GMAT Club

Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews

Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special $109 savings on Magoosh courses + $250 bonus deal for GMAT Club members
Magoosh Deal Page
4.6 /5 Average Rating
Based on 323 reviews
+ 1 non-rated reviews

Submit a review

Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews

Magoosh Premium
 $438  $249
Reviews
308
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Magoosh Math
 $219  $219
Reviews
11
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Magoosh Verbal
 $219  $219
Reviews
4
Average Rating
3.8
Buy Now

Reviews:

324 Reviews
4.6 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
May 07, 2020
ImranBinkhaled

Joined: Sep 26, 2018

Posts: 22

Kudos: 16

Self-reported Score:
650 Q47 V33

Unparalleled support & Uniform Quality (+Discord)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Math

Location Online

I didn't score great at GMAT but that shouldn't deter you. I didn't get enough time to prepare. Also, considering that I scored around 300 or 400 in the diagnostic test, the improvement is quite good.

Anyway, I have subscribed to a couple of prep companies, but Magoosh is my favorite. Why?

Firstly, the quality of the content is superb. However, I must admit that videos made by Mike McGarry are far superior to any others. Particularly, I love his voice and sense of humor which breaks the monotony of studying long hours.

Secondly, their support is outstanding. Whatever you need, they are there to help you. Even they consider special requests individually, which is amazing.

Thirdly, they have recently started hosting a channel at Discord which is also great to find other test takers who are studying with Magoosh.

Read More

June 20, 2020
ugopug

Hey Imran, I am about to get a self study plan and I am considering Magoosh.
How much time did you have to prepare, and were you using the OG books aswell ?

June 20, 2020
ImranBinkhaled

OG is must. After you are done preparing, keep at least 2 weeks to prepare with GMAC questions only.

Time required is proportional to your current knowledge level. Take a diagnostic test. Plan accordingly. Magoosh gives a great bang for buck. You will get all the required instructions in their videos.

August 29, 2020
Megan456

hi, how much time did it take you to prepare for GMAT? I also scored around 400-500 on the practice exam, and I plan to prepare my GMAT with Magoosh. I am trying to get 600-650 in two months. Do you have any strategies for me ? thank you!

August 29, 2020
ImranBinkhaled

Megan, a score doesn’t tell you everything. You have to diagnose ur test to find out your weak areas. Usually 2 months is not a long time for GMAT preparation. However, if you spend full time on studies, a significant improvement is possible. However, I’d suggest you go through all the magoosh lesson videos to solidify your basics. I did it, so can u.

April 10, 2020
jkolachi

Joined: Oct 12, 2015

Posts: 235

Kudos: 304

Self-reported Score:
700 Q47 V39

Great Material

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Signed up for Magoosh at $99 for the 6 months. It was too good to pass up. The tutorials and videos were very helpful and organized. Their weekly videos and youtube channel also has a ton of helpful and great material. Their mock questions were very well made and explained.

Some of the cons were the person in the math videos had a monotonous voice. However this didn't have too much of an impact on learning. The videos were short and not very indepth. I am the type of person who likes to dig deep. Hence the videos could've been longer.

Overall though its great for the price and the website has a ton of valuable material to improve GMAT score. I used it early on it my studies so it helped me alot.

Read More

April 03, 2020
netrike

Joined: Nov 10, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
770 Q49 V47

Video Lessons Were Key

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Followed the 6-month GMAT study plan from Magoosh. The key feature that was the biggest help was the numerous video lessons and the video explanations for each problem. My quant needed a lot of work and the video lessons were a massive help, and emphasized logical understanding of how to solve problems, which allowed me to tackle most any problem. My verbal started strong, but a few tips and tricks helped me get a great score. The fact that you can watch videos at 2x speed is a great timesaver as well. I will note that the course was not perfect- Magoosh does have flash cards on a variety of mobile apps, but they were oftentimes glitchy. Additionally, the course required a review of the Manhattan Prep material, which I did not find incrementally useful after reviewing the Magoosh material. However, the course brought be to a fantastic score so overall it was very well designed.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 24, 2019
pmehraniya27

Joined: Sep 02, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
660 Q49 V31

Quant 48-51

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course Magoosh Math

Location Online

Purchased the Magoosh quant material to improve from Q46 to Q50. The questions cover all the major topics that are tested on the gmat. You get around 700 questions in the question bank along with some detailed topic wise videos which are definitely a must have to build on the concepts. You can easily improve a couple of points using this course. I was able to improve my quant score from Q46 TO Q49. Although Q50 Q51 remain elusive to me, I felt the concepts and questions will definitely give you boost in the quant section. All the best in quant.

Read More

December 18, 2019
rainmaker1827

Joined: Jan 16, 2015

Posts: 3

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
710 Q49 V39

Value for Money

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I like the tons of resources that are available through Magoosh GMAT Premium, especially things beyond just the lessons. I like their study plans and video explanations. The detailed explanation for video lessons under each and every topic is super helpful. This was a fantastic resource! I will caveat that statement by saying that I already had a foundation in test-taking, content, and strategies from my Manhattan class and courses, along with previous CATs, but the videos (especially Quant) that Magoosh provides for each topic, not to mention the videos for EACH question, are beyond helpful. I think it's hard to go wrong with this.

Read More

December 07, 2019
sn198

Joined: Aug 18, 2018

Posts: 50

Kudos: 18

Verified score:
760 Q50 V42

Decent for GMAT prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I took the Magoosh Premium course. The content is good, but I wished that after each module, there were more practice questions. 3-4 questions dont seem to cut the mark. The concepts were easy to understand and broken down into different modules.

The Magoosh questions bank is phenomenal in terms of quality and difficulty level. I do wish they had more "mock tests" like Manhattan Prep.

I also liked the Analytical Writing section. I used a lot of tips to score a 6 in the essay.

Also as a note, I did not find the course comprehensive and used other resources.

Read More

December 02, 2019
TheTypicalAsian

Joined: Sep 22, 2017

Posts: 23

Kudos: 4

Verified score:
750 Q50 V42

Perfect for Self-Study

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 200 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh provides an excellent foundation for the necessary Math and Verbal skills to do well in the GMAT. Studying 4 years out of college was quite difficult, especially remembering all those college Math and English lessons from long ago. Magoosh has comprehensive videos on each Math, Verbal, AWA, and IT topic. Magoosh also has a massive database of easy-medium-hard questions.

My first GMAT diagnostic test was 510. Using Magoosh and the GMAT Club I was able to bring it up to 750 (50Q, 42V)

My recommendation, sign up for the premium package and do the 6 months study plan. The plan provides structure to your studying so you become strong in all GMAT topics. Be patient, study hard, and I’m sure you’ll get 700+.

Read More

November 21, 2019
hero_with_1000_faces

Joined: Jan 02, 2016

Posts: 386

Kudos: 81

Self-reported Score:
590 Q37 V33

Okkayish

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Magoosh Verbal

Location Online

Not so great for people who at 500 level, I found the material to cover basic stuff, if you are looking for high scores from 49 to 51 in Quant, than you will have to add go ahead and add few more material to your kitty, maths is still okay the question were good, difficult questions were lengthy but not subtle like gmat has, however verbal was below average the solutions for sentence correction were not so great, i recollect choices in Sentence Correction were rejected on the basis of whether they were awkward or not, and the quality of Sentence correction questins wwerent that great either. I wasnt very happy.

Read More

October 21, 2019
Lollipop24

Joined: Oct 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
630 Q43 V50

GMAT prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

When I first started I was really bad at GMAT, also I was out of school for a while so it was kind of hard for me to study. But magoosh really helped me improve my skill set on gmat. They have so many tests and it does require self discipline. More than that their plans and their app really helped me. The app is gold I can sit on the subway and use it and do anything and use the app to learn it. I haven’t taken gmat yet but my scores have improved. They also have email support you can use. Highly recommend the app. They also give you a years access. Also if you get it you can refer your friends for a discount!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 02, 2019
dvnielng

Joined: Jul 15, 2019

Posts: 36

Kudos: 11

Self-reported Score:
730 Q49 V40

Good basics but needs refreshing

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Interface is easy to use and navigate
Tutor responses are efficient and can be accessed through email or live chat (Only TTP provides such a feature). However on live chat the personnel responding are always different and as such the quality of responses notably does differ
Course content I found to be not entirely comprehensive although I used the material as a refresher for a resit
Quant content less thorough then other generalist providers such as GMATPrepnow and significantly less than targeted providers such as TTP
Financial cost of the course is reasonably priced with good accessibility as purchase provides 6 month access. Furthermore course price is frequently discounted during seasonal sales. They also offer money back score guarantee if a point increase is not met
Recommendation would be that the course is good for general knowledge of the syllabus for both quant and verbal but I agree with many that the content is lacking depth

Read More


94 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Magoosh