Poonam Tandon

Admission Consultant


    
Number of reviews [42]


Company: myEssayReview
Packages: Multipe School Package   Essay Review  
Locations: Online  

Poonam is a master storyteller. A Ph.D. in English Literature, Poonam has three decades of international experience (USA and India) in teaching business writing, essay writing, American and British Literature, and story writing. By virtue of her vast teaching experience in India and the US, she has an understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of the writing styles of both native and non-native speakers. She believes that most people have compelling stories which they can translate into winning essays if they introspect and evaluate their achievements. In her teaching career, she reviewed over 5,000 essays written by both native and non-native English speakers and helped many students get admitted to top schools with fellowships.

In 2011, Poonam founded her admission consulting company myEssayReview. Since then she has been working as a full time consultant and has worked with 130 students from all over the world on their admission essays for MBA, Ph.D., and other Masters programs. In the past four years, 90% of Poonam’s students have been accepted into top schools such as LBS, Kellogg, Booth, IESE, Wharton, Darden, Wisconsin, Cornell, CMU, Oxford, Cambridge, etc. Some of her students have secured admission into Kellogg, Booth, ISB, CMU, Manchester, Purdue, and Wisconsin with GMAT scores of 610 to 680. The secret of her success is her vast experience and her dedicated and personalized service. Working with her will remind you of your experience of working with your most favorite teacher who had genuine interest in ensuring your success.

Poonam is an avid short story writer and revels in drawing her themes from day- today life-events . An enthusiastic world traveler, Poonam has a penchant for documenting her travel experiences. She regularly contributes her travel pieces and other articles to Valley India Times, Arizona’s leading newspaper for Indian communities and businesses.

Poonam is one of the few certified admission consultants of AIGAC (Association of International Graduate Admission Consultants). She currently lives in Phoenix, Arizona.


Poonam Tandon's Reviews
Thank you Poonam for your help
August 06 | 2015

       By mitya joined: August 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I signed up for myEssayReview services for my INSEAD application last year after reading good feedback from her students at gmatclub.com the GMAT Club. Also, I found her fee reasonable. The initial one hour session by Poonam was very productive and it helped me organize my thoughts. Poonam helped me to choose right stories to tell as this choice sometimes played really curtail role in showing my candidacy in the best manner. In several essays I used recommendation made by Poonam. The structure of my essays was my weak spot, and I am really glad that Poonam took care of it. She helped me to rearrange different pieces of my essays making them more readable. Several important times Poonam helped me to choose right words making my essays look better. Punctuation and grammar were perfect after we ended our editing process. Timing was perfect and sometimes edits were made so quickly that I wasn’t ready to digest so quick turnaround. Throughout the process she satisfactorily addresses all of your queries/concerns.


Last year I was admitted to the INSEAD MBA programme, but unfortunately I had to withdraw my application because of personal circumstances. This year I took a decision to reapply for the INSEAD MBA programme as I continue to look forward becoming a part of INSEAD MBA programme. Now I need to write reapplication essay, and I want to continue to work with her.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Thank you, Poonam for your help. I couldn’t have done this without you.
May 25 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By Anonymous joined: July 18, 2012 | 4 | 9 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Multipe School Package   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I choose myEssayReview services because of reasonable price, great reviews and good reputation. Actually, I had researched a lot before making my decision of enrolling for 1 school package of myEssayReview. I am glad that I made a good decision as I have received admit from my dream school - Leeds.

Thanks to Poonam’s suggestion and guidelines, I could understand the questions of essay clearly which helped me choose the rights content and stories that focused on making my story stronger. Poonam is excellent in arranging the structure for essays. After she organized my essays, I could
see how bad my essay structure was. Her edits and suggestions greatly helped in making my stories more logical and effective. Even though I understand the importance word-limit, I have problems with limiting my words in essays. She helped me trim down my essays in the very reasonable way making them smooth and logical.

I’m not good at writing and this made it hard for me to work on my essays. She re-worded my sentences, changed my words to make sentences more beautiful, and corrected my grammar. I was very happy with the final product.

There were delays on my part in sending her essay drafts .The deadline was only four days away and we still had to work on 2 essays. She understood my problem and sent me her edits/ feedback me in 3-4 hours only. Thanks for her hard work, professionalism and quick feedback, we finished essays in only 3 days which I had not expected. I submitted my application a day before the school’s deadline which was awesome.

During the process, l emailed her or sent her skype message about my concerns/ questions. I always received her feedback quickly addressing all my concerns.

I like the way Ms Poonam works and her professionalism. She follows her schedule, but she was also flexible in changing her schedule following my request because of my busy work schedule. That really helped make the process easy and enjoyable.

Thank you, Poonam for your help. I couldn’t have done this without you
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

I will be joining MiF program of the LBS in August. Thank you Poonam.
May 11 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 11, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I was looking for a consultant to help me organize my thought process and provide me a constructive feedback on my ‘story’ to make my essays the strongest part of the application.

I was impressed with Great reviews of myEssayReview services by GMAT club members, so I signed up for my application for MiF program of the LBS.

After Poonam reviewed first drafts of my essays, she claimed that my story already sounded impressive. But she suggested several very important spins and additions to the existing content, allowing for more clear vision of my long-term goals.

Poonam effectively helped me to highlight key points of the story and colorfully illustrate my strongest areas. My essays’ structure significantly improved following Poonam’s recommendations and reviews. Poonam trimmed them down the word count by c. 20% beyond my expectations without compromising on key statements.

The turnaround was extremely effective – average turn-around time was even lower than 24 hour as stipulated on the website.

I have got an offer from LBS, my dream school, and I will be joining the program in August! Thank you so much for your help; it was truly amazing.

I would recommend Poonam’s services to anyone who is targeting to make the most out of the essay part of the application. Amazing experience worth its money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great service and Excellent Value
May 03 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By Anonymous joined: January 20, 2012 | 2 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Multipe School Package   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I decided to sign up for myEssayReview services because of relatively good price, relevant sample essays, and blog posts. First I signed up for 1 school package (Haas) and later extended my contract for Wharton’s EMBA program as well. I have been accepted by both.

Following a brainstorming Skype call, Poonam provided me with essay examples, guidelines, and outlines that helped showcase my candidacy. Through Poonam, I learned what stories were relevant to business school and how to present them in a clear and direct way. She also did an amazing job restructuring and reformatting my resume.

Her editing service was very effective. All essays were trimmed to the max word limit without losing any important aspects of the piece. She did her edits and corrections in a timely manner.

I had a great experience working with Poonam. She was able to encourage me as well as make suggestions that would prove beneficial to the final product. Without her invaluable support, I don't think I would have been accepted to either school. Thank you so much Poonam!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Thank you so much Poonam!!
April 17 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: August 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I wanted to make sure that I have a good essay with logical structure , story , and correct grammar. The online reviews of myEssayReview were appealing which made me choose myEssayReview services over others.

First, Poonam’s suggestions helped me to think about content, which I would have otherwise ignored to include in the essay. Second, her guidelines were helpful because I could customize my story in a proper format. She suggested proper framework and structure to build the essay. She always indicated if the structure didn’t appear logical or if the events were not listed in chronological order. Initially, I had signed up for one essay only but I felt so confident while working on first essay that I signed up for the second essay as well. When Poonam reviewed my resume, she found that there were many areas of concern that needed to be addressed. Poonam highly recommended that I write an optional essay to explain all these events in my personal and professional life.All her guidelines/ suggestions made the content of my essays strong.


After getting all details of the story down, Poonam effectively trimmed down the essays to the allowed word-limit. She used the right words to prune the essay to the word limit. Her turnarounds were always timely as indicated on her website (24-48 hours). Throughout the process, she satisfactorily addressed my queries/concerns.

It was a pleasure working with you, Poonam. Thank you so much for your help.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

I got an admit offer from ISB. It wouldn’t have been possible without your support☺ 
February 21 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By Anonymous joined: August 5, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I first read about myEssayReview when I was looking for tips on ISB essays and found the essay analysis by Poonam to be very helpful and clear. As a re-applicant to ISB, I felt confident in myEssayReview services .So I approached Poonam and signed up for 1 school package.

When I first submitted the essays they were all over the place. Poonam’s suggestions made me realize that most of the time I was missing the link in my stories; she was able to spot the missing links and get out the relevant content from me. She asked valid questions and simplified language so that it becomes clear what I wanted to say in my essays. Thus, she helped me in generating ideas for each essay question and create a sensible story that will impress the Ad Com. The word limit specifications of ISB were very stringent, but Poonam was very effective in trimming down the essays to the specified word limit while keeping all the content and not changing the meaning. She used simple and clear language that is easily comprehensible.

Poonam was very flexible with the turnaround times, sometimes coming back within 12 hours in crunch times. She never missed a deadline! She was aware of the deadlines and concerned as well and made sure that the essays/LORs were complete by the deadline. Throughout the process, she satisfactorily addressed all my concerns and queries.

I must say, working with Poonam was a great experience. Thank you Poonam for your support. It wouldn’t have been possible without the splendid job you did with my essays :) 
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Very effective!
February 09 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: April 28, 2014 | 3 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
As my writing skills and my GMAT score are not competitive and I have difficulties in putting my thoughts on the paper I knew that I had to come up with a good letter of motivation, so I signed up for one essay package of myEssayReview to help me. I chose the stories and the content for my letter, but Poonam told me which I should skip and which I should broaden. Furthermore, she told me which parts of the question I did not address and guided me how to address them in the best way. If there was not her, I would not have addressed all the questions in my motivation letter as I found them meaningless. She recommended me to write my essay in a chronological way, so the letter became more coherent. She also suggested how I should discuss my goals to make the essay more persuasive. My knowledge of English grammar is weak, but I could tell that my sentences which she restructured sounded much better. She was also punctual in getting back to me with her critiques/ edits within 24 to 48 hours, as stipulated on her website, sometimes even within 24 hours.

Poonam, working with you, I felt that I was not a no-name customer, because you really devoted your time to help me. Throughout the process, you addressed all of my queries/concerns. You even gave me feedback on my CV, although I did not take that service. On my request, you also summarized ‘Why RSM’ response for me in 1000 characters so I could fill it in the application form.

I am also thinking of applying to Vienna University, and I will get back to you again for another compelling motivation letter. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Poonam – I got accepted to Chicago Booth EMBA and LBS Dubai
January 23 | 2015

       By Harryboy joined: December 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I read your blog on one of the Essay Review sites (I think it was GMAT club) and read reviews of some of the candidates who had availed your services in the past. I decided to give this a try and after exchange of few introductory emails and a phone call, I decided to give it a try.

I was a bit nervous when I started the process. But your debrief session and essay pointers email was an excellent starting point. I appreciate your effort in guiding me and directing my thoughts to formulate my own stories and write them on a piece of paper for you to have a look. I must appreciate your guidance, patience and hard work as you took a lot of effort in understanding my unique position and then bringing my own stories to light. Your edits on my essays transformed my thoughts into a stellar story. Ask me about the turnarounds!!! A turnaround time of 12/18 hours at the beginning was shortened to few minutes by the time we reached the deadline to submit the application. I must say that throughout the process you satisfactorily addressed all of my queries/concerns. A big thank you for all your support.

Poonam – your critique/edits to my essays, helped me got accepted to Chicago Booth EMBA and LBS EMBA Dubai. I’m very happy, and I still can’t believe it! Thank you so much for all your help through the application process. Thank you for your involvement, for challenging me and pushing my thinking and for all the prompt replies during late nights, weekends and thanksgiving holiday. We applied to 2 universities in 10 days and I got admitted in both– WOW that’s amazing.

Your support is highly appreciated, and I will always be willing to recommend people in my circle to avail your services.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

An expert who presents you professionally to the Ad Com
January 20 | 2015

       By Mo2men joined: March 26, 2013 | 146 | 37 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  Multipe School Package   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
I had several reasons for choosing myEssayReview services. The examples posted in the website show clearly that Dr. Poonam has a methodology to tackle each question. The website is not complicated like her competitors; it shows also how she is simple yet professional. Also, the prices were reasonable for me. Therefore, I have worked with her in 8 essays for 4 business schools.

From the beginning, I understood that Dr. Poonam does not accept the weak content. Her guidelines helped me to dig deeply in myself that brought the best out of me because she read my resume and know more abiut the candidate. She is really persistent in getting the best out of her students while sometimes the candidates are reluctant or in a rush to finish. I consider that the introduction is the most crucial point in the essay. Once, I get it, the essay starts flowing. She has many smart effective ways for engaging introductions. Her guidelines indirectly prepared me for the Ad Com interviews. She is professional in using the sentence structure and word choice that may eliminate some words to stick to word limits. Beyond my expectations, she trimmed my essays to the allowed word count without jeopardizing the content and the gist behind them. Also, she is highly committed to her rule of 24-48 hours turn around. No delay at all. Throughout the process, Poonam answered all of my queries in a professional and satisfactory way.


However, due to family issues, I decided not proceed this year. Therefore, I will deal with her again in next year, in case there is any change in the essays but I will add the resume review service. She understood me well and I’m comfortable when dealing with her. She cares about and treats the candidates as her students, not clients.

Thank you Dr. Poonam for partnering with me on my Applications. I enjoyed working with you.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

High quality consulting service with unbelievably quick turnaround time
December 20 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: August 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Essay Review   Consultant:  Poonam Tandon
My main reasons for asking for help was the lack of native English reviewers and my doubts in quality of my essays at that time. I signed up for myEssayReview services only a couple of days before the application deadlines of 3 UK schools: LBS, Cambridge, and Oxford. I am thrilled to say that I have received admits from all of three of them. I will be attending Cambridge, that seemed to be a better fit for my goals and has also offered me scholarship. I couldn’t be happier.

To begin with, Poonam’s recommendations, guidelines and sample essays helped me to understand the missing elements in my essays and rephrase unclear parts. She recommended removing some unnecessary details of my draft essays and adding other relevant details which helped me organize and structure my essays effectively. Throughout the one week process, she satisfactorily addressed all of my questions and doubts. I must say her help with trimming down my essays was invaluable. She able to shorten 750 word essay by a third which is incredible. Her excellent knowledge of English language has immensely helped me in writing, proofreading, and finalizing my essays.

The turnaround time was unbelievably quick. We managed to complete five essays and a resume in just one week. Understanding the tight deadlines, she prioritized my application and managed to edit the essays and resume several times per day including weekend. I am very grateful for such effort and am sure it would have been hard to come by if I had worked with other consultants.

Poonam, I just want to say thank you so much for all your help and incredible pace of your work. It was a pleasure working with you. I am sure your other clients will be as happy with your services as I am!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.