Magoosh Premium Reviews
    Number of reviews [154]      Average Rating:       (4.6/5)
 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Our comprehensive online prep program features over 150 video lessons and 700 online practice questions and video explanations to help you conquer the GMAT. Includes over 150 math and verbal video lessons, 700 math and verbal practice questions, video explanations after every question, access for 1 year and email support within 24 hours. Also see - Special deal for GMAT Club members

Really good value for money
June 29 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 30, 2015 | 12 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I was initially using other books for my study (MGMAT books) which were really good. However, I ran into Magoosh and that really helped me in a couple of ways: 1) their problems are excelent (sometimes, it is very easy to find poor GMAT problems in the internet, especially in the sentence correction area); 2) their maths videos were really really useful to me and in some areas were more insightful that the MGMAT books; and 3) it was really easy for me to go online and do a couple of verbal problems whenever I had 5 free minutes at work.

I did not use the verbal videos (I did use the verbal problems) because I though I did not need them as much and because I though they were a bit dense.

I asked them for help re two problems twice and they replied within 24 hours.

I am not saying Magoosh will replace hard work. There are no shortcuts in the GMAT. I am saying that, in my opinion, I would not have got 730 in my first try if it was not for magoosh (amongsts other things, obviosuly).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
best prep materials for the budget test-taker
June 27 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 4, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
All the video lessons are very helpful. I have actually found the Critical Reasoning to be most helpful. The Grammar videos are also very detailed and very focused on GMAT question types. The most interesting is the quiz after each module, this really is a warm-up before practicing Official Guide. Furthermore, explanations of every question in the quiz and lesson are excellent. The GMAT is really a test of applications, and during the practice, students must identify their mistakes in every question they attempt wrong. So, the Magoosh premium is really a great learning and practice resource for test-takers. Most importantly, this is the most cost-effective resource in the market. I highly recommend Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
An invaluable resource!
June 23 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By GHP joined: February 3, 2014 | 5 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I took my first GMAT exam in February 2014, with disappointing results. After a year of not studying/thinking about business school, I decided to give the GMAT another go.

I signed up for Magoosh Premium to compliment the MGMAT strategy guides. I followed Mike's comprehensive 12-week study plan for advanced students. The Magoosh question bank and video lessons were extremely helpful. I particularly liked the feature that allowed you go move from the question bank to a relevant lesson, and back, without losing your place. The results summary on the dashboard helped me track my progress and provided a much needed confidence boost heading into test day.

I ultimately scored 730 on the real thing. I do not think I could have done that without the supporting material provided by Magoosh.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing value for money!
June 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 11, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
My GMAT score when I first took a trial test without any form of preparation whatsoever was 620.
In three weeks, I took the real GMAT and got a score of 740.

Magoosh GMAT math is extremely thorough. They have 800+ questions, that you can work on, by difficulty level. They have excellent (video) solution explanations for each question, that teach you the shortest way to get to the answer.

Magoosh verbal covers the main points. It's good, but I think it takes more than this to substantially increase your verbal score.

Overall, I am very happy with this prep tool and my GMAT results. Thank you Magoosh!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
It Really Works! Go Magoosh
June 16 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By jtipton1 joined: May 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
The Magoosh course was straight to the point and just what I needed to get prepped for the GMAT in under a month of study time. Going in I had no idea of even the format of the exam and Magoosh went from start to finish explaining everything along the way.
1. The videos provided answered the all of the OG questions and were very detailed
2. They gave test tips and strategies for getting it right!
3. You could study specific topics if needed and customize to the max
Overall I can only say great things about the Magoosh GMAT services. They are well worth the money and will improve you score for sure. They guarantee it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Affordable and comprehensive system
June 15 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By avik629 joined: March 30, 2013 | 95 | 29 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Well I drifted onto Magoosh after a friend vouched for his experience with their package for GRE. Till that point of time I was good in quant but lagging in verbal, still in the 35ish level. What I needed was above 40.

Verbal : Magoosh understands (as I do now ) that the student needs to have a good understanding of grammar, sentence structure, etc and that's where their 'lessons' come in. The material is easy to understand in the video format and you can put in your own notes for later review. Its gives just the right amount of extra knowledge which goes beyond what is tested in the GMAT. But that's not enough. Practicing the problems is where the real value of Magoosh comes in. You can select the type of questions you want, the time you want to give yourself and customize it a bit. You should view the solutions to each and every question in the pack. Being able to see how every problem is solved, will give you a sixth sense when you are in your official exam, especially for SC. The questions here are not very tough,though they are very representative of the actual exam.

Quant : Nothing special to mention here except that they do a good job of covering even the most basic theory in the lesson videos. Practice questions are representative of actual GMAT, Questions of 'very hard' difficulty will challenge you from time to time and good practice if you want a 50 in quant.

Pros : Question video solutions, don't forget the freely available solutions to the Official guide questions on you tube. More stress on teaching grammar before giving solution strategy is a good technique. Score prediction is accurate.

Cons : Question Pool is limited. No ability to create tests from the question pool (was in beta at the time I used Magoosh)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magood Review
June 08 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By DvdBonan joined: March 2, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I really enjoyed using Magoosh and the online videos were extremely helpful. What I enjoyed most about Magoosh was the ability for it to estimate your quant and verbal score (which was very accurate). I loved the dashboard, comparing your pace to the average pace, as well as the average number of questions you get right.

The videos were really detailed and informative. They are broken down into the different sections of question types you will experience when taking your test (i.e. critical reasoning, reading comprehension, and sentence correction are all broken down even further).

Although the questions and videos were helpful, i found I was only able to improve my GMAT score by 20 points.

I do think it is great value for someone who has not used any other tools and the price is the most reasonable compared to other companies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best investment in GMAT Prep
June 01 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
> First Attempt: Scored 740 (50Q,40V,6 IR, 5 AWA).

Background: While I am aware of good classroom based/online courses my motto was to utilize self study and get max score using free online resources like the excellent forums, peers/friends, free tests (at least most companies offer one free test), OG and MGMAT/Kaplan/Veritus tests. However 1 month into my preparation I quickly ran out of reliable resources for practising (strengthening topics in tests isn't the best idea). This is when I shopped around and bought Magoosh Premium.

Thinks I liked:

> It has large pool of questions spread across all topics.
> The review section is extremely useful. (Doesn't have fancy graph, progress bar, etc but simple and useful)
> Email response (I had a doubt in one of the answer choices) took 2 days which was acceptable to me.
> Video lessons are handy and less boring that reading them from a pdf/web/book
> Handy tips in the blog and resources section
> Good flash cards.
> Excellent value for money

Only one slight negative: Towards the end I ended up with lot of easy/medium questions which wasn't ideal as my preparation was getting better to I wanted harder questions. But this is also due to the fact I have used up the harder questions before (you can control it). To clarify, there are more than enough hard (700+) questions, its just that I didn't want the easy ones. ;)

N.B. I never actually used the practise test as I thought that will use up some questions from the pool. I had enough tests that I bought from MGMAT and Kaplan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
MAGOOSH- How it helps
May 15 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ddg joined: April 4, 2015 | 4 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Well Although I haven't given the GMAT Exam yet. I've scheduled it to be taken in Aug 1st week this year. I am writing this review to lessen the confusion about preparation and what courses to take when there is so much to choose from.

How I came to know of Magoosh:
Frankly I searched the net, seriously, no one recommended me anything cause none of my friends had taken GMAT before. I found magoosh's methodology to be simple and the layout to be effective at first sight. Also, the pricing was highly affordable. So i went for it.

Start of Preparation:
I have a MS in Chemistry and frankly used more calculus oriented calculations throughout my course. So, high school math was out of my brain though I scored well in my 10th (100/100) and 12th exams (91) [I'm based in India, hence the 10th and 12th std]. But I had forgotten almost everything. I know, sounds weird. But I did.

Although I had bought the course in Dec 2014, I started my prep in march 2015. Its 1.5 months through, and I find Magoosh Quant to be really helpful, more so cause I am focusing on Quant prep right now. I gave several mocks (only quant section - there's no issue, you can always reset question pool) as follows:

March end - GMAT Club free tests (Manhattan Prep Challenge Set #1) - score Q40
April mid - GMAT Club free tests (Manhattan Prep Challenge Set #2) - Q42
May beginning - GMAT Club free tests (GMAT Club challenge Quant set) - messed up here cause despite a 60% i scored Q39 cause i made mistakes in 500 level questions. (it is my own silly mistakes)

I realised I needed review of concepts and also more practice. I went through Magoosh's quant videos again and little practice (not much really, I m still preparing). I gave mocks as follows:

1. GMAT Club Free tests - Manhattan Prep Challenge set #3 - Q45
2. Magoosh Practice Test - Q47
3. GMATPrep Question Bank - Practice Exam - Q46

Also, as part as verbal is concerned, Magoosh's SC Module is impeccable. Seriously. RC and CR needs more detailing. But SC is wonderful.

So all in all: in a preparatory stage, I suggest everyone to take up Magoosh, its going to be your closest companion and walk you through simple and advanced concepts like cakewalk. Also, practice can never be substituted. I hope to score well in Aug exam. Luck definitely plays a role, but with a companion like Magoosh, hard-work can get you through.

Hope this helps. :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent program
May 07 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By pierro93 joined: April 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I began working with the Kaplan book but I did not feel prepared enough to take the test. I also wanted more explanations about certain topics (essentially in verbal). Magoosh gave me all what I was looking for: detailed videos, personal customer service with fast reaction, etc. Moreover, every question has its own explanatory video, which helps a lot in understanding the tricks used to solve the hardest questions. I would strongly recommend Magoosh to any student willing to improve his score on the gmat. $100 is not that much in comparison with taking the test a second time. On the top of that, Magoosh is way cheaper than its competitors.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
71 points
International Student Score Improvement
76 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code