GMAT Club

Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews

Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special $109 savings on Magoosh courses + $250 bonus deal for GMAT Club members
Magoosh Deal Page
4.6 /5 Average Rating
Based on 297 reviews
+ 1 non-voted reviews

Submit a review

Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews

Magoosh Premium
 $438  $249
Reviews
286
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Magoosh Math
$219
Reviews
8
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Magoosh Verbal
 $219  $129
Reviews
3
Average Rating
4.3
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Magoosh GMAT Instructors

Mike McGarry
Reviews
3
Average Rating
4.7

Reviews:

298 Reviews
4.6 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
June 28, 2018
Prashanth_Vara

Joined: Jun 05, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
640 Q49 V28

Helped me get my basics right

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

The quant section helped me brush up my basic knowledge with video explanations. It is very convenient and user-friendly because it is easy to track what you have learned. It tells how much time you have spent on each section, there are some applications, which are in GMAT-like style to test whether you totally understand the lessons and apply to GMAT or not. The program is interactive and focuses on your weaknesses. The support team at Magoosh is extremely cordial and understanding. All issues are quickly resolved within 24 hours. I believe Magoosh’s core value puts students’ priority at its focus, something that is strongly reflected in the e-GMAT support team. Magoosh blogs and videos helped me to rebuild the confidence. I would strongly recommend this service to anyone because I think the value provided for the cost is great.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 30, 2018
RockPaperScissors

Joined: Apr 03, 2016

Posts: 89

Kudos: 26

Self-reported Score:
580 Q43 V27
650 Q32 V48

Magoosh: Strong resource at affordable price

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

One of my colleagues referred me to Magoosh for GRE prep. I really liked the format of the website, questions, online support and video explanations. So when magoosh offered 78USD sale for GMAT I jumped and took it. My score before taking magoosh was at 580. My confidence was very low at that time. Magoosh blogs and videos helped me to rebuild the confidence.
The course material for Magoosh premium subscription consists of a video lectures for all topics then followed by more than 1000-1500 questions for quant and verbal arranged in the order of difficulty. Each question is supported with the text and video explanation. I personally liked the option to choose the number, type and difficulty of questions. This helped me to time my preparation. Magoosh is a best and affordable resource that someone who is starting their GMAT preparation should consider using it. Most of my basic concepts for SC & math are built solely by magoosh video lectures. The online support for questions was awesome, the responses were well rounded and quick. Even when I put dumbest of the questions, I get a relevant response.
So Magoosh is a great resource. Go for it.

Read More

March 04, 2018
kevinroque10

Joined: Oct 02, 2016

Posts: 11

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
660 Q42 V40

Magoosh - Huge help

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I really enjoyed Magoosh. One of the things about the program itself that makes it so valuable is that each problem you do has a text explanation but also a video explanation. I did find their verbal section to be better than the quant section. You get access to a huge number of problems. If you are willing to take the time and go through each of their video lessons you will see yourself improving in areas you needed help with. As far as the dashboard I am no sure how accurate the score it shows there reflects considering my projected score for quant was way lower. I do believe using magoosh and their "study guide" gave me the increase in my score I was looking for.

Read More

February 10, 2018
henlight

Joined: Nov 06, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
610 Q44 V30
680 Q43 V40
710 Q44 V42

Great service, videos are excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh provided some of the best video explanations out there. I was able to go from a 610 to a 710 in 6 months (I am not a quant guy either) from this program. I supplemented it with EmpowerGMAT, which has a lot more tactics, but Magoosh was still my base for studying, reviewing, taking notes, etc.

In addition, their lessons are fantastic for those who want to start from square one and grow. If you have the time and capacity to stick to their provided schedule and really focus on learning from the ground up, Magoosh is going to treat you well.

I strongly recommend this service to anyone and encourage you to stick to a plan (1, 3, or 6 month).

Read More

January 28, 2018
ShivG92

Joined: Jun 11, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Great Course!!! Highly recommended

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

The Magoosh GMAT Premium is the best course to build your basics.
Especially the Quant section helps you build the basics with the Video explanations instead of the dry written explanations. It is the most efficient Quant Prep courses available on Earth. I have tried almost 5 courses. Highly recommended to reach Q49 quickly. >Q49 needs proper timing and strategy that comes from giving a lot of Official Mocks and analysing them extensively.
Magoosh support team replies to your queries over the email that a lot of other courses don't.

Best way is to start building concepts with Magoosh Prep course and then move to only official material.

Read More

January 24, 2018
samarthsaraogi

Joined: Apr 02, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Great for Quants, Skip Verbal - Non Natives

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I bought Magoosh Premium subscription during the start of my preparation for GMAT as it was one of the cheapest options available in the GMAT test prep space. Magoosh can be a very good starting point as it really helps in building the basic during the initial stages of the prep. Now let me dive into the individual questions and provide a point of view on it.

Verbal section of Magoosh is not upto the mark specifically for the non-natives, cant really judge the course from the point of view of Natives. I would suggest non-natives to skip their verbal section.

Quants section is a great place to brush up your basic and practise low difficult questions. They have explained basic question of the foundation level in quite detail. It is one of the test perp company which comes very close to the GMAT level difficulty in Quants. But the platform lacks adequate amount of difficult questions. For quants one should supplement magoosh with gmatclub test and gmat perp question.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 10, 2017
septwibowo

Joined: Dec 27, 2016

Posts: 232

Kudos: 99

Self-reported Score:
560 Q48 V20
640 Q47 V31

Honest Review for Magoosh

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I used Magoosh Premium for achieving my GMAT score. I used it for building up my basic concept and as a main practice tool for both Quant and Verbal. Total I exercised not less than 587 practice questions.

Pros :
- All of the questions are explained by VIDEO. This is a HUGE plus point! I love to see the explanation from Brent and MikeMcGarry.
- MikeMcGarry explanation, especially on the Quant section really fascinating me. He explained the basic concept detailly and sometimes in not so common way. Big thanks to MikeMcGarry.
- Magoosh's customer service, undoubtedly, is the best, inseparable part of the course. Every single question was answered in a relatively short period and with crystal clear explanation. Big applause for this service!
- Magoosh whole environment : website and mobile apps are simple, efficient and easy to follow. For OCD person like me, this is a very good point.

Cons :
- To be honest, I relied heavily on this course, probably this was my mistake - especially when tackling SC questions. Overwhelmed with so many explanations in GMATClub Forum for SC (and sometimes contrast one another), I intensified my SC practice solely on Magoosh - and jumped on OG SC Questions 2 weeks before my first GMAT Test. I immediately felt that OG SC Questions two or three times harder! Magoosh SC's questions have their own pattern, sometimes too mechanical - I had to change totally my approach to SC. After this nightmare, I stopped working on Magoosh practice questions.

Recommended for :
- Anyone who loves to watch video explanation.
- Anyone who wants to brush up his basic skills - especially Quant.

Thank you Magoosh anyway!

Read More

November 29, 2017
golimeena218@gmail.com

Joined: May 20, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
630 Q49 V27

Very useful for SC,CR,RC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh course is very helpful for score improvement.I took verbal online course on the e.gmat. It is very helpful in learning about every topic from basics.It helped me very well to improve my SC,CR sections especially SC.
I am very happy with your practice questions They are very helpful in improving my verbal accuracy especially sentence correction.
Verbal: Live Prep sessions on approaches for SC, CR and RC are really good. My accuracy in all the three improved from 40-50% to 80-90%. The prethinking strategy and understanding for SC helped to reduce my time taken in solving them

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 13, 2017
abhinavguptamail

Joined: Nov 13, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q51 V33

Decent material to begin GMAT preparation with

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I found Magoosh material decent enough to kickstart my preparation with. The numerous videos and questions provide ample concepts and practice.
It allows resetting question bank which is a good option to retake tests. I found the Idioms handbook pretty useful. The flashcards is an interesting way to learn while relaxing your mind from the usual ways of learning.
But the difficulty level is on the lower side. So, I further used Manhattan books in addition to OG content to further my preparation.
I will recommend this course to those who want to start their preparation from the very basics.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 09, 2017
MDLuffy

Joined: Mar 02, 2015

Posts: 17

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

740 Score with GMAT prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I purchased the Magoosh Premium product after a short experience with it through a GMATClub trial.

What first attracted me to Magoosh was the guide - a clear 3 month plan that I could follow right up till the day I wrote. It was a plan that required a lot of work but one that was also flexible which was great for me a my job has irregular and often long hours.

The video lessons are really helpful and explain every aspects of a section in detail. At times it goes too much into the basics so its advisable to use your discretion about which videos you watch.

The best part of Magoosh is the question bank. Its got a good variety of questions of all levels on both the quant and verbal side. (although I would say the very hard questions were much harder than anything I experienced in the test). I appreciated the detailed answer analysis as well for each question, which went beyond a simple text explanation and actually had a video for every question and made it easier to understand the really difficult questions.

I used Magoosh in conjunction with another product but after a few weeks, I focused on Magoosh and am really happy that I did so.

Read More


94 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Magoosh