GMAT Club

Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan Prep courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
Manhattan Prep GMAT Deal Page

Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course
 $1699  $1624
Reviews
381
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online
 $1399  $1324
Reviews
105
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact
 $999  $899
Reviews
16
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$1250
Reviews
71
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$2450
Reviews
71
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$4600
Reviews
71
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Instructors

Jonathan Schneider
Reviews
29
Average Rating
5.0
Avi Gutman
Reviews
23
Average Rating
4.8
Keith Blume
Reviews
22
Average Rating
4.9
Mark Sullivan
Reviews
20
Average Rating
4.6
David Mahler
Reviews
17
Average Rating
4.9

Reviews:

608 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
September 26, 2018
srongaa

Joined: Jul 13, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q49 V42

Advanced Live Online Course was a great way to improve my quant score

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Daniel Fogel

Location Online

I took the advanced online course with hopes of improving my quantitative score.

The course had a nice blend of topic areas and my instructor, Daniel, made an effort to understand each individual's goals and help us move toward them. There were only five people in the course so I definitely felt as though I received enough individual attention.

The materials were great; their explanations for official problems were much clearer than those provided by the GMAT. I will say that I found their practice tests (CATs) to be much harder than the real GMAT, but regardless found the CATs useful for practicing and error logging.

My quant score improved significantly - from 42 to 49 - and I would recommend MP to anyone who asks.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 11, 2019
ddells29

Joined: Mar 11, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q44 V44

Ryan McGorman is an excellent instructor and took me to the promised land

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I took a 9-week course with Ryan McGorman and was far from disappointed. On the contrary, I think Ryan is an excellent instructor and was the primary driver behind my score increase. Ryan is patient with those in his class who need some extra time, but can quickly switch into 6th gear for his more advanced students. I appreciated the way that he was able to simplify concepts down to their bare bones.
Ryan demystifies much about the GMAT and enables his students to succeed. It also helps that Ryan is a great guy and is a pleasure to spend a few hours with every Sunday. Thank you Ryan!!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 10, 2019
William6

Joined: Jan 21, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q37 V42

Great on test strategies and content review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the 9-week Manhattan Prep course with Jeffrey Volmer (in the D.C./Northern VA area) in winter 2018 and was very pleased with the experience. Jeff is an excellent and patient teacher who always made himself available outside of class hours to answer questions.

The Manhattan coursework and classroom format encouraged self-study. For someone who may not be motivated to study alone and profits from the pressure of having to keep pace with peers, this is a great option. In addition to reintroducing the grammar and math concepts that one will need to ace the test, the Manhattan curriculum emphasizes the strategies a test-taker must use to optimize his or her score under the time constraint and how to recognize and approach recurring “tricks” that the test throws at you. Jeff did a great job of giving equal currency to the test content and strategies.

I started studying for the GMAT without having taken a math course since high school (eight years prior). Given the intensity of the quant, this was my greatest weakness. But the Manhattan textbooks (especially Foundations of Math) provide an overview of the basics and ample drill exercises to help improve on that portion of the test.

I did not take the test for business school so I wasn’t trying my damnedest to break 700 (I didn’t). The programs I applied to also accepted the highest score in each category (Quant/Verbal/IR/Essay) from any test sitting, so I had different incentives from someone applying to an MBA program. If you struggle in one category, I would recommend supplementing the Manhattan coursework with a tutor as you get closer to test date. If you are in the D.C. area, I’m fairly certain Jeff offers tutoring and would make an excellent one-on-one teacher.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 21, 2019
novowels

Joined: Jan 14, 2019

Posts: 7

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
750 Q48 V44

Great option for those who need that last push

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

OVERALL: I recommend a private tutor if you're trying to get a top-percentile score, because you'll be able to go over topics that you just wouldn't have time for in a class. It is a much more expensive option, but if you are in a time-crunch I recommend it.

RESULTS: I hired a private tutor after taking the Manhattan Prep 9-week course. I got a 710 after taking the course, but wanted to get a higher score. I took the exam again after a few weeks with my tutor and got a 720. After another few weeks of working with my tutor, I got a 750.

PREPARATION: I had taken the exam once as well as taken a Manhattan Prep course, so I was familiar with the exam by this point. Similar to the class, this requires you to put in a lot of work outside of the sessions you have with your tutor.

RESOURCES: The Manhattan Prep portal is very easy and straightforward to use. You can set up and take infinite quizzes online and even specify them to subjects you want to test. My instructor would put together a plan for the week as well as assign me relevant problems to go through and then we would address them at our next session. My tutor also worked with me to set up an error log (which I blew off during the class). My one big regret is that I wasn't keeping an error log all along! It was SO helpful and really helped us hone down what subjects I was weak in.

COURSE SET UP: The best thing about having a private tutor is that it's flexible and that you can jump around doing whatever subject is relevant for you. I met with my tutor maybe once or twice a week for 2 hours at a time.

INSTRUCTOR: My instructor was incredibly helpful. I really don't think I could have gotten my score without him. He also really helped me narrow down what I needed to do to get to the score I wanted and he was very honest with me on what I needed to work on.

CLASSES: I'm not sure if every instructor does it the same (I assume not!) but at least for my sessions, my tutor and I would make a list of goals, go through problems, talk through problems, then log errors in the error log and write reflections on what we learned (the overarching lessons).

Read More

February 21, 2019
novowels

Joined: Jan 14, 2019

Posts: 7

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
750 Q48 V44

Great group class program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

OVERALL: I recommend this class if you know what you need to work on and are looking for a group setting and if you're trying to get to high 600s-low 700s. If you're trying to get to high 700s, I would recommend a private tutor instead (once you are consistently getting high 600s), because you will not be hitting those less-frequently-tested subjects during this class.

RESULTS: I was getting about 630 on my practice exams (I was using Manhattan Prep practice exams which are notoriously harder than the actual exam). My first real exam I got a 710 and then I hired a private tutor from Manhattan Prep. I took the exam again and got a 720, but on my third time got a 750.

PREPARATION: I had done very minimal preparation work before signing up for this class. I had done a few online quizzes and quickly realized that I wasn't just going to be able to wing the GMAT exam. I signed up for this class and really committed to it - I went to every lesson and did all the homework, etc.

RESOURCES: The Manhattan Prep portal is very easy and straightforward to use. You can set up and take infinite quizzes online and even specify them to subjects you want to test. There's a page where you can analyze the problems you got wrong as well. They give you all the Manhattan Prep books which I found very useful for preparing for the exam - many forums recommend these books, but they are included when you sign up for a class. They also give you a GMAT scratch sheet (and special pen) which is VERY helpful for when you take the actual exam and they teach you how to set up your scratch work most efficiently (time is so crucial on the exam!). They also gave us a copy of mbaMission's Complete Start-to-Finish MBA guide which I found helpful for applying to school, particularly when I was trying to figure it all out.

COURSE SET UP: The class meets once a week for three hours, with a break around half time. We spent about half the time on quant and then half the time on verbal. We did not really spend any time on the writing section and limited time on IR. You have a significant amount of homework (this is where you work on IR). You will get as much from the class as you put into it, so you do really need to do the homework.

INSTRUCTOR: My instructor was very knowledgable and helpful. He made class fun as well - a three hour class can be rough especially after a full work day, but he made it enjoyable.

CLASSES: As this is a group setting, we obviously don't have time to go off on tangents to whatever any particular student's weakness is. However, I think we covered a lot of the basics - enough that you should be able to get a good score.

Read More

February 13, 2019
thatdudejimmy

Joined: Dec 08, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Manhattan Prep in person course: A great place to start

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took my first diagnostic test back in Nov 2017 and scored a 520. I decided to do a 9 session in person class with Manhattan Prep every Saturday. Ryan was an awesome instructor and the class was very collaborative. He created a great learning environment, where my classmates and I strove to help each other understand tricky questions and materials. The course provided a great framework for my GMAT studying. However, I do think most people will need to study for several months or use other services to propell them to higher scores. After Manhattan Prep I scored a 640 & 670 respectively. It wasn't until I used tutoring and TTP that I was able to get to my target score (740).

Read More

February 04, 2019
dpr1013

Joined: May 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
720 Q49 V40

Best Tutor Ever

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was referred to Josh by multiple friends and relatives who had great success with Josh and were admitted to T7 MBA programs. The common theme when speaking to every single referral was that Josh is a miracle worker and each person credited his work ethic and patience as a major reason why they did so well on their GMAT.

Josh lives in Cyprus which I found to be a plus while studying for the GMAT while working full time in NYC. We would video chat for two hours once a week early in the morning before my work day,

I feel as though a written review for josh isn't enough to convey how good of a tutor he is. If you're lucky enough to work with Josh, take advantage of his knowledge and if you work hard, you will succeed. He is hands down the best tutor I've ever worked with.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 02, 2019
egossett

Joined: Feb 02, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q49 V40

Manhattan Prep 9 Session GMAT Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the Manhattan Prep 9 session course with Keith Blume in Chicago. I was very pleased with what I got out of it. Keith is a natural teacher, and his course sets out the path for what you need to do each week. If you commit to the course and put in the work, you will definitely end up better off. After completing this course, I walked into take the test feeling very confident and was able to beat my goal by over 20 points! Up 100 points from my very first practice test.

Anyone who is serious about doing well on the GMAT should look into this course!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 02, 2019
Nervouskid

Joined: Jun 17, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
620 Q37 V38

Extremely overpriced and practically useless

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Hi, I took the course here and while the instructor was great and was the only best thing about the course, the course in itself wasnt too helpful. The basics covered are yes helpful, but the basics can only bring one to a certain score, and for me this course barely helped me cross a 600. It is very overpriced, I would recommend buying the verbal books but thats about it. Their quant material, as compared to the quant material of other online courses, is very, very basic in the least. The end of chapter questions are no where near the testing standards. Their 6 practice CATs are good, but other than that, I found the course lacked in preparing one in terms of the difficulty of the GMAT. The instructor is great in that he is so helpful in helping you understand everything about the GMAT, including relaxation tips, mental strategies but I wish I had rather heard those helpful tips without the >$1500 price tag. The instructor is the best thing about the course, and is one of the most helpful resources, but the course on the other hand, is too basic.

Read More

January 18, 2019
allyl12

Joined: Dec 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Amazing Tutor — Jeff Vollmer

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jeff was wonderful. This was my second run at taking the GMAT — the first time I never actually took the test after my studying got derailed by my job, which has crazy hours and a lot of travel. Jeff was very patient with my schedule and non-judgmental when I would drop off the grid for weeks on end, even though that obviously didn't make me the dream student. He helped me hone in on the specific things I needed to improve and gave me concrete homework assignments and study methods to address it, which helped me fit in studying on days when I didn't have a lot of time. Timing on the test was a big issue for me, and he was really helpful with strategies to address that.

Most importantly, he was a really reassuring presence to be around as I studied for this — from the beginning he expressed confidence that we could get my score to where it needed to be, and he never wavered in that, even when I was pretty down in the dumps of how it would go. I ended up doing even better than I'd been aiming for.

I would recommend Jeff as a tutor to anyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

190 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT