Avi Gutman's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [9]
Definitely Recommend Manhattan GMAT!
September 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the Manhattan GMAT 9-week course and I definitely recommend it to others who want do their best. After taking the course I scored 740. Avi, my instructor was really great. He knew how to tailor the course to what students were struggling with and identified the things that could take their scores to the next level. He was also really supportive after the course had ended which was really helpful when I was actually taking the exam. I've already recommended this to some of my friends because I'm convinced that the course is a much more efficient way to study!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Avi Gutman - Toronto Tutor - MGMAT prep
September 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By hcoles joined: September 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I had the best experience with MGMAT and specifically my tutor Avi Gutman. I took both the prep class and added some private tutoring in lead up to my writing date.

I had written the GMAT once before and scored high 600s - but needed to break 700+. I had a miserable experience studying the first time.

Avi made the process interesting and engaging, and I actually understood the underlying themes and concepts - rather than being tied to formulas and cue cards! It was a great process, from registry to the end. Avi was super invested in each of the students in our prep class - he really made sure that you understood and were able to independently problem solve. He always stayed to answer any questions and responded to emails so patiently. Well worth the time and $.

I wrote recently and got my target score- just as planned! And I was easily the most relaxed kid in the test room. Can't recommend him and MGMAT enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course, Great Instructor
June 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
Manhattan GMAT and my instructor Avi were both fantastic. MGMAT is structured, provides great study tools and most importantly, utilizes a really effective approach to teaching. My instructor Avi, didn't simply review questions that were in the course book, but instead focused on teaching the underlying principles behind the questions. This helped me learn not to simply answer the questions, but to understand what was being asked and why the answers are what they are. Avi consistently went above and beyond by helping me assess my CAT scores and providing me with advice even after the course was over. He even replied to one of my emails while he was away on vacation in China.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

From 580 to 720: Tales of a conventional scholar
May 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By MissObiocha joined: May 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
Once I had decided to study for the GMAT, I asked my sister to recommend a prep program. She had 4 words for me: "sign up to ManhattanGMAT". I am glad I listened to her.

I purchased the Live Online course. My lessons were highly interactive, and enabled me focus my efforts on key content within Verbal and Quant categories. I found the Sections very helpful, as instructors solved OG questions using a variety of methods. Answers were explained in a clear and digestible format. I especially love the use of the double set matrix to solve Word Problems!

Thank you, ManhattanGMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent
April 29 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mar0427 joined: April 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
Took the course with Avi as my instructor. He is extremely knowledgeable and genuinely interested and excited in the material he teaches. His enthusiasm is contagious and he makes the material seem much more interesting than it is. He makes sure that you understand the basics and change the way you think when you see certain questions, which allows you to solve the question quickly. He is always available before or after class for some extra help if needed. I would highly recommend taking the course with him. I will be taking the GMAT in the near future, so I cannot comment on score improvement at this time.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Manhattan GMAT Prep - Great Resource
March 14 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By jgonsa joined: March 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I took the in-class 9 week session with Manhattan GMAT Toronto with Avi as my instructor. It was a great course that covered all the foundations to prepare for the GMAT. Avi was great at explaining concepts and really encouraging class discussions. He also was able to explain multiple ways of solving a problem. The concepts/tricks taught in class really help to prepare for the GMAT. I found the course material robust and there is an endless supply of resources for self study.

Overall I would recommend both Avi & Manhattan GMAT in preparing to face the GMAT. Anyone considering taking the GMAT no matter your skill level should consider taking this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Prep Course and Quant for Beginners
December 19 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By katey joined: December 19, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
If you are a beginner in quant like I was, go for Manhattan GMAT - their strategy books are hugely helpful and give you a roadmap to learn what you need to knew. The online CAT assessments helped me identify my target areas. When I had a case of text anxiety and didn't do as well on my first exam, they did a one hour session with me to reset my study plan for the next exam. This really helped me zone in on why I didn't perform as well as I expected to on test day. They recommended I start taking tests in less comfortable atmospheres since test day would be a new environment and it really worked! I was very happy with my final score - 690 - which was my target score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

If you're going to do the GMAT, do it the right way!
November 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2012 | 0 | | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  Toronto | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I tried to study for the GMAT on my own because I thought the course was way too expensive and not worth it. But I ended wasting my time and money, because I didn't even write the exam the first time. I was hovering around 580 and I couldn't get my score any higher. I postponed the exam for 6 months. I sucked it up and enrolled with MGMAT after thoroughly researching several prep courses and attending each of their trial classes.

I had Avi as my instructor and he was absolutely amazing! He was such a dynamic instructor, he was able to make the course material interesting and fun(?). He was able to explain concepts in multiple ways so that if you are stuck on one method, he could save you with another. Not only was he available after class to answer questions, he also responded to emails during the week within an hour! I thought was true dedication of an instructor that cared about my success!

In the end, I am really glad I enrolled with MGMAT. They helped me improve my score by 100 points! If you are serious about going to business school, which is $100k in tuition, then another few thousand bucks is nothing compared to the gains that you will reap in at the end.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Broad Coverage - in depth
January 25 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 5, 2011 | 0 | |
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  MGMAT Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Avi Gutman
I used the MGMAT course to start studying for the GMAT. I found their guides and live classes to be extremely helpful. Their written guides cover each topic individually, while the classes go into OG specific problems related to that weeks topic.

The instructors are charismatic and engaging. I would highly recommend this course. If you don't want to take classes I would then suggest you at least get the guides from MGMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.