GMAT Club

Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan Prep courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
Manhattan Prep GMAT Deal Page

Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course
 $1699  $1624
Reviews
393
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online
 $1399  $1324
Reviews
109
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact
 $999  $899
Reviews
18
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$1250
Reviews
77
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$2450
Reviews
77
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$4600
Reviews
77
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Instructors

Jonathan Schneider
Reviews
29
Average Rating
5.0
Avi Gutman
Reviews
24
Average Rating
4.8
Mark Sullivan
Reviews
24
Average Rating
4.7
Keith Blume
Reviews
22
Average Rating
4.9
David Mahler
Reviews
18
Average Rating
4.9

Reviews:

632 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
October 13, 2019
wmorris

Joined: Sep 16, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V41

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring - Joshua Braslow

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I highly recommend private tutoring with Joshua Braslow. After scoring 650 (Q: 42 / V: 37) on my first attempt I signed up for private tutoring with Joshua and retook the GMAT after three private tutoring sessions (~4 weeks). On my second attempt, I accomplished my goal and scored 710 (Q:46 / V: 41). Joshua helped identify strengths/weaknesses and targeted strategic areas for improvement to help me raise my score in a short amount of time. In the tutoring sessions, Joshua coached me on content as well as strategy and I felt well-prepared during my second GMAT attempt. Could not have achieved the score I was hoping for as quickly as I was able to without Joshua's help. I highly recommend using Joshua regardless of where you stand in your studies. He will help set goals and provide useful insights that will help you accomplish those goals.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 10, 2019
ryank

Joined: Oct 10, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V41

Manhattan Prep In Person Course Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After about 5 years away from school and looking for a career shift, I chose to take the Manhattan Prep 9-class in person course in preparation for the GMAT. After graduating from school in 2014 I took the GMAT as a baseline with the anticipation that I may want to go to business school in the future: I scored a 630. For the next five years I spent zero time thinking about the GMAT, although I did work in a field that is fairly quant heavy. That should give a fair amount of background on where I stood going into the MP course. I chose to take the in person course based on the consideration that a set curriculum and a sense of accountability to show up to class each week would help me study more. I think this was the right choice for me.

The course itself was presented in a manner that made it comprehensible for anyone with even a minimal mathematics background. The structure of the course is such that it builds on itself week by week and homework is meant to introduce concepts that would be expounded upon in the next class. I found the course to be critical to my performance on the exam in such that all concepts for answering questions, strategies, and problem type were discussed at nearly all levels of difficulty in class. The course follows a basic outline: present a concept, work through an easy version of the problem as a class, work on a harder version alone, mix in that concept with others in a problem set. I found this manner of learning to be helpful and allowed time for recalling mathematical processes learned years ago.

As for the homework/workload, it is paced at a fair clip but not breakneck speed. I spent about 10 hours a week on homework and performed one 4 hour practice test every 2-4 weeks. The course uses a MP website to direct tasks, readings, problem sets, etc. This clearly set out study plan helped keep me on track and direct my studying. I found this program to be most useful in that it set foundations and built upon concepts learned earlier in the course. One final product that MP offers is interactice videos that explain different concepts/strategies. This was particularly helpful to review as a refresher after finishing the course and just before sitting for the exam.

Finally, my instructor, Jeff, was phenomenal for a variety of reasons. Principally, his presentation of concepts was articulate and easily understood by all members of the class. It was clear based on the variety of backgrounds of my classmates that we were not all starting at the same level. Jeff understood this and was skilled in presenting the material and answering questions in a manner everyone understood. Jeff was always available to help after class or through email. Many times I emailed Jeff with a problem or concept I was struggling on and would have a video back from him talking through the problem within 24 hours. I would recommend him to anyone.

I ended up taking the exam once and scored a 720 (48Q, 41V). I took this improvement from a 630 years ago in large part to be due to the MP curriculum and the instruction and availability of Jeff.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 07, 2019
Carnage18

Joined: May 05, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

The Best for GMAT Preparation. Dave Mahler is Awesome

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took both the in-person 9 week course as well as a few supplemental in-person tutoring sessions with Dave Mahler (instructor for both).

The course was a great introduction to the proper approach to each section and topic matters as well as best practices. The books are well-written and there is a wide range of basic through advanced material for everyone. Dave did a great job managing students' different levels of comfort with each topic and is a very engaging teacher. He cuts through a lot of the BS and makes sure that his students are focusing their time on the most important topics. Dave was also generous with his time, both before and after class as well as offering to answer one off questions or review practice test scores with all his students via email. My score went from an initial 660 up to 700 following the class when I had to take some time off from studying due to work commitments.

I engaged Dave for some top-up tutoring a few weeks later and he helped me diagnose a few key process areas that were deflating my score as well as teaching me new techniques to help with problematic content areas. He was also great about providing tailored follow-up problems that helped reinforce the areas covered each session for extra practice. Following a few one on one sessions with him I was able to bump my score to 740 and couldn't be happier with my decision to use MGMAT for my prep.

From the instructors to the online portal for tracking assignments and all of the excellent content, Manhattan Prep definitely went the extra mile to help its students succeed.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 16, 2019
gmr

Joined: Aug 14, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Highly Recommend Choosing Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The first time that I took the MPrep GMAT course, I made significant progress during the course but was unable to find the time to study after the course ends (it is recommended that you self-study for 2-6 weeks after the course concludes). I took the Manhattan Prep class again roughly a year later and saw even greater benefit from the course given a starting knowledge base. I found there to be great benefit to the in-person course (particularly with my instructor, Jeff Volmer) to pick up small tips and tricks that added small bumps to my score (accumulating 10 points here and there adds up). Jeff was helpful during class, outside of class, and even after the course concluded. The quality of the Manhattan Prep resources was instrumental to helping me achieve my goal GMAT score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 06, 2019
jdy25

Joined: Jul 26, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V40

Advanced Course & Private Tutoring with Mark Sullivan

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I've been working with Mark ever since I enrolled in his Advanced Course back in October 2018. At that point, my sister had already taken a regular course with him and suggested that I enroll in the Advanced Course to see if I could raise my score to the 700+ level. I'm not a great test taker and I think timing in the GMAT is especially difficult, but - after his Advanced Course and several private tutoring sessions - Mark really helped me get to the 700+ I was hoping for.

Mark is a GMAT expert (he'll be able to walk you through the best way to solve any problem you throw at him), but he's also excellent at helping you maximize your study time -- he really makes an effort to identify the areas of improvement that will help you achieve the largest score improvement on the test. In particular, I think the private tutoring sessions were especially helpful because Mark and I were able to look into my weak areas much more closely (i.e. advanced absolute value, inequalities, or geometry concepts that I was too shy to ask in class). He was also able to show me quant problem shortcuts that were tailored to my specific weaknesses and create a personalized study plan that allowed me to efficiently tackle low-hanging fruit given my tight timeline. And while the private tutoring sessions are a little pricey, Mark is willing to work with whatever budget you may have. In the end, I'm extremely glad that I decided to work with Mark and I thought the Advanced Course/private tutoring sessions were absolutely worth it.

My GMAT journey was not an easy one for me (scoring a 670, then a 680 in which my verbal and quant scores essentially flipped), but I'm glad I didn't give up. Seeking the right kind of help can really make all the difference and I think Mark was key throughout my whole process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 07, 2019
dknapp25

Joined: Jun 12, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V41

Had Jeff Vollmer as my instructor for an in-person Manhattan Prep GMAT class one day a week from 6-9 PM in Arlington, VA.

It was a great experience and I highly recommend having Jeff as an instructor. He was able to keep our post-work, 3 hours long classes interesting and exciting. He was very skilled at breaking down the different methods that could be used to solve each problem, and when each method was applicable. I also enjoyed how Jeff would put myself and other students in pressure situations that helped prepare us for the stress of the actual exam.

For background - I tried to study on my own for some time, but could never quite keep the consistency I needed, and really lacked the understanding of the strategy required for the test (v important!). This class really helped with both of these aspects and led to me gaining a score that I was very satisfied with.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 07, 2019
ole20180730

Joined: Jul 07, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V42

MGMAT Interact Post Exam Assessment (PEA)-Elaine Loh

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

MGMAT Interact is an impressive product. It took a lot of work and dedication, but I was ultimately able to surpass my goal of a score of 700 (I got a 710 second attempt) through many hours of work and a highly effective Post Exam Assessment (PEA) after not reaching my goal on my first attempt, and having started out at a baseline of 570. I started the Interact course in the beginning of January, 2019. As an active duty member of the U.S. military, I had not exercised many of the academic skills tested in the GMAT in nearly 7 years. MGMAT Interact was a great tool that allowed me to "plug back in" at my own pace. I worked 10-15 hours per week for 3.5 months completing the Interact syllabus, and then left 1.5 months for review and practice before my test date in late May. I think the Interact syllabus could be completed in 2ish months with a less demanding work schedule. Owing to a very demanding work training tempo prior to my first attempt, I did not achieve my goal of 700 and scored 660. MGMAT offers a free, 1 hour Post Exam Assessment (PEA) on videochat with one of its tutors if you do not achieve your goal on attempt 1 and you are taking one of their courses. I had one month between my first and second attempt, but really only 2 weeks of good study time owing to work commitments. The PEA was highly effective. Elaine Loh did a great job of giving me tangible "do this" advice, while still really listening to and giving thoughtful answers to my questions. She helped me tailor essentially a 10-14 day study plan (obviously highly compressed) to give me the best shot of hitting 700. She sent me a ton of helpful drill sets for my weaker areas, and she gave me hard, tangible priorities for what I needed to work on and for roughly how long. She also helped drive home the importance of error logging. Most impressively, she stayed in contact with me for the next couple of weeks and promptly answered my questions via email. Her feedback on a day by day study plan I created helped boost my confidence in the final week before my second test attempt. Her efforts during the PEA and after it really underscored how MGMAT is committed to getting you to where you want to be, even if you don't hit your goal on your first attempt. That being said, Elaine went above and beyond; she was invested in my personal success and really wanted me to achieve my goal, irrespective of reviews, etc. The PEA is a great feature and I attribute much of my rapid score improvement (50 points) to Elaine's effectiveness and sincere efforts as an instructor.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 29, 2019
rnweaver19

Joined: Jun 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V44

Huge Improvement Thanks to Ryan McGorman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Without Ryan's instruction, I would not have made the huge improvement that I did over the course of his 9-session class. The structure of his class was very well balanced, as we spent enough time both digging in on concepts and going through OG problems. I found Ryan to be particularly helpful when it came to the Verbal portion of the test. He was able to help me understand how to quickly and efficiently identify what a SC problem was testing, how to deconstruct a complex CR problem, and how to simplify and take away what was necessary from a complex Reading Comp passage. My Verbal score improved from a 35 before the course to a 44 on my first GMAT attempt. I also saw big improvement in my Quant score, going from a 41 before the course to a 46 on the exam. Highly recommend Ryan, thanks!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 24, 2019
mmcget01

Joined: Jun 24, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q46 V45

I highly recommend Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jeff was incredibly knowledgeable on all things GMAT. While Manhattan Prep has a set curriculum, they also encourage you to determine and correct your weaknesses. Jeff helped me to delve further into topics that went beyond the level of the course material. As a result, I had the confidence I needed entering test day and got a great score (730). Jeff's responsiveness and clear and concise answers to my questions helped me to make my study time more efficient. Further, he helped me to simplify methods and develop test taking strategies that proved integral on test day. If you want a good GMAT score just remember the wise old peanut butter company motto "Choosy moms choose Jeff."

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 21, 2019
jankster452

Joined: Jun 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q47 V44

Knowledge and Friendly Instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Mark was great to work with throughout my GMAT studying process. Not only is he just super smart and skilled at the GMAT, but he made the material digestible to everyone in our class even though we all had varying experience and skill with the test. He also was really approachable and helpful when I had questions throughout the class and even made himself available to help afterwards. Of course, at the end of the day you have to do the work to get a good GMAT score, but it sure is a whole lot easier when you feel like you have partner guiding you throughout the process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

190 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT