GMAT Club

Magoosh Premium Reviews

Our comprehensive online prep program features over 150 video lessons and 700 online practice questions and video explanations to help you conquer the GMAT. Includes over 150 math and verbal video lessons, 700 math and verbal practice questions, video explanations after every question, access for 1 year and email support within 24 hours.
Save up to $109 on Magoosh courses + $250 bonus for GMAT Club members
4.6 /5 Average Rating
5 star
209
4 star
94
3 star
14
2 star
2
1 star
1
Based on 320 reviews
+ 1 non-rated reviews
June 10, 2023
GMATking94

Joined: Jan 15, 2022

Posts: 154

Kudos: 56

Verified score:
700 Q48 V37

Magoosh Premium Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Strengths:

The Quant section in this course is just amazing. Totally loved the way the course captures all aspects of GMAT quant. Small videos keep me engaging. Though my intension to take up the course was for verbal improvement, I did enjoy the quant section more. The score predictor in the magoosh software was just awesome as my official score did match with the predicted score.

Would make the product better:

The verbal course seems very old and needs refurbishment. Overall the verbal course if ok but would expect a lot more from the team. The SC question bank seems very old compared to current official questions.

Overall, the course offers the best for value especially when you club the discount it offers on purchase of the official prep materials form mab.com. This is huge benefit since everyone has to buy them. I would rate the course a 4/5 due to the old nature of the verbal course. Since I have more than 6 months of subscription left I would be happy if they provide some updated materials. The quant explanations as mentioned are awesome and simple to understand especially the topics on combinations, set theory and probability. I hope maggosh updates the materials in verbal sections. I wish them all the best.

Read More

March 06, 2023
11Karan

Joined: Oct 16, 2021

Posts: 79

Kudos: 125

Verified score:
760 Q50 V42

Value for money test prep solution that works

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Strengths:

-- Hard and Very Hard questions that positively challenge a user's approach to solve a question.
-- Smooth UI that's easy to follow.
-- Theory and answer explanation videos
-- E-mail support for all doubt clarifications related to any question in the bank.

Would make the product better:

-- RC material was limited
-- In-account practice tests had a poor distribution of questions
-- Score predictor was very inaccurate

I signed up for Magoosh Premium after my first attempt as I was looking for something that would not only help me identify the blind spots in my learning but also challenge my current skills with hard questions. Magoosh Premium was the only additional course I signed up for and it met most of my expectations! :)

The journey was arduous at times, especially with the Very Hard Quant and SC questions, questions that challenged my thought process and approach to the core. But I learnt a lot in the process, as the explanations, lessons and blog posts were really helpful. I also had a couple of tutoring sessions with Tom who helped me with some really useful GMAT test taking strategies. He also helped me calm down and added positivity to my process. Finally, the e-mail support provided by the team was quick and elaborate.

Thank you very much to the entire team for coming up a really well structured course and for providing swift and insightful support. Special shoutout to Tom, Kristin, Jonathan, Karryn, and Adrienne

Read More

May 29, 2023
bb

Wow. Awesome score! Did not realize you have used Magoosh 👍

March 05, 2023
bryyce99

Joined: Jul 07, 2022

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q47 V49

Great for math basics, mid for verbal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Strengths:

Great for re-learning math basics and getting a simple walkthrough of important principles. Also good structure for those who rely on that as they prep.

Would make the product better:

Verbal leaves something to be desired--lots of erroneous answers, and not much variety.

Really great for a clear, simple, structured approach to GMAT prep for those just getting started. If you're looking to relearn the basics of math, their explanations (and interface) is stellar--I especially like the encyclopedic layout of all the math concept videos.

However, if verbal is where you're focusing, look elsewhere. I didn't find their verbal to be helpful anywhere past the 650+ level. Plus, their practice test score estimates are well, well below where you end up (e.g. 100+ point gap between their estimate and an official test the next week).

Good for people just getting started, but if you're past that--pursue other prep materials.

Read More

July 26, 2022
Aibellanson

Joined: Nov 26, 2020

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
610 Q42 V32 (Online)

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I had enrolled in 2 really expensive and well-reputed institutions to prepare for the GMAT. My reasoning was that the higher the price, the better and more detailed the course will be.

However, the reality is far from the truth, and it took me 1 year to realize this. Not only were the courses a waste of time, but also they make you feel that guilt of being the loser everyone calls you.

I almost gave up on the GMAT and started to apply to programs that don't require the same. However, I thought of giving it one last shot and I signed up for the Magoosh Premium plan.I initially thought this was just another course that gave the basics and the rest was up to me to figure out.

The videos were SO DETAILED and Mike McGarry even explained the doubts I had in mind even before I was preparing to note it down and ask the experts in the chat.

My biggest concern was getting a question wrong because I have no idea to approach it, because in that case, even if you do thousands of questions, that specific question could pull your score down exceptionally.

However, the Magoosh Product + Blogs cover EACH and EVERY detailed aspect tested on the GMAT. From interpreting absolute values to when to use 2nd and 3rd conditionals. These are things that are not typically found in the other products. Yes that includes the MGMAT.

Furthermore, if there is any ambiguity, the team of experts is just an email away. At first, I was skeptical. I thought they just had a bunch of standardized messages and sent them as and when required (at least that is what I experienced in the other 2 products). The emails were extremely detailed, and they even go back and forth with me to point out what EXACTLY is the mistake! That level of commitment is something that I cannot even fathom in the other products.

I remember I had an issue with the Negation Test. Gordon(Magoosh Expert) and I emailed 2 to 3 days to point out what exactly was my mistake (stupid me :P), and that alone took my CR by 6 points.

I don't have an exceptional score, but for a person starting with 420 on the GMAT mock and reaching 610, this means a lot. I developed in other aspects of my application (GPA, Extra Curriculars, and Internships), and got into my dream university.

The entire Magoosh team is the pinnacle of what you can expect in terms of expertise. I CANNOT thank them enough for creating such an affordable product! I will be enrolling with them again for my MBA preparation, and hopefully, secure a better score.

Feel free to connect with me:-

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/aibel-lanson-809376146/

Read More

September 07, 2021
hippogriff109

Joined: Apr 27, 2021

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q42 V41

Great for the basics

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I didn't study math in undergrad, and it's been ages since I took a test. I chose Magoosh because I read that it was good for people who are just starting out. They did a really great job at teaching you the basics, and I loved their approach to teaching/learning in general- it's all about getting you to understand the concepts deeply, not just about memorizing how to solve something. However, I think the material is not quite advanced enough to give you a 700+ score. I'm going to retake it and will look into another provider to help get me there.

Read More

August 15, 2021
ib1703

Joined: Jun 17, 2020

Posts: 6

Kudos: 36

Verified score:
740 Q50 V41

Magoosh is good, but not perfect

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 10 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Purchased Magoosh course and thought that it will be my one-stop shop for all GMAT preparation,
and it was really good;
several points that were slightly challenging
- video explanation for math and verbal topics sometimes feel slightly shallow
- sometimes the solution is too fast, I can not understand so fast explanation
- verbal explanation is sometimes give less reasoning, more emotional decisions "choice A is a complete nonsense" <- why lol

Support was good and fast responding. I was able to practice a lot verbal and quant. After finishing the course, I had marginal score improvement, so I was slightly disappointed.

Read More

March 13, 2021
shverma

Joined: Jan 13, 2019

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
530 Q44 V19

Magoosh Premium Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I would highly recommend the Magoosh Premium GMAT package. I would like to mention some of its pros and cons.

Pros:
1. Very elaborative and structured way of providing lessons and tutorials.
2. Help service is very fast and reliable. Always there to answer your doubts and queries and almost never leaves you unsatisfied with the content.
3. The explanations to the questions are very good and detailed. Some of the parts of the questions are covered in text explanation, while other are covered in video explanation.
4. RC passage explanation in separate YouTube videos is terrific.
5. Also, the marks approximation is a plus point.
6. The facility to take notes for every lesson and questions is a very good approach to remember and note down your queries, weaknesses, doubts and other stuff.

Cons:
1. The custom test, though has an option for adaptive questions, but I found them almost random.

Read More

March 04, 2021
gsbadmit123

Joined: Aug 12, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V44 (Online)

Great service to keep you on a study plan

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I followed the one month study plan and increased my score by 30 points. Before buying the premium account, I was having trouble finishing the math section in the allotted time. I was surprised because I do a fair amount of math in my work. Magoosh helped me see more patterns in GMAT math questions (and even re-develop “number sense”). After practicing their “hard”/“very hard” questions in their test bank, I could better assess which questions were worth skipping on test day. I got interviews to 3/3 top graduate schools I applied to and think my GMAT score supported my candidacy. Big thanks to the Magoosh team for creating great study plans to hold oneself to!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 04, 2021
bsh1

Joined: Jun 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Great value for the money

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

The Magoosh videos and practice problems were great for establishing a strong baseline. The videos provided several helpful strategies for approaching quant problems, and by the end I felt I could approach the most difficult of problems. The Quant practice problems and Verbal passages are helpful, though the practice tests could be better. They were just handfuls of practice questions packaged together, and I found I performed better on the official GMAC practice tests and on real tests. That being said, I still felt the course was useful and it definitely helped me improve my score for a very reasonable price.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 08, 2020
jdkoh

Joined: Jul 15, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q49 V35

Good Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Good Course with many videos to help with concepts and grasping material. CR video section is small, but enough to conquer easy to medium level questions. Additional material through CR practice problem videos helped with more advanced questions. Quant section is pretty thorough. Plenty of concepts and videos. Questions are similar to Official GMAT test questions. Sentence correction section and videos are fairly in depth, but overall the course was helpful in achieving good score. Course still recommends supplementing questions with official guide and official practice tests. With proper study and preparation, Magoosh will help obtain a high GMAT Score.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

90 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Magoosh