GMAT Club

Payal Tandon Reviews

Company: e-GMAT

“If you take on a task, give it your 200%, or else don’t take that task on at all”. This is what Payal often tells her students, her team members, and even her daughter.

A perfectionist to the core, she gives everything her best without cutting any corners. No wonder she has been a topper throughout her academics. She was the topper (the absolute topper, not just 99 percentile) in the 12th grade State of Haryana board exam taken by more than 1 million people.

Pursing her passion of making learning effective and enjoyable, Payal is constantly thinking of better ways to impart skills to people – whether it is how to read a passage more efficiently, how to deconstruct a sentence, or how to train other experts. At e-GMAT, Payal oversees curriculum development, expert training, and all operational activities. In a nutshell, she is committed to the success of all e-GMAT-ers.

Source: https://e-gmat.com/courses/quant-live-prep/instructors/#


4.8 /5 Average Rating
Based on 246 reviews
June 09, 2019
rajivism2k9

Joined: Jan 13, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
550 Q50 V16

Not an optimal GMAT preparation tool.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT GMAT Live Prep

Instructor Payal Tandon

Location Online

I started preparing for GMAT somewhere in Apr-17 by my own and given my first GMAT on 09-Sept-17. I had only referred only one book -Princeton GMAT Review apart from the diagnostic test from official guide. I scored a score of 560(Q49, V17) which I cancelled as my target score was 650+. I asked few of my colleagues for my improvement in the score. They suggested to take e-GMAT course. I enrolled on 14-Sept-17 for this course. I judiciously completed complete verbal course and solved all the recommended official questions. I partially solved their verbal scholoranium. I also went through their Quant courses partially. Meanwhile I had scheduled my exam date which was 04-Mar-18. I got a score of 580 (Q49, V19). Again I cancelled my score as it was not meeting my minimum score criteria of 650. I took six month extension of their course to complete the Quant as well as scholaranium. I fully competed the quant course, completed Quant and verbal scholaranium to a great extend and brushed up the verbal portion. I again appeared for the GMAT on 04-Aug-18 and ended up with 550 (Q50, V16).

Whether e-GMAT course was not effective for my preparation?

I started systematic with e-GMAT course as per their recommended schedule. I simply printed their recommended time table and pasted it on the wall. I simply colored the portion i completed. It took me around 4 months to complete the sentence structure and another two month for critical reasoning and reading comprehension. The course material was assisted with the live sessions by their instructors. The recommended official questions numbers were listed which I solved as per the guideline. The sentence correction course is quite dense, CR was moderate and RC was only explained with help of 2-3 examples. Though I brushed up the concept related to GMAT questions through this course and got a quite good understanding about the question types and pattern but I failed to improve my verbal score. In case of quant, though I improved only from Q49 to Q50, I was quite comfortable solving the quant questions in my 3rd attempt.

e-GMAT verbal teach concepts of verbal but it fails to provide the skills to make one fast. Even it makes one quite slow in their approach as there is no time to use the recommended methodological approach. e-GMAT quant approach is also methodological which might make one slow but a person of math background can get one's concept brushed up and can manage to have some improvement in score.

e-GMAT doesn't provide any exclusive instructor as they have various instructors for different topics who conducts live session. Live sessions adds only limited value to the preparation and is not as effective as advertised.

Looking forward for improvement in verbal through further preparations.

Read More

March 26, 2019
gaurav9024

Joined: May 20, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
620 Q48 V27

Strategic planning and execution leads to success

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course e-GMAT GMAT Live Prep

Instructor Payal Tandon

Location Online

Subscribe to EGMAT Verbal course. Their great content is great and the analytics are pretty engaging. Tried and tested by yours truly. You will encounter two options, the Online Prep and the Live Prep. The difference between the two is that the Live Prep has additional three hour webinars on the weekends. No new concept is taught in these webinars, only the application part is strengthened by solving 4-5 questions collectively. Choose whichever option you like.

GMAT Verbal consists of three subsections – SC (Sentence Correction), CR (Critical Reasoning) and RC (Reading comprehension). I would suggest that you start off with SC (time to complete approx. 4 weeks), after which your brain will probably get fried up and thus for pain relief, go to RC (pretty lame stuff, finishes in about a week) and at last take up CR (approx. 4 weeks). This entire time calculation depends on the assumption that you will be spending a quality 2 hour period each day on study and maybe double of that on the weekends.

On the EGMAT platform, you will encounter Concept files (which teach the theory), application files (IMO the most important since they teach you the application of the concepts learnt earlier via 3-4 questions), and practice files (questions from the EGMAT Scholaranium database). After this, there are topic wise questions to be solved from the Official Guide (OG) and the Verbal Review (OG VR).
In a nutshell here’s the Verbal approach for you - Concept < Application < Practice < OG < OG VR. Do this topic wise in each subsection (e.g. SC / CR / RC) and move ahead. By doing this you will comprehensively finish the topic wise content of the Verbal section.

At the same time, please, for the love of god, maintain an error log. An error log is simply a collection of questions which you attempted incorrectly. All the questions on the EGMAT platform have excellent in-built analytics so there is no need to log those. But the ones which you get wrong on the OG and the OG VR, do put them in. My preferred way is to take a picture or a snapshot and then paste it on a power point presentation. Make a small text box as to what you need to remember or where you faltered. Do this for the Quant section too.

Thus, for the Verbal section, the resources which will give you a comprehensive preparation are –
• EGMAT – Theory + Scholaranium
• Official Guide
• Official Guide Verbal Review

Read More

March 04, 2019
DisciplinedPrep

Joined: Jan 15, 2018

Posts: 606

Kudos: 602

Verified score:
720 Q50 V37

e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep - Amazing course for non-native speakers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT GMAT Live Prep

Instructor Payal Tandon

Location Online

e-GMAT Sentence Correction must be of the best courses for non-native test-takers; the concept files are very effective and the course offers a huge repository of GMAT-like practice questions. The e-GMAT 3 step approach to SC is extremely helpful and makes the most challenging questions seem more approachable. The Reading Comprehension approach is equally good as well.

The support team at e-GMAT is extremely helpful; all emails are promptly responded within 24-48 hours. The team is friendly and genuinely invests in test-takers GMAT preparation.

I highly recommend non-native test-takers to enroll in e-GMAT verbal Online + Live Prep course in case you are struggling with the verbal section.

Thank you, Rajat, Payal, Krishna, and the rest of the e-GMAT team.

Read More

February 25, 2019
bhaumik102

Joined: Feb 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Amazing GMAT resource for Verbal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT GMAT Live Prep

Instructor Payal Tandon

Location Online

e-GMAT is one of the most comprehensive resource for GMAT verbal section. For me, the SC and RC sections were most helpful both in terms of increasing my understanding of the subject and increasing my ability tackle GMAT like questions. The OG quizzes really stand out for me, the manner which all the OG questions for a given topic are all clubbed at the same place helped me to identify the different variants in which the concepts are tested in the real GMAT.

For SC
The concepts are easy to digest and once you start trusting the e-GMAT process , it does surely start to reap it's benefits. Although the process initially takes time, It took me about 2.5-3 mins to get through a SC question but with practice i was able to get that time down to 1;30-2 mins without any dip in my accuracy.

For RC
The reading strategies along with pre-thinking concept really helped me to setup a process to tackle any RC passage. As with SC initially my speed was really slow but with time i was able to read a passage with 35-40 lines comprehensively in under 4 mins.

I think the course is best suited for non-native English speaker who are not very clear about fundamental concepts.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 09, 2018
Benji182

Joined: Mar 20, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
630 Q42 V34

egmat verbal live prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course e-GMAT GMAT Live Prep

Instructor Payal Tandon

Location Online

e-gmat's Verbal live prep was a super helpful program. I tried using several books and one other online source. I had a hard time using each of those because they didn't bring in the comprehensive learning approach that egmat's verbal live prep brings. I'll go through each section of egmats verbal live prep and how it was helpful. But first just to clarify, the only reason I gave a 4 star general rate was for functionality of the site. There was a couple times I had problems with general "bugginess" of the the site and where the site went down when I was in crunch time for studying. It was only off for a few minutes but was still annoying. Other than that the site worked great and didn't have any problems. The online modules and web recordings are all incredibly effective because of the interactivity. The interactive nature of the modules allow the user to learn and retain what you're learning. Scholaranium is a great tool to solidify and practice everything you've learned in the learning model.

Sentence Correction: The sentence correction program was incredibly effective. The reason it worked so well was that not only does the program teach grammar rules, it teaches on a meaning based approach. No other program that I tried took this approach and as a result no other program was as effective as egmats. When solving SC questions, testers should not only be thinking about if the grammar rules are correct, but what meaning is the author trying to get across. After learning this my SC approach changed.

Critical Reasoning: Like in my sentence correction approach, I changed my CR approach when I went through the online module. It teaches you to go for meaning when reading the CR question. After I got that concept down, CR started making sense. I didn't rush through problems worrying about time. I didn't look for shortcuts. I took a very fundemental approach to every problem I faced and ensured I understood exactly what the sentence was saying and what was being asked.

Reading Comprehension: RC is an area I really needed help with. Prior to talking the verbal live prep course I tried several ineffective approaches. The approach that worked was egmats, which teaches you to slow down, ensure you are comprhending each sentence you read through, stop and pause when you need time to think about what you read and not oversaturate your mind, and making effective notes that allows you to understand the purpose of the paragraph and allows you to know where to look for specific detail problems.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 03, 2018
aparvez85

Joined: Jul 25, 2018

Posts: 11

Kudos: 15

Verified score:
700 Q49 V35

The most helpful verbal course out there.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT GMAT Live Prep

Instructor Payal Tandon

Location Online

When i started preparing for GMAT, Verbal was my biggest problem area and it was extremely difficult for me to understand why certain options were incorrect and one was correct. I could never never understand any logic behind it.
I wasted 5 weeks doing Manhattan and OG, it just didnt work for me.
I finally came across e-gmat and after a lot of research and asking around i bought the Verbal Live Prep course. From there, there was no looking back. Initially after scoring V25-28 continuously in mocks, i finally score a V35 in the GMAT, enough for the 700 score.
The structure of the course is well defined, easy to follow and track. Audio Visual files of concepts is extremely helpful and a completely new way of teaching a course.
There are enough concept and practice modules for understanding the basics. However, it is never enough. The Scholaranium has some really good GMAT like 700 questions to practice.

They have a very simple 3 step approach which is easy to follow. Their approach is very logical and focuses on the meaning of sentences/ passages and this works wonders!

The Verbal Live Course is exactly the same as the verbal course, except the former has weekend webinars which is very helpful and surprisingly very close to a classroom. Also it kept me on track to complete modules before the weekend webinars. This was a big help for lazy people like me who procrastinate a lot.
However, if you are disciplined enough and keep yourself on track, even the verbal course is as good. You won't be missing out on much.

I wasted a lot of time trying to figure out the right material such as egmat for Verbal, i could have saved a lot of time. So don't be like me, just got for the egmat verbal courses if you are really struggling!

Read More

October 25, 2018
Rohithbk

Joined: Apr 27, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
540 Q48 V18

Improvement 120 Points

Course e-GMAT GMAT Live Prep

Instructor Payal Tandon

Location Online

Both Verbal and Quant sections of e-GMAT has been organised into step by step video lessons, and after each lesson we can evaluate our skill. This is what helped me plan my studies, make a note of where I lag behind and focus on those areas. There is detailed study plan outlined in the 'Your Study Plan' course, which is extremely helpful to make sure you are benefiting the most out of this course. Also, it is essential to know our weak points. With e-GMAT course, it is easy to keep track of them.

Quant was always my strong hand, but still I couldn't score above Q35. After I used e-GMAT, I easily managed to score Q48. Now with a little practise, I am hoping to increase my score to Q50. Once you solve the questions in the Scholaranium, solving 700+ questions becomes a cake walk.

I would highly recommend e-GMAT'S both Verbal and Quant prep for anyone planning to improve their score significantly. All the best !!

Read More

September 06, 2018
shubham2312

Joined: Mar 29, 2015

Posts: 85

Kudos: 26

Self-reported Score:
640 Q49 V28

Verbal for non natives

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT GMAT Live Prep

Instructor Payal Tandon

Location Online

As you can understand from the title of my review that my 1st language is not English, I bumped onto e gmat course after doing much of research and getting great reviews from almost everyone.
I would like to suggest everyone egmat SC and Scolorium is highly useful. As a team member they are highly active in support and easily reachable even during the online sessions. Egmat pre thinking approach is highly useful for GMAT not only for cr but also for SC and rc.

There online resources are best source for practice because every question has been selected after considerable discussion moreover the explanations are on lines with the Gmac.

Read More

August 13, 2018
ishitagupta94

Joined: Aug 17, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q48 V29

Amazing for non-natives who want to improve their verbal scores

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT GMAT Live Prep

Instructor Payal Tandon

Location Online

e-gmat's verbal course was a great resource during my GMAT preparation. After trying various online resources and failing to improve my verbal score, I decided to give it a go with e-gmat trial. The way the course is structured and the focus on meaning made me buy the course right away. e-GMAT focuses on the key aspects you need to learn and you can always benchmark where how you are doing with the powerful scholarium tool. Only few weeks into the course, i feel very confident about my skills and continue to improve! My only regret is to have not discovered e-gmat before and not having more time to improve my verbal ability.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 27, 2018
Maria Antony

Joined: Nov 23, 2015

Posts: 15

Kudos: 2

Self-reported Score:
590 Q47 V24
590 Q49 V22
600 Q47 V26
610 Q46 V27

The best GoTo course for a good verbal score (V40+)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT GMAT Live Prep

Instructor Payal Tandon

Location Online

I subscribed to VLP after having a dismal performance on the GMAT for the 3rd consecutive time. Although I have been an eGMAT client for over two years, I never really implemented the eGMAT processes and always answered questions based on shortcuts and gut feeling. Though I learnt the concepts well from VO, I still succumbed to pressure and anxiety at the time of the test.

Before I share my 2 cents on VLP, let me clarify a myth right here. VLP isn’t a classroom model (instructor-led) coaching to teach you the basics and redo the VO course, but with an instructor instead, VLP complements the VO by helping you to assume the role of both the test maker (Prethink) and test taker (POE). This is precisely why VLP is the best course available in the market.

Here are my brief opinions about the VLP course, in parts:

RC: I have heard enough of reading the passage slowly but never spent my time in knowing what is the optimal reading speed and time. VLP – RC sessions helped me discover how to read a passage and answer RC questions with high accuracy. I have now improved my accuracy to over 80% from a meagre 50%, and I attribute it entirely to the master comprehension course and the VLP- RC sessions.

CR: I usually fare better at CR generally with 70% accuracy but the average time I spend on CR question was way over 2:30 mins. However, after diligently applying the approaches (Prethink and POE) taught in the live sessions, I am now able to see a good improvement in my accuracy while taking much lesser time to answer CR questions (< 2 mins).

SC: I used to score low in SC due to poor comprehension skills. The master comprehension course helped me a lot in SC as well. Now I can break down sentences into smaller chunks and assimilate the meaning and proceed with the POE. The instructors who conducted the live sessions helped me understand the different processes in solving the different error types and made the SC question-solving process a breeze. I have improved my accuracy by leaps and bounds but taking close to 2 mins, which I believe will come down naturally with good practice.

Having outlined these opinions, I believe I will be able to apply the VLP approaches in my next retake and achieve my target score. Stay tuned for a debriefing after my GMAT.

Final Verdict: VLP course will make you think like a test-maker thereby resulting in improving your accuracy to peak levels, and VLP should be your go-to course if you are targeting a good verbal score (V40+).

Read More


76 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Payal Tandon