Magoosh Premium Reviews
    Number of reviews [141]      Average Rating:       (4.6/5)
 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Our comprehensive online prep program features over 150 video lessons and 700 online practice questions and video explanations to help you conquer the GMAT. Includes over 150 math and verbal video lessons, 700 math and verbal practice questions, video explanations after every question, access for 1 year and email support within 24 hours. Also see - Special deal for GMAT Club members

Great Quant, good verbal
March 25 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Although joined: July 2, 2014 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
For the quant section, Magoosh is great. It has a huge question bank with video explanations for each question, tons of video lessons, and great customer service. The course is cheaper than most other courses and really helps you improve.

The verbal section is not bad but by itself not enough in my opinion. It should be combined with other services such as Powerscore's CR bible and MGMAT SC Correction. I got a 40 points score improvement after studying for 1 month.

My biggest problem was time management and I ran out on time in both sections forced to guess the last 5 or 6 questions. Thus, I believe that I'm able to get a higher score than I received on my most recent test.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Program! Amazing Price!
March 24 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By mba2018 joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I loved Magoosh due to the on demand lessons. I was able to watch them on my computer and on my phone. It made studying a lot better. Each lesson had some practice problems in it where you pause the video and work out the problem then resume. These were very helpful.

In addition to the lesson app, there is a math flashcards app and an idiom flashcards app.

Each lesson page has the transcript available so you read it as well. This was helpful when I wanted to review and read fast instead of having to listen. You can click on text and it takes you right to the prior sentence on the video.

Each practice questions comes with a video and text explanation and reference to lessons.

The only negative I feel is that there were only about 50 very very hard questions on the quant. I wish they would have had more, but you can get these elsewhere as well. I used the OG and other GMAT club resources.

I wanted a 50 point improvement and I got it! I am very happy.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Quant & SC Good, Verbal Not so Good
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By HamzaSyed joined: February 8, 2015 | 3 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Quant:

Great. Explanations come in two forms: video, text. FOR ALL questions. So you can learn while feeling relaxed and not putting strain on eye (reading). Explanations are good and corresponding video lessons are attached!!!

SC:

Good. Points out and explains every split and thing and again, corresponding videos are attached with EVERY QUESTION...JUST LIKE IT IS IN QUANT!!!

RC:

I found the passages to be way too long, convoluted, rich with weird words and dates. Couldn't learn much.

CR:

Could not learn much here. Very boring and frustrating. Explanations are not well enough. Wrong answer types are not explained.

(CR and RC also have very limited video lessons as compared to SC and Quant. My rough guess is that they together account for arround 10% of total video lessons. This is also because of nature of these two sections.)

Practice Review: Very well detailed and customizable. You can look into and compare results based on question type, topic/subject, average timing taken to solve the questions, when the question was taken, flagged, etc. Very good.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very good teaching
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 18, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Hi All,
I recently purchased magoosh after a lot of online research about which course is the best. I check a lot of them like Kaplan, veritas, gmat pill etc. Magoosh is the best one that i have seen till date.
The best part is, after each question there is a video about the solution.In the solution video the instructor solves it in real time in front of us, this not only helps us to find the solution but also helps us on how to approach the problem in a super fast manner.

One More thing that they have are the filters after every test that you take. Lot of filters. You can find flagged questions, incorrect questions, questions in which you took more time and a lot of other stuff.

All of this only @ $99. This is the cheapest by far.

Great Work from Magoosh
Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Much better than expected.
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Milind joined: November 8, 2009 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Positives -
1. Video explanations for each and every concept really helps to understand the concept in detail.
2. Great content - besides the subject related videos, the strategy videos in relevant sections are literally the game changer.
3. Practice questions - powered by some great practice questions.
4. Dashboard provides great insight of your preparation.
5. Another great feature is the timer for each question, that compares your average time with the general average. So you get to know, how much one needs to improve.
Not so positive -
1. Probably, there could be more than one full length practice.
By 5-6 practice tests the entire package will become at par (if not better) than the best in the business.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Cheap is good
March 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By clapo93 joined: February 8, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I've heard about magoosh on this forum and at the beginning I was a bit diffident because of the so little price, but I have only two month to prepare and it seems to me the quickest online course.
Now that I've tried magoosh and I've done the GMAT I have to say that it has been a very powerful tool in my preparation.
The best part is the quantitative one very detailed and well explained with a clear voice.
Also verbal part is good but maybe designed for native speaker.
The only negative thing to underline are the CATs that in my opinion are not very similar to the official ones.
Thus I really suggest this course to people who have little time and don't want to spend much money.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
good course @ decent price
March 14 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By joshi04 joined: June 2, 2014 | 7 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Magoosh provided a very structured and comprehensive study plan. The video explanations are one of the best in the market.
The best part is that one can select the questions as per the difficulty level and subject. The questions can be done in set of 25, 30, 41 question etc.. This not only helps in building the stamina but also in handling the timing issues.
The support from magoosh instructors are extensive. One can expect the replies, feedbacks or suggestions in a day or two.
Though, I could not get the expected score, I would definitely recommend the Magoosh premium course for the planned and comprehensive preparation for GMAT.

One more thing to add, since I bought magoosh only for verbal, but unfortunately the score dropped. i got the full amount refunded, even though I did not watch all quant videos.

And yes, I am going to retake the test and that too with Magoosh.

All the best for preparations...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great test prep, very affordable - try this first before paying big money for prep
March 14 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By adraybuck joined: December 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Start with Magoosh first, before you spend big money on test prep.
I regret shelling out $1,200 last year, as I found Magoosh to be a superior test prep company, with much more affordable pricing (I got the sale price of $99, full price is still great at $299).

I really like Magoosh's approach - the focus is building a rock solid foundation of Math and English skills, and THEN learning how to apply these skills to GMAT strategy. I have tested highly with Verbal from the start, but Quant was a real struggle for me before Magoosh.

There are several unique components of Magoosh test prep that blew my previous $1,200 test prep out of the water: video explanation of EVERY Quant and Verbal question in their database; Quant and Verbal flashcard apps (to break up the monotony of studying); blog posts (again, helps break up monotony of studying and provides further insight into specific question topics).

Highly recommend. I started on the lower end (450), and I have tested at 540 after 1.5 months of study. I intend to continue studying with Magoosh, with a goal of 650-700 by the end of this summer.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Learning tool. Great Quant shortcuts & tricks. Light on Verbal.
March 09 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I started preparing for the Gmat a few months back. Time is a big constraint for me. With a full-time job and with a kid at home finding time to study was/is tough. I found that the best way for me to study was studying/reviewing in short bursts of time.

Magoosh was recommended to me by my colleague who recently gave his exam and was really happy with his 7XX score.
I started with the trial version and then was really impressed with the way the material is presented and allows you to gain somethings in a short duration. I could get some videos done at work and then some during lunch time at work.

I am really impressed with their Quant material. The way it is presented and some of the tricks they have really help on saving time. 5 + stars for Quant.

For the Verbal , I would say their material is a bit light. It does a good overview of all the grammar basics and some other stuff but for SC and CR I would still recommend reading the MGMAT books.

Overall Magoosh is totally worth it. It has so many practice questions. You can configure your practice in number of ways. Do only hard ones , hard ones from a topic that you find tough etc etc.
The course is helping me a lot in preparing and getting me ready for the exam. Without it and all the time constraints , I think I would be lost.
Now time to schedule the exam and nail that beast :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Product, excellent price!
March 07 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By saadiagha joined: November 16, 2012 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Magoosh is an excellent resource. I am yet to take the exam (April 24th), but I can already see a marked improvement in the way I tackle math and verbal questions. This is an amazing product especially for the price- I read a few reviews on GMAT Club, and was not sure whether these reviews were even real! Everyone seemed to have loved Magoosh, and I was obviously skeptical given its below market price. However, I have been following the course as closely as possible, and I think its one of best tools you need for the GMAT.
I do think the verbal section is not representative of the actual GMAT questions. Some questions seem very easy, but Magoosh categorizes them as "Hard". I guess Ill know where I stand when I take the actual test, but I would recommend Magoosh to anyone who needs a study plan, and some discipline while studying for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
72 points
International Student Score Improvement
77 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code