GMAT Club

Indian School of Business Reviews

MBA Program rating [7]
     (4.4)

Your OWN review

Submit a Verified Review and get up to a $10 Amazon gift card

create
MBA Program Review
20 out of 20 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By santu71182 33 14
This review is for: ISB
Program:

Full Time MBA

Class of:

2014

Experience during the program

Broadly, for an IIM (err...Indian IT Male) the realization point for the need of a higher education normally kicks in after entering the plateau phase of career i.e around 5-8 years of work-ex. Those who plan their career path well in advance, pardon my generalization.
The most sought after option at that point is an "MBA". But the dilemma is to choose the right program. Talking to peers, aspirants following are few of the common questions I've come across:
1. Opportunity cost: have a car loan, housing loan, recently married (or getting there soon) etc etc..which program offers a lower opportunity cost to cover for there?
2. Am I too Old: How would I feel like when I get into a program where all my classmates are at least 5-6 yrs younger than me? Will I have the necessary peer-learning benefits?
3. Post-MBA Location: I am looking for a brighter career in India Or I want to get back to a India after my stint abroad. Which program offers the best opportunities for the same?
4. Alumni network: I want a thriving Alumni community which I can bank on for my career moves (apart from seeking matrimonial help or selling my cat).
5.ROI: How fast can I recover every penny I am going to put into the program? How lucrative are the placement options?
6. Learning: How good is the pedagogy and how relevant is it to the current economy. Will I learn more real world stuff and about cutting edge research done around the world?

Indian School of Business scores a perfect 10 in all of the above questions. It offers a 1 yr Full time program which means lower opportunity cost and faster post-MBA earning prospects. While many prestigious B-schools in India have started offering 1Yr MBAs off late, ISB has been running this flagship program for over a decade now. The mix of resident faculty and visiting professors provide you an unparalleled learning experience with strong technical foundation as well as deep research insights.
The class also offers a highly competitive atmosphere due to the bright minds sitting next to you. So if you are someone who flourishes under stress, you will be in the right mix.

Every admitted class is a diverse mix of students from various experience ranges. On one hand around 20% of the class is below 3Yrs of work experience and on the other early 10% of class is having more than 8 years of work experience. This makes your study groups, class rooms and project teams diverse from an experience perspective. The school needs to improve a lot in terms of attracting students of other nationalities though. However it’s the same problem with rest of the MBA programs run in India.

With the ever rising Rupee-Dollar gap the fee structure of ISB is at the sweet spot offering you an international quality MBA at half the cost. Nevertheless about a quarter of the class can choose to go on an international exchange to any of the 40 odd partner schools around the world.

The placement avenues at the school are one of the best in India. ISB is the most preferred recruitment hub alongside the top IIMs for corporates in India. At times the focus on placement takes a toll on the focus on learning - something which can be managed by the student herself.
Tie ups with local government and technical institutes have opened up startup opportunities for those with an entrepreneurial mindset.

About professors, classes and curriculum

The curriculum is pretty intensive and you need to hit the ground running from day 1.
ISB provides option to choose from a wide list of electives through a bidding system and competition is stiff when it comes to most sought after courses and professors.
It is better to brush up basics as the school suggests in its admission kit. This would save you a lot of teething problem during transition from corporate to college life.
Most of the professors are amazing and you can extract more from them by engaging with them to learn about their research areas.

Overall BSchool experience
     (4.0)
Schools contribution
     (5.0)
Classmates rating
     (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Career opportunities provided by school

Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Marketing

Tech

Entrepreneurship

Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [1]
1 Commented by the770clubber on June 30, 2016
Thanks for sharing this detailed review. It touches most of the concerns and provides great insights for those aspiring to join ISB.
MBA Program Review
India's best B school
August 26 | 2017
9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By pria131 97 15
This review is for: ISB
Program:

Full Time MBA

Class of:

2018

Experience during the program

When I thought of taking GMAT and applying to top Business schools 2 years ago after giving CAT twice in a row and not getting into a top IIM, I was always suggested ISB by my friends (who were alumni of the college) and colleagues.

Though I really wanted to go abroad and study in a top 20 B-school, the situations in UK and US last year worsened my dilemma. I applied to ISB and got in the R2. Though I was sceptical at first about the global exposure and culture that I would not get at an Indian B-School but boy was I proved wrong.

ISB's faculty is from Wharton, UCL, Kellogg, Kenan-Flagler, NYU stern and the likes. I really like the structured curriculum the school conducts. It's a mix of the most important subjects that the future managers should know and it provides you the best resources to learn those.

The Harvard case-based approach is the main pedagogy at this school and it sure makes the learning worthwhile. Though I must say that this being a one- year program, the first 3 terms are really rigorous and will stretch you to the core. The placement service that ISB provides is impeccable since it's ranking is in top 30 schools of the world, the school more than the students is desperate to get the top companies come and hire from the school's diverse student body.

The alumni network is extensive and no other business school in India is that supportive when it comes to switching your jobs years later after graduating (My friends were in IIMA, IIMB and XLRI so I know).


About job placement process

Entrepreneurship is gaining pace at this school with many incubators (including school's) offering support to the budding student entrepreneurs after they graduate. But those who are interested in pure finance/IB should not apply because many companies who hire at IIMA and IIMC don't even come here. For consulting and tech roles, ISB is the best I can think of !!

Overall BSchool experience
     (4.0)
Schools contribution
     (4.0)
Classmates rating
     (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Alumni Network

Career opportunities provided by school

Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Management

Can be improved:

Culture & Student Support

Admissions Team

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [1]
1 Commented by debaranjansahoo on August 30, 2017
can you please post more about your experience before MBA and what you are planning to do after MBA. How do you think ISB is helping in that regard ?
MBA Program Review
Safe Haven to Experiment
July 11 | 2017
7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By saicharantej99 7 23
This review is for: ISB
Program:

Full Time MBA

Class of:

2015

Experience during the program

During my first couple of months at ISB, I was overwhelmed by the pace at which things were moving around me - Club activities, Student Body elections, Events, Workshops etc. It was like a proper buffet and I tried to bite more than I can chew. And I faltered spectacularly. My Grades went for a toss, put in insane amount of effort on things/activities that yielding paltry output. That is when, I realized the importance of focus. With the support of my wonderful study group mates and professors, I started paying attention to doing only those things that I can only find in a B-school. Brainstormed crazy ideas, Participated in umpteen B-plan competitions, Took up challenging term-end projects - all under the guidance of some of the brilliant professors on this planet. The learning from all these interactions made that 1 year the most memorable year of my life. The experience surpassed all the lofty expectations I have had at the start of the program.

Advice to future applicants - Experiment as much as you can during your time at ISB. The feedback you get at ISB on the success/failure of these experiments is priceless.

Overall BSchool experience
     (5.0)
Schools contribution
     (5.0)
Classmates rating
     (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Career opportunities provided by school

Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Tech

Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity

Culture & Student Support


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [3]
1 Commented by adeolubakare87 on July 24, 2017
hi saicharantej99 Thanks for your ISB review. As a Nigerian, It will be helpful to know more the impact on your Post-MBA career and how the ISB brand is received outside India.
2 Commented by saicharantej99 on July 24, 2017
ISB has had a huge impact on my career. I was able to make the transition from a Product Support Engineer role to a Product Management role owing to my stint at ISB. The courses I have taken and the Student projects I was involved with, played a huge role in this transition. This experience and the network I forged have been immensely helpful during my career as a Product Manager.

Outside India, ISB is slowly building its reputation. We have a strong alumni network spread across several countries including Nigeria. Also, there are ample opportunities for International exposure during the 1-yr program with B-plan competitions, Exchange Programs, Study trips etc.

Please let me know if you need any more information. All the very best in your endeavors!
3 Commented by puneetj88 on August 04, 2017
Hi Saicharntje99
First off let me congratulate you for completing your MBA and more importantly enjoying your MBA.
I have a 8 year work ex in operations and all of it has been in my family business which is a 60 year old business. During my 8 years handling operations I have had the experience of expanding our production line to double of its existing capacity, dealing with govt agencies, stingy customers, finicky customers and more experienced employees always on the lookout for an opportunity to challenge your authority.
But now I want to move into a corporate job, Do you think ISB can help me make that transition?
MBA Program Review
ISB PGP Review - 2017
May 26 | 2017
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By krishank1808 20 7
This review is for: ISB
Program:

Full Time MBA

Class of:

2017

Experience during the program

An excellent one year program power packed with learning, multi-tasking, networking, sleepless nights yet completely worth it, as you develop long term bonds with a diverse peer group that last a lifetime. The biggest takeaway would be to learn more about your strengths and weaknesses through out the year during the course of assignments, study group and professional club meetings, discussions with world class professors from the top b-schools of the world and networking with alumni over coffee/Skype/mock interviews or simply over a call. Not to forget the campus parties and opportunities to take up leadership positions in events that occur all through the year.

I would suggest future applicants to at least come with a broad idea about what they wish to take away in terms of their career goals during the course of the 1-year program as there will be tremendous opportunities to test one's strengths and weaknesses throughout the year. Having a concrete idea about one's post ISB goal and working towards that from Day 1 will give him/her a sense of purpose amidst the 51 week roller coaster ride which is a transformational experience in itself.

Overall BSchool experience
     (5.0)
Schools contribution
     (4.0)
Classmates rating
     (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Student body, diversity

Alumni Network

Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Finance

Marketing

Tech

Entrepreneurship

Management

Operations, IT

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school

Facilities


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
MBA Program Review
Perhaps the best in India
November 26 | 2016
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By ambarisha 18 7
This review is for: ISB
Program:

Full Time MBA

Class of:

2017

Experience during the program

ISB offers the perfect one year program in India with world-class professors (some of them authorities in their areas teaching at the best B-schools of the world) and a very diverse and collaborative student community. The courses have been designed keeping in mind the tools and thinking process that you'd need to succeed in industry. You have the concentration and industry specialization tracks to help you choose courses that would be most relevant to your intended future industry.
Being a one year program, it's very rigorous and testing. If that's not your thing, probably you should consider something else. But, if that's something that excites you, no better place than this.

About job placement process

Most of the top recruiting firms (esp. consulting, GM and tech) recruit from ISB

Overall BSchool experience
     (4.0)
Schools contribution
     (4.0)
Classmates rating
     (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Student body, diversity

Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Marketing

Tech

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Finance


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
MBA Program Review
From the horse's mouth..
January 10 | 2016
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By sukh1tubs 1 5
This review is for: ISB
Program:

Full Time MBA

Class of:

2015

Experience during the program

The biggest Highlight of the school is the amazing faculty and its facilities. The one year curriculum is ideally suited for a person not looking to spend too much time out of industry for management studies. Having said that there is absolutely nothing the school lacks in terms of course design vis-a-vis other prestigious two year programs. No doubts all these traits make it an unparalleled institution in India.
The school is ideally suited for people with 3-5 years of work- ex and those looking to work further in India. I Joined the school with a 6+ years of experience with goal to make a lateral progression within finance domain and was able to achieve it.

Avg GMAT score for intake is 710. Decent GMAT and good professional background see one through the selection process.

About professors, classes and curriculum

The school ensures that there is no dearth of quality faculty by inviting world class professors from across the globe to both the campuses. The curriculum is also quite up to date with frequent revisions. Amazingly, student body has a big say in setting up the course structure and a democratic structure ensure that suggestions are heard and acted upon. Both the campuses enjoy equally vibrant student community with similar facilities and same course structure.

About job placement process

The school has a lot to offer in terms of course and career choices. You should be fully aware of the career path you want to pursue post the course and work accordingly. The biggest recruiters are consulting, tech and marketing but Finance, esp I-banking & Capital Markets is challenge.

Overall BSchool experience
     (4.0)
Schools contribution
     (3.0)
Classmates rating
     (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Student body, diversity

Brand/Ranking

Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Tech

Management

Can be improved:

Alumni Network

Career opportunities provided by school

Culture & Student Support

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
MBA Program Review
Excellent
December 01 | 2015
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By execnitinsharma 52 92
This review is for: ISB
Program:

Full Time MBA

Class of:

2016

Experience during the program

Since I had around 9 years of pre-MBA experience, this program suits me in the sense that it provides me an opportunity to quickly finish the studies and get back to the corporate world. ISB provides a lot of job opportunities in the technology, sales/marketing, consulting, eCommerce, operations, and general management space.

Applicants should not worry much about the GMAT score and should concentrate on improving the overall profile of their application. A decent GMAT score with an outstanding application and a solid interview will definitely open the doors of ISB for you.

So do apply to ISB if you love the school.

Best of luck.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Best professors from across the world.

About job placement process

Stated Above

Overall BSchool experience
     (5.0)
Schools contribution
     (5.0)
Classmates rating
     (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Student body, diversity

Alumni Network

Career opportunities provided by school

Brand/Ranking

Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Marketing

Tech

Management

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [1]
1 Commented by shubhamlata2012 on November 16, 2016
How effective is ISB PGP for an engineer like me, aspiring to have a career shift towards management, and have had an experience of 5.5 years but have only been associated in support job.
Currently, not certain about any specialization and so inclined pretty much towards General Management.
Any feedback is appreciated!
Thanks in advance!

Latest Indian School of Business Updates

New Topic

ISB PGPPro 2018 Intake: Calling all Applicants!!
October 17, 2017 02:16

New post

in topic:

"ISB PGPPro (First Batch) 2017 Intake: Calling all Applicants!!"
October 17, 2017 02:08

New post

in topic:

"ISB 2018 Intake Class of 2019: Calling all applicants"
October 16, 2017 10:31

New post

in topic:

"ISB YLP 2017 Stage 2 Shortlists"
October 16, 2017 05:35

New post

in topic:

"ISB 2018 Intake Class of 2019: Calling all applicants"
October 16, 2017 03:51

New post

in topic:

"ISB YLP 2017 Stage 2 Shortlists"
October 16, 2017 03:46

New post

in topic:

"ISB YLP 2017 Stage 2 Shortlists"
October 15, 2017 23:52