GMAT Club

Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews

Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special $109 savings on Magoosh courses + $250 bonus deal for GMAT Club members
Magoosh Deal Page
4.6 /5 Average Rating
Based on 303 reviews
+ 1 non-voted reviews

Submit a review

Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews

Magoosh Premium
 $438  $249
Reviews
291
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Magoosh Math
 $219  $219
Reviews
8
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Magoosh Verbal
 $219  $219
Reviews
4
Average Rating
3.8
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Magoosh GMAT Instructors

Mike McGarry
Reviews
3
Average Rating
4.7

Reviews:

304 Reviews
4.6 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
August 23, 2018
cbajajj10

Joined: Jun 28, 2015

Posts: 13

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
640 Q50 V27

Excellent course material and test questions

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

a) Magoosh has a very well defined structure for Verbal lessons and typically covers everything from basic that a non- native speaker should know to become more sound in solving complex Sentence correction and Critical reasoning questions. Also video explanations after each question are self explanatory and one doesn't need to look for any personal instructor to help with doubts. If in case, there is any doubt, instructors are very polite and clears the doubt with a very holistic approach over email.

b) Quant lessons contain every topic that are covered in GMAT syllabus and questions generally provide exam-like feel.

c) One area of improvement is that user interface can be made little smoother to switch between different sections, but that in no way hinders the study experience in long run.

Read More

August 17, 2018
krish76

Joined: Jan 16, 2018

Posts: 58

Kudos: 13

Self-reported Score:
600 Q40 V33

Good starter kit

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh is definitely a good starter kit for someone new to GMAT and not willing to spend the big bucks. They have a series of video lessons which are excellent concept builder. The slides are interesting and provides the required information. I would recommend it mostly for the theory part of the GMAT preparation. One specific area where they excel is the expert response. I haven't used any other prep services but any question related to any area of GMAT are promptly responded by them within 24 hours! I have even asked SC related questions from external materials and they were gladly answered

Read More

August 11, 2018
nikitasingh

Joined: Feb 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V44

Great for Quant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I tried a bunch of free products from various sites before finally choosing Magoosh. I got it at a discount for $120. I was aware that their Verbal modules were probably not the best, but my main objective was to revise certain high school math topics I was rusty on.
Mike is a great teacher. He makes it a point to reiterate the important stuff several times and tells you which videos you can skip based on your prior knowledge. The Magoosh Help portal connects you to him and I was able to clear several doubts this way.
I didn't watch a lot of Verbal videos on the platform, so I'm probably not the best person to review them.
One thing that I didn't like about Magoosh was its mocks. The questions were picked directly from their practice question bank and the scoring didn't make sense to me.
Overall, Magoosh worked well for my needs because I just needed a recap. Their quant videos were the best part.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 03, 2018
beebuzz0504

Joined: Aug 14, 2017

Posts: 15

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
660 Q49 V34

Magoosh Verbal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Magoosh Verbal

Location Online

The best part of Magoosh is that it available for access for a complete year.So you don't have to worry about renewal.
The question bank is good and explanations are also good. But for non native speaker it does less to add to the skill set.
Support is for sure the best of all.You can expect reply within a day .

But the team needs to increase quality questions in their banks. After they are exhausted you get the same question for practice test also which definitely gives a false picture of your actual score.

So overall it is good only if you are native speaker else it does less to help.

Read More

July 23, 2018
deloitter

Joined: Jan 07, 2017

Posts: 13

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q45 V41

A viable product to begin with

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I started my prep as a self-study. I choose Magoosh because of it's accessibility in price. I didn't want to shell out a massive amount of money for my course, and in that sense, Magoosh definitely met my needs, because I find it's one of the best value preps out there. I used Magoosh in the following capacities:

1) I was a strong Verbal student, so I went through maybe 25% of the verbal questions, and did not review all of Verbal videos, though they offer many. I did review the Sentence Correction Verbal videos, however, because that was an area of weakness for me. I found that reviewing those videos, paired with an intense study of the Verbal questions (Very Hard Questions) led to the strong score I received in Verbal.

2) I used it for Math review. I watched every single Magoosh math video, and did the questions related to it (From Easy --> Very Hard). At the time of my exam, I was getting every "Hard" question right.

Overall, I scored a 700, with a very high V score, and a low Q score. That leads me to believe that even though I devoted 80% of my time to Math, I wasn't able to reap the rewards I wanted. It's for this reason that, while I think Magoosh prepped me well, I encourage low quant people to look at courses aimed at improving Quant scores.

Read More

July 15, 2018
venky12

Joined: Jun 11, 2011

Posts: 37

Kudos: 11

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V41

Decently Helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh videos are structured to give you a very good preliminary outline of the otherwise scattered GMAT curriculum. Mike is comprehensive in his approach towards explaining the quantitative and verbal concepts. The content for quantitative learners is as good as you’ll get on the street, verbal is par (slightly lower) than other content providers.

I particularly like their approach of addressing GMAT as a 'logic' test - hence very good for beginners. However, for practicing on an advanced level, one might need to look at other resources too. Overall, a good buy for someone who is starting out with their preparation.

Read More

June 28, 2018
Prashanth_Vara

Joined: Jun 05, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
640 Q49 V28

Helped me get my basics right

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

The quant section helped me brush up my basic knowledge with video explanations. It is very convenient and user-friendly because it is easy to track what you have learned. It tells how much time you have spent on each section, there are some applications, which are in GMAT-like style to test whether you totally understand the lessons and apply to GMAT or not. The program is interactive and focuses on your weaknesses. The support team at Magoosh is extremely cordial and understanding. All issues are quickly resolved within 24 hours. I believe Magoosh’s core value puts students’ priority at its focus, something that is strongly reflected in the e-GMAT support team. Magoosh blogs and videos helped me to rebuild the confidence. I would strongly recommend this service to anyone because I think the value provided for the cost is great.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 30, 2018
RockPaperScissors

Joined: Apr 03, 2016

Posts: 88

Kudos: 29

Self-reported Score:
580 Q43 V27
650 Q32 V48

Magoosh: Strong resource at affordable price

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

One of my colleagues referred me to Magoosh for GRE prep. I really liked the format of the website, questions, online support and video explanations. So when magoosh offered 78USD sale for GMAT I jumped and took it. My score before taking magoosh was at 580. My confidence was very low at that time. Magoosh blogs and videos helped me to rebuild the confidence.
The course material for Magoosh premium subscription consists of a video lectures for all topics then followed by more than 1000-1500 questions for quant and verbal arranged in the order of difficulty. Each question is supported with the text and video explanation. I personally liked the option to choose the number, type and difficulty of questions. This helped me to time my preparation. Magoosh is a best and affordable resource that someone who is starting their GMAT preparation should consider using it. Most of my basic concepts for SC & math are built solely by magoosh video lectures. The online support for questions was awesome, the responses were well rounded and quick. Even when I put dumbest of the questions, I get a relevant response.
So Magoosh is a great resource. Go for it.

Read More

March 04, 2018
kevinroque10

Joined: Oct 02, 2016

Posts: 11

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
660 Q42 V40

Magoosh - Huge help

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I really enjoyed Magoosh. One of the things about the program itself that makes it so valuable is that each problem you do has a text explanation but also a video explanation. I did find their verbal section to be better than the quant section. You get access to a huge number of problems. If you are willing to take the time and go through each of their video lessons you will see yourself improving in areas you needed help with. As far as the dashboard I am no sure how accurate the score it shows there reflects considering my projected score for quant was way lower. I do believe using magoosh and their "study guide" gave me the increase in my score I was looking for.

Read More

February 10, 2018
henlight

Joined: Nov 06, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
610 Q44 V30
680 Q43 V40
710 Q44 V42

Great service, videos are excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh provided some of the best video explanations out there. I was able to go from a 610 to a 710 in 6 months (I am not a quant guy either) from this program. I supplemented it with EmpowerGMAT, which has a lot more tactics, but Magoosh was still my base for studying, reviewing, taking notes, etc.

In addition, their lessons are fantastic for those who want to start from square one and grow. If you have the time and capacity to stick to their provided schedule and really focus on learning from the ground up, Magoosh is going to treat you well.

I strongly recommend this service to anyone and encourage you to stick to a plan (1, 3, or 6 month).

Read More


94 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Magoosh