GMAT Club

Alice van Harten Reviews

Company: Menlo Coaching

Alice has coached MBA applicants since 2007 and is proud of her clients’ successes. Her background as a former Bain Consultant and Stanford lecturer puts her in a unique position to understand her clients’ career paths and coach them through their applications.

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 32 reviews
May 04, 2021
mac12561

Joined: Feb 17, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

10/10 Best Consultant There Is

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

I first reached out Alice early on in the application process through her Early Birds Program (1-2 years before applying). She was instrumental in helping me use my time effectively leading up to the application process which included guiding me towards which classes to take and which career moves made the most sense for me in order to bolster my profile but also position me best to reach my post-MBA goals. During the application process Alice was extremely responsive and professional while also making the experience extremely personalized and tailored based on my goals. She was always available to answer questions across various aspects of the application process including reviewing my resume, school trips, mock interviews, and essay reviews, and she is extremely knowledgeable about every aspect of the process. She was never too busy and always responded within 24 hours. Without her guidance I never would have been able to have been accepted to 2 top 5 programs and I would recommend her to anyone who is applying to business school.

Read More

April 19, 2021
natashagresh

Joined: Apr 19, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

A gem amongst consultants

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

Coming from a non-traditional background, applying for an MBA was a daunting experience and I was looking for a very personalised college counsellor who would really support me through the process. Alice over delivered on my expectation. Over the last year, she has been a huge support and I’m not sure if I would have managed without Alice’s guidance. I was lucky to get accepted into Europe’s 3 top MBA programs. Alice is really personal, taking on her applicants as personal projects. She was never too busy for me, and always giving guidance especially when I was wavering on whether to even do an MBA! I could email her evenings and weekends and she always responded. She gave me strong prep before my interviews, worked thoroughly on my resume with me and helped me shape my personal story so that I would be a strong candidate for my schools. I couldn’t recommend anyone more highly qualified or supportive than Alice to get you through your MBA process. You will not be disappointed if you chose Alice or Menlo Coaching to guide you through the application journey.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 06, 2021
Jo200

Joined: Jun 13, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V42

Great consultant, really nice person to work with!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

Alice and the team at Menlo Coaching were extremely helpful during my entire application process. As she mentions in her bio, she really does try to tell the story in the most compelling way possible rather than the typical cookie-cutter approach. I come from an over-represented applicant pool and Alice really helped me differentiate myself in my application. I received offers from two top 10 programs(Haas and Tuck) and have been waitlisted at a few others.
The aspect I liked most about working with Alice was that she was always available to answer any question I had, ranging from application-form related queries to potential interview questions. She is a perfectionist and does not settle for any less, but she is extremely supportive and will always ensure you feel motivated during the process. Working with both Alice and Leslie ensured that I would get edits within 24-48 hours(max). The Menlo coaching team really works together to optimize your outcome(she would run my goals essays by David when we wanted a second opinion). Ava always helped ensure I was on-track with respect to timelines and Obinna's mock interview was really helpful as well.
While Menlo's fees are a bit expensive, you have the flexibility to apply to as many schools as you like to increase your spread. I definitely recommend them if you're looking at the top B-Schools but ensure you contact Alice early as her slots fill up super fast!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 16, 2021
moses41

Joined: Feb 16, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amazing and Personalized Experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

I am very happy to have worked with Alice and the rest of the Menlo team. I am excited to write that I was accepted to a few top MBA programs, including Booth with a six-figure scholarship, and know that it would not have been possible without their support!

I have a bit of an unconventional background and was not sure how to start thinking about the application process, but Alice worked with me and helped me put together a tailored plan to methodically craft my applications.

Alice helped me find a GRE tutor to help me boost my score, ran through multiple iterations of my resume which was a long way from being ready, provided me with advice on how to network with each program (including how to approach the conversation), she helped me select recommenders, helped me articulate my career goals, and most importantly got to know me on a personal level which was key when it came down to writing the essays and preparing for interviews.

I found Alice to be very insightful in both business and the MBA application process. Alice asked me thought-provoking questions and helped me see my story from different angles as we worked through essay drafts; while not everything I wrote was submitted I was happy to find that as a result of thinking deeply through those questions I was better prepared for my interviews months later.

Alice was amazing throughout, replying to all of my emails and questions thoughtfully and quickly. I could trust that if I needed help with anything that I was working on that I would hear back from Alice by the end of the day. This was especially helpful when I was cutting it close on a few essay drafts. Alice is a pleasure to work with and I would recommend her and the rest of the Menlo team to anyone who is applying to business school!

Read More

January 24, 2021
anicole1997

Joined: Jan 24, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V45 (Online)

The GREATEST coach - GSB admit

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Alice and her all-star Menlo Coaching team. I could not have gotten into Stanford GSB without her.

I started working with Alice in February, and she coached me through the entire Round 1 application process. Alice's team was involved in every step of the process, incl. re-doing my resume, guiding me on school visits, preparing me for interviews, and of course crafting my essays. Most importantly, her support in my Stanford essay was invaluable. I felt paralyzed when we started the essay writing process - I had no idea where to begin and was terrified of putting pen to paper. Alice was incredibly supportive and called me every week to coach me through the process. She responded to my questions within the hour (even though she was in a different time zone). She and Leslie would turn drafts in 1 day. She was as invested in the success of this essay as I was, and she was never interested in throwing in the towel and settling for an essay that wasn't groundbreaking. She even answered my call on Labor Day to help me with the very last sentence. At the end of the process, I was happy with every single word in my essay. 
Alice believed in me more than I believed in myself. She, Leslie, Ava, and the entire team were by my side day after day, keeping me on track and reminding me of what I have to bring to the table. I truly do not know where I'd be without her. If anyone is looking for a consultant who is there for you 24/7 and is a deep subject matter expert in every step of the application process, Alice is your person! 

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 20, 2021
karkap

Joined: Jul 11, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly valuable 1:1 coaching

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

From the get-go, Alice was completely invested in developing the strongest possible case for my admission to the best MBA program possible. Along the process, I was coached, motivated, inspired and even made to jump and dance (voluntarily) by the team at Menlo Coaching.

I was looking for one-on-one school-specific guidance on what can seem like a very daunting process and I got more than just that. The pre-work videos featuring Alice and David on Basecamp were a great way to get started to think about my journey, introspect and develop my line of reasoning for what I wanted out of an MBA and how I could add value to the MBA cohort.

Since I was part of the Early Bird Program at Menlo Coaching, Alice was there every step of the way as we got closer to preparing for the application essays and resume. In my case, the optional statement was a crucial part of the application, given my circumstances and I am convinced that without Alice, my submission would not have been nearly as strong.

While I thoroughly enjoyed the one-on-one sessions with Alice, the team at Menlo Coaching consisting of Ava, Leslie, Fearless Communicators and Obinna constantly encouraged and supported me to put my best foot forward. I cannot say enough about the value that Alice and her team at Menlo Coaching brought to my MBA application and to me personally. I am very happy with the result - I was admitted into two of the three programs I applied to and received a scholarship offer as well

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 19, 2021
phedrick

Joined: Nov 07, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted at Harvard and Stanford!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

I had an amazing experience working with Alice and Leslie. Prior to choosing a consultant I spent countless hours researching the various options, and I came away with the conclusion that working with Menlo and specifically Alice would best set me up for success. Having now gone through the process I can confidently say that this proved true! We spent significant time going over items such as realistic career goals to crafting my life story that we could then leverage for my applications. At times when I was slacking on my applications, Alice got me back on track by having weekly calls with me think through what was stumping me. When it came time to interview, they provided a theatre coach to help me come across in my best light and connected me with other consultants at Menlo to have mock interviews with.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 19, 2021
gmatdog25

Joined: Apr 02, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The best in the business

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

I worked with Alice and the Menlo Coaching team for my R1 admissions this year and had a wonderful experience. With her help, I was admitted to Wharton and couldn't be more excited. Alice was the definition of a comprehensive coach - she was there for me throughout every step of the application process from picking which schools to apply to, crafting my career goal arc, and preparing for interviews. Most of all, her guidance and candid feedback on my essays were invaluable. Through dozens of iterations, she helped me bring out a genuine and unique side of myself. I can't recommend Alice highly enough - she's truly the best in the business!

Read More

December 25, 2020
vikasrajgopal

Joined: Apr 24, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q48 V40

A CONSULTANT THAT REALLY CARES ABOUT YOU

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

I started working with Alice back in December 2019 and worked with her throughout the entire round 1 application process. Even as I navigate the waitlist for one school Alice is still with me strategizing and working on my update letters to get through the process. Alice is extremely knowledgeable about the entire MBA application process. She helped me identify and present my career goals in a compelling way, craft phenomenal essays, and thoroughly prepare me for my interviews. She is incredibly responsive (always within 24 hours) and made me feel as though I was one of the only students working with her. However, beyond her incredible professional expertise & effective process management I believe what really sets Alice apart from other consultants is that she is truly invested in the success of her clients – she REALLY DOES care about you. This year was incredibly difficult for me going through a career change, moving countries, taking the GMAT, and of course applying to B school but Alice was always there to be a sounding board and give me perspective. She had this incredible ability to instill confidence in me when I needed it the most - I wouldn’t have gotten through the process without her. In the end I was able to gain admission to two top 10 business schools (Tuck and Yale). I sincerely believe that Alice is worth every penny and that if you are serious about getting into a top business school you should working with Alice and Menlo Coaching (try to contact her well in advance because her spots fill up fast)!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 24, 2020
ac0402

Joined: Dec 24, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

True MBA admission experts (HBS admit)!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

Alice and the Menlo team have supported me through every step of the process from school selection in January to getting accepted by HBS in round 1. Most helpful were Alice's attention to detail in brainstorming and perfecting my essays, and also her vision on how to best portray my candidacy given my unique background and career goals. I trust her 100%.

I am a "non-traditional" candidate and Alice takes the time to get to know me and my career path in detail. Throughout the application process, she asked thoughtful questions, provided candid feedback on essays and resume while making sure I was my genuine, authentic self. This was my main differentiator to getting accepted to HBS.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.