GMAT Club

Target Test Prep Flexible Prep Reviews

Earn a Higher GMAT Math Score  

Target Test Prep is an innovative test prep company that, for the past 9 years, has been helping students break longstanding barriers to success on the GMAT.   We've created the Target Test Prep GMAT Quant Course, a powerful web-based, self-study platform that is helping students earn impressive GMAT math scores.

Target Test Prep GMAT Quant is an innovative, ultra-clear, and super comprehensive GMAT quant course that's unlike anything you've used before. Taught with unprecedented clarity and detail, this course offers serious material to prepare you for a serious exam.  

The TTP Self-Study Course is accessible on all devices and includes:       
  • 20 rigorous chapters broken into 500+ lessons
  • 3,000+ realistic quantitative problems
  • 800 Instructor-led HD videos
  • Intelligent, actionable analytics allow you to strategically focus your study efforts.
  • 6 adaptable study plans
  • Live support   
Want to learn more? Sign up for our free 5-day trial.
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
210
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 214 reviews
April 03, 2021
analytica233

Joined: Aug 04, 2019

Posts: 76

Kudos: 48

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

My GMAT Journey - from 540 to 740.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 200 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

Hello guys,

I am happy when I am writing these lines. I have been on GMATCLUB for 1.5 years. I read some reviews of the people who had succeeded in GMAT and wondered whether I would one day be the one who writes the review. I love this community, and it is my duty and honor to share my experiences of my GMAT journey so that it can inspire and help someone out there. I will talk about my journey first and then summarize my key take-aways of GMAT. For that reason, my “briefing” will be rather long :)

MY BACKGROUND: I have an undergraduate degree of management and already hold a Master's degree. I need GMAT to apply for a good PhD in management program.

MY FIRST ATTEMPT: I learned MANHATTAN guides and did questions in OG and then took the GMAT. But I scored 540 in my first attempt, many questions in both Quant and Verbal sections not finished. I was rather shocked, especially by the Verbal result because I was quite good at English (I scored 9 on IELTS reading section) and cared a lot about languages in general. My conclusion was that I underestimated the GMAT.

PREPARATION: I started preparing seriously for the GMAT in the summer of 2019. I spent 2 months doing questions on GMATCLUB on a daily basis. My preparation was rather unsystematic. I then spent one year augmenting my quantitative and verbal abilities. After one year, I was more confident in my ability to ace the GMAT. I need a 700-level score to get in my desired PhD program. And because I still had to work and was already married, I had to balance my GMAT preparation and other life duties. I tried to spend most of my free time learning the GMAT. Sometimes I thought of giving up.

One day I read an online article by some person who writes that the key difference between the high-score test takers and the low-score ones is that the latter thinks of GMAT as something to get rid of while the former thinks of GMAT as an opportunity to learn something valuable. Then, I happened to read an article on Reddit, on which someone asked whether it is hard to get a high score on GMAT, and some tutor at Manhattan Prep wrote something like "It's all about determination and persistence, and it can be you. Why not?" I then thought of GMAT as an opportunity to learn something valuable, and the more I studied the more I saw the charm of GMAT. My GMAT preparation, though sometimes stressful, gradually became my daily hobby. I even did all the available questions of “Logical Reasoning” of LSAT.
MY SECOND ATTEMPT: Because of my demanding work schedule, I decided to take the GMAT on December 11th 2020. However, I did not sleep well before the test day and did not take the mock test. Perhaps I was overconfident with my preparation. I did not manage time well during the test and still left some questions unanswered in both Quant and Verbal sections. My score was 590 (quant: 42, verbal: 28), distressing me a lot, especially because my Verbal score was 28, even lower than my Verbal performance 2 years ago. The good point was that even I did not finish the Quant section, I scored 42, so my quant performance really improved. Thinking about my time spent on preparing for GMAT and what I had learned, I could not accept the result. I registered for my last GMAT attempt in 3 weeks and determined that it would be my last attempt.

THE LAST 3 WEEKS: I spent some time reflecting on the reasons for my results. The chief reason is a strategic reason. I felt that I could do any question in the GMAT last time but did not manage to do so. I broke down the reasons: (i) I did not manage time well; (ii) I did not really master some of quant concepts, a fact that takes me a lot of time on solving some questions, especially Data Sufficiency, (iii) the Verbal questions, especially Critical Reasoning ones, that I had done were harder than the actual questions on GMAT, so I kept spending too much time on each Verbal question, especially the hard ones; (iv) I did not write down the key points in RC, using up a lot of my valuable time in RC; and (v) I did not do the mock test to prepare myself for the stressful testing environment.

In 3 weeks, I studied between 6 to 8 hours a day. I spent spending time mastering the quantitative concepts of combinations, permutations, probability, and geometry. I knew that mastering these concepts is essential to getting a high score on Quant section. I also did quantitative questions of diverse topics (number properties, quadratics, rate and work problems, etc.) to train myself to "remember cold". Because the Data Sufficiency is a great opportunity to save time, I spent time understanding the conceptual nature of the topics involved, and when encountering a DS question, I spent time working with the Stem to understand the nature of the concepts tested. My DS performance improved on a daily basis, and I could solve DS hard questions in less than 1 minute. I also tried to do Verbal questions in a decisive way. Moreover, I reviewed intensively my performance in both Quant and Verbal sections. Why did I incorrectly answer this question? Why did I correctly answer this question but did so in more than 2 minutes? I focused on improving my weaknesses and augmenting my strengths. I did one mock test of GMATPrep because GMATPrep mock tests use the same algorithm as used by the real test. I scored 730 (Quant: 49, Verbal: 40).

TEST DAY: January 6th, 2021.
This time, before leaving home for the test, I kept in mind and followed my STRATEGY: (i) Strategic Skipping: I knew that I would have to resist the temptation to correctly answer ALL the questions: there are some questions that I can solve but in more than 3 minute, so I need to bravely skip some questions. After all, I do not need to score 800 on the GMAT. GMAT questions are smartly designed so that there is always a time-saving way to solve if the test taker really understands the concept involved. So if I do not see that ingenious way and if I spend about 2 minutes without seeing the way to solution, I will skip it; (ii) I will do the Verbal section first because the Verbal section will take up a lot of energy; (iii) On the test day I will bring an energy drink and some KitKat's to boost my energy.

I strictly followed my strategy before and during the test. My mentality was really good during the test. I did each question in Verbal section in a decisive manner. I managed the time quite well and finished all the questions in time. Then I took a break and moved into the Quant section. I aggressively "killed" each quant question, skipping some questions (not in a row). After half of the time allocated for the Quant section, I looked at the timer and saw that I was on the right track and pace: there were 32 minutes and 16 questions left. More importantly, except some questions that I had strategically skipped, I knew that the questions I had did were correct. I could see the traps set by the question maker. When there was less than 1 minute and 1 question left, I decisively chose a random question because I knew that that question could not be finished in less than 1 minute and I did not want to risk not completing the Quant Section. I took the second break, my mentality being very good. I took another Kit Kat and finished the Integrated Reasoning and Analytical Writing. After completing the Analytical Writing section, I clicked on "End Exam" button. At that moment, I thought that I would score 700-level, and then the result popped up, showing that I scored 740. After the test, I thought that I could have scored higher on Verbal section, but I were satisfied with my results and decided to go on with my application.

MY KEY TAKE-AWAYS:
(Some of my key take-aways are likely to overlap the insights shared by other people on the GMATCLUB forum.)
- Mindset: Think of GMAT as an opportunity to learn something valuable to you. And it is indeed. If you persist on a daily basis and have a good schedule, you will achieve your desired score one day.
- Approach: Master the fundamentals of Quant and Verbal sections first. To take a soccer analogy, GMAT does not test Messi-like skills but rather Zidane-like skills: GMAT tests how you master the fundamentals and strategically apply them in a stressful testing environment. Make sure that you correctly solve every easy and medium question before moving to hard questions. At the end of the day, the "hard" questions are the ones that you failed to correctly answer. You can save a lot of time on DS questions, even hard ones, by understanding the conceptual nature of each quant topic. The key to nailing the Verbal Section is to be able to eliminate 4 wrong answer choices. I like a quote by Sherlock Holmes - “when you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.” This is exactly my approach to Verbal section. Hence, when you practice any Sentence Correction or Critical Reasoning question, make sure that you completely understand WHY each of the 4 wrong answer choices is wrong and WHY the correct answer choice is correct. In SC and CR, you should stick to official questions. Fortunately, questions designed by TTP are of high quality. In my opinion, questions in Verbal section even harder than questions in the real test. You should also study Quant and Verbal in parallel.
- Sentence Correction is the section that you have the great potential to improve. Make sure you master the basic structure of a sentence and grammatical topics and then focus on meaning and logic issues. On each SC question, I first read the stem to get a sense of the meaning of the sentence before I check each answer choice. Note: You must keep your mind open, because the intended meaning may be not the meaning in the original sentence (as in answer choice (A)) but rather the meaning in the correct answer.
- Critical Reasoning: The key to doing well with CR is that when you read or hear an argument, always ask the questions “What is the Conclusion? How did the author come to the Conclusion? What Assumptions did he make? Are they justified?” Be critical and make it your daily habits.
- Reading Comprehension section: Because RC takes up a lot of your valuable time, RC needs to be attacked strategically. You should train yourself to read and summarize academic articles (eg. Scientific American, Nature, etc.) In RC and Verbal section in general, alter all, it is all about reading skills, to quote GMATNinja. In doing RC, you should spend time writing the main idea or topic, dates, people’s names or main positions, key events, of each paragraph in a concise manner because doing so will help structure and navigate your reading. “A good memory is not as good as a bad pencil.”
- Study and Review what you have studied on a regular basis. Especially when you have to work, there are many things untangled in your mind. "Quality over quantity" is the motto of the preparation.
- Maintain your strong points and improve your weak points. Do not avoid looking at that fact that you did not understand well enough a particular topic or concept. Every mistake you make is indeed an opportunity to learn something useful.
- During the last phase of your preparation, spend time doing questions of diverse topics in both Quant and Verbal sections.
- When you are confident with your preparation (perhaps when you are 90% correct in hard questions), make sure that you spend time doing mock tests. Formulate your strategy for the test day, implement your strategy and perfect it during your doing mock tests. I recommend that you spend at least 1 month doing and reviewing mock tests. This is a strategic investment to prepare you for the stressful testing environment.
- 1 week before your test day, make sure that you sleep well each day so that your brain can arrange what you have learnt so far and you have a sober mind before taking the test.
- Last but not least. The key to getting a high score on GMAT is to get a high score in Quant section and get a good enough score in Verbal.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS
The day when I was done with the GMAT, I felt empty because learning GMAT with GMATClub had been a part of my daily life, dawn till dusk, over the last two years. I want to thank you, the great and nice people on GMATClub. I have learnt a lot from the insights of @GMATNinja, @Bunuel, @daagh, @Karishma, @bb, some tutors at MANHATTAN GMAT that I forgot the names, and @Scott. Sometimes, the way to achievement is to put yourself on the right way. Fortunately, I found great friends on GMATCLUB to go along with me during this journey. Thank you.

Because old habits did hard, I will still be around on GMATCLUB. See you.

Best.

Read More

February 16, 2021
MY29

A highly informative and motivating debrief! I wish you achieve the best in life.

May 04, 2021
nicoleahgold

Joined: Nov 04, 2019

Posts: 3

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
490 Q28 V29 (Online)

Challenging and timely, but worth it

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

Quant review:
TTP is a lengthy course. If you're looking for a shortcut, or have under 6 months to study (and you don't work in finance), this is probably not the course for you. I learned a lot from TTP and it helped me come a long way in my prep. I've struggled with math and timed exams for most of my life, and the improvement I experienced was immense. I climbed from a 21 to a 37, but it took me a year to do it. Although I didn't achieve my goal (I still may retake with extended time) I'm glad I spent the time working toward it with TTP. Jeff was always available to answer my questions throughout the course, and Scott took the time when I completed it to discuss my score. The course is easy to use and it meets you where you are. If you have the time, I definitely recommend using it.

Verbal:
I did not spend the time I needed to on the verbal section, simply because I devoted all of my time to Quant. This is not something you want to do, and if it means pushing your application out a year, consider that ahead of time. The verbal section is just as lengthy, but it definitely helps with the SC section and it has some tough CR questions that will help you truly understand what the exam is testing.

Read More

April 29, 2021
gmatrookie2020

Joined: Mar 10, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q48 V44 (Online)

750 with TTP

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 200 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

For someone like me who pretty much needed to start from scratch with quant, this course was amazing. It definitely takes many many hours of dedicated study, but if you put in the hard yards, it's impossible not to improve your quant score. It's very thorough and covers every topic so that you know the subject matter inside and out. No shortcuts here but it's worth it.

What I liked most was that it's a very structured/gated program - my tendency is to skip/rush ahead (and consequently to skip over valuable material) and this course doesn't really allow for that. I also found the targetted study practice invaluable - I could go through a bank of questions that focused on a particular topic I was struggling with until I had perfected it.

I'm so pleased with my 750 score! Thanks TTP!

Read More

April 24, 2021
whitejd

Joined: Apr 24, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V45

Builds confidence as well as skills

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

I am 38, applying for an online MBA. My quant skills were rusty to say the least! Target was excellent in that the course builds confidence along with skills. Both the quant and the verbal effectively break down all concepts into simple components and then build them up to develop expert skills in applying skills on exam day. I found the sentence correction in particular to be refreshing in its refusal to accept 'awkwardness' as a valid reason to eliminate answer choices, instead striving to seek logical objective reasons for finding the correct answer in all cases. In my opinion this is the secret to unlocking the truly high verbal scores.

It's a great course with a huge amount of practice questions. Some are really tough, but working through it all really prepares you well for exam day.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 02, 2021
ravigupta2912

Joined: May 26, 2019

Posts: 752

Kudos: 177

Verified score:
720 Q49 V40

Simple Approach, Exhaustive & Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

I signed up with TTP when I had already given GMAT once and scored a Q46 in it. And I needed a bump on that quant score. The beauty of TTP is that they keep the focus on simplicity, irrespective of the difficulty of question. The sheer exhaustiveness of the course including 100+ questions on crucial topics such as number properties, geometry make sure that much of the formulas, concepts become second nature to you. These really help when you're operating under timed conditions. Highly recommend TTP for Quant.

And as a side note, their free verbal module, especially SC, is superb as well. It may require a certain degree of base knowledge, so maybe more suitable for native speakers, but it is superb in terms of going the distance in explaining the things. Subjunctive vs Indicative; Parallelism; Modifiers. It's a bonus

Read More

March 22, 2021
afr14004

Joined: Mar 02, 2021

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q47 V40

Target Test Prep - Best Quant Prep Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

I took an initial official GMAT exam to gauge where I stood and scored a meager 560, with particular difficulty in the quant section of the exam. After doing some research online about quant-focused GMAT prep courses, I found Target Test Prep and decided to give it a try. I opted for the Flexible Prep plan, not knowing how much time I would need to complete the course and associated practice problems. I cannot speak highly enough about my experience with Target Test Prep. The material is delivered in a format that is regimented and easily digestible. Additionally, the extensive practice problems closely mirror problems you will encounter on the actual exam and allow for reinforcement and mastery of all concepts. If you are looking for a GMAT prep course to take your score to another level, look no further than Target Test Prep.

Read More

March 22, 2021
seasaunders

Joined: Mar 22, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

An Unbelievable Resource

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

The pacing, organization, and detail in TTP's program were perfect. TTP was exactly what I needed. Not knowing where to start with my own prep, I sought out the most effective program I could find, and luckily, I found it. Using Scott & the team's courses on verbal, quant, and even strategy, were immensely valuable. TTP had plenty of practice questions, of each difficulty level, answers and explanations that made sense, and recommendations that I found intuitive. I even found the strategy section of the course particularly valuable because it helped preempt the nerves and distractions that I would have to deal with on test day. Working with limited time, and no official practice test, I knew that I would have to organize my time as effectively as possible. TTP already had that covered. I highly recommend TTP to anyone at any stage in their MBA search.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 21, 2021
AGMAT2021

Joined: Nov 17, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V41

Improvement N/A

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

At the beginning of my prep, I started with another company's course at the recommendation of a friend but did not find it to be helpful at all. The course had a good amount of practice questions but did not help with learning the theory behind the math (which is very important to do at the beginning of quant prep). Although I did not know anyone who had used TTP before, I took a chance and signed up for the 5-day trial for $1 to test it out. I was very happy with the format and quality of the course. The explanations were easy and TTP provides a wide variety of problems with easy to follow solutions ranging from Easy-Med-Hard. I was interested and motivated throughout and never did I find the course boring in any way. I would definitely recommend starting with the 5-day course to see how you feel and then if you like the structure of the program I'd say go for it! The Hard questions were immensely helpful in my preparation and gave me the confidence to tackle all levels of problems. If you are planning to give the exam in 3-4 months this is a great course for the value compared to others.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 10, 2021
mnls

Joined: Sep 27, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41 (Online)

Extremely helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

I first took the GMAT in November 2020 and scored 640, with a quantitative score of 44. I was not satisfied with this score and wanted to improve my quantitative score in priority because this was key for my university applications.
I subscribed to Target prep in January, the quantitative course section was extremely helpful to improve my quantitative score in only 1 month from Q44 to Q49.
The lectures are great, very well structured, they cover all topics in details and enabled me to be very well prepared for the exam. Moreover, the platform offers a lot of exercises, which are very similar to the ones on the GMAT, which is crucial.
I strongly recommend it is worth the investment!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 06, 2021
SerialObssesor

Joined: Nov 08, 2018

Posts: 12

Kudos: 47

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

A Structured Approach to Quant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Target Test Prep Flexible Prep

Location Online

2019: I'm from Vietnam and currently a college senior majoring in Management Information Systems in the US. I thought that I had a decent background in math so I didn't focus on the Quant section at first. For my first attempt in December 2018, I got a Q44, which was very disappointing. I decided to give Target Test Prep a try after reading a lot of reviews on GMAT Club. I was in a time crunch so I decided to go with the accelerated study plan. I used the ESR from my first attempt to study my weakest chapters first. For each chapter, I studied the Must Know Review and then did 3-4 medium tests and 1-2 hard tests. I invested approximately 40 hours in total over 8 weeks and finally got a Q49 in my second attempt in March 2019. My improvement from Q44 to Q49 definitely came from the structured approach of Target Test Prep. Target Test Prep does an amazing job at breaking down each chapter into a manageable unit of knowledge. I love how each test question connects directly to a lesson so that I can quickly fill my knowledge gap. Jeff and Scott are also very responsive to emails to answers any questions. I'd highly recommend Target Test Prep for anyone who wants to improve their Quant score.
2021: On my 3rd attempt at the GMAT, I used Target Test Prep again to practice and keep up my quant skills. I ended up getting the same score as in 2019 (Q49) with a total score of 760! Again, highly recommend Target Test Prep for quant prep

Read More