GMAT Club

Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews

Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special $109 savings on Magoosh courses + $250 bonus deal for GMAT Club members
Magoosh Deal Page
4.6 /5 Average Rating
Based on 297 reviews
+ 1 non-voted reviews

Submit a review

Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews

Magoosh Premium
 $438  $249
Reviews
286
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Magoosh Math
$219
Reviews
8
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Magoosh Verbal
 $219  $129
Reviews
3
Average Rating
4.3
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Magoosh GMAT Instructors

Mike McGarry
Reviews
3
Average Rating
4.7

Reviews:

298 Reviews
4.6 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
March 25, 2019
kmakim

Joined: Mar 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
200

Magoosh Premium product review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I started using Magoosh last month, and the videos have been extremely helpful. It feels as if you're in a classroom with a real teacher. I would definitely recommend for anyone aiming for a 700 or above. I usually watch 3 or 4 videos a day and then on the weekends I take some of their practice exams or work on their problems. The site is very comprehensive and they did a great job on providing feedback. The initial diagnostics test can tell you where you're at and what you need to work on the most which I thought was especially helpful for me.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 23, 2019
leemoon

Joined: Jan 08, 2018

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q51 V38

Great video lectures and ways to build math foundation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I only used Magoosh Quant section only even though I registered for Magoosh Premium. One thing I liked about Magoosh is that they have dedicated app, which you can use to watch your lectures on your mobile during your commute or free time at work. I used their lecture to build some core foundation. I tried most of their questions, but I found them quite different from OG. I don't think they have accurate representation of your score based on their question banks. Thing about video lecture is that it takes ages to go through all of them. I would suggest you to skip some lectures if you are already strong in the particular area and to focus on your weakness.

Read More

September 30, 2018
akadiyan

Joined: May 31, 2017

Posts: 333

Kudos: 76

Self-reported Score:
200

One of the Best Course Around

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I started my GMAT Prep with Magoosh Premium Course. I was surprised by the clarity of concepts presented in the video's. I used Magoosh for both Quants and Verbal. I would say Magoosh's Quants videos can be considered among one of the best in the market, but verbal needs some work. One of the best advantage is the number of questions and the detailed video explanations for the questions. They have around 500 Questions in their database and they are really good.

The advantages i found with Magoosh are listed below:
Very good Quant
Excellent Questions
Customizable Study Plans
Amazing Customer Support [One of the best i have seen in market]
Reasonable Pricing

Overall i would recommend Magoosh to any one who are at the start of their preparation.

Read More

September 19, 2018
fvoci

Joined: Dec 26, 2016

Posts: 34

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
610 Q41 V33
710 Q47 V40
710 Q45 V41

Great Product to get you to 700!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Overall very happy with the product.
Advantages:
- Price point is great.
- I would definitely advise to use it for foundation of quant.
- Videos are well structured in both verbal and quant.

Disadvantages:
- Would be difficult to get a 700+ just using just the material as there is no "advanced" section.
- The verbal questions could also be a little bit harder as I found them to be generally easier than OG questions, especially in CR and SC.

Conclusion:

I would say that Magoosh is a great starting point and that it should be used in conjunction with other sources. The price is definitely unbeatable and the user experience is great. They also have great customer service. I asked them for an extension and they gave me 1 month for free!

Read More

August 23, 2018
cbajajj10

Joined: Jun 28, 2015

Posts: 13

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
640 Q50 V27

Excellent course material and test questions

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

a) Magoosh has a very well defined structure for Verbal lessons and typically covers everything from basic that a non- native speaker should know to become more sound in solving complex Sentence correction and Critical reasoning questions. Also video explanations after each question are self explanatory and one doesn't need to look for any personal instructor to help with doubts. If in case, there is any doubt, instructors are very polite and clears the doubt with a very holistic approach over email.

b) Quant lessons contain every topic that are covered in GMAT syllabus and questions generally provide exam-like feel.

c) One area of improvement is that user interface can be made little smoother to switch between different sections, but that in no way hinders the study experience in long run.

Read More

August 17, 2018
krish76

Joined: Jan 16, 2018

Posts: 62

Kudos: 7

Self-reported Score:
600 Q40 V33

Good starter kit

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh is definitely a good starter kit for someone new to GMAT and not willing to spend the big bucks. They have a series of video lessons which are excellent concept builder. The slides are interesting and provides the required information. I would recommend it mostly for the theory part of the GMAT preparation. One specific area where they excel is the expert response. I haven't used any other prep services but any question related to any area of GMAT are promptly responded by them within 24 hours! I have even asked SC related questions from external materials and they were gladly answered

Read More

August 11, 2018
nikitasingh

Joined: Feb 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V44

Great for Quant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I tried a bunch of free products from various sites before finally choosing Magoosh. I got it at a discount for $120. I was aware that their Verbal modules were probably not the best, but my main objective was to revise certain high school math topics I was rusty on.
Mike is a great teacher. He makes it a point to reiterate the important stuff several times and tells you which videos you can skip based on your prior knowledge. The Magoosh Help portal connects you to him and I was able to clear several doubts this way.
I didn't watch a lot of Verbal videos on the platform, so I'm probably not the best person to review them.
One thing that I didn't like about Magoosh was its mocks. The questions were picked directly from their practice question bank and the scoring didn't make sense to me.
Overall, Magoosh worked well for my needs because I just needed a recap. Their quant videos were the best part.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 03, 2018
beebuzz0504

Joined: Aug 14, 2017

Posts: 15

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
660 Q49 V34

Magoosh Verbal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Magoosh Verbal

Location Online

The best part of Magoosh is that it available for access for a complete year.So you don't have to worry about renewal.
The question bank is good and explanations are also good. But for non native speaker it does less to add to the skill set.
Support is for sure the best of all.You can expect reply within a day .

But the team needs to increase quality questions in their banks. After they are exhausted you get the same question for practice test also which definitely gives a false picture of your actual score.

So overall it is good only if you are native speaker else it does less to help.

Read More

July 23, 2018
deloitter

Joined: Jan 07, 2017

Posts: 13

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q45 V41

A viable product to begin with

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I started my prep as a self-study. I choose Magoosh because of it's accessibility in price. I didn't want to shell out a massive amount of money for my course, and in that sense, Magoosh definitely met my needs, because I find it's one of the best value preps out there. I used Magoosh in the following capacities:

1) I was a strong Verbal student, so I went through maybe 25% of the verbal questions, and did not review all of Verbal videos, though they offer many. I did review the Sentence Correction Verbal videos, however, because that was an area of weakness for me. I found that reviewing those videos, paired with an intense study of the Verbal questions (Very Hard Questions) led to the strong score I received in Verbal.

2) I used it for Math review. I watched every single Magoosh math video, and did the questions related to it (From Easy --> Very Hard). At the time of my exam, I was getting every "Hard" question right.

Overall, I scored a 700, with a very high V score, and a low Q score. That leads me to believe that even though I devoted 80% of my time to Math, I wasn't able to reap the rewards I wanted. It's for this reason that, while I think Magoosh prepped me well, I encourage low quant people to look at courses aimed at improving Quant scores.

Read More

July 15, 2018
venky12

Joined: Jun 11, 2011

Posts: 37

Kudos: 11

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V41

Decently Helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh videos are structured to give you a very good preliminary outline of the otherwise scattered GMAT curriculum. Mike is comprehensive in his approach towards explaining the quantitative and verbal concepts. The content for quantitative learners is as good as you’ll get on the street, verbal is par (slightly lower) than other content providers.

I particularly like their approach of addressing GMAT as a 'logic' test - hence very good for beginners. However, for practicing on an advanced level, one might need to look at other resources too. Overall, a good buy for someone who is starting out with their preparation.

Read More


94 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Magoosh