GMAT Club

Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course Reviews

There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan GMAT courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
4.8 /5 Average Rating
5 star
364
4 star
43
3 star
6
2 star
1
1 star
2
Based on 416 reviews
September 06, 2021
hcaz9311

Joined: Sep 06, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q47 V40

5 Stars!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I work a busy schedule and Manhattan Prep provided exactly what I needed to get my desired score on the GMAT. The virtual class was helpful to learn in person with Jamie, who provided excellent shortcuts and advice on how to answer complex questions, and I also utilized all of the practice materials that Manhattan Prep provided. Having the ability to take 6 practice exams before I even walked into the exam was extremely helpful from a preparation standpoint and having error logging templates and video resources at my fingertips was extremely helpful. Manhattan Prep gives you the tools to succeed and then its just about logging the hours to get to where you want to be. Simple as that.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 16, 2021
nickstevens95

Joined: Aug 16, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
780 Q50 V51

Manhattan Prep Well Worth It & Jeff Volmer is THE MAN!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

First, I found that the Manhattan Prep 9-week course exceeded expectations. Looking for how to get started? For help with pace? A framework to set goals and stay organized? A wealth of resources, including a syllabus, practice problems, video solutions, practice exams, and more? If you need direction in your GMAT prep, Manhattan Prep will provide that and more. It gave me exactly the one-stop-shop I needed as I tried to balance GMAT prep with a busy work schedule.

Second, if you are wondering which instructor to target, whether for the 9-week course or for private tutoring, look no further than Jeff Volmer. Jeff is THE man. Absolute whiz intellectually? Check. Awesome communicator able to distill concepts and takeaways clearly? Check. Engaging presenter that blends lecture, examples, humor, and more in a way that captures and keeps your attention? Check. Dedicated teacher than seems to take a genuine interest in each pupil and is always willing to stay after class to help with an extra question or provide a quick response offline? Check. I could go on...but if this gets much longer, no one will read it :)

I really can't say enough about Jeff. I was incredibly lucky that he happened to be teaching the course I signed up for last-second. I'd strongly recommend anyone looking for guidance on their GMAT journey to not rely on the luck I had. Seek out Manhattan Prep, and seek out Jeff. You won't regret it.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 16, 2021
PCHongKong

Joined: Jul 16, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41

Highly recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jamie Nelson is an incredible instructor and I am so glad that I signed up to her classes at Manhattan Prep. I finished the 9-class course feeling prepared and confident to take the actual exam, and scored a 730 on my first try two weeks later.

I was looking for courses back in March of this year with zero prior GMAT study, deciding on Manhattan Prep on the recommendation of a friend who knew I was aiming for the top schools.

The 9-class course excellently paced, with Jamie presenting each exam topic in a clear and engaging way. I was able to follow all of her explanations, even when she was going over the 700+ difficulty questions in different exam sub-sections.

She also covered the time-management and other exam techniques needed to do well in the exam, and provided ample opportunities for the class to master these skills.

The Manhattan Prep course material pack provides a concise and comprehensive coverage of the various exam areas. It is complete with helpful explanations on each topic and practice question that guides the reader through the thought process of tackling questions in a time-efficient manner.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 14, 2021
connorkikta

Joined: Feb 05, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
580 Q45 V24 (Online)

Manhattan Prep - You CAN Do It!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

MAN! Where to begin.. My GMAT journey took about 8 months from my first practice test. Initially, I struggled getting over the mental hump to really commit to studying for this test, which meant hanging up distractions for a bit. I took my first 'cold' GMAT in late October, 2020, and after scoring in the high 500's, I knew I needed outside help if I was going to get into my top schools. The first thing I did was go to my local Barnes and Noble store and picked up the latest GMAT Official Guide hoping I could get away with drilling practice questions over and over again. I did this for a while, an hour or two a day for a few weeks before I took my second Practice GMAT and scored LOWER! My quant scores were high, but my verbal scores fell, and I felt that is where I needed the most help. Feeling defeated, I ended up asking my peers of their methods, and that is when I started looking into Manhattan Prep. I would like to preface that my quant scores were strong, and I could manage a lot of 700+ level questions, but in contrast, my verbal needed a lot of work. What I was searching for was something that could sharpen my quant skills and possibly accelerate my timing, but most importantly, I needed a foundation for verbal.

I ended up enrolling in the 9-session Manhattan Prep course with Mr. Vollmer in November, and I got exactly that. The classes were fun, the classmates were engaging, and Mr. Vollmer made the whole experience really great. I was able to ask all the questions I wanted and I learned a lot from my classmates asking questions as well. I was very detailed in my note taking, and I concluded the course feeling very good about the foundation I had in verbal.

Immediately after the conclusion of the course, I took my first real Official GMAT Online. I do not recommend the online version, as my computer crashed while they were trying to send the test over and I ended up taking it 2 hours after my scheduled time and doing horribly. I took this hit as a growing experience because I knew that the computer issues were a huge reason for my poor mindset going into it. Obviously, this was probably an anomaly, and I am sure this is typically a great way to take the test; I just had some bad luck.

I studied a few more weeks, and took the test in person, I ended up scoring in the low 600's, and this was my lowest point in this whole process. I had put in the time, I have taken the course, and I studied for weeks after the conclusion of the course only to score far less than what I expected of myself and what my practice tests suggested I could get to.

"Just one more time" is what I told myself. I studied relentlessly for an extra couple months, doing well over 1,000 practice questions between GMAT Practices tests, tests and questions provided by Manhattan Prep, and the Wiley site that you get access too if you have the Official GMAT Guide. FINALLY in the last week of April, I took my last test. I ended up scoring in the high 600's which was where I needed to be to get into my first choice program at UofM Ross. It was with a lot of perseverance, a killer application/essays, an excellent recommendation, and a GMAT score that fell within the school's range, I was able to be admitted.

In conclusion, I would not have scored as high as I did if it wasn't for Manhattan Prep and Mr. Vollmer helping me get the basics down for verbal. I would highly recommend them. What worked best for me is knowing what my strengths and weaknesses are before enrolling, and really focusing on where I needed help. Mr. Vollmer got me there and I am beyond thankful for the opportunity to pursue a Masters Degree at Ross, and I couldn't have done it without his engaging lessons!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 02, 2021
oduler

Joined: Jun 02, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42 (Online)

MGMAT 640 to 730

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

My GMAT journey began in earnest in December 2020 and ended with a 730/48Q/42V/6IR/6AWA in late May 2021. I used a combination of self-study and MGMAT's 9-session prep course (online). Jamie taught a great course and really made herself available to an unexpected extent. Her explanations were concise and helpful, she taught according to a consistent narrative (specifically for timing and strategy), and kept the online course on-track without too many sidebars from the peanut gallery.

I started off the course feeling very far-removed from my last academic quant course and a bit shaky on the basics. Conversely, I started off strong in verbal and my score hovered consistently in the 42-48V range.

Keeping an error log, drilling the basics before tackling timed sets, and practicing timing on CATs all helped me reach my score goal. A word of caution - MGMAT CATs "feel" different than the real deal: the quant is more involved and wordier and the verbal doesn't exactly match the style of the verbal questions on the official tests. That being said, the MGMAT CATs in conjunction with the official practice CATs really helped me manage my timing, practice strategies, and taught me to manage my nerves.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 20, 2021
kevzhang

Joined: Mar 14, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V44

Advanced course is worth the money!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the Advanced Manhattan Prep GMAT course with Mark Sullivan. He was an excellent instructor, and really put a lot of effort into clearly explaining how to approach the test and different question types, rather than how to simply solve a specific problem.

I had taken the GMAT previously (~3 years prior), but the prep I received from the course with Mark made me feel much more confident about my ability to achieve a high score.

In particular, the post-course assessment with him (30 minutes to talk through a customized post-course study path) was very useful to prioritize how to prepare ahead of the exam.

I can't recommend taking classes with Mark enough.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 27, 2020
PaulQ

Joined: Dec 19, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

Jamie Nelson is Incredible

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jamie Nelson and the Manhattan Prep team are the reason I scored a 710 and am competitive at any program. The course is tailored toward the needs of the class and Jamie provides tips that cannot me found anywhere else.
She is responsive outside of class and is truly interested in her student's success. I want to especially point out that I am a non-native speaker and scored in the 96th percentile in Verbal. Jamie provides a great process to attack any question and helps you feel confident no matter what level question you face.
She is your best shot at a 700+ score!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 11, 2020
mufasa96

Joined: Nov 11, 2018

Posts: 6

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41

Great Methodologies at MPrep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

The 9-week course offered by MPrep greatly helped in laying a structured and clear plan to take the GMAT, thanks to MPrep's online syllabus in Atlas and the programme outline.

Jamie is a fantastic instructor, she is very effective in transmitting knowledge despite the online format. Thanks to her teaching skills I could embrace a steep learning curve. Apart from teaching the course material, she shared valuable advice and tips with regards to revision and test-taking strategies. An important aspect of my improvement was to keep motivated and embrace preparation with a positive and optimistic attitude, something Jamie transfers in class.

Outside of the syllabus, the Post-Course Assessment with Jamie was essential in preparing the final study plan ahead of the exam. Moreover, should you not reach your target score, a Post-Exam Assessment is offered with another expert instructor. This served as a pivotal point as I could get a different view from Ryan Starr on how to address my weaknesses (particularly in Verbal). MPrep also has a fantastic forum managed by Stacey Koprice where you can get very good advice if you articulate your questions/doubts precisely.

I could not be happier with Jamie, Ryan, the MPrep programme and the support offered! Excellent ROI in terms of both money and time.

Read More

November 29, 2020
vraghavan7

Joined: Mar 14, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q49 V42

Mark Sullivan is AMAZING

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

The GMAT is daunting, and I didn't know where to start studying. Thankfully I stumbled upon this Manhattan Prep course and decided I might as well invest in something this important. Luckily, Mark was extremely well prepared, easygoing, and fed us exactly what we needed to know in order to ace every section. We worked through problems in class and strategies for dealing with pesky data sufficiency or critical reasoning questions that I struggled with. He showed us how to analyze our practice tests to hone in on what we should revise and time strategies. I ended up with a 750 that somehow got me into Stanford GSB, and I owe it to Mark!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 11, 2020
cardude011

Joined: Nov 11, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V41

Thank you Manhattan Prep for helping me realize my GMAT potential!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

I recently took an online 9-week Manhattan Prep GMAT Complete Course and had an absolutely phenomenal experience! This course is perfect for anyone who wants a thorough understanding of the ins/outs of tackling the GMAT smarter in addition to harder. The course itself goes quite deep into Quant & Verbal, but you are able to figure out your strengths and weaknesses pretty quickly and tailor your study time accordingly. My instructor, Christine Defenbaugh, was extremely effective at getting us into the "executive mindset" required for success on the exam, and taught us countless handy strategies for maximizing time and making difficult problems easy. In addition to the standard course, after taking the official GMAT a first time and falling short of my target score, I took advantage of Manhattan Prep's "Post-Exam Assessment," where I worked with Jamie Nelson to really hone in on my weaknesses and improve on them the second time. Overall, cannot speak highly enough of the Manhattan Prep experience and highly recommend to anyone else out there looking to maximize their GMAT potential!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

129 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep