GMAT Club
e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1466]
    Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep [551]
    
e-GMAT Quant Live Prep [165]
    
e-GMAT Verbal Online [750]
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

REAL REVIEWS
YOU CAN TRUST

We read, verify and individually confirm each review

How we verify reviews

Step 1

Purchase Verification

We verify that the reviewer was a client by comparing the email address they provide with the company's database.

Step 2

Identity Verification

We verify the reviewer's identity through one of the following:

Official GMAT Score Report

GMAT Club Membership Term

School E-mail Address

Step 3

We manually process all reviews, and if a review does not meet any of the prior criteria, the review will not be posted.

Step 4

We pay $10 for each GMAT Course and Admission Consultant review only if we are certain it is a real review. If we cannot verify it, we won't issue a giftcard for it and we won't publish it.

GMAT Club requires that users verify their identity before posting a review.

GMAT Course Review
25 out of 25 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Engr2012 2643 1505
Verified Score:

750

Q49

V44

Improvement:

100 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

eGMAT Verbal Live Prep was the reason why I was able to show 100 point increase over the course of my 3 attempts, going from V30 to V44 in 10 months. I did start my verbal live prep program on recommendations online and after trying it out for free, I was sure that this is a good investment. I gave my GMAT prep 1st CAT and scored very low in verbal and I could see that I needed help with verbal. As soon as I had enrolled in eGMAT Verbal Live Prep (VLP), I was provided with a very detailed and systematic study plan that I should follow. This plan kept me in check all throughout and made sure that the proper foundations were laid before advanced concepts were introduced. I have no qualms in accepting the fact that I could have obtained a good score in my 1st attempt itself had I not deviated from the methods taught by eGMAT. The tutors were very helpful be it moderating strategy sessions, providing lectures via pre recorded videos or answering to the questions posted on online forums and their own question forums. The articles covering various concepts in SC, CR and RC were very well written and have been appreciated by many online forum goers.
I started with SC and I was amazed to see how seemingly straightforward concepts such as subject verb agreement, modifier and parallelism could be used to make difficult questions. Herein lies eGMAT’s greatest strength: to break down seemingly impossible to understand SC prompts into smaller segments and then analyze in detail each component of the sentence. The videos started with simple concepts and then finally went onto more advanced concepts such as modifiers and parallelism. As a non-native English speaker with exposure to English from a very early age, I was confident with my grammar rules but I was proven wrong by the diagnostic GMATPREP CAT. eGMAT showed that there is a method and logic behind every step even in SC and that if you are systematic with your approach , you can tackle toughest of SC questions with absolute ease. The insistence on understanding the meaning of SC prompts removed my fear of completely underlined sentences and led me to high timed accuracy in OG,GPREP qbank and exam pack 1. I realized the importance of following a set method to tackle a particular question type only after my 1st attempt, until when I used to employ brute force methods. eGMAT showed me that there was elegance in the ways to tackle the different questions types and subtypes. The videos were very clear, I was able to play them on any media be it windows or iOS without any issues, pre and post assessment quizzes were of particular help in understanding what needs to be focused on. One of the most useful things in their videos was the ability to see the “summary” slide that will summarize the contents of the preceding video.
Once I got a grasp of SC, I moved onto CR, following their detailed schedule and again saw that there was set method to every CR question type. The focus on understanding the conclusion, how premises relate to the conclusion, “PRETHINKING”, “NEGATION TECHNIQUE” etc techniques were hugely helpful. The videos started with the topic at hand, followed by some very thoughtfully crafted question to cement what was covered in the videos. Prethinking enabled me to understand the scope of the question, the relationships between elements in the CR prompt and understand why the incorrect answer choices were incorrect. In GMAT, every incorrect question is wrong for a particular/solid reason. If you are eliminating a choice without that reason, you will end up choosing incorrect options. eGMAT CR provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Unless you understand how GMAT can give you incorrect options based on above reasons, you will not be confident in choosing an answer (my situation in the 1st attempt). Again, I only realized the importance of applying a set method just before my 2nd attempt. eGMAT’s focus on breaking down any argument into its respective elements, understanding the linkages and prethinking provided you 70% of the total work required for answering a question correctly. Rest 30% would come from POE of options provided. I was able to increase my accuracy in OG CR questions from 55% to 90%+ with eGMAT’s CR module.
The 3rd step was finishing the RC module which again taught a couple of useful tactics to be an active reader and to be involved with the passage. eGMAT RC also provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Once you became fully engrossed with the passage (by following eGMAT’s advice), finding the correct answer via POE became very straightforward.
Finally, VLP also included IR (for free) which is a nice gesture on eGMAT’s part. The IR module videos dealt with all the different question types and provided good practice with end of the video practices.
I don’t think this review will be complete without talking about this new tool that eGMAT has come out with and is included in eGMAT VLP (as of writing this review). It is called scholaranium and is an absolute must to complement verbal practice from OG and GMATPREP. Scholaranium comes with an “ability” evaluation technique that tells where exactly do you stand (percentile wise) for a particular section (SC or CR or RC) or verbal (all sections combined). This was a very useful tool for me as I was able to do targeted practice for areas I was faltering on. I used to use scholaranium to hone my skills via sectional quizzes and even sub sectional targeted practice. The collection of 600+ questions is an amazingly crafted collection consisting of questions from 3 difficulty levels. The explanations are very detailed and are provided for all the questions and you can even post your doubts and one of the eGMAT experts will respond to your doubts soon enough.
The live sessions were very useful starting from the strategy sessions with Rajat to content based SC/CR and RC sessions. These live sessions would be repeated every month, so if you missed out 1 recording, you could go back and review it under your account page. The questions cited, reviewed and discussed during these sessions were very demanding and thought provoking. These sessions complement very well the course content presented via SC, CR and RC modules.
As for pricing is concerned, I believe eGMAT is the best online course available that is total worth the money you spent. It is cheaper than the other course providers but is definitely not lacking in any quality of content. The quantity of questions should be close to 2500 and all are high quality questions. Additionally as VLP has a validity of 6 months, I had to renew it twice but was provided a discounted price by eGMAT and really appreciate this.
To summarize, eGMAT VLP is a definite buy for non native English speakers as they understand the needs of these non native speakers and have the course tailored for them.

Although, I did select Payal under the "Instructor Name" but this shout out goes out to the entire eGMAT team. Keep up the great work you guys are doing.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
23 out of 24 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By anchalgulati22 2 0
Verified Score:

750

Q50

V41

Improvement:

40 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

I had given my GMAT more than a year ago (710- V34, Q50) and at that point of time I used to absolutely dread RCs. I found them really mundane and could never get myself to focus. While my quant was always strong, and CR and SC were average, RCs just didn't come to me naturally. And no, this does not mean that I'm weak at English in general. Infact, I'm among the most annoying grammar nazis that you may across. But each time I would come across an RC in the middle of my mocks, I would feel low and lose time and thereby end up rushing through my SC and CR questions as well.

Then, my friend introduced me to e-GMAT and I cannot thank him enough for having done that. After a year long break, I felt the need to go over SC and CR concepts as well and the videos provided by e-GMAT made them a whole lot of fun. I would stay up till late night, watching the videos, almost like I'd be watching a sitcom. They were light and helped me brush up my concepts very well. I had read someone's review about making handwritten notes while watching videos and then transferring those onto Evernote at the end of each day as that would not only help you revise, but also create a handy notebook for you to skim through while you're on the move. This tip helped me a lot and I would really recommend it to you all as well. I made my notes nice and colourful and added screenshots and links to them. Going over them later seemed fun because of all the colours I had added. (let me know if you want me to share them with you!)

The RC videos were really helpful as well. e-GMAT provides you a number of key strategies that you must keep in mind while reading through RCs. The one strategy that worked wonders for me was "to get immersed". I would literally tell myself at the beginning of each passage that "Oh! this sounds interesting, lets read what happens next!" I even used the note making approach during RCs quite regularly and was thereby able to get ALL my main point and structure questions right. These strategies seem very time consuming in the beginning, but within no time, you start to internalise them.

The other thing that I absolutely loved about the VLP was the scholaranium. Since I knew that RC was my weak point, I had decided to do atleast 4 passages every day, along with 20 SCs and 20 CRs. I used to create a lot of RC Ability quizzes and while I started with a 43% accuracy (with no time left to answer the last one), by the end I had 96% accuracy which was a great achievement for me. Infact, the day before my GMAT, when I sat down to give my RC ability test, I felt I was able to breeze through it easily. I wasn't spending to much time reading and even the answers were coming to me naturally.
When I submitted the test, I saw my score report in which I had just one (Hard) question wrong out of a total of 4 RC passages. This was my biggest confidence booster and I was sure that my GMAT would go well this time, which it did!

Infact, I finished by Quant section 18 minutes in advance and my Verbal section 15 minutes in advance and landed up with a V41, Q50 and a total of 750. I was literally shivering while answering my last few Verbal questions because the difficulty level had gone up which also meant my score was going up.

I wouldn't say that a V41 is a kickass score, but for someone like me who dreaded RCs to such a large extent, it was definitely an accomplishment, specially since I was now able to answer the questions so much faster.

Thank you e-GMAT once again and thanks to all those who read my review till the very end. I hope I was able to motivate a few of you out there like me, who may have totally given up on RC.

All the best to you all !!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [2]
1 Commented by shanky9 on February 25, 2017
Awsome Anchal. :)
2 Commented by Kaal on March 21, 2017
very well written and congratulations on your score! It would be great if you would share your notes with me :)
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by gmat club tests
     By vinodsivagnanam173 1 5
Self-reported Score:

690

Q48

V35

Improvement:

50 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

Prior to using e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep, I was struggling with the GMAT verbal session. I wasn't able to come up with a solid methodology for answering SC and CR questions. I was also making a lot of mistakes in the RC section.

The systematic approach that e-GMAT instructors have and the progressive difficulty in concepts helped me understand how to approach each verbal question efficiently and effectively. Also, the summary at the end of each module helped me in my revision efforts. I also leveraged the Scholoranium quizzes to obtain a better understanding of where my skills were lacking and focused on these areas more to make my preparation air-tight.

Finally, the Verbal workshop identifies exactly where you stand and provides a plan to achieve your target score.

I would highly recommend the e-GMAT course, especially for non-native speakers, to achieve your target verbal score.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by gmat club tests
     By Maria Antony 1 0
Self-reported Score:

730

Q49

V40

Improvement:

140 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

Like any other Indian IT male engineer I have my fortress rooted and built with Quants. I left Verbal into the hands of luck though I failed every time thinking of a miracle to happen for a decent verbal score. Well it indeed happened after my thoughtful decision of choosing E-GMAT verbal online prep. " The best in the market for non - natives" is not just a comment but a commandment I would say. Breaking down the CR, RC & SC concepts to elementary level and building a strong course on those items is the real beauty of this course. I loved the CR & SC course more than the RC as I was quite comfortable with it. The concepts proved me how ignorant I was with the CR & SC concepts in spite of being excellent in verbal communication skills. I would definitely recommend E-GMAT if you want to improvise your accuracy in verbal. I am full of confidence that my verbal score is going to shoot up in my GMAT retake. Thank you team for your incredible content and excellent support.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
e-GMAT Verbal Life Prep
June 14 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By Yanilcia 1 0
Self-reported Score:

480

Q34

V22

Improvement:

10 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Krishna Chaitanya

Hello,
I've been studying for the GMAT for quite some time now. I have taken many courses at different places such as Princeton, Kaplan as well as Manhattan GMAT. I am currently using E-GMAT for my GMAT preparation and founded it outstanding! Here are the reasons:
I am a non-native and thanks to E-GMAT not only I can read, but also I understand what I read. So, I am truly happy because I feel confident that my acquired reading skills will help me succeed at my career at a faster pace. So, you have two benefits. You are getting a skill needed for the GMAT and you're using this skill later on in life. Well.. yes, I have a degree, but when you start answering RC questions, you feel like you need to know how to comprehend the passage in an effective and efficient way. And this I got from E-GMAT Verbal Prep!

The course is organized and it has all subject matters tested on the GMAT as the other courses. But the fact that E-GMAT has the course structured on short modules and summaries at the end each modules, makes it truly easier for your to study. And it is convenient when you are reviewing topics. I love their explanations because the modules explanations have holistic approach explanations. This is beneficial to all students since we all learn in different ways.

You will be amazed when you start doing SC questions as per E-GMAT 3 steps. Oh boy, you wouldn't think understanding the meaning is so crucial and maybe by finding splits on sentences will get you to answer the question. I have not thought of a sentence the way I think of it now. When I read, I can visualize the parts of a sentence and understand the roles of each part. It s feels like if I have total control of the sentence and no matter what correct structure the GMAT test throws at me, I can analyze the correctness of the questions in light of my understanding of the sentence and the structure of the sentence.

There is a lot to say, but I need to say one last thing. I don't know if there are many students out there who expect their teachers to care about them truly learning, but E-GMAT has done a pretty good job in showing they care about you getting the concept well and going to the root of the problem. You can see this on their material preparations and on the E-GMAT Experts responses to the students' questions.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By somapatt20 0 0
Self-reported Score:

650

Q46

V34

Improvement:

50 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

I have been procrastinating GMAT preparation for long time. This March, I decided to start preparing for GMAT and write it in June/July. E-GMAT has been great companion during my journey to prepare for GMAT. Course offered by E-Gmat is wonderful. I subscribed for E-GMAT verbal online course as I wanted to study at my own pace. As, I started learning with Verbal section, I really thanked god for choosing such a great course. SC is best course offered by Egmat. Sentence correction topics have been explained in such a detailed manner with very nice examples that I can challenge any one that he/she can score great in sentence correction part if one learn and follow all techniques and methods explained in the course. In reading comprehension part, I learnt how to comprehend instead of just reading by following E-Gmat strategy. Time is very important factor in solving passages. E - Gmat strategies have been very helpful in managing time and solve primary purpose questions or inference questions correctly. Then, there are various kind of quizzes which helped me to fortify my concepts and know my weakness in particular topics. There is a section in online course with name scholaranium which tests my ability in various topics and show my progress through detail statistics. I am able to understand my weak and strength areas through the Ability Quizes. I am still preparing for GMAT and so far able to improve my score v28 - V34.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Improved verbal skills
June 12 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by school email address
     By Sachin07 16 5
Self-reported Score:

530

Q42

V20

Improvement:

80 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

I joined the egmat verbal online course in Aug 2016 and started preparing for my gmat.The course is quite good as it explains you the basic things with which one can solve complex sentence correction questions.The reading comprehension section was really helpful as focuses on the different type of question asked during gmat.The course is divided into different sections thus making it easy to go with the flow.I especially liked the Scholarnium which helped me fine tune my skills.
Apart from these I also received the 6 month membership to gmatclub test which is really good and a month membership to 800score tests.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Mimster 96 95
Verified Score:

740

Q49

V42

Improvement:

80 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

My first verbal score was at 27 and my second verbal score was at 34. I started using e-gmat after I achieved my second score. The course helped me understand the foundation concepts of sentence correction and critical reasoning. I didn't take the RC portion of the verbal prep solely because I wasn't bothered at all. My scores were quite rocky for verbal but at the end it shine through because I kept reviewing the solutions on scholaranium. I would say that 70% of my jump from V32 to V42 can be attributed to e-GMAT's teaching.

Sentence correction videos of e-GMAT are a gem. When I first tackled GMAT, I just went solely by ear. I didn't have any guidelines or proper understanding of what GMAT wants. e-GMAT helped me understand those guidelines and adopt a logical approach to solving sentence correction questions. The one thing I might add about e-GMAT is even though its approach is logical and accurate, the process was quite slow. I had to come up with my own pacing and strategies in order to make sure I won't run over the clock.

The critical reasoning portion, despite other reviews saying it's not as good as sentence correction, I think it's one of the best. I am not a native speaker and so my brain does not process English logic that well. It took quite some time for me to wrap my head around the usage of logical cues in GMAT and e-GMAT taught me exactly those words. I love how each section of the videos would highlight out word cues, especially for bold face. In order to make the best about of my e-GMAT experience, I listed out all the cue words given by e-GMAT and map them out myself on an A4 so I can look at critical reasoning holistically. Every type of questions has some sort of link with each other. Without e-GMAT i think I would have not hit a 97%-tile on the critical reasoning portion.

I would totally recommend e-GMAT for people, non-native in particular, who just started studying GMAT. This is a great way to gain understanding of what GMAT tests you. However, if you want to score higher than 38, you need to do your own legwork and a lot of practices.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Preparing for GMAT Verbal
June 09 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By ananya18 0 0
Self-reported Score:

590

Q47

V20

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

I have started to look at English as a logical language since I took the e-gmat verbal online course. Now when I read articles I am constantly categorising sentences into grammar components. The approach explained in e-gmat for SC and RC has been very helpful. I came across e-gmat advertisement links on Facebook during Dec 2016 and decided to try it
A little bit about my background, I am an IT professional with 11 years of work experience. With every passing year of work life I tended to read less of general English and more of technical books. I started preparing for GMAT since March 2016 and realised that my scores in verbal were stuck at 40-50% strike rate. By Dec 2016, I had attempted GMAT twice with abysmally poor scores of 20 in verbal while 46, 47 respectively in Quant. I am taking GMAT again this June end and hope to reach as near to 700 as possible. My RC strike rate has improved to 85% - this is through the reading techniques explained in e-gmat course and webinars. SC is explained very well with examples and simple rules, it is easier to spot errors once an individual has a mind map of what to look for. It is with practice that I have managed to inculcate the simple rules laid out by e-gmat, that one has to primarily comprehend the unambiguous meaning of the sentence first and then only look for the types of grammatical errors. My strike rate fluctuates in SC owing to my concentration levels given a particular day.
The journey to get a decent score in GMAT has been long, difficult and one of self-discovery. I will like to thank e-gmat for making it easier through their verbal online course

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By tabsang 16 66
Self-reported Score:

720

Q45

V43

Improvement:

50 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

I'm yet to give my GMAT but I just had to write this review. A big shout out to the e-GMAT team for helping me out with my prep. This is a debrief of my journey so far and how e-GMAT has helped me improve.

The first thing I realized while prepping was that despite putting in effort, I was not seeing an improvement in my score. My diagnostic score was a 700 (Q45, V42) and all subsequent efforts were around the 700 mark - 680, 670 & 640. This obviously got me worried as I had hit the dreaded 'score plateau'.

I started going through debriefs on BTG and GMAT club to determine if there were others who were facing a similar issue. A commonality that I found was that these fellow GMAT-aspirants had signed up for the e-GMAT course and were swearing by the improved results that they saw. I had my doubts about this course and started off with the free verbal webinars conducted by Rajat from e-GMAT. I absolutely loved the webinars and promptly signed up for the e-GMAT Online course.

The prep:
I was struggling with RCs and thought that I good at SC and CR. However, I didn't have empirical data that backed this perception and there was no baseline. I decide to start from the start and the first module that I completed was Master Comprehension. This is the fundamental course for verbal and greatly helped me reorient my reading habits. The learnings are basic yet so important and I could feel the difference as I attempted RC and CR questions - improved focus and attention to detail.

Next up, I started with Scholaranium as I had to determine my baseline. This is what blew me away. Super Stuff. Schloranium is a dashboard that slices and dices your abilities in terms of strengths and weaknesses in all topics both, in quant and verbal. I started with solving all ability quizzes in quant and verbal and was amazed at the insights. I realized that I needed improvement in number properties, algebra and SC - and these were topics I thought I was good at !!!

I prioritized my study scheduled basis my strengths and weaknesses and put a countdown to my next full-length. I took my next test in about two weeks after I started my course and scored a 670 (Q43, V40). This was a big bummer but I was determined to figure out what went wrong since I was very confident going into this test. Turns out it was a timing problem - back to the drawing board. Two weeks of prep peppered with drills on e-gmat and practice from OG17, 16 & 15. Next test on 1st June 2017, I socred a 720 (Q45, V44). I can't convey what that felt like because this meant that I had surpassed the score plateau and was on my way to my target score of 750+.

My test day is a couple of weeks away and I'm now spending time in perfecting the core skills taught in the e-GMAT course and am going over fundamental principles in the concept files and yes, solving multiple sets of questions. I will definitely share my debrief post my GMAT but in the meanwhile I want to say this:

"If you're feeling stuck, disappointed or demotivated because you've hit a score plateau, don't worry. I was there too and the e-GMAT Online Prep course and OG practice has helped me overcome this. Attend Rajat's free webinars and if you like them, go ahead and buy the course because you will absolutely love the prep."

Feel free to reach out to me in the comments. All the best with your prep !

Cheers !

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]



532 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for e-GMAT
e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
71 points
International Student Score Improvement
71 points
Verbal
97%
Quant
91%
Most Reviewed e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
Payal Tandon [201]
    
Rajat Sadana [171]
    
Shraddha Jaiswal [77]
    
Krishna Chaitanya [75]
    
Japinder Kaur [38]
    
Save Up To $430
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$170 coupon code discount
+$260 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code