Magoosh Premium Reviews
    Number of reviews [161]      Average Rating:       (4.6/5)
 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Our comprehensive online prep program features over 150 video lessons and 700 online practice questions and video explanations to help you conquer the GMAT. Includes over 150 math and verbal video lessons, 700 math and verbal practice questions, video explanations after every question, access for 1 year and email support within 24 hours. Also see - Special deal for GMAT Club members

Great Quant content
August 25 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By shibinmichael joined: January 5, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I would strongly suggest the magoosh quant section for anyone who wants to improve his/her scores from 48 to 50/51. I scored 49 in my first gmat attempt. I then enrolled for magoosh which guaranteed a 50 point improvement. The course material had few of the questions that I faced in the actual gmat:) In my next attempt I was able to increase my quant score to 50.However, I had a decrease in the verbal score. I cancelled the scores and sent a screensnap. That was all that was needed for the refund. they refunded the amount and kept my account open so I could practice if needed. In my third attempt I was able to score the coveted 99 percentile:) 760. 50 in quants and 41 in verbal. The quant content(the questions, short cuts etc are good). the verbal content is above average but cannot be compared to the quality of the quant section. This is partly because the length/quality of verbal questions were different from the ones I saw on the actual gmat.

This course is a great value for money. For $99 you cannot ask for more. W.r.t to the support from tutors, there was never a delay in answering my questions. The team will email you within their 24 hr SLA.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
First Attempt - 710
August 22 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By majianurag joined: February 17, 2015 | 6 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Gave my GMAT on 2nd Aug, 2015. First Attempt.
Score - 710. Q49, V36.
Preparation time : 3 months, 3-4 hours a week.

I used the Magoosh GMAT prep since it seemed to be the cheapest prep option around. The video explanations were intuitive and the lessons were quite clear in explanation.
Also, the score predictions were spot on since I received the same combination of scores for my last two GMAT mocks on Magoosh.
My scores on Official GMAT test prep were :
1st attempt : 700
2nd attempt : 710

I hoped to up the game on D-day, but for some reason could not do the same, especially in the Quant section where I was pushing for a Q51. I did not expect much in Verbal, the scores were consistent with what I had been achieving with Magoosh and other prep material. In all, a decent and happy learning experience.


The team is super enthusiastic about giving advice and answering queries as evidenced by their active blog. Does not seem to function as a corporate which I think other test prep providers might. Love that part about the MAGOOSH team!

I would recommend Magoosh to anyone who is looking for value for money in their GMAT test prep material.
Cheers!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
An Awesome Course to truly bolster your score
August 13 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By canarenravishankar joined: September 25, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I signed up for the Magoosh GMAT Premium course and have truly stumbled across a treasure chest which offers a truly comprehensive set of resources to prepare for a competitive exam
Few things which I truly liked about the course are (1)The large number of questions available on the question bank covering difficulty areas ranging from easy - very difficult (Truly a confidence booster for a person wanting comprehensive coverage of all topics tested)
(2)The magoosh software also comes with a score predictor which predicts the most likely quant and verbal score based on the number of questions answered correctly
(3)The interface is truly terrific with a pacer (allowing specific comparisons with all the users who have answered the question)
(4)All the questions are accompanied with video explanations
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
above average with reasonable price
August 03 | 2015

       By Parmansidhu joined: February 25, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Magoosh is good for those who need more practice in math as it has video lessons in detail of almost all concepts required for gmat and has a good level of practice questions. It has a lot of tough questions related to geometry of gmat type. I would not recommend it for verbal grammar as the lessons do not go into great detail and not much explanation. Even though verbal is not done so well, I would still recommend to buy the premium package as there is only a $20 difference.

Pros:
-inexpensive, always on sale
-great details in quant modules, with gmat type questions

Cons:
-verbal questions, especially sentence correction and reading comprehension, are not good
-only two tests which cover quant and verbal section
- total questions including the tests are 800. Tests are not extra

-
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent and so Cost Effective
July 27 | 2015

       By jonathonmccarthy joined: June 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Magoosh Premium helped me get from a 690 to a 740 with only 3 weeks study. I tried to incorporate other software during this time however the different style of questions of often encountered and the poorly calibrated estimate scores caused me unnecessary concern. Magoosh's clear videos and clear interface lets you quickly get back to study each day where you left off. The practice problems are the right difficulty level for what i encountered on the GMATPrep software and then the real exam. The problems each have a written solution that you can quickly peruse or a fully worked video solution to cement any difficult ideas in your mind. Amazing for Quant but just as effective for Verbal, IR and AWA.
I combined the product with a 12 week study plan that Magoosh provided in their resources section and was happily studying when i was asked at work to move to Mongolia in 4 weeks time. Amazingly the Magoosh videos and solutions gave me enough of an edge in a crazy period in my life to get the score i wanted.
Oh, and all this for $99 - how you could possibly go wrong....

Jonathon
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT
July 19 | 2015

       By vaibhavarora08 joined: July 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I have taken a Premium course for preparation of GMAT.
It is very helpful explaining every single topic and also have ample no of practice question on each and every topic.
Also it allows us to ask a query related to any question whenever neeeded.
The Gmat Premium course is very helpful with lot of videos explaining even a minute logic and concept of every section.
It also provide practice questions after every module with explanation of each and every answer if needed .
Blog option is Great as it gives a real time discussion scenario where we can have a discussion of any topic or questions.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Poorly Designed
July 17 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By chadmg joined: July 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
While the course could be great, the lack of structure costs it big. The website needs a defined course to help students learn the proper material. It also depends far too heavily on outside material (OG Guide, Manhattan Prep, etc.)

Overall, the lack of study guidance coupled with the courses poor structure led me to this review. I invested hours upon hours of studying into this course with no improvement to my score. Even though the price is so low, one would still expect some amount of a score increase.

I would strongly recommend a more robust course for those seeking a moderate score improvement.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Really good value for money
June 29 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Anonymous joined: March 30, 2015 | 12 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I was initially using other books for my study (MGMAT books) which were really good. However, I ran into Magoosh and that really helped me in a couple of ways: 1) their problems are excelent (sometimes, it is very easy to find poor GMAT problems in the internet, especially in the sentence correction area); 2) their maths videos were really really useful to me and in some areas were more insightful that the MGMAT books; and 3) it was really easy for me to go online and do a couple of verbal problems whenever I had 5 free minutes at work.

I did not use the verbal videos (I did use the verbal problems) because I though I did not need them as much and because I though they were a bit dense.

I asked them for help re two problems twice and they replied within 24 hours.

I am not saying Magoosh will replace hard work. There are no shortcuts in the GMAT. I am saying that, in my opinion, I would not have got 730 in my first try if it was not for magoosh (amongsts other things, obviosuly).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
best prep materials for the budget test-taker
June 27 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Anonymous joined: June 4, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
All the video lessons are very helpful. I have actually found the Critical Reasoning to be most helpful. The Grammar videos are also very detailed and very focused on GMAT question types. The most interesting is the quiz after each module, this really is a warm-up before practicing Official Guide. Furthermore, explanations of every question in the quiz and lesson are excellent. The GMAT is really a test of applications, and during the practice, students must identify their mistakes in every question they attempt wrong. So, the Magoosh premium is really a great learning and practice resource for test-takers. Most importantly, this is the most cost-effective resource in the market. I highly recommend Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An invaluable resource!
June 23 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By GHP joined: February 3, 2014 | 5 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I took my first GMAT exam in February 2014, with disappointing results. After a year of not studying/thinking about business school, I decided to give the GMAT another go.

I signed up for Magoosh Premium to compliment the MGMAT strategy guides. I followed Mike's comprehensive 12-week study plan for advanced students. The Magoosh question bank and video lessons were extremely helpful. I particularly liked the feature that allowed you go move from the question bank to a relevant lesson, and back, without losing your place. The results summary on the dashboard helped me track my progress and provided a much needed confidence boost heading into test day.

I ultimately scored 730 on the real thing. I do not think I could have done that without the supporting material provided by Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
71 points
International Student Score Improvement
75 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $320
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$20 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code