GMAT Club

ARLee Consulting Admissions Consulting Reviews

ARLee Consulting  is a Boutique Admissions Consulting Firm offering 1on1 counseling completely customized to suit your needs and help you GET ACCEPTED to your dream schools.

Our Founder and Managing Director, Alex Ruiz Lee, an INSEAD MBA graduate, uses his experience as a Samsung HR Executive Director and Admissions Interviewer for INSEAD to guide you toward acceptance.

ARLee Consulting specializes in MBA, EMBA, MiM and any other graduate and undergraduate programs.

We offer full flexibility to suit your needs and budget. Therefore, although our most successful product is the Comprehensive End-to-End Package, we can completely customize a package for you.

Visit our website and contact us for a free evaluation and detailed discussion about your future!
ARLee Consulting Deal Page

ARLee Consulting Admissions Consulting Reviews

Most Reviewed ARLee Consulting consultants

Alex Ruiz Lee
Reviews
10
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

10 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
May 16, 2019
Seoulitefr

Joined: Jun 29, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Simply the best

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I found Alex on the GMAT Club around two weeks after I began to write my documents for the INSEAD application. He contacted me after I posted my profile for an evaluation on the forum. We exchanged a few emails, had a phone call and finally, I decided to hire him for a two school comprehensive end to end package.
Our first task was to reorganise my CV. From this point, I knew I made the right choice of hiring him. I went from a standard work application CV to a perfectly organised and synthetic summary of my life. From this point, I followed all his direction for the next months.

It took time, much revision, but in the end, we made it. Thanks to Alex I succeeded to join the only school I wanted: INSEAD with a GMAT 660 being a white European male. And it was only possible because all the rest of my application was millimetrically perfect thanks to his advice and guidance.

I recommend to hire Alex if you are in the following cases :
-If you have difficulty to be synthetic and straight to the point in your essay
-If you have a profile that is atypic for your target school
-If you are ready to listen and learn from his comments

I would not recommend hiring Alex if you are in the following cases:
-You want somebody to correct your essays, and you are not ready to listen to criticism
-You want somebody that will write your essay for you (He will never do that)

Alex helped me during all my application process and it is thanks to him that I succeeded. He was more than a consultant and went far beyond what I expected from him.

Read More

March 20, 2019
sdj

Joined: Jun 04, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q49 V35

Alex is truly the BEST!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I found Alex on the GMAT Club after being Ding by my target school INSEAD without even an interview. I was so disappointed that I asked for a Ding analysis to 2 admissions consultants. The first one pointed out all the flaws in my application and made me understand that with my profile, it was like a joke to believe that I even stood a chance for a business school like INSEAD or even an MBA at all. To be honest, he discouraged me a little bit about my MBA plans. Then, Alex proposed me to perform another ding analysis. Same thing, he pointed out flaws in my application, but conversely to the other consultant , he took time to understand my profile and my goals and encouraged me to apply for an MBA. He told me that my profile had so much potential and that with a proper application, I would get admitted to other European business schools like LBS, HEC or IESE without even much efforts, with the right guidance of an Admission Consultant. I decided to take the bet and started a new application to HEC Paris, doing all over again my essays, CVs, goals articulation from the beginning with Alex’s help.
After just few weeks and my application completed, I saw the big difference between the admission file I had submitted to INSEAD which earned me a deserved “Ding” and the one I made with Alex. It was like it was two different people applying. Even though I was highly satisfied with the new application I was able to make in this short amount of time, I felt frustrated from my INSEAD’s ding. So, I decided to re-apply to INSEAD in the following intake, knowing that it is one of the world’s less reapplicant friendly school. During this process, I too received the assistance of Alex who provided me his support by mail, phone and on WhatsApp whenever I needed him.
At the end, I was accepted by HEC with a 50% scholarship and guess what, by INSEAD with a scholarship too!!!!
Without Alex, I don’t know if I would have had been able to go that far. He is someone who can understand your needs, your profile and help you during the whole application process. On top of that, to me it is was a pleasure to work with someone so enthusiastic.
If like me, you have nobody to guide you through an MBA application process, or if you want to maximize your chance of being accepted to a top MBA program, I strongly recommend you get help from a coach like Alex!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 01, 2019
praneetanehra

Joined: Jul 17, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Perfect Consultation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

ARLee Consulting was recommended to me by my college senior who consulted Alex and made it into INSEAD. After having the first conversation with Alex it was the obvious choice to go ahead for INSEAD application with him. His approach was very personalized, friendly and honest. His advise was always logical and correct. In fact, his judgement of the quality of the essays, resume and interview preparation is quite refined and accurate. Even though the whole MBA application process is a stressful phase for an applicant, I never felt so because Alex not only managed every task so perfectly but also motivated me to stay positive and stress free. His complete support till the end of the process and even beyond is highly commendable. I am really thankful to Alex for supporting me endlessly to get into INSEAD and making it a memorable journey!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 21, 2018
SK1829

Joined: Aug 08, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q50 V35

Our success journey to INSEAD through ARLee Consulting!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I am currently an Oil & gas professional. My spouse and I applied for INSEAD for the MBA J20 and received admissions in R1. We both hired Alex Ruiz Lee to help with our application process and that truly made a difference to our attempts. Coming from the competitive Indian pool of applicants, we were disappointed with our below average GMAT scores (for Indian applicants) and wanted to make up for our probability of success by writing an extra-ordinary application. INSEAD was our top priority school and wanted to hire some consultant who has a thorough knowledge of INSEAD and its application process. We met Alex on the GMAT club forum and after few initial conversations with him, we were convinced that he can help us submit an excellent application. Couple of things about him that really helped us with our application were -1. He is very honest. 2. He has a very good understanding of what a good application should look like. And 3. He is very prompt on his reviews.
Anyone who applied to INSEAD would know the lengthy application and how it pushes one to introspect deeply. For every essay, Alex would explain us what INSEAD is looking for and listen to our professional experience patiently and comment on which points would make an impact on the application. After submitting an initial draft, he would review and provide his feedback. Most of the times, the essays went through multiple revisions. When he felt the essay wasn’t strong enough, he would explain why our initial story may not be a good fit and encourage us to come up with better examples. He would always present his point of view and has never been pushy, giving us the freedom to reflect on his comments and take the decision ourselves. Also, we were in different time zones and we never encountered any issues because of this. He would make himself available any time we had questions. Moreover, both of us applying at the same time wasn’t easy and increased our anxiety at times. Alex would be our sounding board and his calm demeanor helped us navigate through the various hurdles in the process. Once we were selected for the interviews, he guided us through tips and mock interviews and scholarship essays. And even after receiving our final admits, he helped us with all the practical information required for settling down in Fonty.
Overall, it had been a pleasant experience working with him and we both would highly recommend Alex to all aspiring MBA applicants.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 02, 2018
whatevs

Joined: Dec 26, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

INSEAD Essay and Resume Coaching

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

With the deadline for INSEAD applications looming and a hectic schedule at work, I knew I needed assistance in making sure I put my best foot forward. I have also made some interesting choices in my career, so telling my story was always going to be challenging. What I had in mind was someone to read over my essays and provide feedback - what works and what doesn't. I sent a few cold emails and Alex was the first to respond. I had read the testimonials online, so thought it was worth a try.

Alex's services far exceeded my expectations. He invests a lot of energy to understand your story and pick vulnerabilities. He is critical and yes, the feedback keeps on coming but I think that is the beauty of the flat fee model he offers. His experience as a HR professional also shines through. The whole experience of working with Alex felt more like a partnership in trying to get to the best product in time for the looming deadline.

One of my biggest concerns in hiring a consultant was ending up with a generic application. But Alex is more like a coach who prompts you by asking questions and things to think about when writing your responses. The final product sounds very much like me. It does mean it is a bit more work through. So if you are looking for someone to just write the application for you, then maybe he is not the one.

Highly recommend!

Read More

October 11, 2018
vyomgulia

Joined: Mar 17, 2009

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Review for Alex Ruiz Lee (ARLee Consulting)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I met Alex via GMAT club when he responded to my profile evaluation post early this year. I like the way he has provided a detailed feedback on my profile highlighting my strengths and my areas on improvement rather than providing a generic feedback. He also guided me in finalizing the schools which are best suited for my aspirations.

As we all know, for a strong B-school application, having a balanced mix of professional and personal achievements is really important. Alex has deep insight into what qualities B-Schools are looking in their students and how your professional and personal experience can be put together to make a strong application. Like they say you should never hide anything from your doctor or lawyer if you really want them to help you, I must say that apply same rule while working with Alex.

Alex is not a kind of consultant who will complete the application on your behalf or provide you with a pre-cooked content, rather he will work with you in understanding your story by asking relevant questions, and by encouraging you to find the answers for yourself. Also, he will never settle for any vague storyline/answers for his questions, which to be honest sometimes seems demanding but keep in mind that in the end, he is only trying to bring the best out of you and it will allow you to present yourself in the better way throughout the selection process.

My admission to one of the top B-school in Europe is an example of this. It is because of Alex’s thorough approach and persistence of not giving up on me till I come up with answers up to his expectations, I was able to put forward a strong application and there was hardly any question in the interview for which I felt unprepared.

Despite the time zone difference, Alex has always been available to answers all the questions (believe me, I always had tons of them 😊) and concerns about various aspects of the school, admission process and my application. At times, when I felt demotivated or overwhelmed with the GMAT and entire admission process of different schools, Alex always stood by me and provided me with much-needed support and motivation to move forward.

With my experience, I would definitely recommend Alex to anyone who is looking to apply for B-School. If you are looking for a knowledgeable, professional and supportive MBA consultant, who can help you in achieving your dream of getting into a B-school, look no further, Alex is your MAN😊

Read More

August 14, 2018
gmatqueen123

Joined: Jan 09, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V45

Review for ARLee Consulting

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Once I made up my mind to apply to INSEAD, I knew I needed help from someone who knew the school inside out. Alex, being an alumnus of the school, fit the bill perfectly. Throughout the process of writing CV, essays, preparing for interviews, it felt like Alex was available at my fingertips to get advice/help. Even though we were located on two different continents, he always showed flexibility and worked around my schedule for our phone calls. He was extremely responsive, always replied within minutes or hours, but always on the same day. He provided critical feedback and pushed me to dig deep and think of examples and stories that I would not have considered important otherwise. The best part about working with Alex was that my essays never lost their authenticity, even after being worked upon several times. This is because Alex understood my personality and motivation, and his feedback always steered me towards strengthening those aspects of me in my essays instead of changing them. In my discussions with Alex, I realized that he was not only aware of how the admission process works for EU schools but also for top US schools. He knew the deadlines, duration of the programmes and their admission criteria at the back of his hand. I would recommend Alex to anyone who is looking to apply to a B-school and needs somebody to take them through the process of understanding the school admission criteria, keeping them on track to submit a successful MBA application, provide honest, thorough and critical feedback on CV and essays and be available at all times to answer questions and provide support.

Read More

July 20, 2018
liyanaliyan

Joined: Feb 01, 2018

Posts: 5

Kudos: 1

more than just a consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

One of the key decisions in the application process is whether to work with an admission consultant. I chose to work with Alex when I received profile review in GMATClub. Because through the feedback, I realized that I need someone who has thorough understanding of the target school and well organized writing, and that Alex is the one.
Alex is very responsive and knowledgeable. He provides constructive advice to my queries. His HR director background and INSEAD experiences ensure his ability to coach candidates properly. Alex quickly captures the characteristic of candidates and effectively helps with reflecting those in essays.
I would recommend Alex to prospective MBA candidates, especially INSEAD applicants.

Read More

June 27, 2018
JAE18

Joined: Oct 31, 2017

Posts: 65

Kudos: 3

ARLee Consulting - MBA Applications Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I started working with Alex roughly 1 week before 2 of my applications were due and I really enjoyed working with him. It was very daunting and stressful for me at first because of the tight timeline but we were able to get several iterations done which ensured that I submitted my best applications. In total, I worked with Alex on 3 applications including my essays, resume/CV and LORs and was accepted to all 3 schools with scholarship; including a top 15 MBA program.

We worked on crafting my story to be consistent with all aspects of the applications. Alex coached me throughout the entire process and was very responsive, prompt and easy to work with. From my research when looking for a consultant, I discovered that some of them only communicate through email and while this works for some people, I knew I needed a more open and less formal style. Alex made me feel comfortable in reaching out with any queries along the way and I liked that he made himself available where I could easily bounce ideas off of him.

My overall experience was very positive and I would highly recommend him to anyone interested in working with a supportive and knowledgeable MBA consultant.

Read More

June 12, 2018
dimitrisdimitriadis

Joined: Feb 28, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q46 V40

Excellent Service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

With the assistance of ARLee Consulting I succeeded in my dream of getting accepted by a top-5 b-school.
Before deciding to refer to ARLee Consulting, I was skeptical about the MBA admissions consultants. Having myself gone successfully through the admission process for my master's at a top EU university, I believed that an external help would only be of limited value. However, as I had been previously rejected by 4 US b-schools, I could not afford another rejection.
The successful result speaks by itself for ARLee’s input. Although we worked under a super-tight timeline, and due to my heavy schedule (working long-hours and having only evenings to work on my b-school applications) Alex Ruiz (the consultant whom I worked with) was fully dedicated to the task, always available, tireless, and fully aligned to my goal. It was indeed a team working towards a common direction. I could feel that Alex was putting as much emphasis as on the details as I did, and believe me, I am absolutely meticulous.
Alex performed his role very professionally, ensuring that it would be my personality, my viewpoint, and my personal brand that would be revealed through the essays. If you are looking for someone to do the work and write the essays for you, Alex is not the guy to go to – hopefully you are not that type of applicant, as I doubt anyone can target at a top-school with such mentality. But if you need someone who has an insight into turning a strong potential into a successful applicant, then Alex is the person to refer to.
I would highly recommend ARLee Consulting to every aspiring b-school candidate. With their assistance, this strenuous and stressful process was rendered an experience that at the end I enjoyed, culminating to the absolutely magnificent result of getting accepted to a dream b-school.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.