Magoosh Premium Reviews
    Number of reviews [156]      Average Rating:       (4.6/5)
 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Our comprehensive online prep program features over 150 video lessons and 700 online practice questions and video explanations to help you conquer the GMAT. Includes over 150 math and verbal video lessons, 700 math and verbal practice questions, video explanations after every question, access for 1 year and email support within 24 hours. Also see - Special deal for GMAT Club members

MAGOOSH- How it helps
May 15 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ddg joined: April 4, 2015 | 6 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Well Although I haven't given the GMAT Exam yet. I've scheduled it to be taken in Aug 1st week this year. I am writing this review to lessen the confusion about preparation and what courses to take when there is so much to choose from.

How I came to know of Magoosh:
Frankly I searched the net, seriously, no one recommended me anything cause none of my friends had taken GMAT before. I found magoosh's methodology to be simple and the layout to be effective at first sight. Also, the pricing was highly affordable. So i went for it.

Start of Preparation:
I have a MS in Chemistry and frankly used more calculus oriented calculations throughout my course. So, high school math was out of my brain though I scored well in my 10th (100/100) and 12th exams (91) [I'm based in India, hence the 10th and 12th std]. But I had forgotten almost everything. I know, sounds weird. But I did.

Although I had bought the course in Dec 2014, I started my prep in march 2015. Its 1.5 months through, and I find Magoosh Quant to be really helpful, more so cause I am focusing on Quant prep right now. I gave several mocks (only quant section - there's no issue, you can always reset question pool) as follows:

March end - GMAT Club free tests (Manhattan Prep Challenge Set #1) - score Q40
April mid - GMAT Club free tests (Manhattan Prep Challenge Set #2) - Q42
May beginning - GMAT Club free tests (GMAT Club challenge Quant set) - messed up here cause despite a 60% i scored Q39 cause i made mistakes in 500 level questions. (it is my own silly mistakes)

I realised I needed review of concepts and also more practice. I went through Magoosh's quant videos again and little practice (not much really, I m still preparing). I gave mocks as follows:

1. GMAT Club Free tests - Manhattan Prep Challenge set #3 - Q45
2. Magoosh Practice Test - Q47
3. GMATPrep Question Bank - Practice Exam - Q46

Also, as part as verbal is concerned, Magoosh's SC Module is impeccable. Seriously. RC and CR needs more detailing. But SC is wonderful.

So all in all: in a preparatory stage, I suggest everyone to take up Magoosh, its going to be your closest companion and walk you through simple and advanced concepts like cakewalk. Also, practice can never be substituted. I hope to score well in Aug exam. Luck definitely plays a role, but with a companion like Magoosh, hard-work can get you through.

Hope this helps. :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent program
May 07 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By pierro93 joined: April 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I began working with the Kaplan book but I did not feel prepared enough to take the test. I also wanted more explanations about certain topics (essentially in verbal). Magoosh gave me all what I was looking for: detailed videos, personal customer service with fast reaction, etc. Moreover, every question has its own explanatory video, which helps a lot in understanding the tricks used to solve the hardest questions. I would strongly recommend Magoosh to any student willing to improve his score on the gmat. $100 is not that much in comparison with taking the test a second time. On the top of that, Magoosh is way cheaper than its competitors.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Must have for Math
April 21 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By NIKHANNA joined: January 11, 2014 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I must say Magoosh Math course is must have for GMAT takers who are looking for top score of 48 and above. The videos are great part of the course. Entire set of practice questions have corresponding videos so you won't miss any explanations.

Second part which i liked the most was support. even though it wasn't like live chat but whenever i had doubt or question on particular topic or question i got email response with in 24 to 48 hours window and team was very nice to give detail explanation.

The most impressive part i liked was Dashboard.. no other course can beat that. It shows time take by you... others and average time so you can really see where you stand.
and on top of that it's so easy to practice old questions.. filter was so easy.. like by topic..difficulty level etc..

Finally I must say with $99 course fee it's more than worth to have this course to prepare for GMAT exam.

Good Luck..
Nitin


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Go for it to improve your quant score.
April 16 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 3, 2012 | 3 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Hello,
I did purchase the premium version of Magoosh. But I only used it for quants prep. I had taken GMAT before as well but I was stuck at Q49. Being someone from a engineering background I mostly needed and the basic requirement was that of a video course. Also I didn't want to shell out mega bucks so I decided to go for Magoosh. It was really a good experience. The level of difficulty can be adjusted. Lucid explanation to some of the tough concepts really helped. I think Magoosh was really helpful to increase my score from Q49 to Q50.
I didn't use their verbal section.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great value for money
April 15 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By sid181088 joined: December 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I had around 2 to 3 months to prepare for the GMAT and Magoosh helped me immensely. The prep videos were short in length and precise in content. They cover every topic in Quant, Verbal, IR and, AWA.These videos are the USP of this product.
Moreover, the custom practice, the dashboard and the subsequent analysis is very useful as it helps in understanding your strengths and weaknesses. The video explanations at the end of every question are also very useful.
Although a few more practice tests (presently there are 2) would have been great, this product is a great buy for $99 and would strongly recommend it to anyone preparing for the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by 3274K on May 01, 2015
Thanks! I'm a non-native speaker, have given GMAT twice, stuck in the 700-710 range (Q49, V34-38). Do you think the Magoosh course covers advanced concepts/problems that can help me cross the 740+ barrier?
2 Commented by ritakreig on May 04, 2015
Yes, we definitely do! :) Feel free to sign up for our 1-week free trial to get a feel for the difficulty level of our questions, if you'd like. You can sign up here: http://gmatclub.com/marketplace/magoosh.html
 
Good value prep, but not the best around
March 31 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By alexau joined: November 12, 2014 | 85 | 49 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Overall the course was good for the amount paid. $99 is not a ton to spend on test prep and if you are looking to prep for the GMAT on a budget I would definitely recommend Magoosh.

The video explanations to every question were a nice feature that I had not seen from other test prep companies.

The Verbal questions from Magoosh can be very difficult (more difficult than the actual exam). Some of the RC passages were way too long but overall I think it prepped me a decent amount.

Quant questions were about average. Probably at the level of difficulty one could expect to see on the actual exam.

IR had a horrible format, would avoid these on Magoosh and use GMATPrep for IR stuff.

The score predictor and adaptive setting on Magoosh is way off. This is probably the area where most improvement is needed. The one practice test is just a combination of questions from their question bank and I felt that the adaptive algorithm wasn't very accurate. Score predictor gave me a predicted score well below all of my other practice exams and actual score.

Overall, good product for $99. There are better prep companies out there, but be prepared to spend way more money.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Quant, good verbal
March 25 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Although joined: July 2, 2014 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
For the quant section, Magoosh is great. It has a huge question bank with video explanations for each question, tons of video lessons, and great customer service. The course is cheaper than most other courses and really helps you improve.

The verbal section is not bad but by itself not enough in my opinion. It should be combined with other services such as Powerscore's CR bible and MGMAT SC Correction. I got a 40 points score improvement after studying for 1 month.

My biggest problem was time management and I ran out on time in both sections forced to guess the last 5 or 6 questions. Thus, I believe that I'm able to get a higher score than I received on my most recent test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Program! Amazing Price!
March 24 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By mba2018 joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I loved Magoosh due to the on demand lessons. I was able to watch them on my computer and on my phone. It made studying a lot better. Each lesson had some practice problems in it where you pause the video and work out the problem then resume. These were very helpful.

In addition to the lesson app, there is a math flashcards app and an idiom flashcards app.

Each lesson page has the transcript available so you read it as well. This was helpful when I wanted to review and read fast instead of having to listen. You can click on text and it takes you right to the prior sentence on the video.

Each practice questions comes with a video and text explanation and reference to lessons.

The only negative I feel is that there were only about 50 very very hard questions on the quant. I wish they would have had more, but you can get these elsewhere as well. I used the OG and other GMAT club resources.

I wanted a 50 point improvement and I got it! I am very happy.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Quant & SC Good, Verbal Not so Good
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By HamzaSyed joined: February 8, 2015 | 8 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Quant:

Great. Explanations come in two forms: video, text. FOR ALL questions. So you can learn while feeling relaxed and not putting strain on eye (reading). Explanations are good and corresponding video lessons are attached!!!

SC:

Good. Points out and explains every split and thing and again, corresponding videos are attached with EVERY QUESTION...JUST LIKE IT IS IN QUANT!!!

RC:

I found the passages to be way too long, convoluted, rich with weird words and dates. Couldn't learn much.

CR:

Could not learn much here. Very boring and frustrating. Explanations are not well enough. Wrong answer types are not explained.

(CR and RC also have very limited video lessons as compared to SC and Quant. My rough guess is that they together account for arround 10% of total video lessons. This is also because of nature of these two sections.)

Practice Review: Very well detailed and customizable. You can look into and compare results based on question type, topic/subject, average timing taken to solve the questions, when the question was taken, flagged, etc. Very good.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very good teaching
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 18, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Hi All,
I recently purchased magoosh after a lot of online research about which course is the best. I check a lot of them like Kaplan, veritas, gmat pill etc. Magoosh is the best one that i have seen till date.
The best part is, after each question there is a video about the solution.In the solution video the instructor solves it in real time in front of us, this not only helps us to find the solution but also helps us on how to approach the problem in a super fast manner.

One More thing that they have are the filters after every test that you take. Lot of filters. You can find flagged questions, incorrect questions, questions in which you took more time and a lot of other stuff.

All of this only @ $99. This is the cheapest by far.

Great Work from Magoosh
Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
72 points
International Student Score Improvement
76 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $320
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$20 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code