Magoosh Premium Reviews
    Number of reviews [157]      Average Rating:       (4.6/5)
 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Our comprehensive online prep program features over 150 video lessons and 700 online practice questions and video explanations to help you conquer the GMAT. Includes over 150 math and verbal video lessons, 700 math and verbal practice questions, video explanations after every question, access for 1 year and email support within 24 hours. Also see - Special deal for GMAT Club members

Excellent and so Cost Effective
July 27 | 2015

       By jonathonmccarthy joined: June 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Magoosh Premium helped me get from a 690 to a 740 with only 3 weeks study. I tried to incorporate other software during this time however the different style of questions of often encountered and the poorly calibrated estimate scores caused me unnecessary concern. Magoosh's clear videos and clear interface lets you quickly get back to study each day where you left off. The practice problems are the right difficulty level for what i encountered on the GMATPrep software and then the real exam. The problems each have a written solution that you can quickly peruse or a fully worked video solution to cement any difficult ideas in your mind. Amazing for Quant but just as effective for Verbal, IR and AWA.
I combined the product with a 12 week study plan that Magoosh provided in their resources section and was happily studying when i was asked at work to move to Mongolia in 4 weeks time. Amazingly the Magoosh videos and solutions gave me enough of an edge in a crazy period in my life to get the score i wanted.
Oh, and all this for $99 - how you could possibly go wrong....

Jonathon
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT
July 19 | 2015

       By vaibhavarora08 joined: July 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I have taken a Premium course for preparation of GMAT.
It is very helpful explaining every single topic and also have ample no of practice question on each and every topic.
Also it allows us to ask a query related to any question whenever neeeded.
The Gmat Premium course is very helpful with lot of videos explaining even a minute logic and concept of every section.
It also provide practice questions after every module with explanation of each and every answer if needed .
Blog option is Great as it gives a real time discussion scenario where we can have a discussion of any topic or questions.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Poorly Designed
July 17 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By chadmg joined: July 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
While the course could be great, the lack of structure costs it big. The website needs a defined course to help students learn the proper material. It also depends far too heavily on outside material (OG Guide, Manhattan Prep, etc.)

Overall, the lack of study guidance coupled with the courses poor structure led me to this review. I invested hours upon hours of studying into this course with no improvement to my score. Even though the price is so low, one would still expect some amount of a score increase.

I would strongly recommend a more robust course for those seeking a moderate score improvement.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Really good value for money
June 29 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Anonymous joined: March 30, 2015 | 12 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I was initially using other books for my study (MGMAT books) which were really good. However, I ran into Magoosh and that really helped me in a couple of ways: 1) their problems are excelent (sometimes, it is very easy to find poor GMAT problems in the internet, especially in the sentence correction area); 2) their maths videos were really really useful to me and in some areas were more insightful that the MGMAT books; and 3) it was really easy for me to go online and do a couple of verbal problems whenever I had 5 free minutes at work.

I did not use the verbal videos (I did use the verbal problems) because I though I did not need them as much and because I though they were a bit dense.

I asked them for help re two problems twice and they replied within 24 hours.

I am not saying Magoosh will replace hard work. There are no shortcuts in the GMAT. I am saying that, in my opinion, I would not have got 730 in my first try if it was not for magoosh (amongsts other things, obviosuly).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
best prep materials for the budget test-taker
June 27 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Anonymous joined: June 4, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
All the video lessons are very helpful. I have actually found the Critical Reasoning to be most helpful. The Grammar videos are also very detailed and very focused on GMAT question types. The most interesting is the quiz after each module, this really is a warm-up before practicing Official Guide. Furthermore, explanations of every question in the quiz and lesson are excellent. The GMAT is really a test of applications, and during the practice, students must identify their mistakes in every question they attempt wrong. So, the Magoosh premium is really a great learning and practice resource for test-takers. Most importantly, this is the most cost-effective resource in the market. I highly recommend Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An invaluable resource!
June 23 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By GHP joined: February 3, 2014 | 5 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I took my first GMAT exam in February 2014, with disappointing results. After a year of not studying/thinking about business school, I decided to give the GMAT another go.

I signed up for Magoosh Premium to compliment the MGMAT strategy guides. I followed Mike's comprehensive 12-week study plan for advanced students. The Magoosh question bank and video lessons were extremely helpful. I particularly liked the feature that allowed you go move from the question bank to a relevant lesson, and back, without losing your place. The results summary on the dashboard helped me track my progress and provided a much needed confidence boost heading into test day.

I ultimately scored 730 on the real thing. I do not think I could have done that without the supporting material provided by Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Amazing value for money!
June 20 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Anonymous joined: May 11, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
My GMAT score when I first took a trial test without any form of preparation whatsoever was 620.
In three weeks, I took the real GMAT and got a score of 740.

Magoosh GMAT math is extremely thorough. They have 800+ questions, that you can work on, by difficulty level. They have excellent (video) solution explanations for each question, that teach you the shortest way to get to the answer.

Magoosh verbal covers the main points. It's good, but I think it takes more than this to substantially increase your verbal score.

Overall, I am very happy with this prep tool and my GMAT results. Thank you Magoosh!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
It Really Works! Go Magoosh
June 16 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By jtipton1 joined: May 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
The Magoosh course was straight to the point and just what I needed to get prepped for the GMAT in under a month of study time. Going in I had no idea of even the format of the exam and Magoosh went from start to finish explaining everything along the way.
1. The videos provided answered the all of the OG questions and were very detailed
2. They gave test tips and strategies for getting it right!
3. You could study specific topics if needed and customize to the max
Overall I can only say great things about the Magoosh GMAT services. They are well worth the money and will improve you score for sure. They guarantee it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Affordable and comprehensive system
June 15 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By avik629 joined: March 30, 2013 | 95 | 30 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Well I drifted onto Magoosh after a friend vouched for his experience with their package for GRE. Till that point of time I was good in quant but lagging in verbal, still in the 35ish level. What I needed was above 40.

Verbal : Magoosh understands (as I do now ) that the student needs to have a good understanding of grammar, sentence structure, etc and that's where their 'lessons' come in. The material is easy to understand in the video format and you can put in your own notes for later review. Its gives just the right amount of extra knowledge which goes beyond what is tested in the GMAT. But that's not enough. Practicing the problems is where the real value of Magoosh comes in. You can select the type of questions you want, the time you want to give yourself and customize it a bit. You should view the solutions to each and every question in the pack. Being able to see how every problem is solved, will give you a sixth sense when you are in your official exam, especially for SC. The questions here are not very tough,though they are very representative of the actual exam.

Quant : Nothing special to mention here except that they do a good job of covering even the most basic theory in the lesson videos. Practice questions are representative of actual GMAT, Questions of 'very hard' difficulty will challenge you from time to time and good practice if you want a 50 in quant.

Pros : Question video solutions, don't forget the freely available solutions to the Official guide questions on you tube. More stress on teaching grammar before giving solution strategy is a good technique. Score prediction is accurate.

Cons : Question Pool is limited. No ability to create tests from the question pool (was in beta at the time I used Magoosh)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magood Review
June 08 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By DvdBonan joined: March 2, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I really enjoyed using Magoosh and the online videos were extremely helpful. What I enjoyed most about Magoosh was the ability for it to estimate your quant and verbal score (which was very accurate). I loved the dashboard, comparing your pace to the average pace, as well as the average number of questions you get right.

The videos were really detailed and informative. They are broken down into the different sections of question types you will experience when taking your test (i.e. critical reasoning, reading comprehension, and sentence correction are all broken down even further).

Although the questions and videos were helpful, i found I was only able to improve my GMAT score by 20 points.

I do think it is great value for someone who has not used any other tools and the price is the most reasonable compared to other companies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
71 points
International Student Score Improvement
76 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $320
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$20 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code