Stacy Blackman Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [112]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Packages
    
    
    
Stacy Blackman

We have helped thousands of MBA applicants reach their business school goals, and we can help you, too.

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Highly recommend
July 18 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 2, 2012 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Esther Magna
I just wanted to take a minute to fill you all in on my experience with SB. I wouldn’t take the time to do this unless I really felt positively about my experience. I signed up with the firm in 2012 and was paired with Esther Magna, my consultant. I knew from the beginning that I wanted to use a consultant to assist with my applications since my GPA was really low (<3.0).

I applied to three schools and hired SB for all of them. Esther was great! I was genuinely worried about being accepted to any of them, but Esther really helped me identify the strong points of my background and experience, and ensure I consistently stressed those to the admissions committees. I know I can be overbearing with the frequency that I send emails, but Esther was fantastic (she may be more addicted to her Blackberry than I am!). I ALWAYS received a prompt reply with helpful feedback.

My background is not especially distinctive - white male, finance background, etc. - but with Esther’s help, I was able to craft an application strategy that stressed my attributes that I believe differentiated me from other applicants. She also had personal connections with former members of various admissions committees who reviewed my essays and critiqued them in advance – this was a huge help.

One last comment. Although the price of SB can be intimidating, as it was for me, hiring the firm turned out to be a great decision financially in the long run. I ended up receiving a scholarship for a full year’s tuition at a top 10 US MBA school. Clearly the expense of a consultant can be high, but it paid off for me big time with Esther.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Well worth the investment
August 17 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By saurabh497 joined: August 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service  
My background is in engineering, and I worried that I would have a hard time making the case for an MBA. Lisa partnered me with Amber because she also had a technical foundation and is a graduate of Haas, where I will be attending this fall! Amber spent countless hours with me to understand how my experiences were different than the many other engineers I was competing against. I was mesmerized by how careful she was to create a strategy for me and make sure every detail was well told throughout the resume, recommendation letters, essays etc. She coached me on other activities, like taking a leadership role in my NGO and those initiatives addressed gaps in my candidacy that I wasn’t even aware of. I think the biggest value of hiring a consultant is that they have the history and volumes to know exactly what makes a given applicant strong and weak. It’s only with this lens that I became competitive. Thank you to Amber, Stacy, Lisa, and Maggie.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
5 Stars for Blackman's Group
May 11 | 2012

4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By chooksin joined: May 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  John Naom
I purchased a 4 school package - a big investment with only a small guaranteed refund if not successful. I was skeptical and I admit a pretty demanding client. My consultant was patient and knowledgeable and proved his worth very quickly. Hardest part for me was coming up with topics for the essay questions. We spent a lot of time working on topics and outlines until we were both satisfied. In the end we knocked it out of the park with admits to every school. I am still on cloud 9 and very grateful. 5 Stars - no question about it. My consultant was awesome and Stacy Blackman Cons. was professional in every way.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worked with Amy at Stacy Blackman
May 18 | 2012

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By sternoman joined: May 18, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Amy Ulrich
I worked with Stacy Blackman Consulting and was admitted to 3/5 schools. I also received 2 scholarship offers. My consultant, Amy, was great to work with - she has a great sense of humor and is no bullsh*t. She tells it like it is and helped me put together a far better application than I ever could have on my own. She also irritated me at times when I sent her something that I thought was great and she told me it wasn't. But I needed that feedback and respected her directness and honesty. I sweated a lot working with her - she is demanding and pushed me to bring out my best. The SBC flight test was also an awesome benefit of working with these guys. I think that extra piece of feedback improved my application and gave me a sense of confidence when I submitted. In summary - I am in and have no regrets at all about investing a comparatively small amount of money up front to get it right. I recmmend SBC and already have to many friends, actually.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Applied Twice and Stacy Blackman Consulting Made the Difference
May 25 | 2012

4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Dawn Clare
I applied on my own and had no luck. Then a year later applied with the help of the team at Stacy Blackman Consulting. I am now going to Harvard.

I could go into details about the service but I think those two statements sum it up. I would highly recommend them because they know what they are doing. At the end of the day you want to go with a service that works. Their service works and it works well.

Dawn was able to cut right through all of the information I provided and map put what i should use to answer questions. That saved me time and helped me focus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Stacy Blackman Services - a lifesaver!!!!
June 20 | 2012

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 20, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Amanda Kramer
After working with another well known service on an hourly basis and going nowhere, I enlisted Amanda from Stacy Blackman to help me with my applications.

We started out hourly and it was like a breath of fresh air. I immediately started to make progress and see the application develop. I converted to a comprehensive package and although that first check was a big one to write it was worth every penny - I honestly would have paid double.

Amanda's guidance made the applying to bschool process so much easier - I finally understood how to write my essays and felt so much more confident about the final result. I was admitted to four schools, received one full ride and couldn't be happier with my experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
My scholarship covered the cost of consulting services 5x
April 04 | 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Maureen Capitolo
I worked with Maureen at SBC and absolutely loved her. It was a challenging stressful process, and she made me work very hard, but I did so knowing that I was plugging along in the right direction. Maureen served on the admissions committee at Tuck and had very useful insights into how the adcomm would assess my background and application. She was also patient, insightful and creative. I would have to say that her service exceeded my expectations. She was more responsive than promised and her inputs were more valuable than I ever could have imagined. She helped me break down the overwhelming process and tackle it in a smart way, bit by bit. When I received a significant scholarship to UCLA that covered my fees to SBC many times over, let's just say that was icing on the cake!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Walter with SBC Made the Difference for Me
April 08 | 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 29, 2013 | 2 | 1 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service  
I worked with Stacy Blackman's team on my applications to four schools and was admitted to two of them (MIT and Stanford). Walter was my consultant and I was extremely happy with the work we did together.

While I was a bit dubious of using an outside consultant I would have to say I was also somewhat desperate for guidance. I did not have people in my circle who could guide me and did not feel that I could find expert and truly reliable information on my own. I also wanted personalized guidance beyond what I could find in a book etc...

Walter was amazing to work with - calm, very informed, turnaround time was excellent and an overall truly nice guy. He made the difference in my application and made the process less of a roller coaster. Writing that initial check was excruciating - I will not deny, but i truly felt that Walter and the firm earned their fee many times over.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Fantastic investment - I highly recommend Stacy Blackman
April 20 | 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Esther Magna
I set up a phone consultation with Stacy Blackman because I was impressed with the quality of information available on their website, and my consultation with Esther Magna was comprehensive and helpful. I reviewed two other consultants' information, but I chose to work with Esther because of her positive attitude and the helpful advice she gave me even in our first conversation.

Throughout the entire application process, Esther’s proactive support and extensive knowledge of business school admissions were invaluable. Her upbeat and timely responses kept me on track, and her guidance helped me focus my applications on my most relevant accomplishments and goals. She answered all of the questions I asked, and many I didn’t know I had. Esther spent time understanding my background, and when I struggled with a few of the essay questions, her thoughtful feedback and creative suggestions helped me craft polished responses that highlighted my strengths as a candidate.

The comprehensive service is definitely an investment, but it was excellent - Esther helped me prepare for my interviews and was always available for my time-sensitive questions. I was admitted to two of the three schools to which I applied, and I received amazing fellowships from both of those schools (which covered the cost of consulting many times over).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
SBC Review
May 18 | 2013

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Lisa Anderson
I was referred to Stacy Blackman Consulting by a friend at Sloan. I had several free consultations with various companies, but felt best about Stacy Blackman based on competency and chemistry. As a younger candidate from a non-traditional business background, I was unsure whether I would be accepted to business school, let alone a top school.

My first discussions were with Esther, who was wonderful and got me off to a great start. I ultimately chose Lisa to be my consultant, and it turned out to be a great fit. I purchased a five-school package and applied to four schools independently.

From the beginning, Lisa was an incredible coach and cheerleader. She helped me focus and understand how to clearly present my unique background and strengths in leadership, research, and academia, in a way that bschools would appreciate. She was invaluable in helping me refine my resume and stories. She advised me not only about what to include, but what not to include in my essays and interview. She took the time for several phone conversations when I felt email correspondence wasn’t enough. There were a few periods when my job became especially hectic and I procrastinated on applications. Lisa would considerately check in and helped keep me motivated and on track. She provided advice and pep talks before each of my interviews, which helped me prepare well and feel confident.

Lisa was a pleasure to work with. She is intelligent, extremely professional, insightful, highly reliable, timely, and has a great sense of humor. I was accepted to five schools, four of them with scholarships. I am going to a top 15 school next year. Beyond the ranking, it is a school I am thrilled about attending because it is such a fantastic fit. I highly recommend SBC.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Save on Stacy Blackman Consulting
One-on-one expert consulting
Customized to fit your needs
See Stacy Blackman Consulting Deals