GMAT Club

Amerasia Admissions Consulting Reviews

Speak with a consultant without any financial obligation.  This free diagnostic of your MBA candidacy is meant to provide you with a snapshot of where you stand with respect to a targeted program. Engaging the right admissions consulting firm is one of the most critical decisions you will make in the MBA application process. Save $$$ when you sign up through GMAT Club
Amerasia Deal Page

Amerasia Admissions Consulting Reviews

Amerasia Complete School Package
$3500
Reviews
73
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Amerasia Consultants

Adam Hoff
Reviews
30
Average Rating
5.0
Drew Hoff
Reviews
19
Average Rating
4.9
Paul Lanzilotti
Reviews
11
Average Rating
5.0
Jeremy M
Reviews
1
Average Rating
5.0
Anjali Shah
Reviews
1
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

82 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
April 14, 2021
rwether1

Joined: Apr 14, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q44 V39

HIGHLY RECOMMEND AMERASIA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Amerasia, specifically Drew, was referred to me by a friend who used him during his MBA application process and Drew guided him to acceptance at Kellogg. I reached out to Drew 3 weeks before MBA deadlines for 2021 admissions cycle. I had completed my GMAT the day before reaching out to Drew and had not began any of my applications or obtaining recommendations. I remember asking Drew if there was enough time to thoroughly complete my applications, and without hesitation, Drew said absolutely.

We had our introduction meeting and then instantly began working on the essays. One of my favorite aspects of Drew’s approach to the essays and overall application process is the structured and regimented approach he takes. He sends detailed memos for each school, digging in to the history, core values, and specific DNA of each school and what their admissions committee is looking for. These memos provide a fantastic starting place for the essays, and alleviates the majority of the guess work and stress, which was extremely beneficial given my tight timeline.

Not only was Drew one of the nicest guys to work with, he was one of the most responsive. From emails, to phone calls, Drew was ALWAYS available and willing to help with whatever I needed. Even though we are located on different ends of the country, he kept the time difference in mind and made sure that everything was convenient for my time zone (even if that meant a 6am phone call for him!).

As a Georgia resident, and with 6 years of work experience in both Insurance and Entrepreneurship (Healthcare services laboratory startup), I applied for three schools with him: Emory, Stanford and UVA Darden. With a GMAT score of 680 and a GPA of 3.71, Stanford and Darden were my reach schools. I was accepted to Emory (where I applied in Round 3 and was my number one choice). Interview invitations have not been sent out for the other schools, so I am still waiting to hear from them. His essay critiques and application guidance was paramount to my acceptance into Emory, and hopefully Stanford and Darden as well.

Using this firm and linking up with Drew was the best decision I have ever made. The overall experience could not have been better and I would not be attending my dream school without his assistance.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 29, 2020
nick0722

Joined: May 07, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Just trust Paul and his process. He will get you there

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was admitted to my dream schools, and I do believe Paul played a big part in helping me get these results.

Here's why I would always choose to work with Paul:
-He knows what every school wants and will make sure you present accordingly in your applications
-After just 1 hour of consultation, he had already built a strong thesis and angle for my applications
-I learnt a lot more about myself after the process and after sessions of brainstorming with him, probably cos he has experiences bringing the best out of every candidate
-Strong writing skills, which will be very important for your essay / application
-Finally, and most importantly, he always delivers and strives for excellence. no matter what your work / essays look like initially or even days leading to the deadline. He always makes sure the final product submitted is top notch.

My advice when you work with Paul: Trust the man, trust the process. He has many clients and might take time to get back to you, but he always delivers and he knows what he's doing.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 16, 2020
DD1HBS

Joined: Apr 16, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Choose Paul!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My experience with Paul was great. He was not only an admissions consultant but also became a friend during the process. My results were great. I got into HBS and Kellogg.

I am from India and I had spoken with 10 consultants to evaluate from. Almost all of them viewed my GMAT score as not good enough (730(Q50, V40)) and asked me to give GMAT again or asked me to not even try for HBS. Disheartened by this, I took a break from the process to rethink my priorities. I even took another GMAT test and scored a disappointing 710.

I decided to apply with 730 and spoke with one last consultant - Paul. Paul mentioned on the call that HBS doesn't care about the GMAT and I shouldn't worry about it at all. He also crafted a mini-story around my profile and blew my mind with his creativity and articulation. He was the only consultant who was actually interested in my story. I chose Paul in a heartbeat. I also spoke to my seniors from college and work who had worked with Paul in the previous years and were now at HBS/Wharton. All of them were happy with their experience with Paul.

Paul and I worked together on 4 schools - HBS, Wharton, INSEAD and Kellogg. I got interview invites from all except INSEAD. Below is the breakdown of my experience with Paul stage by stage of the application process:

Stage 1: Discovering your story and drafting the HBS essay. Paul and I spoke in-depth about my childhood, college and job experiences. He took a shot at drafting the first version of the story and together over the next 2 months we iterated over 30 versions of the HBS essay. Paul worked on the HBS tirelessly. He knew exactly what the school wanted and how can we deliver that in the essay. This instinct of his has been accumulated by going through the process for years. We crafted a very personal story. Seeing the final output of the HBS essay was heartening. I even compared it to my other friends who were applying in the year. Their story was not as personal and it showed a lack of understanding of what the school really is looking for. All in all, stage 1 was great!

Stage 2: Using the HBS essay and my story to draft other essays of Wharton, INSEAD, and Kellogg. This was not a hard part. We took about a month to do this. By this time I had understood Paul's style and we were able to get things done in time and move fast. We also finished working on other parts of the application (LOR, mini questions, goals, etc)

Stage 3: Polishing all the material and finally submitting it. Paul really helped me in calming my nerves and taking all the material to the finishing stage. He was very diligent at this step and made sure we did not leave any stone unturned. This was the most crucial stage. I was extremely happy with all my applications. There was depth in what we wrote and I believe all schools got to know me very well.

Stage 4: Shortlists and preparing for the interviews. I had interview calls from HBS, Wharton, and Kellogg. Paul helped me do an extensive interview prep. I was well prepared for all my interviews and a lot of questions that Paul asked appeared in the interviews. Paul also made sure that I focus on the aspects I was lagging in. He also helped me draft a very good reflection of the HBS interview, which the school asks post the interview.

Stage 5: Results: Results were in. I will never forget the day I got into HBS. I couldn't believe the results. That feeling was extraordinary. The next day Kellogg also said yes, putting the icing on the cake.

I would highly recommend working with Paul.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 14, 2020
samlit

Joined: Apr 06, 2018

Posts: 3

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
530 Q40 V23
690 Q47 V38

Thank you Drew!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

When I finally overcame the seemingly insurmountable obstacle that is the GMAT, I was met with another challenge in the MBA application process: deciding on whether or not to hire a consultant. At first glance, all of the reviews here on GMAT Club are stellar and I was overwhelmed by my options. My partner & I eventually narrowed the list down to about 8 (LOL), and I scheduled free consultations with every firm.

After about a week's worth of daily free consultations, I had made up my mind on who I wanted to go with, and frankly, I thought hard about skipping out on my consultation with Amerasia (it was the last one). I am so glad I didn't.

Drew blew me away. Not only was he a great listener, but his enthusiasm was also infectious. The Amerasia approach clicked with me, and I was thoroughly impressed with how prepared Drew was for our call. I ended up saying YES on the spot and ended our call feeling good about my decision. Random side note: emotional intelligence is a big deal to me, and Drew was the only consultant I had spoken to that brought it up first (instead of me asking about it). I was sold from that point forward.

The investment in Amerasia quickly paid for itself as Drew's patience, flexibility, and attention to detail (via strategy memos) gave me the structure I craved during the stressful and ambiguous application process. His laid back attitude on the work we had to do (I never felt pressured to meet specific deadlines) kept me sane each step of the way. Drew strikes a great balance between relaxed and straightforward. I am also kind of neurotic by nature, so I appreciated Drew's patience with me when I kept blowing up his phone or emails with my random questions.

Throughout the whole process, I felt like Drew was personally invested in helping me craft my best story, and the amazing part is he was able to do it while maintaining my voice. I am extremely pleased with my results and never in my wildest dreams did I think I'd find this much success with my stats. Big thanks to Drew & Amerasia for giving me confidence, but also helping me translate it in my applications.

Stats: ORM. 3.44 GPA. 5yrs Operations in Financial Services. 690 (47Q/38V) GMAT.

Round 2 Results: WL at Kellogg (waiting on a decision) and Stern (app now withdrawn). Admit at Anderson, Marshall (w/ full-tuition scholarship), and McCombs (w/ partial scholarship)

Update as of 4/13: I was admitted off the WL (w/ partial scholarship) at Kellogg this weekend. I wouldn't have even applied to Kellogg if Drew hadn't mentioned it during our first call. Seriously, highly recommend him!

Read More

April 10, 2020
HSWmba

Joined: Sep 26, 2014

Posts: 3

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
740 Q47 V45

Excellent service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Paul Lanzilotti, who communicated with me normally over Slack and also frequently over the phone. The primary sources of help came from essay editing as well as tailoring for each school.

While I had a good story and good stats (4.0 GPA, >730 GMAT), I received no interviews the prior year. I therefore shopped around and felt most comfortable working with Paul. After a long and rather nerve-racking process, Paul helped me present a more coherent story, tailored properly for each school. I ultimately was admitted to 4 top-10 schools, 1 with scholarship. I am very happy with my result and am overjoyed to attend my dream school in the fall.

Paul exceeded my expectations for 1 simple reason - he knew what to do, which allowed me to achieve my goal. Ultimately that's why you hire a consultant.

Read More

December 23, 2019
bhs125

Joined: Aug 15, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q45 V44

Adam was awesome

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Amerasia Hourly Services

Consultant Adam Hoff

I could not have received offers from each of my top 3 schools without Adam (I ultimately accepted Wharton). I initially completed trial calls with other, larger consultancy companies, but Adam really stuck out because he spent a full hour getting to know me on a personal level. Whereas other trials seemed very cookie-cutter, Adam tailored his approach to my individual attributes. He also demonstrated an insider's knowledge to the process that targeted/accounted for the core identity of each school, rather than seeming out-of-the-box. While it was very clear Adam knows a great deal about each school, including the most efficient and effective ways to spin a narrative toward each, Adam made sure the fit was correct first.

Throughout the entire process, Adam was honest, flexible, and direct; I did not feel coddled in any way and every piece of feedback was efficient and effective with sound and outlined rationale. Adam did a great job up-front outlining my school-specific narratives and his work on the essays was top notch. He was great about eliminating unnecessary jargon/buzzwords and made sure the essays really played into the attributes each school touts. He is an extremely strong communicator and made himself available whenever I needed to hash anything out. His memos were also very helpful as references and guides while I worked through my essays. They not only paint a clear picture of a school’s essence with far more context than what’s available on school websites, but the memos also immediately get to the “this is what’s really going on here” about every prompt.

Overall, Adam exceeded my expectations and was invaluable throughout the process; I would recommend him to anyone looking to attend a top MBA program.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 25, 2019
Allinon700

Joined: Feb 01, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
740 Q51 V38

Just Listen to Paul from Amerasia

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

TLDR:
I worked with Paul from Amerasia for two-school complete package (application + interview).
I received R1 offers from both schools (Cambridge & LBS).
I recommend him to the fullest degree.

Detailed review of Paul & Amerasia:
I will breakdown my experience and provide a score for each of the criteria that I find to be important when it comes to admission consultation.

Knowledge & Expertise (5/5):
Paul is extremely knowledgeable about the MBA admission process in general, and his experience allows him to provide practical and helpful insights and guidance. He has also built up a wealth of information on application and interview. I found the materials he supplied me with to be intuitive and helpful. He allowed me to look past many of the "advice" offered on various forums by so called experts. Even though he mostly works with clients applying to US schools, I had no problem putting together solid application packages and getting through the interviews - all for European schools.

Communication (4/5):
I have to be honest here. Sometimes Paul can be a bit hard to reach. Having gone through the application process and looking back on the overall experience, this is not a big deal. It's not like he doesn't deliver on his words. However, for students admission process can be an emotional roller coaster, and at times having someone to speak to readily will greatly help with the stress. This is the only thing that I felt like Paul can improve upon. He does make it up also by spending the time with you. I've never had a single phone call where he asked to hang up first. He is willing to go over the allocated 30 minutes or an hour to address all of your questions, comments, and concerns. I very much appreciated that about Paul. In terms of style of communication, he is very honest. He will let you know directly that your work sucks. He will also let you know when you do a decent job.

Commitment & Engagement (5/5):
Paul's engagement style and his level of commitment is what got me to work with him over all the other big name consulting firms. I noticed immediately during the initial (free) consultation. Every other consultants hung up after a 30 minute conversation on the dot. Paul was different. Even for a free initial call, he spent an hour and a half talking with me. He will go over and beyond for you and he makes you feel that he, too, is truly invested in your success. It will obviously vary depending on people (and personalities), but him and I built a pretty strong relationship (considering the fact that we've never seen each others' faces and all of the communications were via email and phone calls) with him. This provided me with a sense of security that I really needed to overcome the stresses of application journey. He truly made me feel like he was looking after my best interest, and never once made me feel like our engagements were transactional. If you want someone in your corner during your MBA application journey, Paul is your man.

Value (5/5):
Value is personal and relative, so I will keep it pretty brief. His pricing is pretty much better than anything in the market. Not only that, as mentioned before, Paul is more committed and knowledgeable than other consultants I have talked to & received service (I used another company last year, but wasn't very happy with what I got) from.

Read More

September 03, 2019
abesthorse

Joined: Sep 03, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

No Need to Look Elsewhere -- Adam is the BEST

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Adam is AMAZING. You will be lucky if you can work with him, as now he only works with client referrals. He truly goes above and beyond for every applicant and I cannot thank him enough!

- He is incredibly honest and direct -- if he doesn't think you have a credible shot, he will not work with you for that school. He will also be honest about the holes in your application and where the questions may arise. He is not afraid to hurt your feelings if your essay or answers need lots of help.

- His memos and strategy guides are incredible -- they give you fantastic insight into each school and each essay topic (what it means, what you should think about, what you should avoid, etc.)

- He spends the time to get to know you -- I have heard that other consultants will try to "bucket" applicants without taking the time to get to know you. He takes the opposite approach, don't care about what others might perceive your background, just be yourself!

- He knows how to tell a story -- this is super helpful when it comes to distilling your entire background into a few short paragraphs / pages or making sure the most important aspects of your life are able to shine through

- His team brings well-rounded expertise and insight -- a separate team member reviews your resume and a separate team member gives a mock interview

Best of luck with your admissions process! If you are lucky enough to work with Adam, you are in good hands.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 11, 2019
Cuppy

Joined: May 03, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q48 V39

Hghly recommend Drew Hoff

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

I found Amerasia on GMATClub and reached out to them 3 weeks (yup, 3 weeks) before MBA deadlines for 2019 intake. At that point, I'd just re-taken my GMAT, had not started on any of my applications, essays or recommendations. I remember asking Drew if I should just wait to apply for 2020 intake to avoid rushing through my applications. However given that I'm slightly older, he advised me to go ahead with this round.

We started working on the essays straight away. Drew had a very structured approach towards the entire process. He had detailed memos for each segment of the application, from recommendations to essays to interviews. This made it less overwhelming as it broke down the entire process into smaller and more achievable segments. I found this extremely helpful as I was working under extreme time constraint.

Drew was very responsive with emails. He was giving me feedback on my essays and applications through the Christmas and New Year's period, taking only Christmas day off. It was easy to schedule calls with Drew when I needed to discuss my applications over the phone, especially since I'm located in South East Asia.

Here's my background: I am South East Asian, studied Economics and Statistics for my undergrad, worked as an analyst for 5 years in telco industry, and had a 710 GMAT score.

I applied for 3 schools - Harvard, Stanford and Wharton. I was accepted to Harvard and Wharton and was waitlisted for Stanford. After being waitlisted to Stanford, Drew shared some detailed guidance on the waitlist process and how to improve my chances, i.e. writing additional essays.

I found the entire experience to be very pleasant. Drew was extremely supportive throughout the entire process and gave direct feedback about essays and my interview responses.

Read More

May 13, 2019
Lhumphrey42

Joined: Jan 26, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q47 V48

Great thought partner, highly recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I would highly recommend Adam Hoff at Amerasia. I found him to be a true partner throughout the application process, and his feedback/work is top notch. He is not only very knowledgeable about what each of the schools is looking for (or not looking for), but he is quite honest and upfront with you. He is especially helpful with the essays, and will push you to make them as strong as possible. It seems like he has a real vested interest in each person he works with. He is used year after year by all the pre-MBAs that go through my private equity program, and with great results.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

48 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Amerasia