GMAT Club

MBA Admissions All-in Services Reviews

Since 2001, Stacy Blackman Consulting (SBC) clients have been admitted to every top business school worldwide, often with merit scholarships. SBC has a complete panel of former Admissions Officers from every top MBA program in-house. The SBC team has MBA expertise at every top US and EU school, has graduated from the best MBA programs and understands career paths in every industry, traditional and non- traditional. 

SBC deeply values mentor-ship within its client engagements and limits the number of clients for each consultant, engaging with clients only after its Validation Team evaluates candidacy strength. Stacy Blackman Consulting delivers results, as shown through its record of the highest number of online reviews across multiple sites, such as YELP. SBC offers a limited number of free consultations weekly for inquiries who have been pre-screened by our tenured team. Contact us for a free consultation to request time with an SBC Principal.      
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
486
4 star
18
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Based on 505 reviews
+ 1 non-rated reviews
April 01, 2021
yens99

Joined: Dec 06, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amazing!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Yvette was great in the process - helping me understand the different parts of the application and understanding the nuances of each school. I was referred to her by a former colleagued who spoke highly of Yvette, and I am so glad I decided to work with her! She gave me frank feedback and was not afraid to voice her opinions.

In addition, the team based aspect of the Stacy Blackman experience, where another consultant looks at your application is really helpful. Yvette also pivoted quickly after the additional feedback which helped me see my application from a different lens. I would highly recommend working with both Yvette and Stacy Blackman.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 30, 2021
chmba2023

Joined: Mar 16, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

So Glad I Did It -- Emily Lammers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Like many folks, I was on the fence about hiring a consultant, but SBC came highly recommended by a friend. I'm so glad he did because I truly don't know how I would have fared without Emily and the SBC resources. Since I applied to mostly top 10 programs, I was concerned about my OK GPA and non-quant background. With Emily, I felt an immediate kinship. Amid the stress of the process, as well as the uncertainty of applying during the pandemic, she put me at ease and kept me abreast of insider admissions goings-on. As a writer herself, she was able to edit and fine-tune my overarching stories and essays. I have a strong verbal background, so I felt pretty confident in writing my essays, yet it soon became clear I needed someone to help speak AdComm’s language, while staying true to myself and my story. My resume also went through several rounds of edits -- I shudder to think I would have submitted my first draft in the absence of working with SBC! Emily was also super diligent. Although I know she has many other commitments in her personal life, as well as other clients, I felt like her main priority. She was quick to follow up with me, took a very proactive approach to our relationship, and kept me on track with deadlines. I ultimately applied to six programs (five of which are top 10 programs). I was invited to interview at five schools (the SBC interview prep resources were a HUGE help), accepted to two and waitlisted at two others. I just submitted my deposit at Sloan and couldn't be more thrilled.

Read More

February 15, 2021
dspiritos

Joined: Jun 10, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V44

Caryn / SBC - Highly Recommend!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Caryn and SBC for class of 2023 applications. Working with Caryn and the rest of the Stacy Blackman team / resources was an absolute pleasure and I found Caryn’s support indispensable as I navigated the challenging and intensive process. Ultimately, the decision paid off as I was accepted into Wharton, my top choice, as well as Booth and Kellogg!
I kicked off my process in late June, which was a little late given my desire to submit all my applications for the Round 1 deadline. Caryn quickly designed a schedule that would push me appropriately to stay on pace. Early in the process, she helped me think through my story and application strategy to best differentiate me, especially with my background in an over-represented group (male in finance). Caryn was incredibly responsive in iterating essay drafts and helping position myself in the best possible light. Post-essay process, SBC offered a flight test to review my overall application, which provided a tangible review of my materials and overall candidate profile from one of the other consultants, Lisa. Upon receiving interview invites, I conducted interview prep with Caryn and, for Wharton, attended a virtual, team-based discussion mock interview hosted by SBC. Overall, SBC offers all of the resources that one would need through the process.
I originally reached out to Stacy Blackman and discussed my background with Esther. Once I solidified my plans to apply to business school, I requested Caryn and Esther connected me with her directly. My brother used Caryn and Stacy Blackman with his successful MBA application process a couple years ago, so it was a natural selection for me. I also received recommendations from a few others at my company who went through the process, and many of them had used Stacy Blackman. Overall, Caryn’s experience as a former MBA Admissions Officer and her expertise in advising clients was evident. I’m very happy with my decision and would highly recommend Caryn and Stacy Blackman to anyone looking to succeed in the MBA admissions process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 02, 2021
cjsands95

Joined: Feb 02, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Stacy Blackman Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

One of the best decisions I made during the MBA program application process was to work with Stacy Blackman Consulting, specifically, Caryn Altman. From the very beginning, it was all hands on deck. My emails were always returned within 24 - 48 hours, which was so important as I had so many questions in terms of timing, school selection, essay ideas, etc. I had decided to go with the All-In-Package, which for me made the most sense. Caryn’s insightful questions, ideas and general knowledge of the schools made it so much easier for me to focus on coming up with ‘my story’. Importantly, while it took several rounds of edits, etc. Caryn was always patient with my initial, verbose essay drafts, helping me to determine the important ideas as I worked to craft final essays which best answered the questions asked and also conveyed who I am as an individual. Given that applying to business schools can be a stressful process, it was so helpful to know that I had someone of Caryn’s caliber in my corner. The results speak for themselves, I was accepted to Wharton, Kellogg, Tuck, and Ross with multiple scholarships including 2 full-rides. I also was able to work with multiple members of the Stacy Blackman Staff including Esther, always very responsive to questions, and others to do my ‘flight tests’ and practice for interviews, including a mock team-based interview to prepare for different schools. I strongly recommend working with Caryn and the Stacy Blackman Team!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 02, 2021
taworthy21

Joined: Jun 09, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great company!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I purchased the all-in package for two schools, Wharton and CBS, and I'm so glad that I did. My consultant, Margaret, was with me every step of the way during the application process. From instructing me how to research schools I was interested in, editing essays, and reviewing my resume, Margaret was an essential resource for me. My applications were 10x stronger than they would have been on my own. I got into my dream school, Wharton, and was invited to interview at CBS ( I ended up declining as I had already been accepted to Wharton). This company really knows what they are doing! I recommend it to anyone who wants an extra push in the grueling b-school process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 02, 2021
danieltong

Joined: Mar 18, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
760 Q50 V41

Best MBA consulting firm

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My dream came true and I was admitted to HBS and MIT after working with Caryn on 5 applications.

I am from Brazil and this was a very challenging season, specially for international students, due to soaring applications and deferrals.

I was very diligent on selecting my consultant, talking to other 3 top firms, but it was SBC that stood out for their expertise and service. Esther was my guide and matchmaker and took me step-by-step through the whole process. I ended up asking for Caryn directly because of her outstanding record as a U.S. top 10 consultant and background as former admissions officer.

Caryn's ability to synthesize a compelling story and tread throughout the whole application is invaluable. She can clearly show you your strenghts and help mitigate your weaknesses. While the process is stressful, Caryn helped me gain confidence and reflect on my true motivations on pursuing an MBA. With all done, my flight tester was Lisa, which is also a former admissions officer and brought a fresh pair of eyes to the material, giving good insights on how to better communicate some ideas. And finally, the mock interviews were also great and prepared me very well for the real interviews.

I had a great experience with SBC and they offer the best service. If your dream is a top ten school, SBC is the right place.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 16, 2021
mmw8612

Joined: Jan 16, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was originally referred to Caryn through a friend who had a similar engineering background and applied last year. Caryn was so reassuring yet honest in her assessment during our initial call; I knew that she would be the right person to guide me through my MBA application process. I decided to go with the all-in package and applied to 5 schools, got interviews at 4, and was accepted with significant scholarships (>50%) at Kellogg, Ross, and Fuqua.

I definitely could not have done this without Caryn’s help. She was instrumental in helping me figure out how to translate my technical background and experiences into applications in a way that would resonate with the admissions committee. Caryn was also very much an accountability partner for me, helping keep me on track in terms of timelines especially with all the craziness of the past year. She was always very prompt in her responses and went through several drafts with me, while keeping the essays and applications true to who I was as a person. In addition, the resources that SBC offers like the flight test, sample essays, and mock interviews were really important to helping at each step of the process. I could not recommend Caryn and SBC enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 13, 2021
whiteflower

Joined: Jan 15, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

DD's Relentless Support

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

All my friends who used MBA admission consulting services recommended me SBC, including one friend who had worked with both SBC and another firm.

I debated for while whether it would be worth spending so much money for MBA consulting services, but after I spoke with Esther, it was clear that it was worth it. Esther was my first contact at SBC. We had a long free introductory call and I was impressed with her honesty assessing my profile as an MBA candidate. She was quick to identify my strengths as well as my weaknesses, based on SBC’s experience. She answered all my questions, and she paired me with the best consultant I could have – DD, who was a former Admissions Officer.

DD was an amazing consultant! She always gave me guidance during my many essay iterations. She always made sure I kept true to myself and that my voice could be really heard in a 400-500 word essay. She had an excellent turnaround providing feedback, and she was very flexible with my crazy work schedule. There were many times I didn’t even know where to start, and DD was always ready for a brainstorm session and to provide me with guidance. DD supported me beyond essays: from helping me apply feedback from my flight tester, to reviewing my application short answers, to preparing me for my interview, to reviewing additional materials that the school requested during the interview phase, to always being there to reassure me that everything would work out.
I applied to 4 of my dream schools during round 1 – I got accepted in one of them and I was waitlisted in another (still awaiting decision).

I definitely recommend SBC and DD!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 29, 2020
laf92

Joined: Jul 16, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
740 Q48 V44

Dione and the entire SBC team are beyond amazing!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I reached out to Esther only a few months before Round 1 applications were due while I was actually in the process of working with another consulting firm – which I was quite unsatisfied with. I was initially skeptical about switching over to SBC as I had already invested so much money and time with the other consultant, but I am SO HAPPY that I ultimately decided to go for it.

Dione was able to quickly understand my background, my story, and my future goals in order to help me craft a compelling application. She was incredible to brainstorm with and was always available to run through ideas or to answer my (many) questions. She helped me edit all of my essays up until I felt they were truly exceptional, and she was fantastic as keeping these concise, to the point, but still genuine and authentic. I was truly impressed with her work and extremely confident with my applications.

Before deciding to go forward with SBC, I had initial talks with numerous other consulting firms. SBC stood out because of the matchmaking process, the entire team’s efforts toward your final application (through their helpful flight test), and their resources. I received interviews at 5 of the 6 schools I had applied for, and the SBC interview resources helped tremendously with my interview preparation.

In addition, I’d like to add that the team at SBC was genuinely so kind and it really felt like they were on my side in this process. I had lots of ups and downs while applying (personally and professionally!) and Dione and the team continued to be there to cheer me on and push me forward. I ultimately got accepted to my dream school and cannot recommend Dione and SBC enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 26, 2020
dj703

Joined: Dec 26, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

You want Meg on your team!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

As an early career applicant who began the MBA admissions process relatively late, I knew I needed every advantage possible to have any chance of admission to a top-tier MBA program. I decided to reach out to SBC after being referred to the firm by a family friend, and I’m so glad I did!

After my initial consultation with Esther, I was paired with Meg, a former admissions committee member at Booth, one of my target schools. Simply put, there is nobody I would have rather had by my side throughout the admissions process. Meg’s job was to make sure that we put forward the best applications possible, and I have no doubt we succeeded in that endeavor. Every step of the way, I felt that Meg was unconditionally committed to my success, and her feedback on every part of my application -- from essays to resume to interview prep -- was invaluable.

Notably, I really appreciated Meg’s communication style, which is clear and direct without ever coming across as harsh or unnecessary. In fact, I found that many times Meg’s kindness, support and confidence in me kept me motivated to put 100% into every part of my application, even during times when I may have otherwise doubted my own abilities and chances of success. Trust me, Meg is the kind of teammate that you want to have on your side, and it was such a pleasure going through the process with her as we worked together toward a common goal.

I’m proud to say that with Meg’s help, I was able to earn admission to Kellogg and could not be more thrilled! In what turned out to be a historically competitive year, I am so grateful to have had Meg’s partnership and support, and truly believe that the value she added was essential to my acceptance.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

198 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Stacy Blackman Consulting