GMAT Club

Booth Reviews

logo-University_of_Chicago_Booth_MBA_logo.png
MBA Program rating [34]
(4.9)
Submit a review

February 01, 2016
mbaMissionKate

Joined: Apr 01, 2015

Posts: 1249

Kudos: 187

Proud Booth alum

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Booth

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2008

Experience during the program

mbaMission

Review by an mbaMission Admissions Consultant who has attended Chicago Booth


I had an amazing experience at Booth. The program and culture live up to the mantras of "Challenge everything" and "Independent thought" in my experience. Personally, I was drawn to the fact that there is no one path at Booth -- you're not forced into a cohort, you're not told which classes you have to take, you're not assigned to study teams and instead, you have the freedom to chart your own course (within some guidelines of course!) and you gain much wider exposure (e.g., taking classes with 2nd years). Looking back, the LEAD course was extremely helpful and I apply those lessons about leadership and self-awareness everyday now. The student culture is very strong (and different than what many perceive) -- it's a bit different from other schools where there's a concentrated campus that everyone lives near and again, things aren't dictated for you. I was incredibly impressed by my classmates -- not just their intelligence and career drive but also their passion for traveling and experiencing the city of Chicago. I did not find it to be competitive at all - I think because of the grade non-disclosure but also in recruiting, I had so much help from my classmates.

A bit about my experience: I was a career changer. I worked in HR before and worked in consulting afterwards (boutique/startup firm in Chicago). My course specializations were Strategy, Economics, and Marketing. I was very involved with the Admissions team while there, serving on the student adcom, leading tours, planning admit weekend, etc. I also loved the Business Solutions Group where I worked on a pro-bono consulting project for a non-profit education company. I lived in Hyde Park (rare for Booth students, but I loved it).

My advice to future applicants: engage with the Booth community as much as possible. Visit campus, sit in on a class, talk to students and alums, connect with the alumni group in your closest city. Be prepared to have reasons for "Why Booth" beyond just the finance reputation and flexible curriculum.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Amazing professors - my personal faves were Murphy's Turbo Econ, Epley's Managing in Organizations and Boethner's Strategy and Structure. Also recommend taking advantage of the many lab classes and the Polsky Center for those interested in entrepreneurship.

About job placement process

Strong across the board but especially strong in consulting and finance. Companies that recruit for marketing are really impressive too, and they seem to value Booth's data-driven approach to marketing. Some classmates recruiting for jobs in California had to do more of their search on their own, but that may have improved since I was there.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Alumni Network


Read More

November 25, 2016
vijaykg1

Joined: Aug 26, 2013

Posts: 13

Kudos: 9

Self-reported Score:
670 Q48 V35

Chicago Booth - current student review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Booth

Program Booth Evening MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

Overall, Booth is a great school for those who like to think analytically. Flexible curriculum and excellent faculty are fortes. The career services is very good and is one of the few programs that let's you opt for in campus recruiting. Overall, I had a wonderful experience and it definitely helped me gain the career traction that I was looking for. Furthermore the alumni network is strong and widely spread across the globe, making it easy to look for opportunities anywhere in the world. The brand name name and reputation further helps in gaining opportunities. Feel free to reach out me if you have any questions.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities


Read More

March 08, 2021
santicazorla

Joined: Feb 18, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Completely blew my expectations away

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Booth

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2022

Experience during the program

I had high hopes for business school but Booth has completely and utterly blown my socks off when it comes to the academics. Granted I spend a lot more time on school work than most of my classmates but I find it incredible how applicable every single thing we learn is. I've taken a lot of very quantitative classes although I come from a not so quant background but I have found them to be pretty accessible with hard work.

In terms of tech recruiting, my personal experience was that even though I spent a lot of time on the academic side I was still able to get summer recruiting done by end of December. I believe this is because I took a class that was directly applicable to my recruitment and so the interviewing process was not novel.

I think its pretty cool how Booth has a perfect mix of students like myself who are extremely interested in the academic side and others whose priorities are on interning, traveling etc. This place truly rocks. And this is coming from a student paying full price lol.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Location

Best fit at this program:

Tech

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity


Read More

December 23, 2020
sarcophilus

Joined: Jul 26, 2018

Posts: 10

Kudos: 9

Verified score:
760 Q49 V46

Great school, not so great pandemic

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for Booth

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2021

Experience during the program

Booth is a fantastic school for those who have a very clear sense of what they want to do. Between the flexible curriculum, ability to take classes in both the Harper and Gleacher center, and the strengths in a wide variety of subjects, the school is a great place for independent people and those who are naturally outgoing. However the school's strengths are also its drawbacks, namely there is not a very strong cohort system, and so one has to really go the extra mile to get to know ones classmates.

As somebody who was transitioning sectors within finance, I found that the classes and brand helped immensely. I was able to secure a private equity internship without any prior banking experience.

Advice I would give to future applicants: you should seriously consider Booth, it's a fantastic school and the "where fun goes to die" adage does not apply to the business school, only the undergraduate college.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Investment Banking
Tech

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

August 18, 2020
butchmil

Joined: May 05, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
760 Q51 V42

Excellent but not unique

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for Booth

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

Booth is a "create your own adventure" type business school. There's no cohort structure, and there's tons of freedom when choosing classes. This school is great for those who thrive with this unstructured academic and social approach.

The school gets all the basics right. Career services are good, and classes by and large are good. Banking, consulting, investment management and all the basic career paths are strong here. We also have private equity/venture capital too but it's a little harder to break into.

The one area which was disappointing, and why I could not give it a perfect rating, is the culture of the school. The culture isn't bad, but I do not believe it is as advertised. The school markets itself as a very intellectual, rigorous place. In my experience, there was a lot of platitudes and I never heard anything really interesting or thought-provoking. To the extent this culture exists, it's in the PhD program and academics, Booth's true strength area. The MBA program culture was pretty typical yuppie as far as I could tell.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Booth seems to have a strong presence in analytics, so if that's an area of interest the school is definitely worth checking out.

About job placement process

A lot of people end up having to do a "specialized search", meaning going for companies that do not recruit on campus. If you're looking for traditional big MBA employers like banking, consulting and tech, on-campus is fine. But most corporations, even some very large ones in the Chicagoland area, do not recruit at Booth directly. So if you're looking to work in a corporate function in Chicago post-graduation, that's something to be prepared for.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Culture & Student Support


Read More

December 12, 2017
randyjohnparis

Joined: Dec 12, 2017

Posts: 7

Kudos: 2

Self-reported Score:
710 Q43 V43

2Y Entrepreneurship Focus with Govt/Non-Profit Background

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Booth

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

I had high expectations for Booth. The experience dramatically exceeded my expectations.

I expected to learn a ton. But the amount and pace of learning blew me away.

I expected awesome colleagues. Their deep kindness, altruism, wicked smartness blew me away.

I expected a great entrepreneurship education. I got one of the world's best entrepreneurship education and incubator programs. Super super super the real deal.

If you are looking for a program that holds your hand, Booth is not for you. At Booth, they put the weight on you to develop and drive your own experience. If you put energy into that, it's such a journey on which you'll grow more per day than anywhere else in your life.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Location
Culture & Student Support
Can be hard to run down important information


Read More

August 28, 2017
stornetn

Joined: Oct 16, 2016

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Fantastic

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Booth

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

Booth does not have quite the same reputation as the schools that typically precede it in most business school rankings (i.e., Harvard, Stanford, Wharton), but it should be considered every bit the equal of these programs. The faculty and curriculum are unmatched, and the philosophical approach to education is a serious draw. In addition, the school has considerably stepped up the financial aid it offers to students in the form of scholarships, and as a result it has eased the financial burden felt by many students in attending.

Apply to Booth if you are serious about wanting to learn something during business school rather than coasting through and partying. The experiences you gain here will be extremely valuable throughout your subsequent career.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

June 20, 2017
ryukbyun

Joined: Jun 20, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
760 Q53 V56

Great school

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Booth

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2015

Experience during the program

The mantra of the University of Chicago Booth School of Business is it’s all about the idea. Students focus on generating, analyzing, comparing, and refining ideas in order to elevate them to better ideas.

The full-time MBA program consists of 20 classes plus Leadership Effectiveness and Development (LEAD). The flagship of the program is its flexible curriculum. Unlike many other top schools with lockstep first-year MBA programs, Booth does not require its MBAs to go through every class together. One key exception is the LEAD course, which all MBAs must take. However, by and large, students design a program tailored to fit their own career goals.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Alumni Network

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

May 31, 2017
bkh

Joined: May 31, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

B-School

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Booth

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Before coming to Booth, I was very aware of its reputation of "quant-y." Although I found this to be somewhat true as everyone I encountered was very smart and many were analytical. I found it very misleading to label an entire school under one umbrella. The people at Booth were for the most part, very well-rounded individuals, each with their own unique characteristics. As I spoke with my friends from other top business schools, like Kellogg, Wharton, or HBS, I thought it was insulting when they said everyone at my school was a "nerd" since that wasn't the case at all. I was and still am constantly impressed by the level of people I have met at Booth.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Finance

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support


Read More

May 30, 2017
S2S

Joined: Jan 01, 2012

Posts: 17

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
740 Q50 V41

A customized MBA experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Booth

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2014

Experience during the program

Every (successful) Booth applicant has likely heard about Booth's flexible curriculum, yet I can't stress enough how this "we'll treat you like an adult and let you make your own choices" philosophy can shape one's Booth experience. Personally, having worked in finance and completed the CFA program before Booth, I opted not to take the basic Investments and Accounting classes that would have been mandatory at peer institutions in favor of advanced finance (including PhD classes and a well-known bankruptcy/restructuring class at UChicago Law) and additional entrepreneurship coursework. I saw many classmates similarly take full advantage of the ability to pick and choose from a diverse course offerings to pursue their varied passion. This is not to say that academic is the dominant factor underlying a Booth experience; like other top MBA programs, we spent large chunks of our time exploring career options, preparing for and going through interviews, traveling, and of course, partying. But one shall not ignore how much whom you meet IN the classroom shape your MBA experience. I was fortunate to meet and become good friends with "Boothies" in my class as well as the classes immediately above and immediately below mine, many of which came from a wide variety of fascinating backgrounds. I became a better person because of knowing them.

Last but not least, Chicago's relatively low cost-of-living and the fact that >80% of Booth students live right in the heart of Chicago (with an easy train commute to school) mean that we all had a great time!


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Investment Banking
Tech

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity


Read More