GMAT Club

Menlo Coaching Admissions Consulting Reviews

At Menlo Coaching, we offer a comprehensive, personalized MBA admissions coaching program to a select group of global applicants to top MBA programs.  We help you tell your story, so that an admissions committee will see you, not just a pile of test scores and work experience.  We enjoy helping applicants of all kinds: domestic and international, from industries like private equity, banking, consulting, tech, healthcare, military, and more.  Some clients want to accelerate a successful career; others see the MBA as their last chance to pivot or catch up with their peers.  Find out more at https://menlocoaching.com/.
Menlo Coaching Deal Page

Most Reviewed Menlo Coaching consultants

David White
Reviews
27
Average Rating
5.0
Alice van Harten
Reviews
22
Average Rating
5.0
Rebecca Heath Anderson
Reviews
8
Average Rating
5.0
Yaron Dahan
Reviews
7
Average Rating
5.0
Leslie Monstavicius
Reviews
2
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

66 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
June 25, 2020
yyh

Joined: Jun 25, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Admitted to Wharton & CBS (with $$$ scholarship)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

David and his team at Menlo Coaching were instrumental in helping me get into Wharton & CBS despite the limited preparation time (started in Q3 without a first attempt at GMAT). David quickly demystified the entire process and highlighted what really mattered to the adcom team at the different schools. This allowed me to focus my time and energy on the aspects that maximized my chance of admission. What I really appreciated are:

1)100% focused on you: Starting from the initial chat, David had a genuine interest in my background and helped me identify the qualities that differentiate me from other applicants. He made sure that every part of my application was highly relevant and presented an angle of me that altogether contributed to the strongest possible application that I could have.

2) Never settle for less: There were times when I felt that I presented a well drafted essay, but David came back with more questions, probing deeper and deeper for my story. It was definitely a good introspective process. I could see how my drafts got more powerful and yet authentic each time.

3)Timeliness: I really appreciate the quick turnaround and knew that I could always rely on David.

Knowing my career goals, David has also connected me with a few people in the industry that I am interested in.

David is a remarkable MBA coach and I strongly recommend Menlo Coaching to anyone who is navigating the MBA application process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 20, 2020
DJTS

Joined: Jun 20, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Older Reapplicant with Amazing Results!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

With Rebecca’s help, I got into Kellogg, Columbia, Yale, Ross and NYU with $560,000 total in merit scholarships. Every school gave me money, including two full rides and two $100k scholarships. 

The year before I had also applied. I was rejected or waitlisted by every top school I applied to. I had also worked with a different well known consulting firm. Their help was somewhat rushed and impersonal, and I didn't really feel like it provided any edge in the process. 

As someone in his 30s with a winding career history that included some substantial gaps, I was undoubtedly an atypical business school candidate.  I was starting to wonder if I’d ever “fit in” at a business school. 

Rebecca’s help along with the broader Menlo ecosystem was the highest value and most comprehensive service I have ever received in my life. There’s no question about it: they were fundamental in the success I experienced during this second attempt to apply to school. 

If you’re like I was prior to working with Rebecca, you’re probably looking for tangible, specific evidence of how she and Menlo drive success. Rebecca stands out because: 

1. She has a true informational edge: Rebecca and the broader Menlo crew are incredibly well networked with admissions departments, students and alumni at the top business schools. Rebecca quoted recent conversations she had with admissions committee members at top schools while helping me. Down to the specific anecdotes I mentioned in my essays, Rebecca helped me target the tone and specific content that she knew each individual school would be looking for. Plus, she was able to bring knowledge from her peers at Menlo to the conversation too. 

2. She has a strong, consultative point of view on… everything. Rebecca provided strategic advice on everything from checkboxes on applications to how to write thank you notes to students I met while visiting schools. I sent Rebecca hundreds of e-mails, worried about every detail and interaction in the process. She provided quick, sharp advice, no matter the question. This was a lifesaver for someone as detail-oriented and neurotic as me! 

3. She helped me develop a holistic, strategic plan for success, given my atypical profile. Rebecca stressed that due to my profile I would need to gain an edge by networking intensely with the schools. I am not a natural networker. So: from choosing the events to attend, admissions members to speak to and professors to contact… Rebecca helped me build a networking plan for success. The results: Admissions committee members knew me by name and cited our relationship as part of their decision to admit me. Students I met volunteered to write me letters of support to admissions. And with Rebecca’s guidance on how to ask the right questions to the right people, I learned enough to weave very specific anecdotes about students and schools into essays and interviews. Multiple interviewers said that my ability to name specific students, classes and professors was a key reason they strongly recommended me for admission.

4. She is an incredible storyteller and editor. I am not concise; I also struggled to build a story that made sense around my winding and atypical career history. Rebecca worked with me to build multiple, ultra concise pitches that conveyed my interest in business school, career goals, and personal history within minutes. Not only did these immediately resonate with admissions committee members (every AdComm member I met responded quickly and favorably to these pitches), but they became the backbone of my essays. Rebecca’s incredible ability to help you build a strategic story about yourself — both the good and the bad — that exposes the essence of who you are, while still appealing to the admissions committee… and then edit it down to a powerful but concise narrative is savant-like and undoubtedly changed the course of my applications. Plus she helps you tailor these narratives to each school and what they are looking for in candidates. 

5. She is rooting for you every step of the way. Rebecca brings such warmth, care and support to her consulting process that you can’t help but feel true confidence in yourself and your story. This helped me wow admissions committee members, ace interviews, and leave a favorable impression on everyone I met during campus visits. 

Menlo initially seemed expensive to me. Now I wonder how they don’t charge more. 

Rebecca is so comprehensive, so knowledgeable and so responsive — for months on end — that you’re going to wonder how she has time to do anything else in her life. You’re also going to be so well prepared, write such awesome essays, and wow every student and admissions committee member you meet.

I haven't once questioned my decision to work with Rebecca (for an older reapplicant, the results speak for themselves) and I can guarantee you won't either. 

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 17, 2020
beth0

Joined: Jun 11, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thanks to David, Incredible Results for dual MS/MBA applications!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

The last 12 months were a whirlwind: getting promoted, application essays, interviewing at ALL dual MS/MBA programs I applied to, navigating waitlists, and securing (deferred) enrollment at a top choice. David simultaneously was the subject matter expert, coach, project manager, and supporter that ensured I got the best possible outcome from my applications. David and the Menlo Coaching team were absolutely worth the price for me, with the biggest value from:

Time saved and well-spent; knowing the limited amount of time I could spend in a given week on applications was absolutely focused on the most impactful improvements. In the middle of working on applications, a family illness caused me to have to take 4x unplanned roundtrips across the country. Additionally, I was working toward a promotion at my job and didn’t have much time to spare. David and the team’s working arrangement with clients saved me; I was able to work on my essays ~1-2 hours a day and return the next day with the clear to-do list of edits or rewrites. Being able to sit down after a long day of work and have clear action items was a huge time and stress saver. Looking back, I’m incredibly grateful I was able to fulfill my family obligations, secure the promotion, and successfully apply to graduate programs; David enabled that to happen and that was more than worth the price (and objectively, Menlo’s fee was covered and more by the raise I got with the promo).

100% peace of mind that I submitted the strongest application I could: I applied to dual degree programs at the three most selective U.S. business schools. David’s expertise, particularly with my background as a software engineer, was well utilized as he was able to identify parts of my application that needed to be clarified or repositioned, depending on whether that section was to be read by an MBA adcom or the MS adcom. I was initially wary of consultants, as it was incredibly important that the essays were 100% my own; I ended up thrilled that with David, I got constructive, clear and prompt feedback on my essays but given the space to rewrite and fix in my own voice. I knew I had a decent profile with a few rough edges, but would benefit greatly from hands-on essay guidance and the result was excellent essays that I was proud of.

Guidance and coaching: throughout the process, David provided encouragement and context around the different nuances of admission. This was particularly valuable in this admissions season, as COVID-19 caused schools to rapidly adapt and change; David’s calm voice, advice, and network provided clarity as I navigated the waitlists and deferral options.

I absolutely recommend David and the team – they were a huge part of my success and sanity over the last year, and the results are undeniable.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 17, 2020
Boardio

Joined: May 17, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Outstanding Service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Yaron Dahan

Working with Yaron, and Menlo coaching, was one of the best decisions I have made throughout the MBA application process. As someone coming from a lower-ranked undergraduate school without a prestigious resume, I knew that I was fighting an uphill battle from the start. However, with Yaron’s constant guidance, shockingly fast turnaround times, and his deep understanding of story, I was able to get fantastic admits at multiple programs.

Yaron’s biggest strength is that he understands how to tell a story. Yaron was able to ask me the right questions and to help me understand what my MBA goals were and how to tell my story to the admissions committee. As I started working on my essays, I realized the time zone difference was an advantage, with Yaron turning things around as I slept or while I was at work.

In times where Yaron was a little uncertain on how to advise me, he quickly brought in other consultants with subject-matter expertise. I’d recommend Yaron, and Menlo to anyone who is willing to do the hard work needed to get into a top MBA program and who needs help navigating the incredibly demanding and time-consuming MBA application process.

Another great advantage of the Menlo program I wish to highlight is the group sessions with the community of peers who are applying at the same time, and the Menlo network. Through Menlo’s network, I was able to connect with students and alumni, who were extraordinarily helpful, and this was an unexpected benefit of working with Menlo.

As a result of my work with Yaron, I was able to punch above my weight and was accepted into five of the eight top-10 programs I applied to. I couldn’t be more excited by the results, which I could not have gotten without Menlo. When I see my peers who have been accepted to the same top-tier MBA programs as I, I am often the only one in the room who didn’t work for MBB consulting, a bulge bracket bank, and didn’t have an Ivy League education. It is thanks to the guidance and insights of Yaron and Menlo that I got the results I did.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 13, 2020
cadyjlee

Joined: Jan 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Above & Beyond His "Job Title"

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I was accepted to Wharton, Stern (with full scholarship), and Ross (with $$). David helped make my MBA admission dreams come true!

Looking back to when I was first researching MBA consultants, I was hesitant about the price, but I KNOW now that David and Menlo Coaching were worth every penny. He exceeded my expectations as an MBA coach. Not only did he provide the services that I expected (with recommendations, essays, interviewing, etc.), but he helped me beyond what I was paying for. David helped me develop a very sensitive, personal story (that I have only shared with a handful of people including David) into essays that I am still proud of and gave me guidance with multiple, unexpected issues that came up at my job, including one that I was concerned would affect my MBA candidacy. He gave me the advice I needed to handle these problems at work and still produce the best applications with great results!

I believe in David and Menlo’s work and have been referring David to my friends and co-workers who are thinking about going to business school. One of my best friends is currently working with him now.

Read More

May 10, 2020
Abaileyb

Joined: Dec 06, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q51 V42

David @ Menlo- best in the business!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

If you want to work with the best consultant in the game, look no further. I worked with an admissions consultant for undergrad, and then again to apply for deferred MBA programs while still in school, and most recently for full-time MBA applications with David. The experience working with David when compared to the others I have worked with or friends have worked with is astounding.

David and I started working together about a year before I submitted my first application. He did a great job helping me make professional decisions that would improve my candidacy. Unlike other consultants I’ve worked within the past, David is continually available to meet via Zoom.

David doesn’t just help with the tangibles (resume/essays etc), he works to learn about you and help you write your story. I think we spent 3-4 hours just discussing my “story”. I truly feel like David got to know me (and that I got to know David) and it made working together more useful and more interesting.

David’s no bull attitude is refreshing. He won’t pull any punches and isn’t afraid to tell it like it is, which is important when working on MBA applications. David forced me to think not only about where I wanted to go to school but what I truly wanted to do after. He even connected me with multiple of his previous clients so I could learn about what work they were doing.

End result: CBS admit with 100k merit scholarship, Wharton admit with 80k merit scholarship

I could not recommend David (and the rest of his team who helped with interview prep) any more highly. If you are here looking for the best, you’ve found him.

Read More

April 27, 2020
thespaniard1

Joined: Apr 22, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Adversity vs Persistence: A Four Year MBA Journey

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I first started working with David White back in 2016. I had just started my first job out of college and wanted his help in strategizing my career while I plan to apply for MBA programs in the next 2-3 years. From the first time we chatted, David demonstrated that he was committed to helping me achieve my dreams. Always responsive, professional and structured, he spent so much time helping me craft my story, advising me on making the right career moves, and even connecting me with great GMAT tutors.

I was definitely not the easiest client to work with: I had a lot to juggle along with my job and extra curriculars, I had a below average GMAT/GPA, came from a non-orthodox background, and went through family hardships during the process. David was there in my corner every step of the way, continuously encouraging and advising me on how best to move forward. I had even applied during the 2018-2019 cycle, when I only applied to H/S/W with only a 640 GMAT - though I was able to secure an interview at Wharton, I of course didn't make it into any schools. It didn't stop him from continuing to help me during next admissions cycle.

I had a lot going against me. I started in community college and even went through a job layoff during the process - Menlo Coaching was kind enough to waive fees for me during this cycle because of the layoff. Despite all this, I was able to make it into four top 10 programs. I'm excited to be starting at Wharton this fall (with $$$ on top of it!). This would not have been possible without David there constantly backing me up. He became more than just a consultant, he was a trusted advisor and friend. I cannot recommend him and Menlo Coaching enough - he was absolutely vital in helping me make my dream come true.

He stuck with and never gave up on me, even when I almost did - for that I am eternally grateful. If you're looking to maximize your chances of making into one of these programs - you can rest easy knowing this man will be there to guide you all the way.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 20, 2020
sbick1

Joined: Apr 20, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent Consultant – Highly Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

Alice came highly recommended to me by my partner who had a wonderful experience working with her and the entire Menlo Coaching team. His application process ended with a successful outcome and was accepted to his top choice school (CBS).

From our very first discussion, Alice provided me with a clear plan forward to best position myself for my future application. As a participant in the Early Bird program, I worked with Alice for more than a year in a very structured and organized manner. I struggled with the GRE until late in my application process, and her help navigating the test while balancing all aspects of the application was truly invaluable in being able to apply by the Round 1 deadline. I also appreciated that Alice provides her clients access to working with additional members of the Menlo team, especially with interview prep. Mock interviewing with both Alice and Obinna made me feel confident and prepared going into the real interview.

Alice cares deeply about her clients’ success and that is evident in her work. I cannot thank her enough for her guidance and patience throughout the entire application process. She exceeded all of my expectations, and I would not be attending my dream school in the fall without her support.

She is an extraordinary and knowledgeable resource for prospective business school applicants, and I can’t recommend Alice and the Menlo Coaching team more strongly.

Read More

April 14, 2020
Dfarahi5

Joined: Jun 30, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

My only regret was that I wish I started working with David and his team earlier in the process! Not to say that I ran out of time or felt rushed, but David referred me to a fantastic GMAT tutor that I wish I started with earlier and has great insights on how to approve your application. Menlo coaching has put together a thorough set of materials that lays out the application in a very structured way, making it tough to procrastinate.

I required a lot of attention throughout the application process and David always responded within one day, even on weekends. I was persistent and non-orthodox in my approach and appreciated David’s support. He continued to assist me while I was wait-listed at Wharton and even supported me in my appeal to HBS.

At each step of the way David has prepared materials, additional resources at your disposal and unique insights that allow you to put your best foot forward.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 03, 2020
eleaticstranger

Joined: Apr 03, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q49 V46

Admitted to GSB and HBS round 2!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

I am thrilled that I decided to work with Menlo coaching for my applications - it was such an energizing and educative process. The team has a deeply personal approach; Alice pushed me to go deep in developing my story and helped me craft this to each school in the most compelling way. I received lots of conflicting sources of advice from friends and colleagues - having Alice's informed expertise was incredibly reassuring as I could trust that every detail and perspective had been considered. I was astonished by how swiftly and thoroughly Alice and the Menlo team would come back with comments or responses to my questions - the level of attention and care made me feel like their only client. I had studied humanities as an undergrad and thought I knew how to write an essay, but working with Alice has made me a much sharper writer and interviewee! I definitely could not have achieved these two admissions without Alice and I'm so glad that I chose to work with Menlo.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.