Hourly Services Reviews
    Number of reviews [106]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
mbaMission
For those who have identified specific needs and require focused advisory services, we offer "A la Carte" services.

Hourly Consulting Services - mbaMission with Adam Grossman
June 16 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By POWER34 joined: September 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Adam Grossman
Hello all -
I highly recommend using mbaMission and specifically I worked with Adam Grossman as my consultant. I was applying to Duke CCMBA program - Class of 2016 start date 07/15. I read reviews on GMAT club just like everyone else. It was probably one of the best decisions I could have made for myself. I contacted several consulting services but i didnt get an honest feedback. I am someone whose GMAT score was lower than an ideal candidate, but i had a good gpa for my undergraduate studies and professional experience that showed progress. Adam really helped to identified my gaps and strength. I only had a little over a month to work with him. He was really quick at getting back in terms of revisions, answering all of my concerns all the way through the process. It was a pleasure working with him. He helped me edit my resume, brainstorming and revising two essays and interview prep. I got in!!!!

Those that know which schools they would like to go - hourly services works. You dont need a full package. It worked for me. Also, I didnt have enough time to spend time going through the full package as I was also studying for my GMAT.

Five stars :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
John Sisk- got me in
June 10 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 10, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  John Sisk
I was on an extremely tight deadline applying toa top-ranked part-time program. I retook the GMAT less than a week before my application was due and I was under a lot of stress. John worked tirelessly with me to help formulate my story and helped me understand what my particular school was looking for. He did a great job of extracting the more interesting aspects of my resume and life and also helped me address my weaknesses. I have a minor criminal history and John gave me some invaluable advice on how to address that. Overall, I would highly recommend John to anyone who needs help with their application. I used the hourly service and worked with him for a total of 4 hours. This was well worth the money. John is extremely professional and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Hourly services with Kate Richardson at mbaMission
June 09 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 19, 2015 | 4 | 7 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Kate Richardson
I am delighted with my mbaMission experience. I chose the hourly services option and was matched with Kate Richardson. My main goal with Kate was to ensure that the story I shared with the adcom was genuine, interesting and compelling. Kate helped me do just that.

As many reviews about Kate have already mentioned, I felt extremely comfortable sharing my story with Kate. I started the application process with a strong GPA and solid work experience but a low GMAT score which, I feared, may lead to my consultant writing me off as an unlikely b-school admit and not worth much time and effort. I never felt that way with Kate; she was extremely supportive and provided fantastic feedback from the very beginning. I particularly appreciated that her feedback was always to-the-point but that she conveyed her suggestions in a non-offensive way. I really felt like she was an ally in my fight to get into b-school.

I particularly remember how well she ‘listened’ to my story both during phone calls and through e-mail. She helped me tighten up and add ‘umph’ to my resume simply by listening to how I explained my experiences to her. She made comments like “this bullet point doesn’t really convey all that you did on that particular project – how about adding these details” (details that I had described to her but hadn’t thought relevant to include on my resume). The same was true for essay writing. She by no means wrote essays for me but rather listened intently throughout our time working together to help me identify the best stories to share and, later on in the writing process, helped me to make these stories strong and concise.

I only applied to one school (something I wouldn’t recommend!) and was placed on the waitlist in December. I retook the GMAT twice and managed to improve significantly on both tries. Kate continued to be my ally through my 6 months on the waitlist and she helped me hone my waitlist update letters to the adcom.

I received the call I had been hoping for less than a month ago and will be heading to Tuck in the fall. I know my application was greatly strengthened thanks to Kate’s guidance.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Way to Shape My Story
June 03 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By kozmeral joined: March 5, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  John Sisk
I was applying for schools while living abroad, so the hourly service was the best way for me to receive the support I needed while halfway across the world. John really helped me shape my story from the beginning, making it more logical and concise. He also challenged me in areas of my application that needed to be challenged. Moreover, I am happy that I elected to do the hourly services, because once I had the initial direction I was able to apply to my remaining schools on my own (I was admitted to both schools). My only qualm would be that it was sometimes hard to rectify stylistic differences via email, which due to our geographical limitations was my only means of communication. Overall, John was a great help and I would recommend him and mbaMission to other prospective MBA students.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Daniel Richards - Strongly Recommend
June 01 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 31, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
It was wonderful working with Daniel this past spring. I had completed about 75% of my R3 application when I reached out to Daniel. While I didn't know what to expect, Daniel was able to quickly step in and help me finalize my essays and resume in just three hours. He was able to provide a fresh perspective and apply his extensive experience. I felt extremely confident in my application thanks to Daniel, despite being a round three applicant with an average GRE score. I highly recommend Daniel, as he is efficient, respectful of time and extremely knowledgeable. I ultimately was accepted to my dream MBA program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Jessica Saved Me as an Unusual Applicant
May 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 16, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
When I decided to re-apply to business school, I knew what I wanted and where I wanted to go. The problem was my non-traditional background: all in fundraising for small non-profits. I knew what I wanted, but had a hard time explaining (in terms that they would use/want to hear/see) to schools why they should want me.

Jessica was the one who helped me find the words, both words that fit my voice and words and phrases that would make sense to an admissions officer.

I was frustrated by other consultants who would say, "you can't do that" or "you can't say that" or "that means nothing," but didn't provide constructive ideas for what I COULD say or how I could rephrase it. "That means nothing," was especially infuriating, because it was incredibly belittling to me and insulting to the work I had done as a professional (pro tip for anyone who wants to be an MBA Consultant, don't insult your clients).

Jessica never, ever told me my work was "nothing," and was brilliant in providing new ways to think about my story and new ways to phrase it. She listened well, asked me good questions, and helped me talk through my story in a way that made it clear and helped my inspiration and determination shine through.

Jessica was especially helpful in the planning stages of my application, when I was doing some thinking about my school list for a re-application. She had valuable suggestions about schools I hadn't considered, and pointed me to the tools and services provided by mbaMission that she thought would work best for me.

Thanks to her hard work, insight, and care, I was admitted to three of the five schools I applied to, including my dream school. Not only did she guide me in my admissions process, but she gave me a boost in preparation for when I start the program in the fall.

Thank you, Jessica!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Made for a More Confident Application
May 22 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
From the initial consulting phase to the end product, I really enjoyed working with my consultant, Liza. I used the service primarily for essay feedback and resume review. Using the service gave me the confidence I needed to make sure I did everything I could in order to get into an MBA school as my GMAT score wasn't as high as I would have liked it to be. Liza was great at providing feedback to my work to make sure I highlighted the right touchpoints in the right way. I'd highly recommend the service if you're looking for that boost to make sure you did everything you could when applying. Thanks, Liza!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Couldn't have gotten in without Eric's guidance!
May 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By PeachBoba joined: May 4, 2015 | 2 | 7 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Eric Hollowaty
I had been preparing my applications for months before I hired a consultant, believing that my essays just needed a quick review and I was on my way to submit. How quickly I came to realize that wasn't the case!

I was looking for someone who was knowledgeable and possessed the intuition to shape narratives from the finer details. I had phone consultations with 14 MBA consulting firms before I decided to work with Eric at mbaMission. As someone with a modest background (average undergraduate GPA, decent work experience as a contributor on a team, some community service, GMAT score on par with top schools), I thought I was reaching for the stars when I applied to MIT Sloan - my dream MBA program. I didn't think that hiring a consultant would make much of a difference, but that's where Eric came in.

First, Eric is extremely responsive and communicative. Because I was an hourly client, he kept detailed time logs and gave me full control over how long I wanted him to review something or how detailed I wanted him to dive into an essay. I definitely feel as though every dollar I spent was well-accounted for.

Second, and most importantly, he's very good at what he does. Even though I had already written my first drafts of essays on my own, Eric was able to draw out narratives from my existing stories - helping me find ways to develop them and illustrate the details that made these stories significant or noteworthy. He guided me to showcase my strengths, and recognize how those values aligned with the school's. Essentially, through his edits, Eric helped splash color on my otherwise blah application. In the end, I got into my reach-for-the-stars school with a generous scholarship offer. I am certain that I couldn't have gotten here without Eric's help!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Review
May 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
I began speaking with Katy more than a year before I applied. I sought her advice on whether it was a good time for me to apply. She helped me think through retaking the GMAT, ideal time to attend, and how my career choices might affect my application. Once it was time to apply she edited essays, helped me choose recommenders, and even reviewed my answers to the high volume of short response questions. After getting waitlisted at Stanford, my top choice, she also helped me decide how I might reach out to the school and keep them updated. In the end, I was accepted to Stanford and am very grateful to Katy for helping get there. She was there with me through the entire process and her advice was extremely useful to me at every point. In addition to giving great advice, she was always quick to respond and she really cared about my success.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission - Daniel (Dan) Richards
May 07 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
I have to say, I feel that I really got lucky finding a consultant like Dan. Doing a little research online I was able to find a ranking of all the MBA admissions companies out there and I came to the conclusion that mbaMission was arguably the firm with the best mix of experience (sheer volume of reviews) and acceptance rate/satisfaction. I reached out to both mbaMission and a couple of the other firms with similar stats.

Initially my goal was to be admitted into Columbia’s MBA program so I decided to reach out to Dan Richards, a CBS Alum and professional editor. I quickly found Dan’s style to be exactly what I was looking for. Unlike some of the other consultants I contacted, Dan’s feedback was very candid. He wasn't afraid to explore my application’s weaknesses and he was very straightforward.

Most of my work with Dan centered on my essays, although he also provided advice on how to work with my recommenders, how to better structure my resume, and a couple of mock interviews. In terms of the essay work, he helped me understand how I could best position myself and then helped me revise each essay into a well-polished final draft. One thing I truly appreciated was Dan’s willingness to go above and beyond and his drive for perfection.

I ended up getting into the school of my dreams, HBS. It turned out that all my research on admissions consulting firms had paid off and I’m very glad I had Dan’s help along the way. I would recommend both him and mbaMission to anyone interested in getting into a top program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best mbaMission GMAT Instructors
Susan Kaplan [USA]
    
Kevin Shen [USA]
    
Angela Guido [USA]
    
mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here