GMAT Club

Beth (SBC) Reviews

Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 12 reviews
April 11, 2019
nmg46

Joined: Apr 11, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

100% worth it- thank you Beth and SBC!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I am absolutely positive I would not have received the admits I did without Beth from Stacy Blackman Consulting. While I was worried about spending money on a consultant, it was 100% worth it in the grand scheme of things. I worked with Beth on Kellogg and Yale, and I was admitted to both. I was also able to transfer what we worked on to my Stern application (goals, resume, job descriptions, etc.) and was also admitted there with a scholarship.

I looked at five other larger and boutique consulting firms. I felt like many other consultants didn’t care much about who I was as a person/what drives me. Some encouraged me to craft a story they thought the admissions committee would want to hear (for example, one consultant told me to craft my goals around ed-tech because it is hot right now). Others said to me that the schools I was interested in were out of reach, and encouraged me to only apply to second and third-tier schools. It almost felt like other consultancies would make you doubt yourself to get you to buy their services.

SBC was the polar opposite. My first call was with Sarah Tsai, who listened carefully to my needs and matched me with Beth. Beth is a former admissions officer and has an acute knowledge of the way the process works. She was direct, highly intelligent, honest, communicative, nonjudgmental, and just overall lovely to work with. She broke down the application process into manageable chunks and helped keep me on track.

Beth took lots of time to consider who I was as a person and what drives me to help me in creating an authentic, but persuasive, application. SBC was very honest with me about my strengths and weaknesses, and carefully considered how we would leverage strengths and make admissions committees feel better about my shortcomings (quant background).

It was incredibly helpful to work with a firm that has so much admissions knowledge amongst its employees. Lisa (a former admissions officer) did a “flight-test” of my application, and then I worked to revise it with feedback. I also did a mock-interview and got feedback before my real interviews. Finally, the SBC Wiki page is beneficial. I was able to read previous admits’ essays and look at banks of interview questions that other students received to help myself prepare.

I went through 12 versions of my resume and over ten versions of my essays with Beth. SBC focuses on every little detail, down to each 100-character response on the apps.

THANK YOU SBC!!!!

Read More

January 28, 2019
cbsmba2021

Joined: Jan 28, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

SBC Success

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Given the long, arduous, and mysterious nature of the MBA application process, I knew I had to hire a consultant - it was just a matter of which firm and which consultant.

I received a few recommendations from colleagues and friends. I made sure to do my full due diligence and spoke to 8 consultants at 4 firms. After speaking with Beth at SBC, I knew she was the perfect fit! From the get-go, Beth was a great listener, alleviated all of my concerns, and truly helped me strategize a plan to succeed in the process. Throughout our 7 months working together, Beth was there for me every step of the way.

I applied to 6 schools (I used Beth for 3), and got into one of my top choices: CBS! I am so excited to start in August!

I would 100% recommend Beth at SBC!

Read More

January 13, 2019
meb09

Joined: Jan 13, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q42 V46

Yes, yes, and yes!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

If you are at all like I was a year ago – reading this thread and thinking – is it worth it? THE ANSWER IS YES. Stop reading and go book Stacy Blackman Consulting now. SBC was invaluable in enabling me get into my dream school.

One thing is for sure in the application process -- you are going to have A LOT of questions. Maybe even doubts or concerns. Stacy Blackman Consulting will have the answers that you can TRUST and answers that are tailored to fit your INDIVIDUAL needs/skills/circumstance. This will make all the difference in enabling you to present yourself confidently, efficiently, and effectively in your written applications and in person interviews. I was amazed by how much my consultant, Beth, brought out the best in me. I have to say if you are lucky enough to work with Beth, you have hit the jackpot. Beth was nothing short of a dream. She was relentless, professional, insightful, supportive, meticulous, responsive, and worked her tail off to teach me how to put my best foot forward. I truly felt like I had superwoman on my side through this process – there to save the day if I needed her, but all the while coaching me on how to fly on my own!

In summary, go sign up for SBC and don’t look back. Their guidance is worth every penny. When you get that acceptance call from your dream school admissions, you will be so happy you did!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 04, 2019
brianboca

Joined: Jan 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V41

Incredible All-In Experience w/ Beth Tidmarsh

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

At first hesitant to sign-up for the all-in service as an applicant getting going ~2 months before applications were due, I can't vouch enough for the value Beth provided during my MBA application mission.

Beth helped structure my story as a unique applicant (despite a traditional background), provided extensive edits throughout the essay writing process (and complete story revamps), managed my timeline to a T and made it possible to go 3/3 on M7 schools as a white male with a finance background (something that I believed had put me at a disadvantage). Beth provided realistic expectations, valuable insights based on her past experiences, and was incredibly timely throughout.

Her helpfulness as part of the all-in package for Kellogg resulted in me using some of her services (hourly) for Michigan and Wharton as well. Ultimately, I was accepted to all 3 schools, which significant merit scholarships to both 2 of the schools. I can't vouch for Beth enough

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 15, 2018
sunnyraochn

Joined: May 14, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V45

My M7 admit would not have been possible without Beth!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Having been rejected by three M7 schools in the last application year, I was highly doubtful if I would be successful at my MBA applications this time around. My brother happened to recommend SBC and I opted for the 10 hour service. SBC then matched me with Beth and I cannot thank them enough for it. I have mentioned this numerous times to Beth and would say it again that my Booth admit would not have possible without her guidance and support. Beth’s inputs in every aspect of the application – Resume, short answers, choice of recommenders, essays, tips on video essays and inputs on how to tackle final interviews were highly valuable. One of the aspects that I loved working with Beth was she would push me further to draw my story out and shape it in the best way possible. Highly recommended!

Read More

January 02, 2018
laurennf

Joined: Jan 02, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q45 V42

Fantastic experience with Beth at SBC!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Beth Tidmarsh at Stacy Blackman and she really helped me manage the application process and feel confident in the application I was submitting. She provided helpful essay feedback and application guidance, she was timely in her responses, and she was proactive in letting my know when her schedule was tight.

I'm a strong writer but I didn't know much about what was expected from an MBA application essay, and Beth helped me put my stories in their best light and noted where I could add more information or remove confusing or unnecessary content.

Beth also helped guide me on what to expect throughout the process, gave me advice for my interviews, and provided support during the stressful and uncertain process of waiting to hear back after submitting apps and completing interviews.

I felt like Beth was personally invested in my success and her help improved my applications and gave me the confidence to perform at my best in interviews. I would strongly recommend her as a consultant.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 19, 2017
elaine1990

Joined: Dec 19, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Beth Tidmarsh - Stacy Blackman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Beth for my Kellogg application specifically on interview preparation. Beth is extremely professional, patient and knows her stuff. I worked with one other consultant from MBA exchange and it was night and day. As a former member of the admissions team at Kellogg, Beth is very knowledgeable on the application process. She spent two hours to help me prepare for the interview and I felt very confident going into it. The interview questions was exactly what we had talked about and I wasn't caught off guard by any of the questions. I would really recommend Beth if you are looking for a great consultant.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 26, 2017
sherryhearn

Joined: Jun 24, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Beth is awesome, Adcomm expert

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Beth was my primary consultant at SBC and I cannot recommend her highly enough. It's obvious that Beth truly cares about her clients (or at least me!! haha) She wanted to learn about my career goals and understand why I chose them, what influenced my decisions. She spent a ton of time helping me figure out exactly how to tell my story and what my overall strategy should be. She has a background working on an adcomm and that really showed. When she gave me advice she could speak to exactly how they read the applications and what other backgrounds look like in the applicant pool. I found it very reassuring to know that I had that expertise on my team. I also had the opportunity to show my application to other SBC team members and members of other adcomms (ex-members) Having more than one look at the application was very helpful and definitely increased my confidence.
I also had support from Bill who was my client liaison and was very helpful in answering some questions and reviewing a few things that I wanted another look at. He was patient and knowledgeable and also, seemed to really care. SBC is buttoned up and everyone that I encountered on their team was excellent. Highly recommend.

Read More

July 16, 2017
kbarlow06

Joined: Jul 16, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Fantastic service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I signed up for Stacy Blackman and the service was exceptional. Beth Tidmarsh was always available, helpful and provided meaningful and useful feedback. In the end, I was able to get offers from all of the schools I had applied for. I would highly recommend the services.
The improvements on my resume, essays and pitch were all substantial and I do not believe that I would have had the success I had without their assistance.
I have said it already but the professionalism of the service was bar none and Beth adapted the process to meet my needs and requirements while also adjusting to my unique prior work experiences and credentials.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 08, 2017
titanlawi

Joined: Feb 28, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
680 Q44 V38

Extremely Thankful for Beth and everyone at SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Like many MBA applicants, I didn't have a lot of free time to spend on my application so I needed someone that was going to be straight forward and help me to address some of my application concerns (atypical work background, poor law school performance). I did my due diligence and contacted several different consulting firms to see which I felt most comfortable with. SBC felt to me to be the most aligned with my needs.
I was paired with Beth and she was outstanding! She was direct about my opportunities within my application and very helpful in assisting me to craft my story in a way that tied my background together very well. By the end I felt very comfortable with my application, and after our conversations the interview was a breeze and I'm happy to say that I was accepted to my top choice.

Read More