Hourly Services Reviews
    Number of reviews [26]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Stacy Blackman

Partner with one of our consultants to work on whatever aspect of your applications you choose.


Thanks to Stacy and Bill
February 08 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
At first, I was very apprehensive about approaching admission consulting firms as most of my friends and colleagues also advised me not to. However, when I heard about Stacy Blackman from one of the Booth students, whom I met in one of the networking event, I signed up for free consultation to give it a shot. I was impressed by the tips and techniques that Sarah Tsai had to offer. After going through my profile, my resume, and where I am at my professional career and application process, she mentioned how Stacy Blackman could add value. She paired me with Bill Chionis. Bill is a great guy, very helpful, and, most importantly, candid with his opinion and thoughts. He and I discussed in lengths about my background, and the reason I wanted to pursue the MBA program. Unlike any other Admission Consulting firm, Stacy Blackman and their consultant act as a true partner in your MBA journey. Bill worked with me on my essays and the stories that I wanted to tell AdCom to best present my candidature. He also helped with my resume and even interview preparation. I give Bill and team of Stacy Blackman 5 stars without a doubt. Yes, their services are expensive but you certainly get the best return on your investment.

Thanks Stacy Blackman for helping me to get through the very competitive Haas application process and to eventually come out as winner!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Thank you Stacy Blackman and Paul
January 22 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Paul (SBC)
I subscribed to the Hourly Service offered by Stacy Blackman and I had the good fortune of getting the help of someone as erudite and thoughtful as Paul. Given that I am from Asia and from traditional consulting/PE backgrounds, it was critical for me to differentiate myself among the crowd. Paul helped me do this and more importantly express myself better. The high point of the interactions with Paul was that he ensured that all my application material reflected my authentic self. Thanks to Paul's help and support, I was able to secure admission to Harvard Business School, which was the only school I had applied to.

I strongly recommend the hourly service provided by Stacy Blackman and in particular Paul who was quite remarkable in the way he helped me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Sherry Holland & SBC
December 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 4, 2011 | 5 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Sherry Holland
Hello:
MBA admissions is not an easy process and it requires a lot of hard work. But hard work alone isn't enough. I realized it when I started writing essays and learned that I was not even close to writing a decent essay. Coming from a highly competitive pool made things worse. So I shopped around and after having mock sessions with different consultants, I finally landed up with Sherry Holland from Stacy Blackman Consulting. She impressed me from our first conversation. She was meticulous and prompt. Her turnaround time was really quick. Regardless of our time difference, she was always super timely with returning my essays or queries. Stacy Blackman has an incredible system where they guide you on a introspective path. I discovered things about myself that I had never thought of earlier. Thanks to Sherry Holland and Stacy Blackman Consulting, I will be attending Ross next year.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great service- got into 2 of my 3 schools and 'further consideration' at HBS
December 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By denants joined: October 18, 2013 | 2 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Reene
I decided to pay for 10 hours as I did not have enough money for the comprehensive service. I decided to work with Reene. she was very helpful and helped with my school selection. I decided to apply to HBS, Wharton and Kellogg- I initially had never considered HBS or Wharton. I'm glad to say I got into both Wharton and Kellogg and deferred to R2 at HBS. I've also got a huge scholarship from Kellogg and now have the wonderful problem of deciding what school to go to!
Reene was really helpful throughout and always got back to me promptly. She was great at helping me restructure my essays, which made them read much better. With what I learned from working with her, I went on to apply to Ross on my own and have now been offered a full tuition scholarship there! I doubt I would have been able to apply on my own before.
Thanks to Reene and SB, I now have to chose from 3 amazing programs with huge scholarships at 2 of them.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Sherry Holland is Awesome!
July 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Sherry (SBC)
I worked with Sherry Holland from Stacy Blackman consulting over the course of three months during the application process. I was worried about my application because of a lowish GPA and non-traditional work experience but Sherry worked with me very thoughtfully to help me work my genuine story into my application.

I started the admissions process late in the game and really don't think I could have gotten into the schools I did without Sherry. She worked with me at all hours, even late at night at the last minute for a couple of my applications, giving excellent suggestions as I was finishing my applications. Her greatest strength was her ability to help me understand how to communicate my story in a way that registered with admissions officers. I have to say my essays were really good by the end and I couldn't have done it without Sherry.

After I was admitted, Sherry also helped me understand how to communicate with the MBA admissions department to respectfully seek scholarship money. I was able to get a $$$ scholarship to an excellent MBA program.

I couldn't be happier with Sherry and will now be attending a top-ten MBA program. I give her my full recommendation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Straightened me out
June 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By dmcas joined: February 28, 2014 | 7 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Kevin Rockmael
I'm a little older applicant so it was easy for me to write a million ideas that ultimately lacked focus. Kevin kept me grounded and helped me to see how to keep to my brand, giving me great advice on essay edits that got me into Booth. It was a process that evolved and he was happy to answer my questions. I bought 5 hours and spent 1 in review and strategy, 3 in essay and resume edits, and the last 1 on a mock interview. I also bought the guides for recommendations, Booth interview, and resume prep. Everything is consistent and insightful. I highly recommend their services!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Exactly what I needed
May 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By jortim4 joined: January 16, 2014 | 15 | 2 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
I was on the fence about whether or not to hire a consultant to assist me with my application process. I knew I didn't need comprehensive help with my entire application, rather just a little preliminary work to craft my story and then a few hours here and there to get my questions answered.

I ended up choosing Stacy Blackman because I immediately clicked with the gentleman I did my free 30-minute conversation with, Bill Chionis. He recommended I work with Margaret, saying that she would be perfect for what I was looking for.

She was. Margaret and I were able to pack a TON of helpful conversation into my first hour-long session--and every hour-long session thereafter. She was extremely knowledgeable (with the kind of insider information not available to the average applicant--we know what the questions say, but what are they really looking for?), respectful of my time, and most importantly, available. Sometimes you need a quick answer via email, and Margaret was very consistently available to answer.

Not to mention, I really enjoyed working with her. The application process sucks, but having a friendly person in your corner makes it a little more bearable.

I highly recommend Margaret, and frankly anyone else with Stacy Blackman, as I trust they would deliver to a similar standard.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Top Notch !
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 3, 2011 | 43 | 1 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Kevin Rockmael
Due to various reasons, I could only start working on my MBA applications in early December 2013. With most R2 deadlines fast approaching I chose to get the hourly services from SBC. Kevin was the consultant I worked with and he wasted no time in getting an idea of where I was and what would be the smartest way to go about my applications with the time constraints on hand.

A few months later, I am writing this review with offers from McDonough & Olin. I believe Kevin did a brilliant job and helping me in achieving the best possible outcomes in this situation.

He was extremely understanding and helped me a great deal in expressing myself in the best possible manner in my application.

Thanks Kevin.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Esther Magna is great!!
April 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 21, 2014 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Esther Magna
I completed a mock interview with Esther Magna before interviewing with several top schools and found it extremely helpful. Her insights into both the interview process, as a whole, and the criteria used by the specific schools for which I was preparing were invaluable. I know that I felt more at ease going into my interviews after having done a "trial run" with someone who was helpful and friendly but still felt more formal than just rehearsing with a friend. I took the notes from our conversation with me on all of my interviews and wove Esther's constructive criticism into my planned responses. I was accepted to a few of my dream schools and even offered a generous monetary fellowship at one of them. I highly recommend Esther for mock interviews and/or general consulting re: the admissions and interview process. She is a fantastic resource!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Successful application
April 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Aliceson (SBC)
I worked with Aliceson at Stacyblackman and I am thrilled to say that with her help I have been accepted to my dream school (H/S).
As an International student with a non-traditional background, I was somewhat unsure about the entire process and had many questions. When we were first matched together, Aliceson took the time to understand the different aspects of my profile and answer all my preliminary questions.
She guided me through the process and encouraged me to focus on one aspect of my application at a time. She was extremely accessible and through her honest feedback, challenged me to reach further. From our initial chat to my mock interview, she encouraged me to focus on what made me unique rather than trying to fit into a certain mold.
With her great support, I successfully built an application that clearly reflected my personal story and background. I recommend Aliceson and Stacy blackman consulting to anyone looking to apply to business school . This scary journey gets easier when working with someone with experience and a great knowledge of the schools you are applying to.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Stacy Blackman Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Best Stacy Blackman Consulting GMAT Instructors
Bill (SBC) [USA]
    
Margaret [USA]
    
Dawn (SBC) [USA]
    
Save on Stacy Blackman Consulting
One-on-one expert consulting
Customized to fit your needs
See Stacy Blackman Consulting Deals