Magoosh Premium Reviews
    Number of reviews [160]      Average Rating:       (4.6/5)
 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Our comprehensive online prep program features over 150 video lessons and 700 online practice questions and video explanations to help you conquer the GMAT. Includes over 150 math and verbal video lessons, 700 math and verbal practice questions, video explanations after every question, access for 1 year and email support within 24 hours. Also see - Special deal for GMAT Club members

It Really Works! Go Magoosh
June 16 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By jtipton1 joined: May 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
The Magoosh course was straight to the point and just what I needed to get prepped for the GMAT in under a month of study time. Going in I had no idea of even the format of the exam and Magoosh went from start to finish explaining everything along the way.
1. The videos provided answered the all of the OG questions and were very detailed
2. They gave test tips and strategies for getting it right!
3. You could study specific topics if needed and customize to the max
Overall I can only say great things about the Magoosh GMAT services. They are well worth the money and will improve you score for sure. They guarantee it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Affordable and comprehensive system
June 15 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By avik629 joined: March 30, 2013 | 96 | 30 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Well I drifted onto Magoosh after a friend vouched for his experience with their package for GRE. Till that point of time I was good in quant but lagging in verbal, still in the 35ish level. What I needed was above 40.

Verbal : Magoosh understands (as I do now ) that the student needs to have a good understanding of grammar, sentence structure, etc and that's where their 'lessons' come in. The material is easy to understand in the video format and you can put in your own notes for later review. Its gives just the right amount of extra knowledge which goes beyond what is tested in the GMAT. But that's not enough. Practicing the problems is where the real value of Magoosh comes in. You can select the type of questions you want, the time you want to give yourself and customize it a bit. You should view the solutions to each and every question in the pack. Being able to see how every problem is solved, will give you a sixth sense when you are in your official exam, especially for SC. The questions here are not very tough,though they are very representative of the actual exam.

Quant : Nothing special to mention here except that they do a good job of covering even the most basic theory in the lesson videos. Practice questions are representative of actual GMAT, Questions of 'very hard' difficulty will challenge you from time to time and good practice if you want a 50 in quant.

Pros : Question video solutions, don't forget the freely available solutions to the Official guide questions on you tube. More stress on teaching grammar before giving solution strategy is a good technique. Score prediction is accurate.

Cons : Question Pool is limited. No ability to create tests from the question pool (was in beta at the time I used Magoosh)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magood Review
June 08 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By DvdBonan joined: March 2, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I really enjoyed using Magoosh and the online videos were extremely helpful. What I enjoyed most about Magoosh was the ability for it to estimate your quant and verbal score (which was very accurate). I loved the dashboard, comparing your pace to the average pace, as well as the average number of questions you get right.

The videos were really detailed and informative. They are broken down into the different sections of question types you will experience when taking your test (i.e. critical reasoning, reading comprehension, and sentence correction are all broken down even further).

Although the questions and videos were helpful, i found I was only able to improve my GMAT score by 20 points.

I do think it is great value for someone who has not used any other tools and the price is the most reasonable compared to other companies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best investment in GMAT Prep
June 01 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: April 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
> First Attempt: Scored 740 (50Q,40V,6 IR, 5 AWA).

Background: While I am aware of good classroom based/online courses my motto was to utilize self study and get max score using free online resources like the excellent forums, peers/friends, free tests (at least most companies offer one free test), OG and MGMAT/Kaplan/Veritus tests. However 1 month into my preparation I quickly ran out of reliable resources for practising (strengthening topics in tests isn't the best idea). This is when I shopped around and bought Magoosh Premium.

Thinks I liked:

> It has large pool of questions spread across all topics.
> The review section is extremely useful. (Doesn't have fancy graph, progress bar, etc but simple and useful)
> Email response (I had a doubt in one of the answer choices) took 2 days which was acceptable to me.
> Video lessons are handy and less boring that reading them from a pdf/web/book
> Handy tips in the blog and resources section
> Good flash cards.
> Excellent value for money

Only one slight negative: Towards the end I ended up with lot of easy/medium questions which wasn't ideal as my preparation was getting better to I wanted harder questions. But this is also due to the fact I have used up the harder questions before (you can control it). To clarify, there are more than enough hard (700+) questions, its just that I didn't want the easy ones. ;)

N.B. I never actually used the practise test as I thought that will use up some questions from the pool. I had enough tests that I bought from MGMAT and Kaplan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MAGOOSH- How it helps
May 15 | 2015

       By ddg joined: April 4, 2015 | 16 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Well Although I haven't given the GMAT Exam yet. I've scheduled it to be taken in Aug 1st week this year. I am writing this review to lessen the confusion about preparation and what courses to take when there is so much to choose from.

How I came to know of Magoosh:
Frankly I searched the net, seriously, no one recommended me anything cause none of my friends had taken GMAT before. I found magoosh's methodology to be simple and the layout to be effective at first sight. Also, the pricing was highly affordable. So i went for it.

Start of Preparation:
I have a MS in Chemistry and frankly used more calculus oriented calculations throughout my course. So, high school math was out of my brain though I scored well in my 10th (100/100) and 12th exams (91) [I'm based in India, hence the 10th and 12th std]. But I had forgotten almost everything. I know, sounds weird. But I did.

Although I had bought the course in Dec 2014, I started my prep in march 2015. Its 1.5 months through, and I find Magoosh Quant to be really helpful, more so cause I am focusing on Quant prep right now. I gave several mocks (only quant section - there's no issue, you can always reset question pool) as follows:

March end - GMAT Club free tests (Manhattan Prep Challenge Set #1) - score Q40
April mid - GMAT Club free tests (Manhattan Prep Challenge Set #2) - Q42
May beginning - GMAT Club free tests (GMAT Club challenge Quant set) - messed up here cause despite a 60% i scored Q39 cause i made mistakes in 500 level questions. (it is my own silly mistakes)

I realised I needed review of concepts and also more practice. I went through Magoosh's quant videos again and little practice (not much really, I m still preparing). I gave mocks as follows:

1. GMAT Club Free tests - Manhattan Prep Challenge set #3 - Q45
2. Magoosh Practice Test - Q47
3. GMATPrep Question Bank - Practice Exam - Q46

Also, as part as verbal is concerned, Magoosh's SC Module is impeccable. Seriously. RC and CR needs more detailing. But SC is wonderful.

So all in all: in a preparatory stage, I suggest everyone to take up Magoosh, its going to be your closest companion and walk you through simple and advanced concepts like cakewalk. Also, practice can never be substituted. I hope to score well in Aug exam. Luck definitely plays a role, but with a companion like Magoosh, hard-work can get you through.

Hope this helps. :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent program
May 07 | 2015

       By pierro93 joined: April 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I began working with the Kaplan book but I did not feel prepared enough to take the test. I also wanted more explanations about certain topics (essentially in verbal). Magoosh gave me all what I was looking for: detailed videos, personal customer service with fast reaction, etc. Moreover, every question has its own explanatory video, which helps a lot in understanding the tricks used to solve the hardest questions. I would strongly recommend Magoosh to any student willing to improve his score on the gmat. $100 is not that much in comparison with taking the test a second time. On the top of that, Magoosh is way cheaper than its competitors.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Must have for Math
April 21 | 2015

       By NIKHANNA joined: January 11, 2014 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I must say Magoosh Math course is must have for GMAT takers who are looking for top score of 48 and above. The videos are great part of the course. Entire set of practice questions have corresponding videos so you won't miss any explanations.

Second part which i liked the most was support. even though it wasn't like live chat but whenever i had doubt or question on particular topic or question i got email response with in 24 to 48 hours window and team was very nice to give detail explanation.

The most impressive part i liked was Dashboard.. no other course can beat that. It shows time take by you... others and average time so you can really see where you stand.
and on top of that it's so easy to practice old questions.. filter was so easy.. like by topic..difficulty level etc..

Finally I must say with $99 course fee it's more than worth to have this course to prepare for GMAT exam.

Good Luck..
Nitin


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Go for it to improve your quant score.
April 16 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By Anonymous joined: September 3, 2012 | 3 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Hello,
I did purchase the premium version of Magoosh. But I only used it for quants prep. I had taken GMAT before as well but I was stuck at Q49. Being someone from a engineering background I mostly needed and the basic requirement was that of a video course. Also I didn't want to shell out mega bucks so I decided to go for Magoosh. It was really a good experience. The level of difficulty can be adjusted. Lucid explanation to some of the tough concepts really helped. I think Magoosh was really helpful to increase my score from Q49 to Q50.
I didn't use their verbal section.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great value for money
April 15 | 2015

       By sid181088 joined: December 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I had around 2 to 3 months to prepare for the GMAT and Magoosh helped me immensely. The prep videos were short in length and precise in content. They cover every topic in Quant, Verbal, IR and, AWA.These videos are the USP of this product.
Moreover, the custom practice, the dashboard and the subsequent analysis is very useful as it helps in understanding your strengths and weaknesses. The video explanations at the end of every question are also very useful.
Although a few more practice tests (presently there are 2) would have been great, this product is a great buy for $99 and would strongly recommend it to anyone preparing for the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by 3274K on May 01, 2015
Thanks! I'm a non-native speaker, have given GMAT twice, stuck in the 700-710 range (Q49, V34-38). Do you think the Magoosh course covers advanced concepts/problems that can help me cross the 740+ barrier?
2 Commented by ritakreig on May 04, 2015
Yes, we definitely do! :) Feel free to sign up for our 1-week free trial to get a feel for the difficulty level of our questions, if you'd like. You can sign up here: http://gmatclub.com/marketplace/magoosh.html
 
Good value prep, but not the best around
March 31 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by post count
       By alexau joined: November 12, 2014 | 85 | 50 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Overall the course was good for the amount paid. $99 is not a ton to spend on test prep and if you are looking to prep for the GMAT on a budget I would definitely recommend Magoosh.

The video explanations to every question were a nice feature that I had not seen from other test prep companies.

The Verbal questions from Magoosh can be very difficult (more difficult than the actual exam). Some of the RC passages were way too long but overall I think it prepped me a decent amount.

Quant questions were about average. Probably at the level of difficulty one could expect to see on the actual exam.

IR had a horrible format, would avoid these on Magoosh and use GMATPrep for IR stuff.

The score predictor and adaptive setting on Magoosh is way off. This is probably the area where most improvement is needed. The one practice test is just a combination of questions from their question bank and I felt that the adaptive algorithm wasn't very accurate. Score predictor gave me a predicted score well below all of my other practice exams and actual score.

Overall, good product for $99. There are better prep companies out there, but be prepared to spend way more money.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
71 points
International Student Score Improvement
76 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $320
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$20 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code