Magoosh Premium Reviews
    Number of reviews [102]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Our comprehensive online prep program features over 150 video lessons and 700 online practice questions and video explanations to help you conquer the GMAT. Includes over 150 math and verbal video lessons, 700 math and verbal practice questions, video explanations after every question, access for 1 year and email support within 24 hours. Also see - Special deal for GMAT Club members

Magoosh has been splendid
December 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Silverification joined: June 11, 2011 | 4 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I am writing this review for Magoosh. Have been using it to get myself on track in Verbal. The difficulty rating with the explanations provided is really amazing. Their 'Very Hard' questions need definitely eye for detail and helps you develop that instinct to answer the tough GMAT questions. The timer and customizable practice quizzes helps one develop accuracy with speed. Admist all the work and loss of questions, I definitely look to Magoosh to keep me engaged and on track in Verbal and Quant sections. Nonetheless, having said all the cherry stuff, I do believe that Magoosh can make the Quant section a bit tougher. I have tried other company's questions for Maths and they seemed more tougher and tuned to Gmatprep practices tests. Nevertheless, this is certainly a must have for all GMAT takers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent - Please read
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By amanthapar joined: October 24, 2013 | 8 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
This is an excellent course for Math - clear, easy to understand videos that will help anyone in the 500 or 600 level.

Verbal has a great section of videos as well.

Their strong point is Quant and the question bank is one of the best I have seen. For $99 this is a great value for money. Do yourself a favor - don't spend $1000 on gmat courses. This is actually a great companion to the MGMAT books. See their study plans. You can get a good gmat score (700+) if you study hard.

The question bank for verbal is okay - use it to master fundamental s then move on to official questions.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Course, Loved the Videos
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nate9213 joined: January 8, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I don't think you can beat this course, especially for the price! My package came with both the Verbal and Quant.

My top 2 favorite things are:

1) Video lessons: I was able to speed up, skip, and replay lessons. The videos were quick and to the point (MGMAT videos are extremely long and winded) and greatly helped in my preparation.

2) Question bank: I love that Magoosh has their own set of questions (all web based) and that the questions provide instant feedback. Each question has a video answer, which are amazing!

I personally used Magoosh as my main form of study and used MGMAT as a supplement. I had ~30 days to study and Magoosh was great for that timeframe.

I would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone, especially for those who are just starting out and even more so for those who do not do well just learning by reading a book. It is probably not best for those looking to score a 720+.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very helpful for my test preparation
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By salieri joined: April 12, 2014 | 8 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Magoosh was very helpful for my GMAT preparation. I have yet to give the official test but I have already experienced a significant score increase. Starting out with a 450 before my preparation, I achieved a 110 score increase so far and I am not planning on stopping yet. I have been following the 3-month schedule for beginners and I can particularly recommend the daily consumption of the lesson videos that give you an in-depth view on the theory necessary for the different quant and verbal sections.
Magoosh also comes with countless practice exercises with answer explanations for every single exercise.
I found the quant difficulty level to be comparable to the quant section of the GMATPrep test. The Sentence Correction exercises however seemed a little easier.
Keeping this in mind, Magoosh is an invaluable method for boosting your GMAT score for an unbeatable price.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Verbal Improvement
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By govind440 joined: August 9, 2009 | 15 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
The video lessons are helpful specially for sentence correction. examples are similar to GMAT ones so exposure is always useful. I improved my timing whenever i compared with others.
I can create my own notes for the video so i can go back any time i want. Magoosh also has an app so it helped too.

Magoosh is playing an important role in my GMAT preparation, so I would recommend this course. I did not use quant app much yet since i am good at quant, however i heard that quant is also useful. For non native speakers, it is really useful and it is not that expensive also.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing Course
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gfrazer911 joined: October 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I love the instructional videos, you have the ability to break down and critique any of your weaknesses through their customization tab. However, the real beauty of this course is you can go at your own pace. It is studying made fun. I have never taken a course that was so intuitive and helpful. The other aspect that I love about this course is the team that is there to help you with any clarifying questions. They respond quickly and they are not short with their responses. They take the time to explain to you when you are confused. Thanks Guys!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magoosh GMAT Prep (Premium Subscription)
December 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By danayerace joined: July 22, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
You can use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

I tried the free trial of Magoosh when I joined the GMAT Club in preparation of my upcoming GMAT exam. I found the videos extremely helpful, short and sweet, each one about 10 minutes in length. The lessons are laid out very logically and the flow is easy to follow. Quizzes are at the ends of the groups of lessons and are a great way to gauge how much information you are absorbing. I particularly like the ability to take notes in each of the lessons, practice lots of varied questions, complete flash cards (great app for your phone is available), and log onto Magoosh from anywhere and it is all saved. I'd recommend using this software to help review major topics, practice questions and get 2 more practice exams.

Also, Magoosh is great with asking for feedback and responding to it. I was having some trouble and emailed them, got a response back on a Sunday!

You can use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

Hope this was helpful :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Value for money!
December 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mehtajay93 joined: July 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I signed up for Magoosh after reading about it on this very website. For 99 dollars, I got access to all the videos and practice questions. Going by the rate, this deal was a steal!

Coming to the content, I think Magoosh's practice questions are perfect. They reflect the actual GMAT exam content.

The Quant videos are bang on. They've managed to cover almost everything. The videos are short, minimal in nature and very easy to understand.

Their Verbal videos are great too, but I feel they should work more on the Critical Reasoning section. It is one of the most difficult parts of the GMAT, and students could do a lot more with explanations of that topic.

In addition to all this, their blog is a treat for all GMAT students. Study Plans, book reviews, tips and tricks. You name it, and they have it.

All in all, a great product. Be rest assured, I'm going to be recommending this to anyone I come across who needs help with preparation for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magoosh App
December 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Magoosh's materials are really detailed and well explained with a lot of practice questions. It helped me a lot to understand the various elements in the verbal section and revise my concepts on the maths section. I would recommend some more IR questions and some more full length practice tests as well. I'm completely satisfied with magoosh course and I'm looking forward to make it to the 700's! Best of luck Magooshers!

Cons:
-Could focus more on strategy
-Although the SC aspect of verbal is strong, CR and RC could be enhanced (although everything you NEED to know is covered)
-IR is covered in the same way as CR and RC, but it could be more comprehensive
-No AWA practice essays

Thanks a lot Magoosh!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh helped me go to the next level
December 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
After taking the GMAT in September and studying off of the Manhattan GMAT books and the OG guides, I was disappointed with the progress I had made and the score I received.

I'm still a pretty good self-learn and self-starter, so I knew an in person class wasn't necessary. After seeing reviews here about Magoosh, and the deal they had for their Premium package, I decided to invest.

The lessons are well paced and informative. There were times I'd simply read the text transcript instead of the watching the entire video for concepts that I was more comfortable with.

I would say the biggest benefit for me was lessons on test strategy. Understanding why I was missing verbal questions, in particular, was exceptionally helpful in creating my test day strategy.

I didn't complete all of the questions for either verbal or math, but the lessons themselves and the practice test (along with the 6 Manhattan GMAT practice tests) helped hone my strengths and weaknesses.

I essentially ignored the IR this time around after scoring an 8 previously, so while that final score was below my expectations, how I performed on Verbal & Math more than made up for it.

From a 650 to a 730. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Thanks, Magoosh!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
75 points
International Student Score Improvement
86 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code