Hourly Services Reviews
    Number of reviews [100]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
mbaMission
For those who have identified specific needs and require focused advisory services, we offer "A la Carte" services.

Made for a More Confident Application
May 22 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
From the initial consulting phase to the end product, I really enjoyed working with my consultant, Liza. I used the service primarily for essay feedback and resume review. Using the service gave me the confidence I needed to make sure I did everything I could in order to get into an MBA school as my GMAT score wasn't as high as I would have liked it to be. Liza was great at providing feedback to my work to make sure I highlighted the right touchpoints in the right way. I'd highly recommend the service if you're looking for that boost to make sure you did everything you could when applying. Thanks, Liza!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Couldn't have gotten in without Eric's guidance!
May 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By PeachBoba joined: May 4, 2015 | 2 | 7 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Eric Hollowaty
I had been preparing my applications for months before I hired a consultant, believing that my essays just needed a quick review and I was on my way to submit. How quickly I came to realize that wasn't the case!

I was looking for someone who was knowledgeable and possessed the intuition to shape narratives from the finer details. I had phone consultations with 14 MBA consulting firms before I decided to work with Eric at mbaMission. As someone with a modest background (average undergraduate GPA, decent work experience as a contributor on a team, some community service, GMAT score on par with top schools), I thought I was reaching for the stars when I applied to MIT Sloan - my dream MBA program. I didn't think that hiring a consultant would make much of a difference, but that's where Eric came in.

First, Eric is extremely responsive and communicative. Because I was an hourly client, he kept detailed time logs and gave me full control over how long I wanted him to review something or how detailed I wanted him to dive into an essay. I definitely feel as though every dollar I spent was well-accounted for.

Second, and most importantly, he's very good at what he does. Even though I had already written my first drafts of essays on my own, Eric was able to draw out narratives from my existing stories - helping me find ways to develop them and illustrate the details that made these stories significant or noteworthy. He guided me to showcase my strengths, and recognize how those values aligned with the school's. Essentially, through his edits, Eric helped splash color on my otherwise blah application. In the end, I got into my reach-for-the-stars school with a generous scholarship offer. I am certain that I couldn't have gotten here without Eric's help!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Review
May 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
I began speaking with Katy more than a year before I applied. I sought her advice on whether it was a good time for me to apply. She helped me think through retaking the GMAT, ideal time to attend, and how my career choices might affect my application. Once it was time to apply she edited essays, helped me choose recommenders, and even reviewed my answers to the high volume of short response questions. After getting waitlisted at Stanford, my top choice, she also helped me decide how I might reach out to the school and keep them updated. In the end, I was accepted to Stanford and am very grateful to Katy for helping get there. She was there with me through the entire process and her advice was extremely useful to me at every point. In addition to giving great advice, she was always quick to respond and she really cared about my success.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission - Daniel (Dan) Richards
May 07 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
I have to say, I feel that I really got lucky finding a consultant like Dan. Doing a little research online I was able to find a ranking of all the MBA admissions companies out there and I came to the conclusion that mbaMission was arguably the firm with the best mix of experience (sheer volume of reviews) and acceptance rate/satisfaction. I reached out to both mbaMission and a couple of the other firms with similar stats.

Initially my goal was to be admitted into Columbia’s MBA program so I decided to reach out to Dan Richards, a CBS Alum and professional editor. I quickly found Dan’s style to be exactly what I was looking for. Unlike some of the other consultants I contacted, Dan’s feedback was very candid. He wasn't afraid to explore my application’s weaknesses and he was very straightforward.

Most of my work with Dan centered on my essays, although he also provided advice on how to work with my recommenders, how to better structure my resume, and a couple of mock interviews. In terms of the essay work, he helped me understand how I could best position myself and then helped me revise each essay into a well-polished final draft. One thing I truly appreciated was Dan’s willingness to go above and beyond and his drive for perfection.

I ended up getting into the school of my dreams, HBS. It turned out that all my research on admissions consulting firms had paid off and I’m very glad I had Dan’s help along the way. I would recommend both him and mbaMission to anyone interested in getting into a top program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Dan Richards Hourly Services
May 07 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 7, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Daniel Richards
After a less than stellar GMAT, I was nervous about applying to business school. I was trying to decide if my time and money would be best spent retaking the GMAT (and waiting until next year to apply) or focusing on putting together the best application I could this year. I signed up for a free consultation with Dan Richards to discuss how my profile looked for my target school and decide if it would be valuable to use consulting services. After speaking with Dan, I felt much more confident about applying this year, and I ultimately signed up for 4 hours to focus on one school. I was very budget conscious and Dan was great at providing constructing feedback without using too much time for each edit. He helped me with my resume and essay. We even ended up with one hour left for a mock interview.

The first draft of my essay was all over the place. I was having trouble putting all my thoughts into a cohesive story. However, Dan was able to really help me focus my thoughts, and I was very happy with the end result.

I would highly recommend Dan and the hourly services, especially if you just need someone impartial to look over your essay and you don't have the budget for full school packages. The process was very efficient and extremely helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend mbaMission!
May 05 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 5, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Kate Richardson
This past fall, I worked with Kate from mbaMission, and she helped me get into my # 1 school!

I used hourly services and asked Kate to edit/polish my resume and personal statement. Her revisions/comments to my personal statement made all the difference and really helped my story shine through. I also did a mock interview with Kate which 100% prepared me for my alumni MBA interview. Kate gave me lots of tips and helped me prepare compelling answers to difficult questions.

Kate's honest feedback, support, and interview prep were invaluable. I would definitely recommend Kate and mbaMission to anyone beginning the stressful MBA application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Incredible Support through the Application Process (with incredible results)
May 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Jessica Shklar
I sought out help from MBA Mission starting in Round 1 and continued through the very end of Round 2. I was particularly seeking hourly consulting services to fine-tune my essay ideas and some ad-hoc advice on resume, recs, etc with the biggest focus being on essays.

My initial 30 minute free consultation was with Jessica Shklar and I felt that in this brief session alone, I could get a sense of the depths to which I knew she could truly help me pinpoint what to focus on in my essays and how to really convey the thread of my experiences in the most powerful way possible.

She got on the call prepared and ready, having analyzed my profile and what information I provided to the website. I could tell she really reviewed my background and the materials I provided, so that I didn't have to waste anytime reviewing things again in summary. Since I was worried about how much money to invest in expensive consulting services, I admit I was hesitant about buying these services because I was worried I would dish out tons of money for what might be mediocre guidance. I got off the call truly feeling the she was personally invested in my success and I knew I wanted to continue with her as a consultant. In just thirty minutes, I felt I had a MUCH clearer picture of what angle I could focus on in my essay stories.

The thought of tackling all the business-school essays gave me incredible anxiety : I was self conscious about my writing, I was concerned about being an industry-switcher and how to really prove to the admissions committee why and how I was planning to carve out my future career based on the past experiences that shaped me. I had an immediate sense of relief and clarity with Jessica because she so easily and naturally found ways that I could tell my story- in a very captivating and genuine way that never occurred to me before. And that is what you need in a consultant.

Unfortunately, Jessica had been pretty booked up with R1 clients and when I decided I wanted to buy some consulting hours, I had to pick someone else to work with at first. But ultimately, I felt that my expectations were not met by that person, and after one session, I felt unhappy with who I was left with. They just did not compare to the rapport I felt with her. I contacted Jessica and told her how I felt, what my concerns were, and if she could find a way of taking me on as a client because I was convinced I needed to work individually with her to really accomplish my goals. She was prompt in immediately addressing my concerns, not only did she find a way for the company to refund me for the consulting services I wasn't happy with, but she ultimately told me she would find a way of fitting me in as one of her R1 clients so that I could work with her instead.

Jessica worked with me from this point forward, as I applied to one R1 top tier school, and then 7 other top R2 schools. She is excellent at giving really raw feedback, directly pinpointing what you need to fix, where you're not being clear, what you do well, what you are still not doing right etc. - What I value most about her support was that she isn't afraid to be tough with you. At first, the writing critique process can feel really personal and the feedback can be painful but I cannot emphasize how important it was for me to have someone like Jessica who was not afraid to tell me her opinions on each point of my essay in the most blunt and direct way possible. At times, it hurts, but its what you really need to get your essay into the best shape possible. And this is ultimately a valuable aspect of Jessica's style because she doesn't waste your time or money - basically, she tells it like it is, and doesn't sugarcoat it for you. In this gut-wrenching process, that is exactly what you need, especially when you're going through draft after draft, competing with thousands of people, juggling with deadlines, and want to get those acceptance letters. It was critical, and it helped enormously. Because I could really see how my essays had evolved, and how I even improved the drafts I was giving her after only my R1 essays. Because I took her feedback and applied it to my thought process.

Throughout the months, Jessica was always clear and reliable about what she needed from her client group - she also reminded us about what deadlines we should be aware of and how to facilitate that with her two-day turnaround so that she could ensure we were not freaking out at the last minute and begging for a 24 hour turnaround of a final draft or needing to pay the expensive rush fee to get it back from her - she was always very clear with what she needed to be able to give the best support most efficiently. Even down to the specifics of how to write your emails to her, with what in the subject line, so that she could most efficiently get back to our requests.

In hindsight, I felt like writing essays and crafting your story for business school applications really feels like you go through therapy. And Jessica was like my therapist in this aspect! You go through a LOT of self-reflection about who you are. I was truly floored when my decision letters started rolling in. I did not get into the top 2 most competitive schools - I got into all other 5 schools (highly competitive programs), with incredible merit scholarships, and was waitlisted at 1 other. I really was overjoyed with my results. No matter what, you have to put in the best effort possible to get the best out of consulting services. Jessica was the person who got me to the level I needed to be at - I felt confident that I was submitting my best work. And my results reflected this.

I highly recommend Jessica Shklar - she was a consultant that was truly invested in my success and I have no doubt that she maintains this standard with each and every one of her clients.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
mbaMission Consultants - Kate is the best!
May 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By mbetourney joined: April 20, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Kate Richardson
The best part about mbaMission is the fact that you can work with all of its consultants. Knowing that I wanted to attend Chicago Booth, I requested Kate (an alum) and could not have been more pleased with the experience. I started with the 30 minute free consultation and quickly realized I would need some assistance reviewing my essays. After Kate described all the available services, I purchased the hourly package due to the flexibility – under this option, the consultants work on anything you need (resume, essays, interview prep, etc.). There is a standard two business day turnaround on essays, so factor that into your schedule.
Kate was personable, honest, candid and extremely efficient (very important in the hourly package option). She not only corrected grammatical issues, but also improved the flow and content of my essays. Kate challenged me to increase the personalization of my essays and I could clearly feel that she was an advocate of mine; she did everything she could to bring out the best in my application to Chicago Booth. After feeling comfortable with my essays, I used the remainder of my time for interview prep – again, this is a great feature of hourly services. Kate had a few practice questions to go over, and shared some of her experiences as an alumni interviewer. Throughout the entire process I learned more about myself and why I am pursuing my MBA – Kate was an invaluable asset during the application process and she is one of the main reasons I will be starting at Chicago Booth in June!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Katherine Lewis - consulting service
May 01 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Katharine Lewis
I have consulted with Katherine over the course of several months while applying to HBS and CBS. I have used around 10-15hours of her service.
Katherine's advice has been incredibly helpful in getting in to top MBA programms, whether it was about brainstorming my essay storyline or working through style of writing. She definitely approaches each applicant in a very personal way, spends required time to help (or even more!) and does not count time "to a minute" which allows for more relaxed atmosphere. She is very flexible in terms of arranging review calls, even when it comes to last minute requests. Katherine is definitely worth recommending and I would use her service again if I had to! FYI I have been invited for HBS interview (did not go through unfortunately) and got in to CBS! Good luck everyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Eric Hollowaty Review
April 28 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 28, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Eric Hollowaty
I was first introduced to Eric / mbaMission by a few of my co-workers who had used the same group when they were going through the application process last year. I spoke with Eric and a couple other consultants at other firms before deciding he was the best fit, namely due to his flexibility in service offering and specific knowledge about each school I was applying to (as opposed to making generalized statements). I couldn’t be happier with the outcome—Eric is hands down the easiest, wisest and most helpful consultant I could have worked with. I opted to use the hourly service as I felt that would be the best way to get targeted feedback on what I was working on. He was great at providing exactly what I needed and stayed within my ‘light/heavy comments’ and time limit range. I used him for a thirty minute resume review, several thirty minute essay brainstorming calls, several essay reviews and an HBS interview preparation call. Each time I would submit a draft of my essay, he would send comments back well before the 2-day deadline. The level of detail and guidance he provides in his comments/questions is exactly what I needed in order to be able to successfully refine my story and not feel as though I was left stranded each time.

My most memorable moment working with Eric was the day I interviewed at HBS. We had a quick call to go over interview techniques the week prior and he had mentioned he would stay ‘on call’ to review my post-interview reflection statement if I wanted someone to take a quick glance for general thoughts. After my interview, I hung back at Spangler (my interview location at HBS) and quickly lost track of time while working on my essay. To my surprise and delight, I received an e-mail from Eric at 9pm checking in to see how the interview went and ask if I still wanted to show him my final statement before submitting. This is an example of how Eric is extremely generous with his time and makes each client feel as though he/she is his only client at the time. He remembered my story week to week even though we only chatted for thirty minutes every now and then. He is very thoughtful and really took the time to get to know me so he could provide the best insight for how I should position myself in each essay for each school. Ultimately, I got into my top choice (HBS) and wouldn’t have been able to do it without his guidance and support along the way!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Big Discounts
on mbaMission
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best mbaMission GMAT Instructors
Susan Kaplan [USA]
    
Kevin Shen [USA]
    
Angela Guido [USA]
    
mbaMission
Admissions Consulting
Big Discounts on Consulting
 
Learn more here