GMAT Club

e-GMAT Online Intensive Reviews

Full access, Excel through 4 months of intensive preparation, Achieve 740+

GMAT Online Intensive is for aspirants aiming to go from mid 500s to 740+ in a limited time. GO Intensive personalizes your learning experience to optimize the content you need to master and not study what you already know. GO Intensive also ensures that you achieve the required proficiency required to ace each sub-section, enabling you to score 740+ in the most optimal manner.

 

Here is what you will get with e-GMAT Online Intensive:

  • Strategy Onboarding
  • 5 SIGma-X mocks to get an accurate assessment of your abilities
  • e-GMAT PSP to build a personalized and time-optimal study plan
  • Top Instructor curated 200+ hours of video lessons
  • 2500+ Application and Exercise Questions
  • Scholaranium platinum with 2500+GMAT like Questions
  • 24*7 Customer Support
  • Forum Support
  • Hyper-Personalized Improvement Plans

 

Want to try our free trial? Sign-Up here

4.7 /5 Average Rating
5 star
196
4 star
38
3 star
6
2 star
3
1 star
4
Based on 247 reviews
September 19, 2021
pk12344

Joined: Oct 31, 2018

Posts: 6

Kudos: 13

Verified score:
760 Q48 V47 (Online)

760 On My First Attempt While Working Full Time

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT Online Intensive

Location Online

Hi everyone,

I am writing this post to walk you through my GMAT journey in the hopes that you might find it useful. At the very onset, what I have written is not meant to be prescriptive. It is a record of my experience with the GMAT exam and how I prepared for it - if, through this post, you can find even one idea that helps you in your journey, I would have done my job of giving back to the gmatclub community. I have broken this story down into three parts: 1) choosing a study plan, 2) preparing for the GMAT, 3) leading up to the test and the test experience.

Before that my daily schedule (high level):

Wake-up: 6:30 am
Sign-in at work: 8:00 am
Sign-off: 6:00 pm.
Work Out and Dinner: 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm.
GMAT Prep - 9:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Choosing a Study Plan
I decided to take the GMAT in May this year, hoping to apply to business schools by the first round of deadlines in September. I knew a few folks who had already taken the GMAT, so I reached out to them to learn about their prep journey (read quite a few posts from the gmatclub - all very helpful) - a few suggested Manhatten Prep, some suggested Math Revolution, and some others suggested e-GMAT. Everyone who suggested the e-GMAT course raved about its verbal infrastructure and how that was especially important for non-native English speakers.

I chose the e-GMAT because of its strong verbal infrastructure. I knew I had a comparative advantage in verbal over the others, because of my background in public policy. I develop and analyze policies for a living, so CR and RC are, in a way, a part of my job. I had also done my research and knew that breaking the 41/42 mark on the Verbal section in the GMAT exam increases your score substantially as long as you are hitting a Q48/49. Since my undergrad is in economics and I also do a fair bit of data science (for fun), my quant skills are decent. So I wanted a course that could complement my existing strengths and help me break the V41/42 threshold. I set a V45 target for myself.

Before starting the course in June, I took an official mock test to see where I stood. I started with a 650 - Q44 and V35. I realized I was relying too much on my instincts on SC. And while your instincts can serve you well (depending on how strong your foundations are in verbal), they won't take you too far when you start getting those hard (>700) type questions. My accuracy on >700 SC questions was abysmal, and I knew that was holding me back. e-GMAT treats SC like science and breaks down each sentence into various components - one then analyzes each component independently to see if they fit together well. Does the meaning of the sentence make sense? And if it does, does the grammar fit well into it? Once you can comfortably answer those two questions, picking the right answer becomes easier.

Preparing for the GMAT
I input my mock test scores on the e-GMAT diagnostic report and they gave me a plan for the next three months. I tweaked that plan to suit my own goals. So through the course of the three months, I spent 70 percent of the time on Verbal, understanding the "science-like approach to sentence correction" and 30 percent of the time on Quant.

For SC I started from the very basics - what is a sentence and built on my prep from there. For every module, e-GMAT starts you off with a pre-assessment quiz. This tells you where you stand before taking the module. Then after you complete the module, they do a post-assessment quiz to show you how far you have come. The "pre-assessment, prepare, and post-assessment" structure was very important for me since I got to see my progress daily.

I would study the module, take the post-assessment quiz and then attempt 10-15 OG questions daily. Once you complete each module on the e-GMAT in its entirety, you can take "cementing quizzes". These quizzes are there to test how far you have come and how well you understand the concepts you have studied.

For RC and CR, I read 4-5 articles a day from the economist on topics I was not used to such as geology, and other sciences. I did not dedicate as much time to learning the basics of RC and CR but spent a lot of time doing mock questions daily. In addition to the 10-15 SC questions, I would do around 3 RC and 10 CR questions daily. You will notice as you read more your RC and CR automatically improve. That said, if you are not a reader then e-GMAT does have some very helpful tips on tackling RC and CR too and they follow the same "pre-assessment, prepare, post-assessment" structure here.

For quant, I focussed predominantly on the word problems section since they make up for the most number of questions on the GMAT. The section is broken down into topics, and each topic starts from the basics. Once you are done with the concept file, you take post-assessment quizzes and see how well you understand the section. I would often couple my preparation with about 20 questions from the OG daily.

Leading Up To The Test and The Test Experience

Through the course of my prep I took four mock tests:
June (before starting my prep) - 650: V35, Q44 (official test 1)
July (mid-July, a month into my prep) - 740: V42, Q49 (official test 2)
July (last week) - 690: V38, Q47 (official test 3)
August (1 week before my test) - 720: V41, Q48 (official test 4).
I never attempted the AWA or the IR sections of the official mock tests. I would suggest you do. Doing so will give you a good sense of the entire exam and how long it takes. Also, IR and AWA can be tricky for some people, and you don't want any surprises on test day. My third mock score threw me off a little bit, but my performance was a function of how I was feeling that day. I had not slept well and was tired. It is important to know what you need in terms of prep for test day to be your optimal self. In my case, it is a good night's sleep and a light breakfast. Another important factor (for online test takers from home) is to prep on a whiteboard with markers. Make sure you are comfortable using a whiteboard before test day. Using it for the first time on test day can be detrimental to your performance. I started working on a whiteboard 2-3 weeks before my actual test. Small things, such as the smell of the marker, being used to erasing after solving 2 or 3 questions, getting used to the feel of the board, etc. may seem minor but can prove to be useful on the test day.

My actual test day was alright. I logged in 15 mins before the test was scheduled to start. The proctor checked my room through the camera and performed the formalities and I was on my way. My last tip to you would be to start your exam with your strengths. The GMAT allows you to structure your exam the way you like. Always start with the section you are good at. That sets the pace for the rest of your test. Imagine not performing well and moving onto the next section - you are already demoralized. So you might not be your best self in a section you would otherwise ace had you been happy and confident. Now imagine starting strong - you are happy and confident with your performance so far, you move to your relatively weaker section but because you have done well so far, you perform better than you would have as a disappointed test taker. That is the approach I take - does not mean it is correct.

Remember, the GMAT is just an exam and you can take it multiple times (ideally you would not have to but not doing well is not the end of the world). Also, it is just one of the many factors in a bschool application (assuming you are applying to bschool). If you don't do as well as you would have liked, IT IS OKAY. Be honest in your preparation. Be kind to yourself. And you will do well :)

Final score - 760: V47, Q48, IR5, AWA6

If you'd like to talk more about the exam, my prep, or just get to know me better, feel free to connect with me on Linkedin - www.linkedin.com/in/pratiquekain

Read More

November 23, 2021
udayy

Joined: Mar 28, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q49 V36

650 to 700 within 20 days

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course e-GMAT Online Intensive

Location Online

I had taken E-GMAT's online intensive package in March, I was not particularly good at grammar, The course helped me improve my grammar and the package is structured in such a way that I was able to understand the basics in a concise and structured manner. Also at the end of every section, there is a review test to check our progress.
I am particularly fond of Scholaranium, where you can choose the type of questions and level of questions. I liked the quality of explanation and analytics provided by the E-GMAT team to help me understand my weak points and to work on them.
Sigma-X mock tests approximated the real GMAT tests, and here again, the level of analysis provided is exemplary.
I used to score above 700 in my mock tests, but when I scored 650 on my first attempt I was worried and reached out to e-GMAT team, they calmed me down and gave me pointers to focus on my strengths and not get tensed up. I am happy to report a fifty point increase. I wholeheartedly recommend e-GMAT for excellence in GMAT.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 22, 2021
punith0894

Joined: Aug 25, 2020

Posts: 10

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
720 Q49 V40 (Online)

A One-Stop Shop

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course e-GMAT Online Intensive

Location Online

When I first started my preparations for GMAT, I used only the Official Guides as I thought that my subject knowledge was good enough to crack the exam. But boy, was I wrong !!

When I figured out that there's more than just subject knowledge needed to crack GMAT, I started looking for an online course that would help me in the same. That's when I took a trial session with E-GMAT.

The course is so comprehensive that I didn't find the need to look further. E-GMAT not only helps understand the concepts but also helps with the approach to get above 700.

The course has everything you could ask for, and more. I would strongly recommend E-GMAT to any person, be it a professional or a student, preparing for the GMAT.

Read More

November 20, 2021
rohitsk91

Joined: Oct 31, 2021

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40 (Online)

A rollercoaster 4 month journey to a GMAT 730

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course e-GMAT Online Intensive

Location Online

Content : The content for Verbal is extremely thorough. The concept files are probably the best you have ever seen from 2 aspects, first of course is the actual material, second aspect is the progression it follows.

Practice: the platform that E-Gmat uses to help you in practicing questions provides more than enough data for you individually analyze your weak sections and subsections.

Quant: The new quant 2.0 prep material is extremely targeted. The idea is that you can focus on areas that you need particular help with (if that's the approach you need to take due to time constraints)

Mocks: The mocks are slightly tougher than the actual test (quant is tougher, verbal is very representative). But the best part is you can get an ESR like analysis after each mock test you give you more than enough metrics to actually strategize to improve on your next mock.

Read More

November 17, 2021
Tk02

Joined: Jan 02, 2021

Posts: 3

Kudos: 8

Verified score:
700 Q50 V35

A 100 score improvement in 30 Days!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course e-GMAT Online Intensive

Location Online

My GMAT journey started back in February. I had a goal in my mind to give the exam latest by July to apply in R1 for the MIM program in Europe.
I started with clearing my basics from Manhattan. Since I have always had a comfort level with Quant, it hardly took me 3-4 weeks to get a stronghold on GMAT quant. And later, I began with Verbal – starting with SC, followed by CR, and finally RC. Together with Verbal, I made sure to practice Quant daily so that I don't lose the grip on the concepts.
Though I struggled with Verbal in the initial days, I started doing better as weeks passed by, and ultimately, I started giving the official mocks. My score on the official mocks ranged from 740 to 780 and henceforth, I booked my exam for the second week of September. I was pretty confident on the day of the exam – Considering my score on the official mocks!
I started with Quant (my comfort zone) and bombed it pretty bad. I had to guess the last 10 questions and my confidence went down pretty bad, which impacted my Verbal as well. I couldn’t perform to my best and I was certain that I wouldn’t get anywhere near 700. But when I clicked on END EXAM – I got the shock of my life. The screen showed 600 (Q41 and V32)!!! I wasn’t expecting a score this low.
I was highly disappointed with my quant score specifically since I always scored a Q50 or a Q51. And the Quant on the real exam is way tougher than the one provided on mocks

While I was exiting from the Exam center, I was certain that I would go with E-Gmat for my second attempt, give it a month and apply in R2. I decided to go for E-Gmat since I have seen amazing reviews of the platform on GMATCLUB and YouTube and people getting a 100+ score improvement in a few weeks.
I took a break for 10-15 days and bought the e-GMAT plan for a month. I started with giving the first mock and analyzed my weaker areas in both Quant and Verbal. The personalized study plan further helped me in following a structured approach in my preparation. I booked the exam for the second week of November and studied diligently.


E-GMAT, to be precise, has helped me in several ways. Not only did it help me in improving my Vimprove my Verbal, but it with good methodologies in Quant. Which ultimately
E-GMAT helped me in the following ways


1. I was able to equip myself with better and structured methodologies in Word Problems and Number Properties – the areas in which my accuracy was relatively low and I used to take more time while solving these questions (even below 600 level).

2. I learned the Meaning Driven approach in SC and my accuracy became way better just in 5-6 days. The Practice Files and GMAT skills file helped a lot in grasping the techniques and methodologies. The best and the most unconventional thing I found was "Breaking the myth on ‘being’.

3. Coming to CR – MY WORST FEAR! The falsification conclusion and Pre-thinking techniques in E-GMAT helped in solving CR questions in a timely and efficient manner. MY accuracy in CR was as low as 35% and it sky-rocketed to 85% in just a couple of days- thanks to E-GMAT!

Now Coming to the best part about E-Gmat – The Last Mile Program.
I was invited by Archit Bhargava to be a part of this program, 15-16 days before my exam. He analyzed the SIGMA-X Mock my ESR report of the previous attempt and designed personalized improvement plans for the sections in which I lacked the most. He gave me 2-3 days' targets accordingly and would see if my accuracy has improved or not in the respective section. He helped me understand where I had conceptual gaps, where I had to focus on process skills, and where I was good at but still needed to work on the timing. His plans were precise and realistic to follow. He helped me overcome my fear of CR. Even if I was doing good in CR before coming in touch with him, he asked me to visit the process and GMAT skills file again and re-learn the methodologies, and to be honest that was the most beneficial advice for me in this whole journey. He made sure that I attempt all the hard level questions of CR- I was running away from them but he made me face my fears and conquer them.

Archit even recorded a personalized video of my mock attempts and made sure that I learn from my mistakes. The video revolved around the timing strategies, the concepts, and how to go about the real exam. He made me understand that things can go South if you spend more than 4 minutes on a question and still get that wrong – certainly because of which I flunked my first attempt. The best thing about Archit was that he responded to me even during the weekends and Diwali, he understood that my exam was approaching and never backed off from responding to my queries.

I inculcated his insights and advice in my second attempt and was able to come closer to my target score. I got a 700 (Q50, V35). When the score flashed in front of me- all I could think about was that it wouldn't have been possible without e-GMAT and the endless support of Archit.

Read More

November 11, 2021
iadityasomani

Joined: Jun 24, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q50 V37

A one stop Platform for GMAT.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course e-GMAT Online Intensive

Location Online

E-gmat course helped me improve from 640 in the initial sigma X mock to 710 ( Q50 V37) in a span of four months even though I was working in shifts during this period. Coming from a Hindi Medium background, I was skeptical about verbal section, but the e-gmat course made it so systematic and easy that I was able to score V37. I will recommend E-GMAT to everyone who wants to score high on verbal section.

What I liked the most?
Hyper personalization
I was invited by Archit Bhargava to be part of LMP (Last Mile Program), a program where he would support me as a mentor. I cannot thank Archit enough for his support during my GMAT prep. He analyzed every single part of the Six Sigma X Mocks I took, beginning with my initial diagnosis one, and designed personalized improvement plans for each of the sections of the exam. He helped me understand where I had conceptual gaps, where I had to focus on process skills, and what areas I had already “conquered”. Archit also supported me until my exam day, helping me overcome any fall, to arrive at the GMAT with full confidence.

Approach
e-GMAT has a very structured approach to achieve test readiness. Each of the subtopics of both Quant and Verbal is structured around a three-step learning process: (1) concept, (2) process, (3) GMAT skills. This method allows one to be certain of the readiness to move to the following step, and to calibrate the time dedicated to each subtopic in a very personalized way.

Platform
The Scholaranium 2.0 is a very powerful platform. It provides as many KPIs and metrics as one can imagine to identify the process flaws and knowledge gaps at a very detailed level to know exactly what to do to improve. It keeps track of the results for the different levels of questions. With Scholaranium 2.0, one can design custom quizzes and can even choose the subtopic! For example, one can design a quiz only on hard-level questions on modifiers within the SC section. The explanation of how questions should be resolved is very detailed and allows one to identify what went wrong or to confirm a correct.

Sigma X Mocks
The Sigma X Mocks very well represent the real exam. The adaptative software makes the experience very similar to that of the GMAT. From my own personal experience, I can say these mock exams even have more difficult questions than the GMAT, which allows one to be confident that when preparing for this hard questions, one is for sure covering the difficulty that will be find in the exam.

My study mentor: Archit
My journey would not have been the same without Archit. He was there to take my phone call at whatever hour each time I felt I would not make it in time, to adapt my study plan around my crazy work schedule, to help me define concrete next steps. Archit was the game changer in my GMAT journey.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 05, 2021
nehaagrwl

Joined: Dec 09, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q48 V37 (Online)

E-gmat - A helpful structured course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT Online Intensive

Location Online

When I started my MBA Prep journey, I was preparing in a very unstructured manner. I bought an Official Guide and had a few other resources from a friend but it was all scattered. That's when I decided I need to get enrolled in a course to get everything streamlined and I came across e-gmat. I found the reviews really good and read stories about how it had helped people score good in their first attempt.

The course is well-structured and cover most of the basics. The modules have illustrative videos which help you grab the concepts quicker. The quizzes between different sections are really helpful to test what you have understood and tells you if you have to revisit the concepts. The videos and the methodologies explained really helped me to solve questions faster. I would like to specially highlight their methodologies for the verbal sections. They are well taught and help you understand the question and analyse the question really well. Every question is broken down into several parts in the concept videos and that has really helped me get a good grasp of the concepts.

Another useful tool in the e-gmat course is the Scholoranium which has a good collection of questions and is designed in a way to help you get valuable insights about your performance - on average time taken to solve questions, sectional accuracy, topic-wise accuracy, performance graphs over a shorter period of time, etc. It's definitely the USP of e-gmat.

Mock tests are also available with the course which further helped me acclimatise to the GMAT test. The questions and the flow of questions are quite representative of the official GMAT test.

To sum up, e-gmat really helped me and I managed to score a 700 in my first attempt. However, I plan to seek mentorship guidance from e-gmat further to improve my score to attain my target score.

Additional Feedback after I took the mentorship -

To add on, I took a mentorship from e-gmat and my mentor is Dhananjay Lowe from e-gmat. After I took the mentorship, Dhananjay provided me with a study plan which was personalized based on my weaknesses and abilities. He helped me analyze my key areas on improvement and suggested ways in which I could improve on my weak areas. In my first attempt of GMAT, I was not so confident but in my second attempt of GMAT, I was much more confident and was able to complete the sections in time. This was possible only after working on my weak areas continuously and taking custom quizzes as suggested by Dhananjay. I followed his instructions and was able to perform better. I got a better idea on how to analyze customized tests and mock tests after he shared videos with me.

To sum up, e-GMAT really helps you prepare in a hyper-personalized manner, constantly focusing on what areas you are faltering in.

Read More

October 23, 2021
vipal

Joined: Feb 12, 2021

Posts: 6

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
710 Q50 V35 (Online)

GMAT Online - 710

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT Online Intensive

Location Online

I purchased the e-GMAT Course (Quant and Verbal both packages) after going through a free trail version. What really set them apart from other test prep companies is the analysis provided after every Scholaranium test which helps you gauge your strengths and weaknesses.

The verbal course is phenomenal. Some reading strategies taught in the course have helped me immensely through the journey. Quant questions are good for practise.

Coming to the Sigma-X mock tests - I scored a 700 in the fifth and the last mock which is very close to my actual GMAT score of 710. Dhananjay (DJ) mentored me during the final phase of my preparation. The kind of dedication that he and others at e-GMAT show is remarkable! Thank you for being a part of my jouney.

If you're preparing for GMAT, do check them out.

Read More

October 17, 2021
saunakbiswas2407

Joined: Sep 16, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q50 V35

E-GMAT: One of the better courses out there.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course e-GMAT Online Intensive

Location Online

Before I say much about the E-Gmat course, I will give a brief account of my current circumstances to provide better understanding about how the E-Gmat course was well suited for me. I am a working professional with almost 9 years of experience. The reason I mention this is that I had not given a standardized test for almost 9 years. Hence, getting back into the game and striving to get a score needed a lot of effort since I had forgotten most of my high school mathematics and didn’t have the sharpness of a younger mind. Moreover, I have a full time job so I needed to make time for preparation on top of my professional and personal commitments. This may not be such a big deal for many but since I was starting from scratch on a lot of the GMAT concepts, this meant a great deal of cognitive flexibility on my part to come out of my professional “work life” mode and into my ‘test taker” mode.

In my opinion, this is where the real strength of e-Gmat lies. e-Gmat is a course that is ideal to suit an online preparation format. Right from the system architecture to the feedback methods and various analytical tools provided, the system was perfect for me since I could not give fixed times of study every day. The advantages of online preparation are the flexibility with time and pace of the courses and e-GMAT executes this perfectly.

Firstly, the e-GMAT course material is designed in such a way that it tests your prowess in all the GMAT concepts from time to time to save as much time in preparation as possible. Always take the test, whether they are diagnostic tests, practice quizzes, application files… etc. The e-GMAT system is designed in a way that rewards success in the course by reducing the time spent on concepts we are aware and rewards failure by making sure the concepts we are weak in get sufficient attention. This is very evident from the Quant portion of the e-GMAT system.

The Verbal section of the e-GMAT system is quite unique. e-GMAT’s meaning based approach to SC is definitely the best in the market. It brings all the concepts of grammar, logic, and vocabulary together in a concise and precise manner and all the application files make sure that we understand and apply this method well.

The RC method is a bit lengthy I feel. The whole idea of making summaries is worthwhile but seems a bit time consuming in the exam environment. I feel this aspect needs a lot of practice from the student’s side. Although in all honesty, this approach did help me get out of my totally blank approach to RC.

This brings us to CR, the real mindbender. While e-GMAT advocates an effective method of pre-thinking, its application though challenging is fine-tuned by Scholaranium. I think Scholaranium is a wonderful tool which provides a lot of good feedback for the student. No one is perfect at Scholaranium so do not expect perfect green bars with 90 percentiles in everything. It’s a tool improve score. Hence, use it extensively, attend to the weak areas again and again. That’s what Scholaranium is there to do, build foundations out of failures.

Finally, the Sigma X mock tests are quite accurate in their representation of the GMAT. In all honesty, my GMAT experience was quite humbling. At the start, we are all heroes in our own stories. Hence, we believe that we are infallible and expect 800 right off the bat. The Sigma X mock tests helped me come back to reality and understand the challenge but the analytics behind them was the real help which showed me how to take a successful test. I think what many students fail to grasp is that the GMAT is more of a test of planning your failures rather than concentrating on your successes. This is what the Sigma X mock tests can catch and show well through its data analytics.

Overall, the e-GMAT course is definitely the best for an online mode of preparation. It was the best for me with my busy schedule and numerous activities. Finally, I would say it was a marvelous experience and a joyful journey. Thank you for all the help, e-GMAT team.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 17, 2021
NishanthJ

Joined: Jul 31, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q49 V40

e-GMAT Verbal Comes To Rescue | Quant 2.0 Lives Upto Its Promise

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course e-GMAT Online Intensive

Location Online

My tryst with GMAT began less than 6 months back. I was not confused with which training program to opt for as I have been around friends who spoke very highly of e-GMAT and dedicated their scores to its Verbal course. I immediately signed up, and I took up their Quant course as well since I saw that their Quant 2.0 xPERT AI promised a score of Q49+ for those with the ability. The following paragraphs aim to highlight the specific reasons why and ways in which e-GMAT has worked for me and is sure to work for most non-native speakers of English.

Though my entire education has been in the English language, as would be the case with most people who pursue GMAT, it was important to know that my control over the language is quite different from that of an average American professional. With that in mind, I started the e-GMAT course with a Sigma-X Mock Test and scored a 640 (V33, Q45). I reached out to the support team and they shared a Personalised Study Plan (PSP) with me, taking into account my starting sub-sectional scores across Verbal and Quant, and the amount of daily time I was willing to dedicate to the preparation. Note that one does not have to do this to get an effective PSP in place - the website is built with a feature where one can create their own PSP by inputting the aforementioned data.

e-GMAT broke down Sentence Correction modules quite effectively and the course was structured in a very non-intimidating way. I did not have to deal with any complicated / complex grammatical terms that most other courses use. e-GMAT helped me approach SC questions in a very simplified way. The meaning based approach that they teach works every single time. Furthermore, the in-house of team of experts offer video solutions to most questions and that is pure gold. They take the time to dissect the question stem, effectively identify the errors and carefully eliminate misleading answer choices. I owe my SC ability entirely to e-GMAT's approach and video-solutions.

CR has always been a difficult sub section for me to get through. I realised that one's abilities need not be high in all sub sections to score in the 90th percentile (overall) on the test. If the ability is high in all other sub sections, then a 90th percentile is possible by ensuring that the ability is reasonably good in the weak sub section. My improvement would not have been possible without e-GMAT's "Pre-Thinking" approach to literally all CR question types. Every question in the course takes the time to effectively teach this approach. Once you get a hang of it, it becomes hard wired and intuitive while solving any CR question. It makes you a better thinker for life!

The reading strategies that e-GMAT teaches are crucial for a good RC score. I would not have been able to perform well in RC had I not religiously followed these reading strategies. They also build your confidence to deal with any passage irrespective of what it speaks about. As an Engineer, I was uncomfortable with Humanities passages. As an Indian, I was uncomfortable with passages based on American Politics. I could effectively deal with both types by following the strategies taught by e-GMAT.

Coming to Quant, I don't think there is any other course out there that gives you hyper specific data on your performance on quizzes and tells you what to takeaway from it. The difficulty level of e-GMAT's quant is reasonably high and rightly so. Neither the OG nor the Official Mocks are a true representation of the difficulty level one faces in the real test, at a Q49-51 level. The course is built in such a way that there are summary slides for every concept in every sub section so that the student can revise specific areas efficiently instead of spending excess time in redoing modules.

Sigma X Mocks are a very accurate representation of one's abilities. The Official Mocks usually have a 30-40 point error margin but the Sigma X Mocks have a 20 point margin only. Further, Sigma X Mocks pretty much simulate data in an ESR fashion, with specific data across sub sections and overall too. Pro tip: hide the per question timer on the Sigma X Mocks as the main exam does not have it. This tip will help you manage time better - a crucial factor that can give or take 20 points on the overall score.

MOST IMPORTANTLY - I have to thank Archit who was my mentor in the LMT (last mile training) program. e-GMAT chooses who to take in in this program, based on the student's dedication and performance across quizzes and Sigma X Mocks. Archit was super patient with me and helped me draft specific cementing plans that helped me bridge the gap in CR. He was my go-to person for everything related to the GMAT. Archit also helped me prepare for IR and AWA with some essential pro tips without which I could not have scored perfectly in these two sections.
Having this one person to consult with and be answerable to has definitely helped me work through day-to-day targets and pick myself up on days when I felt demotivated or defeated. Many, many thanks to e-GMAT for building this program!

TLDR: e-GMAT is the best test preparation program out there. My satisfaction level is through the roof and I would not change a thing if I were given the opportunity to do so. Be diligent and hardworking, and e-GMAT will incentivise you with the LMT program. Once that happens, you can be sure that you will score in the 90th percentile. Special mention to Rajat, Payal, Harsha, Shraddha & Stacy for the super insightful webinars they host on YouTube (they are free to attend for anyone).

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.