Hourly Services Reviews
    Number of reviews [45]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
mbaMission
For those who have identified specific needs and require focused advisory services, we offer "A la Carte" services.

mbaMission hourly services review
April 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Eric Hollowaty
Eric was the key to getting me into my dream program. I put in a lot of the leg work before my first chat with Eric (a month before my app was due). The good thing was that I knew where I wanted to go, why, and what my academic focus would be, but I really need help to create a cohesive application. Eric definitely brought my application up a notch. He asked key questions that helped me fine-tune my ideas and experiences into a cohesive story with specific goals. Given that I was reaching out to him almost always in a panic and at the last minute, I was so lucky that he was able to squeeze me into his schedule whenever he could and provide feedback surprisingly quickly. My only regret is that I didn't start the process a little earlier!

Eric also helped me fix up my resume to be more results-focused (instead of task-focused). Again, he was super helpful here and helped me boil down some of my industry jargon into an easy to read resume. He also asked me key questions to help highlight my most important accomplishments. I would recommend mbaMission and Eric to anyone who needs help getting to the finish line!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Couldn't Have Done it Without Them!
April 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By kil2snobord joined: April 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Eric Hollowaty
I used mbaMission to help me with preparing my application and I think it was worth every penny! The company first asked me what type of working style I had and paired me with Eric Hollowaty based on my responses. Eric was very professional throughout, and provided me extensive and exhaustive support.

I went into the process not really appreciating fully the magnitude of the task ahead, and so was really thankful to have Eric help me to navigate the process. Not only did Eric help me to brainstorm ideas for essays across the four schools I applied to, but he also reviewed those essays in detail over the course of multiple iterations. He also helped me proof read my resume and the application itself, all of which allowed me to “rest easy” with the knowledge that I had an expert, extra set of eyes to ensure my application allowed me to put my best foot forward to the admission committees.

Eric also helped keep me on task. If I had done the process on my own, I’m sure that I would have let some items “slip through the cracks”, so having Eric’s reminders every now and then that, for example, I only had two weeks left and need to fill out the application itself because it takes more time than you’d expect, was really helpful to ensuring that I completed everything on time.

In terms of the essays themselves, I was not prepared for the soul searching that some of the essays for the top 4 schools required. Eric really pushed me to dig deep and identify the fundamental things about me that an admissions committee wants to understand when asking an open-ended question like “tell us something we don’t already know about you.” Eric also provided great support in ensuring that I crafted a compelling story for “Why Our School”, forcing me to get very specific on the aspects of their curriculum that aligned with my interests, as evidenced by my career.

Lastly, Eric gave me the impression that he was incredibly dedicated to my success. Even though we only spoke over the phone, I could sense Eric’s passion for helping me to achieve my goal of getting into a top-tier business school, and it made me really enjoy working with him, to the point where I hope we stay in touch moving forward.

I would highly recommend mbaMission for their professionalism, and Eric Hollowaty in particular, for the phenomenal support that they provided. I would not have gotten into my business school of choice without their help!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Help for an Unconventional Application
April 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By leomac13 joined: April 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
My application was far from ordinary. I was applying to two business schools (CBS, LBS) and three real estate programs (Harvard, Columbia, MIT). My undergrad GPA was under a 3.0 and I had started my own development company instead of having bulge bracket experience. Initially Katherine helped demystify the process and gave me a non-sugar coated analysis of my application, which I very much appreciated.
In dealing with my low GPA, she suggested an unapologetic approach that ended up turning a weakness into an opportunity. I don't know how many clients Katherine was helping at the time but she certainly made me feel at ease by being consistently available to address questions and concerns. She got to know me quickly, understood my strengths and weaknesses, and helped my leverage the former over the latter in both the big picture and small details of my essays. Katy helped me see the application as a holistic process and crafted it accordingly with essays, recommendations, and a resume that worked together to really bring out my story to the admission committee. I feel like this was especially helpful given my background. Katy helped me tell a great story about myself, sometimes in under 500 words. She was great at showing me what was important, what was not, and what I shouldn't say at all.
There wasn't much information on the real estate programs available, but Katy researched what others within mbaMission had done and provided greater insight than what I could have found on my own.
At first I was hesitant to hire an admission consultant after already paying for Manhattan GMAT prep. Those hours were well worth it, not only for the results but also because I felt less stressed throughout the process. I was admitted to all of the programs except London and will be attending Harvard in the fall. I would absolutely recommend Katy for anyone pursuing a graduate degree at a top tier school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Money well spent
April 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
Yes, hiring a personal MBA admissions consultant is expensive. However, in the grand scheme of things and what the MBA will ultimately cost, it's money well spent and I'm glad I did it.

Dan was very helpful in the essay writing process. He helped me brainstorm essay topics before writing - and, perhaps most importantly, he pushed me to take a risk in writing about something personal.

His feedback was always very prompt, which was helpful given that I was on a huge crunch due to a late start. His feedback was honest and direct - he highlighted the good parts as well as the parts that needed work. He was also ver helpful in helping cut words to meet the word count limits.

I also did a mock interview that was very helpful. He gave me good feedback and suggestions for improvement. It was also a good dry run. I was surprisingly nervous and it was good to get through those nerves when it "didn't count".

Lastly, the admissions process can be very overwhelming. It was helpful to have someone that knows the process and to help me navigate it.

I've applied to 2 schools. I've gotten into one and am waiting to hear back from the 2nd.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
mbaMission - Application Services
April 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rkbraunstein joined: April 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Susan Kaplan
The MBA process is extremely stressful and time consuming, and there is no way I could have survived it without Susan. I had a lot of ideas and thoughts on how I should approach the essays, and she really helped me brainstorm what I want to portray for the AdComm. We prioritized my key attributes and how and where I should discuss each of them in my application process to make sure I told a thorough, interesting, and unique experience. Each and every line was questioned, pushing me to dig deep on who I am and exactly what I am trying to show the AdComm. I remember thinking, "I don't know anymore! AH!" but she kept me on track and made my application reach a level I never thought it could have. I know for a fact I wouldn't have succeeded in getting into my #1 choice without her help. Thank you!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Eric Hollowaty - mbaMission Consultant
March 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Eric Hollowaty
I worked with Eric Hollowaty at mbaMission this fall to prepare my essays for two top business schools. In total, I purchased 5 hours of consulting services, and I was extremely satisfied with the results as I was recently admitted to my top choice school.

When I started the application process, I had a weak understanding and unclear idea of what I wanted to convey in my essays. In a very short time, Eric was able to help me brainstorm experiences to include and provide me with direction and advice on how I could incorporate these experiences into my essays to make them stick out.

Eric’s advice was critical to improving the quality of my essays, which in turn, contributed to my overall success in getting into school. I highly recommend his services!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
LIZA WEALE - thank you, with your help I got into Wharton and HBS!
March 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
***LIZA WEALE is the most EFFECTIVE and EFFICIENT collaborator I have ever worked with!!!***
*SHE WILL HELP YOU CRAFT YOUR BEST PACKAGE POSSIBLE!*

I’m a 10 year veteran with a below 700 GMAT. I knew I would need to craft my best package possible in order to be competitive for R2 submissions. I applied to Kellogg (D), Wharton (A), and HBS (M). I began working on my applications around July and had already written my essays and resume by the time I approached Liza in October.

Even though I had engaged peers and alumni from all three schools to provide feedback on my essays and resume, I still felt uneasy with the feedback I received. My peers knew me well and had a military background – I felt I needed to engage someone with a keen eye and a different background. That’s when I reached out to MBAmission.

I got lucky by picking Liza Weale – after reading her background, she seemed like someone I would want to work with, a decision I don’t regret. She was able to relate to me, teach me new skills, keep me positive, and above all – provide an honest estimate of her services.

Liza Weale is a military brat (an endearing word to those that grew up traveling the country and world, base to base), so she had the perfect mix between knowing enough about the military to understand some context – but not enough to read past jargon. It was this balance that allowed her to provide hard hitting insight into my stories. If something made no sense – she’d give it to me straight. It really forced me to reflect on my stories in a way I could not have done on my own. This paid dividends when I interviewed at HBS. She is also extremely sharp and succinct. I had fears working over the phone – having done many teleconferences, I know what a waste of time they can turn out to be, but she was able to make every minute count. One phone call in my mind equated to 50 emails (be prepared to take copious notes when you call her!) Working with her opened my eyes to the caliber of professionals that I would potentially work with after earning an MBA. She was EXACTLY the kind of person I was seeking.

Liza Weale played the role of teacher. Regardless of the outcome of my application – I knew I was walking away from this experience a better writer. She opened my eyes to the “Show don’t Tell” technique of writing. This skill set has translated into my profession and has helped me teach others write better too.

Liza Weale played the role of a support network. Few of my friends could understand the stress I felt or odds I was up against. There were times when I doubted my own package – knowing that I was outside the median in almost every category tracked. She was always positive, over email and the phone – even when providing tough feedback. Her positive attitude never wavered and it helped crush any doubt that began to creep into my head.

Above all – Liza Weale is honest. I was willing to pay for the much more expensive deluxe service package. But after she had a chance to review my brainstorming document, essays, and resume, she recommended the hourly rate – recognizing I would not need hours and hours of her assistance. I do give myself credit – I had to play my part too – I was receptive to her insights and did the hard work of crafting and re-crafting my essays. She was acted as a rudder – providing steering direction toward my goals.

***COUNT YOURSELF LUCKY IF LIZAWEALE HAS AVAILABILTY TO HELP YOU!***
I am giving her name to all my friends who decide to pursue an MBA as well
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Daniel Richards from mbaMission
March 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 18, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
I was never really good with portraying all my thoughts on paper. So even though I knew exactly why I wanted to go to a top business school, writing it all down in a concise yet clear format was hard for me.

I applied to a couple top b schools for R1 earlier this year but did not even get any interviews. These were my top choices at that time (since these were local to where I live). So for round 2, I knew I had to revise my strategy. I started to look for consultants and reached out to several different organizations and had chats with a few consultants.

My chat with Daniel went really great. He had already read my resume (unlike some other who never did) and could right away point out several things on my resume which needed to change. From the beginning, Dan was very honest and to the point. He pushed me to achieve my potential and think about different approaches for the same essay. To give an example, he would help me clear my thoughts on essays I would send him, but many times also leave open ended questions to push me to think outside the box.

The other thing about Dan which I must point out is that he was always there. I remember sending him essays really close to Christmas break and even though he was on vacation he would return my essays back as soon as he could. I found Dan's working style very friendly in spite of being so professional. Also, Dan always replied back to emails really quickly if I ask him a question or two. He is very considerate of the timelines.

I also did interview prep with Dan and I found it SO useful! Mock interview with Dan really helped me stay calm during the real interviews because I had already discussed the various points which I must talk about. My interviews went really well and I got admitted to all the schools I interviewed for in R2- Kellogg, Tepper and McCombs.

I strongly suggest you to look up Daniel Richards from mbaMission. His writing, work ethic and honestly is exactly what got me into business school when I had almost lost all the hope!

Last piece of advice which I learnt the hard way: initially the consulting services may seem expensive but it is well worth if you get into your dream school! I wish someone had told me about Daniel when I was applying for R1! I would have saved on so much time and anxiety!

Goodluck to you all out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
mbaMission is great, esp. Katharine Lewis
March 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
mbaMission was incredible in helping me apply to school. I am a joint-degree candidate, who was interested in only HBS and I was able to work with a joint-degree holder from HBS, Katharine Lewis. That in and of itself is unique. But Katharine was above and beyond fantastic. My application was very last minute and she took on the case because of an obvious interest in my story and love for her job. She was always available, be it weekends, or two days before the deadline.

Katharine worked with me in reviewing my application and in my mock interview. Because I was interested in only one school, Katharine’s “insider baseball” knowledge was really useful and comforting. In addition, her feedback was insightful and helpful in shaping my story and improving my candidacy.

Working with Katharine was great not only because of the work we produced, but also because she is really on the ball. You can tell she is just an incredibly sharp person (in additional to her killer resume at McKinsey, Stanford, etc.) who likes working with applicants. As a result, I felt like my two hours went an incredibly long way—definitely a solid investment.

I should note that I came to Katharine after an incredibly negative experience with someone from MBA Exchange who literally called me by the wrong name in all of our email exchanges, despite the fact that she had read my resume, spoken to me on the phone ,etc. Do NOT just go with any consultant who has worked in admissions at your target school, because they are not all made the same. Katharine is clearly just sharper and doing this consulting because she likes it and finds it interesting as opposed to “hey, I used to interview for a top school so I’m probably qualified.”
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission / John Sisk
March 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  John Sisk
Overall, mbaMission was tremendous in helping me select/apply to business school. I downloaded most of their school guides and their start-to-finish guide and referenced them constantly throughout the process.

I worked with John Sisk and he was instrumental in guiding me through my applications. He listened to my story/goals and helped me construct a clear, focused approach to my essays.

John constantly pushed me to dig deeper on why I wanted to go back to school and why my goals made sense - my essays and applications were much better for it. He helped highlight my strengths but also didn't hesitate to point out when my essays or ideas needed work. Applying to business school can be a humbling process, and John helped me fight through those moments of uncertainty.

I couldn't have done it without John and I would highly recommend him to anybody else applying to business school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best mbaMission GMAT Instructors
Kevin Shen [USA]
    
Jessica Shklar [USA]
    
Benjamin Shinewald [USA]
    
mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here