Magoosh Premium Reviews
    Number of reviews [87]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
 
Magoosh Promo Code
 
Our comprehensive online prep program features over 150 video lessons and 700 online practice questions and video explanations to help you conquer the GMAT. Includes over 150 math and verbal video lessons, 700 math and verbal practice questions, video explanations after every question, access for 1 year and email support within 24 hours. Also see - Special deal for GMAT Club members

Magoosh GMAT Prep (Premium Subscription)
October 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By danayerace joined: July 22, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
You can use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

I tried the free trial of Magoosh when I joined the GMAT Club in preparation of my upcoming GMAT exam. I found the videos extremely helpful, short and sweet, each one about 10 minutes in length. The lessons are laid out very logically and the flow is easy to follow. Quizzes are at the ends of the groups of lessons and are a great way to gauge how much information you are absorbing. I particularly like the ability to take notes in each of the lessons, practice lots of varied questions, complete flash cards (great app for your phone is available), and log onto Magoosh from anywhere and it is all saved. I'd recommend using this software to help review major topics, practice questions and get 2 more practice exams.

Also, Magoosh is great with asking for feedback and responding to it. I was having some trouble and emailed them, got a response back on a Sunday!

You can use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

Hope this was helpful :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh saved my quant bacon - thanks for the 750!
October 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By alchimiste joined: April 23, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I was struggling with fully grasping and applying many of the quant concepts even after going through a series of books more than once.

I was very reluctant to pay $1 000 plus for another course so I went with the much cheaper option of Magoosh and I am so glad I did! The Magoosh videos were clear and perfectly paced with just the right amount of detail and background. The whole series was wonderfully laid out and organized. I appreciated the opportunities to pause the videos and do a practice problem. I also liked that the video would often mention how likely a concept was to appear on the GMAT.

My GMAT quant score percentile improved from 63% to 79% in under a month and I am confident it is thanks to Magoosh! This got me a 750 total score and makes me much more confident about my applications.

I 100% recommend Magoosh - excellent quality and superb value!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Worth every penny!
October 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I scored a 660 in gmat and for the retake decided to take magoosh as it was the most cost effective option! For 99 dollars I got everything,literally EVERYTHING from fundamentals to tips and tricks etc.

The way they explain everything in detail with absolute clarity is brilliant! I love the way the solutions to questions are provided.

If you are still confused I would suggest go for the free trial and you ll know what i am talking about.

There response i to all your questions via mail is also very quick and appropriate.

In addition they have also provided a score guarantee of 50 points.

I would say taking magoosh was a very very good decision!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh - Integral Part of 560-730 Score Rise
October 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Luggenes joined: August 11, 2014 | 7 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Magoosh is a bang-for-your-buck winner in the world of GMAT prep. I used Magoosh in conjunction with MGMAT to score a 6/8/730 (44v 47q) on my GMAT. Magoosh was the foundation and MGMAT was the topping. I was highly verbal skewed at the beginning (never dipped below 87th percentile in any of my practices start to finish and scored 98th percentile on the real deal) so quant was where I needed help, and where Magoosh delivered.

I am 30 years old, and many of the topics on the GMAT, particularly quantitative, I have not seen or graced since high school. Magoosh is perfect for someone like me: a person who needs to refresh or relearn old material and to learn it right the first time. The instructional videos were the foundation for my preparation and during my 10 week study. I watched all the quant videos and about half the verbal. After that preparation I was consistently scoring in the 640-660 range on my practices.

The Magoosh Quant is what really stands out. MGMAT quant answers are often as difficult or more difficult than the actual problem to understand; its just a wall of text and numbers. Magoosh's video guide made the solution clear 99/100 (every now and again the narrator would skip a little too much in his coverage for me, but again my quant skills are probably below average for GMAT Club readers).

The Magoosh verbal is slightly below its quant in quality, but is still very good. My issue with verbal was that when the questions reached the "very hard" difficulty the rationale and reasoning behind the answers became a little dodgy, in my opinion sometimes substituting ambiguity for difficulty. Even still, I did half of all of the Magoosh practice problems and the effort showed in the results.

Magoosh's primary deficit, and in comparison to its cost the deficit is minor, is that it does not take the prospective taker to their 700+ score that we all aim for. As above, after doing all the magoosh lessons I was in the 650 range plus or minus. It was not until I dug well into MGMAT that my score got pushed to 690, then 710, then eventually 730 on the real test. MGMAT has the "holy sh*t that problem is hard" practice questions that prepare you for the hardest issues the GMAC can toss your way, while Magoosh's very top level questions were not always so precise.

Aside form top-notch review and foundational preparation on quant, the most valuable reward of using Magoosh was a fundamental change in thinking process. Watched the hundreds of videos actually trains you to THINK LIKE THE INSTRUCTOR. The narrators are great at explaining their logic, and after 300 videos you learn to channel them and actually find yourself thinking in their voices. Though it sounds a little creepy, it was immensely helpful for me bringing my quant up to the necessary level.

Overall I gave Magoosh 4/5 stars because in order to reach the 720+ score I demanded of myself, I believe MGMAT was a necessary addition to the Magoosh Curriculum. But it was Magoosh that not only supplied 80% of my study materials at only 22% of the total cost, but also gave me the foundational knowledge and confidence to take on MGMAT's rigorous problem set.

Without Magoosh my success would never have happened. I highly recommend the $100 internet access program to all GMAT takers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great value
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By brunora joined: September 5, 2013 | 3 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Pros
- great value
- ideal for self-studying
- 800+ questions segmented by difficulty and topic make it easy to focus on your weakness.
- great statistics based on your answers, easy to identify where to focus.
- lessons covering all possible topics
- mobile app (great to watch classes in the gym or in the bus)
- questions are slightly harder than the official gmat, which is good for training

Cons
- Score prediction has a very wide range and still missed my score on both quant and verbal
- No IR or AWA questions (just lessons)
- No practice exam
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good for Math, but still to basic if you want to hit 700
October 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By GMAT17325 joined: June 7, 2014 | 8 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Pros:
-Math videos are representative and include cool tricks for the test
-video lessons are short and easy to follow- especially great for learning after a full-time job.
-the predictor score for the math was representative of what I actually got.

Cons:
-Verbal questions are too easy and not representative.
-I was only able to generate two practice test from the test pool.
-the predictor for verbal is not very accurate as i was more than 15 points off for my verbal.


In summary, I took this course to for the 50 points increase. Sadly, after 2 more month of studying, I got the same scale score and only increased my total score by 10 points. If you are looking to break the 700 barrier, this course is too basic for you. I will be looking into additional resources for help. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
BEST
October 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By adityasomani555 joined: October 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Magoosh is very helpfull because of its simplicity and to the point explanation.Diagnostic test is best as we can set the number of question we want in the test.Magoosh take care of our improvement task bar time to time and update it immediately to boost our morale.During the video we can add notes for future refrence is simply awesum.
Magoosh is best in both way,For Scoring & also it take cares economicaly.Premium course of magoosh is best so go for it guys and best of luck for the preperation.Make it your weapon to drill Gmat exam well.Best of Luck
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Course, Amazing Price!
September 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By asr913 joined: August 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Magoosh provides an extensive amount of content at an amazing price. I needed a lot of review and was not sure where to start. Luckily, Magoosh covers all topics that you need to prepare for the GMAT in a very accessible manner. The detailed video explanations of all of their practice questions certainly helped as well.

Magoosh's math preparation is its strongest asset. I hadn't taken a math course in over 10 years, and Magoosh offered everything I needed to know. Their math questions are typically harder than those on the GMAT itself, which is both good and bad. Good as it allows you to understand the difficult concepts needed to get a top score, and bad as it can be a little discouraging and difficult to pinpoint your weaknesses.

Magoosh's verbal review is quite strong as well. Though not as comprehensive as the math, which seems to be the case with most GMAT prep courses, it provides you with enough content to prepare well for the test.

Overall, I was highly satisfied with Magoosh: it offers an impressive amount of content for the price.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Magoosh Premium Review
September 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
Very good course if you can carve out the time to watch all the videos and make notes for each one. It really helps to boost your fundamental skills and basic knowledge for the GMAT but might be lacking for those looking to push into the 700s. I started my GMAT study with an initial score of 630 (GMAC) and got an actual score of 680 on the GMAT. My quantitative scores were relatively unchanged throughout all my practice tests but my verbal scores improved considerably by using Magoosh PREP. It is important to note that I studied for the GMAT for only about a month's time but I did not have any other commitments either.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh review
August 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 10, 2013 | 5 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Magoosh Premium | Location:  Online |
I had already used Magoosh for my GRE Prep and was very satisfied with the product scope so I decided to use it for my GMAT Prep again.

I come from Germany and I am confident about my quant skills so the Verbal section was of special importance to me.

The video lectures were extremely helpful and supported me in adjusting my feeling for English grammar to the GMAT standards. I improved a lot and scored frequently high on the mock exams.

Unfortunately, I was not able to convey these to the full extent to the real exam and scored 39. Still I am satisfied with the score which I achieved with the great Magoosh lessons.

Thank you guys!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Magoosh Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Magoosh Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
76 points
International Student Score Improvement
86 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
100%
Save $325
on Magoosh Courses
+$300 discount
+$25 bonus
Get Magoosh Promo Code