more. Whats nice about the online class is all the lessons are recorded live so you can always access the live lessons after the class to retake and refresh the concepts learned. I've never taken an online class and was a little uncertain if I'd like it but it was great and I couldnt recommend it more
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.