GMAT Club

Stacy Blackman Consulting MBA Admissions Reviews

Since 2001, Stacy Blackman Consulting (SBC) clients have been admitted to every top business school worldwide, often with merit scholarships. SBC has a complete panel of former Admissions Officers from every top MBA program in-house. The SBC team has MBA expertise at every top US and EU school, has graduated from the best MBA programs and understands career paths in every industry, traditional and non- traditional. 

SBC deeply values mentor-ship within its client engagements and limits the number of clients for each consultant, engaging with clients only after its Validation Team evaluates candidacy strength. Stacy Blackman Consulting delivers results, as shown through its record of the highest number of online reviews across multiple sites, such as YELP. SBC offers a limited number of free consultations weekly for inquiries who have been pre-screened by our tenured team. Contact us for a free consultation to request time with an SBC Principal.      
Stacy Blackman Consulting Deal Page
4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 573 reviews
+ 1 non-voted reviews

Submit a review

Stacy Blackman Consulting MBA Admissions Reviews

Stacy Blackman Consulting MBA Admissions All-in Services
 $4850  $4850
Reviews
460
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Stacy Blackman Consulting consultants

Caryn (SBC)
Reviews
60
Average Rating
5.0
Margaret (SBC)
Reviews
49
Average Rating
4.9
Bill (SBC)
Reviews
42
Average Rating
5.0
Sherry (SBC)
Reviews
39
Average Rating
4.9
Erika (SBC)
Reviews
25
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

574 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
January 22, 2020
pod2020

Joined: Jan 22, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q43 V42

I utilized SBC's All-In package for two different schools and some hourly support for second round applications. I was paired with Yvette Romero, who was a fantastic support system throughout the entire application process. I had a very weak background as far as competitive GPA's and GMAT go (2.47 and 710 with a verbal heavy split), so I was definitely operating at a disadvantage during the process. Yvette helped me clarify ways to bring out the strengths of my technical career as well as ways to highlight the other strengths of my personal story. I've happily accepted an admissions offer from Kellogg with a scholarship, and that would not have been possible without her guidance. SBC is an expensive proposition but if you're serious about business school application and you have weak points in your profile, I highly recommend Yvette.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 20, 2020
bajaM2020

Joined: Dec 11, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V40

Yvette is amazing!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Yvette was a fantastic resource to have during the entire application process.
From the first interaction to the last, she is engaged, committed, and thoughtful. She was more than willing to hop on a call at any moment during the application process to talk through anything. At no point was she unavailable. She is incredibly kind, and particularly talented in helping you brainstorm your story and tell it in a concise way. The application process can be stressful at times, and having access to an expert like Yvette makes it much less daunting. I could not recommend her more highly!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 19, 2020
BrockHummus

Joined: Jun 14, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thanks Caryn & SBC!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

At the start of my MBA application journey, I had intro calls with consultants at many of the major firms (Fortuna, Veritas, SBC, etc.). The intro call with SBC was all I needed to realize that the firm struck the perfect balance between having unparalleled resources, an outstanding track record, and a genuine interest in my success.

Instead of merely assigning me to a consultant based on my profile or target school, Bill gave me suggestions for SBC consultants who he thought would be a good fit for my working-style and application strategy more broadly. I had intro calls with numerous SBC consultants before choosing to work with Caryn Altman.

I worked with Caryn on applications for five schools and ended up getting into four of them (Booth, Kellogg, Tuck, and Fuqua – Fuqua with scholarship). I come from an overrepresented applicant pool, non-feeder firm, and have a lower GMAT score than the average of almost every school I applied to. I owe a tremendous amount of my success to Caryn who was nothing short of terrific throughout every phase of the application process. She has an imitate knowledge of what ad coms at top programs are looking for and was able to use that knowledge to help me shape my story to highlight the unique characteristics of my profile in essays, interviews, etc.

I’m so thankful for Caryn and the rest of the team at SBC for turning my dream into a reality!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 04, 2020
tylersteil

Joined: Jan 05, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Carrie@Stacy Blackman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I was going through the business school application process, I was on the fence about whether or not hire a consultant. Some of my friends who were already in business school encouraged me to do so, but the price point forced me to consider to going through the process without external help. I am happy to say I am beyond thrilled that I went ahead and chose to work with Carrie. She was extremely flexible with her time, and helped me get the personal brand messaging on my application in a good place. I ended up getting into my number one choice school, and I am not sure that would have been possible with Carrie's help. I especially appreciated how Carrie was able to help me mold my application to hit all the points admissions offices were looking for, while still putting forward an accurate description of my career and career goals going forward.

Read More

January 03, 2020
amdmba

Joined: May 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
710 Q46 V41

Round 1 Success Story - Thanks to Sherry and SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had a great experience working with Sherry to prepare multiple Round 1 applications in 2019. I specifically chose to work with Sherry because of her experience as a former admissions officer at Fuqua/Duke. Following our initial kickoff call, it was clear that she knew her stuff and I was reassured in my decision to work with SBC. The company takes a team-based approach to helping their clients. In addition to my consultant, parts of my application were reviewed by another former MBA admissions officer during the “flight test” phase and my resume was reviewed by another member of SBC as a helpful second-set of eyes.

In the summer leading up to Round 1 deadlines, Sherry and I devised a comprehensive “bragsheet” which was extremely useful in synthesizing my work, education and extra-curricular accomplishments. Based on my applicant profile, Sherry helped me select several MBA programs that aligned with my interests/goals and provided me with candid and actionable feedback on my strengths and weaknesses. Sherry provided timely feedback (within 48 hours response time) on resume structure/content, essay brainstorming and any other application questions.

My main application deficiency had been my GMAT score which was not very competitive for a top-15 program. Three weeks prior to the Round 1 deadline, I achieved a competitive GMAT score for schools that I had previously considered out of reach. Sherry was extremely encouraging and urged me to apply to a top-10 MBA program with a school profile that matched my interests/ambitions. Throughout the course of 14 days, she helped me prepare a strong Round 1 application and even took time out of her weekend to conduct a one-on-one mock interview with me.

In December, I received the good news that I had been accepted to the top-10 program (with merit scholarship)! I couldn’t be more excited and I appreciate Sherry’s assistance and flexibility in helping me finalize a successful series of Round 1 applications.

Sherry and SBC have all the resources and skills necessary to prepare any MBA applicant and decipher the challenging process of applying to business school. I highly recommend Sherry and SBC to anyone interested in applying to a top MBA program.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 02, 2020
ccounts

Joined: Jan 02, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Sherry is great and the SBC team is incredibly helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Sherry was incredibly easy to work with and helped me with the entire process. She provided valuable feedback on my essays, did mock interviews, and helped me with my strategy. Sherry's experience working on an AdCom allowed her to answer all of my nitty gritty questions and deal with more complicated aspects of my application. Then entire SBC team helped me along the way from my initial consultation which gave me the confidence to apply, to a flight tester who read my application like an AdCom member would. I did the three school all in package and was accepted (including multiple scholarships) to all three schools (Kellogg, Tuck, Fuqua)

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 02, 2020
clucas

Joined: Jan 02, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q44 V41

Cannot recommend Beth and SBC enough!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I highly recommend Beth and the entire team at SBC. Beth was my primary partner throughout the business school application process; I was ultimately accepted to Darden, Kellogg, Stern, Ross, and Fuqua (with a scholarship!). Based upon my numbers (3.3 GPA, 700 GMAT, not a particularly strong quant background), receiving this many admissions offers at such great schools is something that I truly didn’t think was possible for me.

I was referred to SBC through a personal connection and, following an initial conversation, knew that it was the right choice for me. Beth and the rest of the SBC team struck a perfect balance between providing constructive criticism on my school choices and essays while always being immensely supportive. I was constantly impressed by Beth’s deep knowledge of the MBA application process and schools. I also appreciated SBC’s team-based approach. I always felt that I was getting the most accurate answers possible to my questions.

I was also incredibly impressed by Beth’s ability to help me to elevate my admissions essays, while ensuring that my personal voice was always coming through. We did a mock interview which was very helpful and played a large part in my success in the interviews to come. Beth also pushed me to take “Math for Management” which strengthened my application through supplementing my minimal quant background and helped me to prepare for business school next year.

Lastly, amidst the incredibly stressful and daunting MBA admissions process, Beth was an amazing partner. I feel that she truly cared about me and went out of her way to build our relationship. She has also helped me to think beyond rankings and to really ascertain my “fit” at each of the schools that I applied to.

I’m so thankful that I made the decision to go with SBC and Beth!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 21, 2019
usabp9

Joined: Jun 07, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

SBC & Beth - Best money I have EVER spent!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Working with SBC and Beth was hands down the best decision I could have made and completely worth the investment! Heading to Tuck next fall and am over the moon!! With confidence, I can say that I would not have accomplished this without Beth, her belief in me, and the entire SBC team!

To give some background - I applied the previous year with all rejections and was feeling so down about everything. Through networking, I realized I needed help to tell my story and decided to explore hiring a consultant. I came across SBC and four other firms, and reached out to all. Only one seriously got back to me willing to discuss - SBC. At this point, I was feeling such a lack of confidence. Sarah from SBC responded straight away and paired me with Beth to have a ding analysis done on my previous applications. Sarah really got me excited about giving this process another go.

From my initial discussion with Beth, I knew that we were a great match! She had thoughts on how I could improve my application and believed in my potential for a top MBA program. That meant the absolute world to me, and I hired her for three "All-In" packages. During the course of this journey, I actually ended up hiring her for additional hourly support to help with parts of my other applications.

Working with Beth was just FANTASTIC! Seriously, there aren't enough words to describe just how great she was to work with! She ALWAYS had my best interest at heart and spent time to understand what was important to me and what I could bring into my application. She followed up before and after ALL of my class visits, interviews and decision dates - I felt like she really cared about me and my success. She went above and beyond helping me to make my applications as good as they could be and her meticulousness was something that took my applications to the next level. Beth helped me stay on track with my timeline and was overall a great support system throughout the entire process. I felt so prepared going into my interviews and ended up getting into 3 programs - Tuck, Anderson and Tepper. I couldn't be happier!

Onto SBC - there are some products that they offer that I found to be absolute game changers. First, their flight test process is SO smart. They had another consultant on their team - Caryn - look at one of my applications to give it a fresh perspective. We ended up making a few adjustments that made my application even better! They provide a mock interview tool and have a SBC wiki page to reference. It's really well done - and all of their consultants are the best in the industry. I spoke with friends who had consultants from other firms and they were in shock when I mentioned the support SBC was providing me. It really is next level, and I can say that you won't be disappointed.

I will be forever grateful for the entire SBC team and Beth!! This journey wouldn't have been as enjoyable without them!!

Read More

December 18, 2019
petercohen

Joined: Dec 18, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

SBC Got Results for Military Applicant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I had an excellent experience with SBC, they exceeded all my expectations:
-I was a Marine officer and I worked with SBC for HBS and Wharton, this cycle I got into HBS, Booth, and Sloan - they get results!
-Margaret was more than I could have hoped for! She showed me that she genuinely cared about me, my story, and my ambitions. She made such a big effort to get to know me and how I communicated. She made the entire process fun and was a rock to lean on throughout the entire process.
-As a military applicant without a background in business, I needed a lot of hand holding in the beginning of the process, the SBC team, especially Margaret, was there for me and helped me find a concrete footing. I asked Margaret all sorts of questions and she always was there to answer them - even the ones not fully related to my two school package. Again, she proved she was 100% on my team!
-I initially had a rocky start with SBC - I partnered with Dawn and we were not a good fit. We could not find a way to communicate effectively, I did not feel like she cared about me or my success, and I felt that she belittled me at points. When I went to SBC with my concerns, the firm came in and saved the day! They instantly went to work finding a consultant who was a better fit and I had no issues switching over. The firm as a whole proved that they cared about my experience and were dedicated to my success.

I would wholeheartedly recommend SBC to any applicant, especially military, who is serious about applying to a top-tier MBA program. They will find a good match, and ensure you put your absolute best foot forward. If you can, ask for Margaret, you will not regret it!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 18, 2019
easterngod

Joined: Oct 18, 2019

Posts: 22

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
730 Q48 V41

Helpful but maybe incrementally

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

One of the reasons I chose Stacy Blackman was to get cost-efficient time with various consultants, and they were able to deliver that. Some were better than others and at the end of the day I think their cumulative opinions helped me be successful in the process, really enjoyed working with Erin K.

If you are a traditional applicant like me who is honest with yourself it may not be necessary, in any other case I would recommend getting close friends or colleagues to read your essays. If you are a nontraditional applicant or have stats you need to mitigate I can see it being a great investment.

Read More


237 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Stacy Blackman Consulting