GMAT Club

Amy (SBC) Reviews

Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 17 reviews
January 13, 2021
tcorgi

Joined: Jul 12, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V44

Highly Recommend Amy Bergrud & SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Amy was amazing to work with, and I’m super happy with my outcome. I was accepted to a top MBA program (my first choice) with over half my tuition covered by scholarship. Amy really got to know me and understood my background. She helped me whip my resume into tip top shape and clarify my post MBA goals. She also did interview prep, which made me feel relaxed and confident.

Even though I attended an Ivy League school for undergrad, my GPA and GMAT left something to be desired. Amy helped me offset this by pushing me to highlight my work experience to best position myself as an applicant and offering insightful feedback on my essay.

I appreciated Amy’s honesty, thoughtfulness, and responsiveness. She was an invaluable resource, and I felt much less stressed since I could ask her questions about the application process. I would definitely recommend working with Amy!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 24, 2020
gnats

Joined: Mar 24, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Very Happy with Amy's Process and Results

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Amy from SBC for all of my Round 1 B School Applications. Amy's proactive process and and working sessions helped me tremendously throughout the process. Amy and I started working together 2 months before the applications were due. This proactive timeline really set the foundation for my successful applications. We spent the first month of our time together defining my MBA story and perfecting my resume. Not only did these help my applications themselves but this time spent on refining my professional identity was irreplaceable during my interviews. As I was in the middle 80% of test scores and on the lower end of GPAs for top 20 programs, Amy partnered with my to make sure I stood out in my essays and interviews. We spent many virtual sessions unpacking significant events in my life and perfecting drafts of essays to ensure I was putting my voice and experience into each essay and interview.

After the deadlines, I was admitted to 2 of 3 of my first round schools, and was waitlisted at my top choice. Amy guided me through the best ways to stand out and show the AdCom that I was extremely passionate about this top choice. After 2 months on the waitlist and many updates sent to the AdCom, I was accepted in early Round 2 to my top choice.

Read More

December 27, 2018
pathtomba93

Joined: Dec 23, 2017

Posts: 3

Kudos: 12

Self-reported Score:
730 Q47 V44

Great Service, Could Not Have Been Happier

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Since my first contact with Bill regarding Stacy Blackman's services, I could tell right away that it would be a great increase to my MBA chances. I was told right away that the story that I had in my head was off and why it wouldn't fly with admissions at top schools, and from all the experience I've had since, I can definitely see why that was the case.

I signed up for the service and got matched up with Amy, and she was absolutely fantastic. The care and attention to detail she put into helping me fix up my resume, story and overall presentation of my applications was amazing and so appreciated. She was responsive, helpful, friendly and encouraging and definitely played a big part in helping me to get the offer of a lifetime!

Also, the Flight test administered by Beth was another big confidence boost, allowing me to focus on interviews knowing that my profile was strong enough for my target schools. I would recommend the service to anyone who is serious about their future!

Read More

June 17, 2018
dmun

Joined: Jun 17, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great experience with Amy and SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was very interested in several schools in California, including UCLA, where Amy was a former adcom. Her insight into the admissions process was invaluable, and I was not only accepted but offered a 50% scholarship. As a non-traditional applicant, I felt Amy’s advice was essential in helping me craft my story in a way that highlighted the positive aspects of my experiences.

I found Amy very responsive, she would review materials sent in even in the evenings/weekends and send feedback promptly, which is very helpful for someone working full time. Also critically important was her assistance on the interview process, we did numerous mock interviews and prepared for every question and scenario, but Amy also helped me understand the different schools philosophy on interviewing. Helping me understand what each school was really screening for made for a very successful interview process, with ¾ offers of admission and one waitlist from the schools where I interviewed.

Lastly, Amy was also a huge help on the resume, helping me translate technical information and industry jargon into a resume an adcom would resonate with. All in all, I was very satisfied and would highly recommend Amy and SBC as an admissions consultant!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 01, 2018
aspiringmba18

Joined: Apr 01, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

SBC Is An Invaluable Resource and Investment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I had pretty set post MBA goals and as such knew what core schools I wanted to apply to, so I knew that working with an admissions consultant would be vital in helping me get into the schools I was targeting. I reached out to a few admissions consulting companies and immediately felt at ease after talking with Esther who then paired me with Amy, who has a wonderful track record of placing applicants into the schools I was targeting.

Amy was nothing short of wonderful. She was honest and forthright but always polite and respectful of my perspective. I remember, after giving some feedback on my initial set of essays, I didn't feel comfortable with one of the edits and after explaining my rationale, not only did she support my reasoning, she also got another consultant's feedback on that specific part of the essay during my flight-test.

Amy also pushed me to be proactive and constantly doing things that would improve my application during the "waiting" period of the application cycle - such as reaching out to currents students, alumni and conducting informational calls, all of which have not only helped me during the admissions process but have helped me in preparation for b-school. You cannot go wrong with SBC and because of Amy and the rest of the team I will be attending a top 15 b-school!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 14, 2018
xinnyc

Joined: Feb 14, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V39

Amy @SBC is extremely helpful throughout the process

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank Amy @ Stacy Blackman Consulting for helping me with my MBA application process. I am in a very competitive pool being Asian and in finance, but Amy really helped me build up a branding and strategy that worked well with my career goals. She is extremely help in many aspects, from guiding me to find the appropriate leadership stories, to combing through my recommender packets. She always offers critical advice on my essays and provide in-time feedback. She is also very helpful with my mock interview, and offered very useful and practical advice.

I would highly recommend SBC to any applicants and Amy is a great MBA consultant!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 13, 2017
mg2

Joined: Aug 01, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q50 V35

Right choice!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I want to thank Amy/SBC for helping me get into one of the top B Schools. I was bit hesitant about the price tag at first but going for full comprehensive package was indeed the right choice. I applied to 3 schools and got interview calls from ALL of them.

Amy has great listening skills and exceptional ability to bring out the best in people. I am amazed by the commitment and thoughtful approach which Amy brought forward - she ensured to strengthen the underlying story by asking insightful questions. She maintained confidence in my profile & partnered wholeheartedly to give the best shot despite time constraints. Moreover, her advice was not limited to essays but to MBA journey & beyond..

Eventually the efforts paid off :) THANK YOU Amy/SBC!!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 07, 2017
powei422

Joined: Aug 25, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q48 V37

SBC Full Time MBA Application Consultation with Amy Bergrud

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

It was an easy decision for me to go with SBC after my brother had used their service and found it to be incredibly helpful and professional. Specifically, he referred Amy to me, and at the start he had nothing but high praises for her. Looking back now, I can honestly say that Amy lived up to everything that I had hoped for on this long yet exciting application journey.

SBC is an organized company, and I'm sure many of the application steps are standard amongst other consulting companies. What truly separates SBC though are the consultants within SBC. For me, Amy was the ultimate professional. From the start, she took time to understand me, my background, my goals, and my why. You really get a sense throughout the process that she genuinely cares about you. From there, she planned efficiently and strategically to highlight your strengths, compensate your weaknesses, and most importantly help you craft your perfect story.

I applied for 3 schools, and got into 2 and waitlisted for 1. The one I got into was the school I wanted to go to!

I wouldn't have asked for any other consultant to help me on this application journey.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 31, 2016
deeptideepti

Joined: Oct 17, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amy helped me with my essays and interviews to get into one of my dream schools. Given my less than stellar undergraduate GPA,and an average GMAT score, Amy helped me position myself by highlighting my work and life experiences in the essays to stand out. The one trait that makes Amy a really good consultant is that she is takes the time to really understand your goals and personality which she then uses to bring out and highlight as selling points in your essays.

I was also applying in round three and was on a time crunch. Her services really helped me not worry about compromising on the quality of my application.

Thx Amy for helping me secure admission to one of the top 10 Part-Time programs.

Read More

June 07, 2016
wwwufoliving

Joined: Mar 31, 2015

Posts: 4

Kudos: 1

Wonderful experience with SBC!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I decided to work with SBC for two reasons at the very beginning: responsiveness and Amy has unique insights and knowledge about the schools I was going to apply to. Soon, Amy had me realize my stories had so much potential to better express who I am and what I value in my leadership style. Besides, Amy meticulously reviewed all my application materials and corrected numerous typos I had made. During my interview preparations session, Amy gave some constructive suggestions in terms of how to introduce myself without bending AO's ear and how to effectively answer behavioral questions. In the end, my decision of working with SBC paid off. I received $70k in the form of fellowship from a M7 school. I am grateful to Amy and would recommend anyone who is looking for advises about MBA application.

Read More


6 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Amy (SBC)