GMAT Club

Magoosh Premium Reviews

Our comprehensive online prep program features over 150 video lessons and 700 online practice questions and video explanations to help you conquer the GMAT. Includes over 150 math and verbal video lessons, 700 math and verbal practice questions, video explanations after every question, access for 1 year and email support within 24 hours.
Save up to $109 on Magoosh courses + $250 bonus for GMAT Club members
4.6 /5 Average Rating
5 star
208
4 star
94
3 star
13
2 star
2
1 star
1
Based on 318 reviews
+ 1 non-rated reviews
July 26, 2022
Aibellanson

Joined: Nov 26, 2020

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
610 Q42 V32 (Online)

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I had enrolled in 2 really expensive and well-reputed institutions to prepare for the GMAT. My reasoning was that the higher the price, the better and more detailed the course will be.

However, the reality is far from the truth, and it took me 1 year to realize this. Not only were the courses a waste of time, but also they make you feel that guilt of being the loser everyone calls you.

I almost gave up on the GMAT and started to apply to programs that don't require the same. However, I thought of giving it one last shot and I signed up for the Magoosh Premium plan.I initially thought this was just another course that gave the basics and the rest was up to me to figure out.

The videos were SO DETAILED and Mike McGarry even explained the doubts I had in mind even before I was preparing to note it down and ask the experts in the chat.

My biggest concern was getting a question wrong because I have no idea to approach it, because in that case, even if you do thousands of questions, that specific question could pull your score down exceptionally.

However, the Magoosh Product + Blogs cover EACH and EVERY detailed aspect tested on the GMAT. From interpreting absolute values to when to use 2nd and 3rd conditionals. These are things that are not typically found in the other products. Yes that includes the MGMAT.

Furthermore, if there is any ambiguity, the team of experts is just an email away. At first, I was skeptical. I thought they just had a bunch of standardized messages and sent them as and when required (at least that is what I experienced in the other 2 products). The emails were extremely detailed, and they even go back and forth with me to point out what EXACTLY is the mistake! That level of commitment is something that I cannot even fathom in the other products.

I remember I had an issue with the Negation Test. Gordon(Magoosh Expert) and I emailed 2 to 3 days to point out what exactly was my mistake (stupid me :P), and that alone took my CR by 6 points.

I don't have an exceptional score, but for a person starting with 420 on the GMAT mock and reaching 610, this means a lot. I developed in other aspects of my application (GPA, Extra Curriculars, and Internships), and got into my dream university.

The entire Magoosh team is the pinnacle of what you can expect in terms of expertise. I CANNOT thank them enough for creating such an affordable product! I will be enrolling with them again for my MBA preparation, and hopefully, secure a better score.

Feel free to connect with me:-

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/aibel-lanson-809376146/

Read More

September 07, 2021
hippogriff109

Joined: Apr 27, 2021

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q42 V41

Great for the basics

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I didn't study math in undergrad, and it's been ages since I took a test. I chose Magoosh because I read that it was good for people who are just starting out. They did a really great job at teaching you the basics, and I loved their approach to teaching/learning in general- it's all about getting you to understand the concepts deeply, not just about memorizing how to solve something. However, I think the material is not quite advanced enough to give you a 700+ score. I'm going to retake it and will look into another provider to help get me there.

Read More

August 15, 2021
ib1703

Joined: Jun 17, 2020

Posts: 7

Kudos: 32

Verified score:
740 Q50 V41

Magoosh is good, but not perfect

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Purchased Magoosh course and thought that it will be my one-stop shop for all GMAT preparation,
and it was really good;
several points that were slightly challenging
- video explanation for math and verbal topics sometimes feel slightly shallow
- sometimes the solution is too fast, I can not understand so fast explanation
- verbal explanation is sometimes give less reasoning, more emotional decisions "choice A is a complete nonsense" <- why lol

Support was good and fast responding. I was able to practice a lot verbal and quant. After finishing the course, I had marginal score improvement, so I was slightly disappointed.

Read More

March 13, 2021
shverma

Joined: Jan 13, 2019

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
530 Q44 V19

Magoosh Premium Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I would highly recommend the Magoosh Premium GMAT package. I would like to mention some of its pros and cons.

Pros:
1. Very elaborative and structured way of providing lessons and tutorials.
2. Help service is very fast and reliable. Always there to answer your doubts and queries and almost never leaves you unsatisfied with the content.
3. The explanations to the questions are very good and detailed. Some of the parts of the questions are covered in text explanation, while other are covered in video explanation.
4. RC passage explanation in separate YouTube videos is terrific.
5. Also, the marks approximation is a plus point.
6. The facility to take notes for every lesson and questions is a very good approach to remember and note down your queries, weaknesses, doubts and other stuff.

Cons:
1. The custom test, though has an option for adaptive questions, but I found them almost random.

Read More

March 04, 2021
gsbadmit123

Joined: Aug 12, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V44 (Online)

Great service to keep you on a study plan

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I followed the one month study plan and increased my score by 30 points. Before buying the premium account, I was having trouble finishing the math section in the allotted time. I was surprised because I do a fair amount of math in my work. Magoosh helped me see more patterns in GMAT math questions (and even re-develop “number sense”). After practicing their “hard”/“very hard” questions in their test bank, I could better assess which questions were worth skipping on test day. I got interviews to 3/3 top graduate schools I applied to and think my GMAT score supported my candidacy. Big thanks to the Magoosh team for creating great study plans to hold oneself to!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 04, 2021
bsh1

Joined: Jun 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Great value for the money

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

The Magoosh videos and practice problems were great for establishing a strong baseline. The videos provided several helpful strategies for approaching quant problems, and by the end I felt I could approach the most difficult of problems. The Quant practice problems and Verbal passages are helpful, though the practice tests could be better. They were just handfuls of practice questions packaged together, and I found I performed better on the official GMAC practice tests and on real tests. That being said, I still felt the course was useful and it definitely helped me improve my score for a very reasonable price.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 08, 2020
jdkoh

Joined: Jul 15, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q49 V35

Good Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Good Course with many videos to help with concepts and grasping material. CR video section is small, but enough to conquer easy to medium level questions. Additional material through CR practice problem videos helped with more advanced questions. Quant section is pretty thorough. Plenty of concepts and videos. Questions are similar to Official GMAT test questions. Sentence correction section and videos are fairly in depth, but overall the course was helpful in achieving good score. Course still recommends supplementing questions with official guide and official practice tests. With proper study and preparation, Magoosh will help obtain a high GMAT Score.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 10, 2020
Reinvent2020

Joined: Jul 25, 2019

Posts: 12

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
640 Q49 V28

Thank you Magoosh

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh provides a great platform to excel in GMAT. The video lessons cover everything (quant, verbal, AWA and IR). The lessons can be downloaded and watched offline e.g. on an underground tube ride to the office.
The biggest strength of Magoosh course is their vast question bank. The verbal and quant question bank provided a wonderful opportunity to test my knowledge. They provide wonderful text as well as video explanations. They also provide detailed analytics of performance so that you can get a clear idea of your strengths and weaknesses.
Another strength of Magoosh Course is the great email support to any doubts/questions. They provide very detailed explanations of the questions.
With the help of Magoosh, my GMATprep scores in the 6 tests were in the range of 680-710. However, I could not perform well in the actual test and scored 640, which proved sufficient to get me admitted to my target school.
Magoosh is an extremely student friendly company. It goes above and beyond to help the students. All you need to do is to just ask. I would highly recommend Magoosh to anybody, who is planning to write GMAT.

Read More

November 04, 2020
ShankSouljaBoi

Joined: Jun 21, 2017

Posts: 679

Kudos: 466

Self-reported Score:
660 Q49 V31
620 Q47 V30
650 Q48 V31

Real Score Improvement

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Improved from 620 to 650.
Mike and Cris are experts at what they do. They train you to tackle each and every pattern on the GMAT.

Quant : Questions were great . Explanations made sense and were crisp

Verbal : completed the tutorial in 5 days. That's amazing. It's comprehensive. The way Mike teaches sentence correction is perhaps the best I have seen 🐱

Best thing each and every question has an expert dictating to you his/her view and approach of solving a question.

Customer support: within 10 minutes all your queries are answered. They provide you with links to enhance your knowledge and clear all your doubts no matter how many how times you ask them.

I would recommend the product to anybody , who is trying to improve their score at a faster pace.

Best wishes 🙂

Read More

October 29, 2020
YASH750

Joined: Feb 05, 2020

Posts: 55

Kudos: 14

Verified score:
660 Q49 V31 (Online)

Great resource for Gmat prep.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Quants:
The videos include all the topics required to take the gmat effectively. The list of practice questions is also extensive and should suffice to score a q48 and above. one must go through the video solution of the problems which were difficult to solve.

Verbal;
SC is very well explained , the problem set in sc is also a great resource to understand the concept and build speed. Again go through the video solutions if you find any problem difficult.

CR and RC are above average. Not the best but are enough to build strong conceptual foundation .

The CAT provided with the premium service is not upto the mark and i would highly recommend to get a third party CAT series for testing and tracking your progress.

All said , Magoosh is a great tool to build a solid foundation and score a 620 on the gmat fairly easily .

Read More


91 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Magoosh