GMAT Club

Target Test Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Earn a Higher GMAT Math Score  

Target Test Prep is an innovative test prep company that, for the past 9 years, has been helping students break longstanding barriers to success on the GMAT.   We've created the Target Test Prep GMAT Quant Course, a powerful web-based, self-study platform that is helping students earn impressive GMAT math scores.

Target Test Prep GMAT Quant is an innovative, ultra-clear, and super comprehensive GMAT quant course that's unlike anything you've used before. Taught with unprecedented clarity and detail, this course offers serious material to prepare you for a serious exam.  

The TTP Self-Study Course is accessible on all devices and includes:       
  • 20 rigorous chapters broken into 500+ lessons
  • 3,000+ realistic quantitative problems
  • 800 Instructor-led HD videos
  • Intelligent, actionable analytics allow you to strategically focus your study efforts.
  • 6 adaptable study plans
  • Live support   
Want to learn more? Sign up for our free 5-day trial.
Target Test Prep Deal Page

Target Test Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Target Test Prep Flexible Prep
 $149  $99
Reviews
116
Average Rating
5
Buy Now
Target Test Prep Dedicated Study
 $449  $299
Reviews
34
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Target Test Prep Maximum Learning
 $499  $399
Reviews
25
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Reviews:

175 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
September 17, 2019
rsmalan

Joined: May 20, 2019

Posts: 13

Kudos: 19

Verified score:
760 Q51 V41

One stop shop

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Target Test Prep Dedicated Study

Location Online

So I was given this thought by my peers to enhance my skills to better my profile in my career. I was lured to appear in GMAT after talking to some close friends. And that's how goes my story...
I am a working professional working for the Government. I hold my bachelors in Medicine from University of Delhi,India. What I am trying to get at is that Quant was not a natural thing to me. I started my journey by making an acount on mba.com and sitting for the Official Mock. The idea was to know my baseline. It was not a surprise to have a low score. For the record, it was 620 which had a Q47.
With this, I started my preparation looking for a modest improvement only (I would have been happy to improve my score by 60 points. Yeah, wasn't very motivated). Anyhow, I had this Godly mentor, Abhinav who aced this exam sometime ago. He was my only source of help, courtesy the remoteness of the place where I worked. Abhinav prepped the entire study plan for me. For Quant, he described Target Test Prep by the same words which form the headline for this review i.e. One Stop Shop. So, I buy my subscription immediately and off I go.
First things first, the platform. The interface has been created in such an amazing way which is extremely thoughtful. It is very interactive without risking you getting lost. You have the hang of things and never lose focus from what you are suppose to do. The course was very systematic and perfectly indexed. The screen space was optimally utilised by giving various buttons to switch lessons, chapters, videos etc.
I was given an advice in the very beginning and I would recommend the same here: "DO NOT SKIP OR FASTEN THE VIDEOS BECAUSE WHAT YOU ARE BEING TAUGHT IS TOO OBVIOUS." It was a valuable talisman that paid dividends later. I would try to keep my focus throughout the lesson text and videos, solve the practice problem, check my answers and make notes. It was a convenient experience to form basics and build on the understanding of concepts brick by brick.
There is a downloadable sheet with various formulae and basic concepts that is available to retrieve as soon as you log in. Do make use of that. Again, nothing out of the box is to be found. But, those nuances are very important to be held on tips of your fingers for time bound problem solving.
After completing my Chapter wise theory, I came to the large question bank that Target Test Prep offers. I started from the Easy section and went on from Chapter to Chapter and to Medium and Hard. Here, I would like to share that I did not try to bombard myself with questions and tests everyday. I tried to make the test taking sessions effective by taking care that I don't get exhausted and lost. I would attempt a decent number of them and would go back to check the answers of those that I got incorrect. Also, I went back to see the answers of those questions that I bookmarked while I attempted them and those that were not generally answered correctly by test takers (40% and lower).
Here came the important aspect of error log, as suggested by my guardian angel, Abhinav. I realised that I was answering certain questions incorrectly because of an inbuilt pattern of thinking. Error log helped me slowly realise the loopholes in my analysis and processing of the problems.
Slowly, I touched all the Chapters and all the difficulty levels available.
I gave my first attempt on 28th August, 2019. I scored a total of 700 with Q48. I shared my score with mentor and made some plans to fine-tune my prep. This is where I began using Custom Tests feature on TTP. I would focus on Chapters that I was not comfortable with and slowly increased the difficulty level. Again, I would solve a limited number of questions trying to keep track of why I go wrong, when I go wrong. The original plan was to give my next attempt after a month but because of a reason not completely known to me, I registered for GMAT for a date 16 days after my earlier attempt. LOL!!!!
The score I got this time is 760 with Q51. It was a pleasant surprise. I tried to remain calm while taking the exam and adhere to the timeline in a priorly decided manner. I skipped a handful of questions that were taking too much of time. So yes, luck plays its own role.
Finally, this review would not be complete without mentioning Jeff. What do I say about him? We exchanged mails whenever I was on a sticky wicket about anything. His response was very prompt and supportive. I would like to share this small incident. My subscription expired while I still had a handful of tests remaining. I dropped a mail requesting him for help. Without any counter question , he immediately shared the coupon code to access the platform at a significantly low price.
So dear Target Test Prep, please continue the good work. Through this review, I formally express my gratitude for being such a support in this journey of mine.


To the readers, unfortunately I write this review without adequate ease and time, making the sequence not so apt. May be I cover other aspects of my prep in near future. I believe in giving others what I got from someone else. Please feel free to contact me on Facebook if you think I can be of any help. I have a pretty unique full name, Rohit Singh Malan. Should not be a problem to find me there.

Adios!!!! Stay hungry, stay foolish...

Read More

November 26, 2019
aacruz1991

Joined: Oct 19, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
510 Q25 V35
640 Q38 V40
680 Q42 V40
710 Q49 V38

Target Test Prep: Only Quant Prep You Need

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

Hello person reading this,

Just wanted to write this quick review to let everyone know that Target Test Prep really is the only quant prep you need. I have taken the GMAT 4x. First time I took it, I scored a dismal 25 in quant. Second time I scored a 38. The third time, I scored a 42. By this time, I had used Manhattan Prep, GMAT Club Tests, and the OG books. The fourth time I took it, the only prep, I used was the Target Test course. This product is the best by far out there for quant. No other product comes close. However, it only focuses Quant, so if you need to study verbal you will need to find something else in conjunction. Not only does TTP focus on improving your quant skills for the test. It also takes a holistic approach to learning and test day in general. They offer tips for learning better, such as active learning, being present etc. This course will help give you tips to learn better in other areas as well. Well anyway, after the last test I scored a 49 on quant! My only regret is not finding TTP sooner. It would have saved me a few tests and a lot of time and money. So if you are reading this and you are unsure what to get. GET THIS! You really won't regret it. Hope this helps. Please feel free to message me!

Read More

November 23, 2019
warotph

Joined: Aug 02, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

Best Quant Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 200 Points

Course Target Test Prep Dedicated Study

Location Online

Because quant was my weakness, I need to find a quant course that teaches me the ins-and-outs of GMAT quant and will help me build the foundation for me to solve harder questions. After reading multiple reviews on quant courses, I settled with Target Test Prep because of its price and user-friendly interface. The course is quite lengthy with a lot of material and practice quizzes but it was well worth the time and money. In a test where timing is critical, being able to find more efficient ways to solve the questions is one of the key skills you need to score high on quant. TTP is incredible at this with its equation cheat-sheet and certain techniques to solve certain types of problems. All of its quizzes are designed to make you effortlessly solve quant questions on test-day. After I finish TTP's course, I scored Q48+ on all but one of my mock tests and eventually a Q49 on my actual GMAT. Personally, I think this is by far the best quant course out there. I highly recommend this course if you want to score Q48+. It's a shame that TTP does not offer a verbal course.

Read More

November 23, 2019
anthonyfadams

Joined: Sep 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q49 V40

Improvement 70 Points

Course Target Test Prep Dedicated Study

Location Online

My GMAT journey began in May 2019 and, like the majority of students of the GMAT, started with the purchase of the Official Guide, a ‘thorough' review of Quant section of the material and then a dive straight into the Official practice questions. It is worth mentioning that I am a classically trained linguist and have a solid grasp of grammar and reading comprehension so my ability to score highly in the verbal section of the exam was not in question at this early stage. To provide some context as to my revision schedule, I work in banking and have fairly long hours so my studying midweek consisted of an hour and a half before work (5.00-6.30am) and then two hours after work (9.00-11.00pm), with a solid six hours on both Saturday and Sunday.

I was confident that I understood the theory behind all of the maths being tested and my review of the Official Guide material reassuringly felt like a reminder of concepts I had grasped well at school at school at age 16. When it came to tackling the practice questions, however, including the added element of time pressure, my accuracy was hovering around 50% with only marginal gains as a few weeks went by. I am also fairly confident that any improvement I was making was largely a reflection of question recognition and getting to grips with the question types. After a month of aimlessly trawling through the Official Guide question bank in the hope that the sheer quantity of material and hours spent at the computer would somehow translate to an absorption of knowledge, I realised that my study required more focus and I perhaps did not have the deep understanding of the material that I had convinced myself I had.

At this point, I did my research on GMAT Club to read reviews of other peoples’ experiences with revising for the GMAT and was reassured to find that I was not alone in finding myself at a loss as to why the information simply was not ‘going in’ and the hours spent revising were not being converted into any improvement. The name that kept popping up again and again as being the most comprehensive review of the Quant material was Target Test Prep. I tried the demo for $1 and was immediately struck by how slick and user-friendly the interface was (which is not to be underestimated having tried some of its clunky competitors).

I purchased my first full month midway through June and set to work on making my way through the course. Everything about the course resonated with me, especially the strategy guide that goes into great depth about the importance of active learning, rather than hoping to assimilate information from watching Youtube tutorials and practising endless questions. These certainly have a place in learning, and I learnt a great deal from watching hundreds of Youtube videos, but these should be used to supplement rather than replace the note taking and methodical study required to score highly on the GMAT. I found that the odd Youtube tutorial from GMAT Club or a TTP webinar helped to break up the monotony of pure theory-based learning and I cannot overstate the importance of enjoying the learning process for the GMAT. The TTP course certainly helps in this regard and I was thoroughly enjoying the satisfaction of passing from one topic to the next. There were points when I felt that the end of chapter tests ‘dragged’ a bit and in all honesty there were points where I passed over certain module tests to get to the next chapter to feel like I was making progress. In hindsight, the repetition of material is what makes TTP so relentlessly effective as a learning tool and in order to get the most out of the course, as Scott often says, you need to understand everything so well that recognising what each question is asking becomes habitual and instinctive.

After a month and a half or so of studying the course, I found myself becoming too lax on timing and focused on accuracy to the detriment of speed. While the former is more important in the early stages, I had started pausing questions that I did not fully understand and had started to lose the discipline of timing. I also took this approach on my first couple of GMAT Prep CATs, giving myself the false confidence that it was more important to understand how to do each question correctly rather than simulate accurate test taking conditions (the strategy section of TTP has some quality material on how to approach practice tests - I was too stubborn to take full heed of this to begin with!). I was scoring very highly in the Official practice tests (730+) and had convinced myself that I was ready to tackle the real thing. I booked a test for the end of September, after a two week holiday, during which I revised about 2 hours per day to ‘maintain’ my ability, and had not touched the TTP in the month prior to the exam. I didn’t feel like I needed the course anymore and I had got everything out it. I was wrong.

Going into the exam, I was expecting a score of 720+, which is the required average of some of the schools to which I was intending to apply. Despite doing lots of research of the test centre and what to expect, I was incredibly nervous going into the exam and was feeling a significant amount of pressure having spent a solid four months revising in earnest. The real test felt significantly harder than the practice tests and I was feeling the time pressure more than any of my ‘practice’ tests. I was so afraid of running out of time that I found myself bailing on questions too early when a further 20-30 seconds of investment in each question would have enabled me to tackle questions which I really knew should have been getting right. I knew as I was taking the test that it was not going well and was shellshocked to see a score of 650 pop up on my screen at the end. I collected my paper as I left the exam centre to see a Quant score of 45 and a verbal score of 34 - both were incredibly disappointing and unexpected. (Q45, V34, I6, AWA 6)

Fortunately I had booked a second test well in advance to anticipate the upcoming application deadlines so only had to wait 2 weeks before re-attempting. My concern, which was totally valid, was how on earth I was going to improve my score so significantly to over 700+ in such a short period of time. Furthermore, in my mind I had completed the TTP course, finished all of the GMAT Prep practice tests and watched every YouTube video under the sun. I was at a loss as to where to start and became incredible despondent. Nevertheless I sucked it up and now divided my study 50% between verbal and quant because clearly my verbal needed more work that I had arrogantly led myself to believe. On the quant side, I revisited my notes and went straight back into the Official practice tests because it is easier to keep practising questions rather than assess and address your weaknesses. These two weeks were intensive but unfocused and I was confident that my second attempt would benefit from less exam anxiety, given that I knew what to expect, and attributed my poor first result to nerves.

I took my second exam midway through October and, despite being less nervous, scored a 670 (Q44, V39, I5, AWA 6). The exam felt equally difficult to the first and I was again at a loss as to why the additional 50+ hours of work had only translated to an improvement of 20 points. Not only that but despite my verbal score increasing, my quant score had regressed! At this point, I knew something had to change because I couldn’t keep expecting that the same approach to revising would somehow produce a vastly different result, especially given that again I only had a further three weeks until the third test that I had booked in anticipation of a repeat of last time.

I decided to revisit the TTP course to address my weaknesses and contacted Jeff Miller from TTP to discuss a short term study plan to optimise my revision over the three week period. He sent me a very well-thought out study plan (simple but focusing on quality over quantity) and we discussed the possibility of one-to-one tuition. After a week of independent study, I got in touch with Jeff to update on my progress and we booked in a private 1 hour Webex session to start with. We established that I understood the vast majority of the concepts tested very well, it was now a matter of arming me with the confidence to tackle questions under time pressure that I knew I was capable of answering. There was nothing drastic or magic about Jeff’s teaching, or TTP course for that matter, in the same way that there is no secret formula to scoring highly on the GMAT. I was introspective about what I didn’t know as well I should and we addressed each and every one of those topics. In total, I had about 8 hours with Jeff and we covered all of the areas with which I had previously struggled. After each session with him, I continued to practice the concepts we went through and found additional practice questions on GMAT Club to hone these skills. I actually revised less between second and third exam than I had between the first and second and yet something had clicked and I went into the third exam far more confident of my abilities. My mindset was now one of ‘there is no way I can come out of this exam centre without score above 700’.

I took my third test on 1 November and scored a 720 (Q49, V40, I7, AWA 6). I cannot explain the relief as the score flashed up on the screen and my first reaction was to tell Jeff. Despite not having spent a great deal of time studying with him, I felt that he was now an important part of my journey to achieving that score. Without the foundation that the months poured into the TTP had built, I would not have been able to achieve my score improvements between exams. I cannot recommend the TTP course highly enough and I believe that if I had followed the course to the letter and taken my first test shortly after completing the course, I would not have found myself having to take the test three times to achieve the score I did. Furthermore, I genuinely believe that the 8 hours I spent with Jeff took my GMAT study to another level, if not in terms of ability then certainly in terms of confidence and approach to the test. While the virtual nature of the TTP course is incredibly convenient and well thought out, there is something to be said good old fashioned live teaching.

Read More

November 21, 2019
RYMAN42695

Joined: Jun 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

Great prep course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

TTP was an invaluable quant resource for me. It helped to increase my quant score from a 44/45 to a 49.

First - the user interface of the course is great; everything is so neat and organized.

Second - the amount of material included in the course is incredible. There are over 2500 questions to go through throughout the course and each one really helps you to grasp the material. Any topic that the test could ever ask about is covered in TTP.

I chose the Flexible Prep option as I already had a solid understanding of all the material and only had 1 month to study. If you already have a good understanding of the material and are trending low to mid 40's in quant, then I would highly recommend TTP.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 21, 2019
Mo2men

Joined: Mar 26, 2013

Posts: 2343

Kudos: 793

Self-reported Score:
530 Q42 V24

Best Quant Platform

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

My score was around to 43-44. But I decided that I need to boost my score. After experiencing many GMAT providers, I decided to give TTP a try. I had a long discussion with Jeff and then I registered 5 days for $1 to know more about the course. I went through the whole sections. I discovered that TTP is the right choice for my study math and best fit for my education style.
Pros:
1- I started to choose what my target score is. Based on it, the system suggests what modules I must focus.
2- The modules could be arranged in Tree plan that built my skills gradually.
3- Each module is divided to sub-topic. This is important to me to learn each idea behind the big topic. In the exam I faced problems that were new for me but it was a weakness.
4- Exams related to each topic were organized in easy-medium- difficult setup. It helped me to build confidence. There are extra problems in each topic to cover my weakness, in case needed.
5- The analytics is easy to follow and could provide flag, if performance deteriorates.
6- The chat panel provides immediate support so that I can’t wait for reply. Jeff and Scott are doing a great job to answer the questions. If something needs more discussion, I can email them and get the answer almost in same day.

Cons:
1- The test questions need to be numbered as It will help to trace it in combination with my test log.
2- I would like to see verbal section to have one platform.
3- To see more tricks for solving math problems.

Read More

November 20, 2019
GMATMaster

Joined: Sep 14, 2009

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

Well structured course with solid analytics

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

I was looking to strengthen my quants performance. I generally score 48-50 consistently but did not want my quant score to dip below 50. Having read bb's post on quants, I decided to try Target Test Prep (TTP).

I found the structure of the course to be excellent. It goes over all necessary mathematical topics in a logical order and has multiple practice tests ordered by difficulty level for each topic. I had solved all GMAT Club tests but I think the best way to improve one's score would be to complete TTP first and then do GMAT Club tests. The issue with doing just GMAT Club tests is that you are randomly picking at tough questions. Completing TTP first will ensure you have covered all the basics. Ultimately, I had read through 90% of the course and done 85% of their practice questions before the actual GMAT.

Another aspect is that TTP is backed by very good tech. The interface is neat and the analytics are helpful when you want to go over your weak points.

I took the 5-day trial for $1 and would recommend anyone undecided to take advantage of the trial. It gives you full access to the course and helps you determine whether TTP would be useful for you.

Read More

November 19, 2019
yellowjohn

Joined: Nov 03, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V41

Fantastic Way To Prepare For The Quant Section

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

I first came across recommendations for Target Test Prep on Reddit as the go-to study program for the quant section. At first I was hesitant on the price point of the product, but once I got started working through it, it was worth every cent.

My favorite element of the product are the numerous chapter tests that I can take to improve my mastery over a certain skill. After my first attempt at the exam, I utilized the ESR to figure out what my weak points are in the Quant section. Thanks to TTP's chapter tests focusing on specific skills, I had plenty to work with to improve. On my next attempt at the exam, I saw significant improvement in my overall quant scoring.

A suggestion that I have to improve the product is to have a sort of question bank in which I can customize the amount of questions I want to take and be able to choose questions from a mix of chapters. I find that when I am working through certain chapter tests, it becomes obvious what tricks I should look out for in the problems. While helpful for when I am first learning the concept, it does not simulate a realistic situation in which I may not know immediately to look out for a certain trick.

Overall, I would suggest to anyone looking to improve their quant score or even to learn the math concepts the first time to use this product.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 15, 2019
Klacet

Joined: Aug 22, 2019

Posts: 2

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
710 Q48 V39

Best quant course out there

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Target Test Prep Dedicated Study

Location Online

TTP is, in my opinion, the best quant course out there. It does a great job of laying down the fundamentals in a very easy way to understand. After I completed the course (target: 47-51), I was able to bring my score from 640 (Q39 V39) to 710 (Q48 V39) in a little over 2 months.

What I liked most about the course was the clear study plan that you had to follow. After every chapter you have to do chapter tests in order from easy to hard, and you only move on when you get a certain percentage correct on the question banks. This way, I never moved on from a chapter without fully grasping it like I did with previous material from other sources. I also really enjoyed all the little tricks to tackle difficult problems. For example, I was really struggling with combinatorics, but TTP helped to really visualize the situation (e.g. mentally deduct the people you NEED to choose from the group, 7 CHOOSE 3, etc.)

Read More

November 14, 2019
gisevives

Joined: May 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q48 V40

TTP, best course for quant!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Target Test Prep Dedicated Study

Location Online

TTP got me the score i wanted on quant after a disappointing experience with another course.

TTP covers everything you need without any tricks or shortcuts. It also has review quizzes at the beginning of every capter, so you don't forget what you've studied before.

TTP is a structured program that has various modules by chapter topics. After each chapter, you have to take several test in three formats, easy medium and hard. I strongly suggest to complete all the course before taking the GMAT, it will ensure an excellent quant score.

To complete 100% of the course be sure to have 2-4 months before taking the GMAT

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.