GMAT Club

David White Reviews

Company: Menlo Coaching

David’s 15-year tech career included executive roles at startups (Efficient Frontier, acquired by Adobe) and publicly traded companies (Yahoo, Travelzoo) across the SF Bay Area and Europe, during which time he hired, trained and developed dozens of young professionals. He has been coaching MBA applicants since 2012 with a special focus on developing the right career goals.

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 21 reviews
April 08, 2019
lsn2021

Joined: Apr 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best of the best! Admitted to Wharton with low test scores

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I highly recommend everyone to consider a consultant especially if you are applying internationally (like I did). There are SO many ill-informed "facts" out there and what you should/should not do. Firstly, I just could NOT get anywhere near my target GMAT/GRE scores and ran out of time to even consider it further (do not recommend!). I was well aware that this was a huge risk submitting with a low 600 score, gave up hope many times, BUT throughout the whole process, David went above and beyond to ensure I was equipped to do my best in other parts of the application. With a low test score, it meant truly bringing out the best parts of my story in my essays and smashing those interviews (David does mock TBDs with real humans, other clients, and it was amazing). Everyone has a unique story (even when I did not think so and I bet you do too!) and David will help you bring this out. There are SO many more reasons I can write to recommend David further but I truly would not have been admitted into Wharton with a low 600 score if I did it alone and I would be very happy to use David/Menlo again but thankfully I don't need to!

Read More

April 05, 2019
zhaonator

Joined: Apr 22, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Overcame Employment History Obstacles

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

After graduating from college I had always had plans of attending a top business program. I decided to reach out early in my career to seek advice, so set up a few initial phone calls with admissions consultants. Although I wasn’t looking to sign up for any formal programs, I was so impressed with Alice and David during my initial phone call that I decided to hire them 3 years ahead of applying. Their initial thoughts about my background, story, and goals were extremely helpful and I was excited about working through their comments the next few years.
However, something unexpected happened soon after. I was fired from the company I was working at. It was a stressful experience, and I knew this would leave a blemish on my employment history that could potentially sink my MBA dreams. I felt comfortable opening up to David about this new development, and he jumped in to help me land on my feet in a new industry that I was very passionate about and that he had experience in. In addition to helping me fix my resume to highlight the transferable qualities and skills that would be attractive to my new employers, he also shared his perspective about the industry and where I should focus my efforts to achieve my long-term goals. David did not mince words, and was very honest and objective with his feedback. But I could tell he always had my long-term interest in mind and so I paid special attention to all his suggestions. After a few twists and turns I managed to secure my dream job, and finally felt like my career was back on track. This would not have been possible without David’s mentorship.
When I began applying to business school, you can guess who I turned to. However I knew it was a long shot. An admissions officer looking at my resume would wince at my incongruent path when compared against candidates with more pristine and understandable career progression. There was less associated risk. David helped me use the personal essay to explain who I was, the events that led up to the firing, and the subsequent decisions and actions that led me to where I am today. It was delicately done, something I am confident I would have botched on my own. But because David had taken the time to get to know me over the years, he was able to give me the important feedback I needed to write my story. He was very professional and instrumental throughout the process, responding back within the same day. By the end, and after back and forth revisions with David, I came away with a story I felt was uniquely my own and that I was proud of. Working with David gave me peace of mind that I put everything on the table. I applied to the top 5 schools, and received interview invites from two of them. When the dust settled, Booth gave me a call congratulating me on my acceptance and thanking me for my honesty in my application. All things considered, I was a risk and they took a chance on me. I could not have been more grateful and I know I would not have the chance to write this had it not been for David’s guidance, encouragement, and diligence through this long journey. He is a great person who will always have my thanks. Anyone looking to overcome obstacles in the admissions process would be extremely lucky to have him on their side.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 02, 2019
bovinematters

Joined: Mar 13, 2016

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q48 V36

Great experience - more than your typical MBA Coach

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I’ve been very fortunate to have worked with Menlo Coaching : David, Alice and team!
As a male Indian tech applicant with a < 700 score, I knew that I was in a very competitive pool of applicants. With Menlo’s help I was able to secure admission into a top 15 school in the US (with significant scholarship) and a top school in Europe, and I’m super happy with the result!

The fact that Menlo choses to work with only a limited no of students per round, maximizes their value add and personalized attention to help you succeed. In our 30min introductory call itself, I realized that David and team really care for you and want you to succeed in getting an admit and not just help you apply to schools.

Firstly, I was very impressed by Menlo’s extremely structured approach - The process is divided into modules and each module (in the form of videos) highlights what you need to do, what mistakes candidates usually make and what are the important actionable takeaways that you need to focus on. It removes the pressure and the anxiety that you feel as an applicant and helps you focus on important things at the right time - from networking events to resume building and perfecting your essays. You won’t have to think much - just follow the steps and you’ll get there!
They also do a brilliant job of pairing you in groups with other applicants with similar backgrounds - so you feel you aren’t alone and makes the whole process fun !

Second, David’s insights into how the admissions process works, and how your profile would be evaluated (depending on nationality, industry background etc) w.r.t your applicant pool was very valuable in deciding what schools I wanted to apply this time (unlike last time where I got 0 interviews despite using a coach). He helped me introspect about my life in way that enabled me to identify and creatively write about my life experiences. It’s easy to not think of such life experiences as true differentiators or “something worthy of writing about in an MBA essay” but this is where David’s creativity comes to the rescue - crafting a compelling story in a *genuine* and simple way which makes the Adcom member reading your application remember you. This is super important - It helps you stand out!

Regarding my resume and essays - I’ve had a lot of anxiety in the past - filled with tech jargons and not having enough examples to quantify my progress (unlike someone coming from a finance/consulting background). My resume has transformed now ! We went through ~ 6 to 7 revisions to discuss each and every line/word to perfect it - convey a result in each bullet in a simple way which makes it easy to understand.
For the essays, David’s help was phenomenal. He really helped me refine my career goals so that it follows a compelling and logical story. He even shared industry trends/ links with me to help me identify trends to speak about in my goals essay. This is the level of personalized attention he gives ! The fact that David has a tech+ business background is a great advantage you have as a tech applicant - he gets the industry, he gets the jargon and then refines it in a simple way that anyone can understand! His turn around time on the essay revisions was super quick (within a day for every draft) and yes, he won’t stop until he feels he has produced the best version! If you have writing anxiety, again..dont worry! Just follow David’s advice, do the work and you’ll churn out great essays!
I completed all my essays 10 days before the Rd1 deadlines !

Finally, menlo’s support for interview prep is top notch! They partner you with a communication coach with whom you can have multiple sessions and get feedback on the way you speak, your body language etc. Super helpful tips which are applicable otherwise to your career.
David and I spent multiple sessions brainstorming how to present my stories in my interviews. I did ~ 4 mock interview sessions and had more than 1 example for each question. The practice sessions were a great confidence booster going into the interviews - no pressure since we had already practiced almost all the questions :)

@All - the investment with Menlo Coaching is worth it! You want to get into an MBA program and you will, and in the process you’ll gain a lot of useful insights and takeaways which are going to help you in your career as well! so dont think twice - these folks are the best out there!

Thank you again David, Alice and Team!

Read More

February 23, 2019
lv25861

Joined: Feb 23, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V45

Incredible MBA Coach!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I first began working with David as part of Menlo’s “Early Birds” program, which is designed to help candidates develop/improve elements of their application profile that require ample lead time (GMAT score, brainstorming “your story”, etc.). As someone from a very non-target background, I found this program to be incredibly helpful. I was able to hear firsthand the experiences of previous Menlo clients, and David worked closely with me to develop my story.

After finding the Early Birds program so valuable, I decided to work with David through the primary application process as well. I applied within a very competitive industry pool, and David spent hours helping me think through ways to position my profile as unique. Then, while writing essays, David continually challenged me to dig deeper and explore how my unique experiences might resonate with each individual program.

I was invited to interview at several M7 programs to which I applied. With David’s help, I went into each interview feeling calm and well prepared. After receiving acceptance letters, David helped me form a negotiation strategy for merit-based financial aid, which ultimately led to several sizable scholarships.

Working with David was a great experience. He provided highly personalized support during each step of my application. He also provided constant guidance and advice, helping me through the ups and downs of the MBA application process. For those reasons, I can’t recommend David enough.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 08, 2019
nr1989

Joined: Mar 15, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q51 V40

Admitted to HBS, Kellogg, Sloan, and Haas!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

The journey to get admitted to top MBA programs, some including scholarship, is an arduous marathon and I couldn’t have asked for better support than David. I am admitted to HBS, Kellogg, Sloan, and Haas, including a full scholarship at one of the schools, making me humbled and elated!

Menlo Coaching’s structured approach to the admission process ensures that you submit the best possible version of your candidacy to the schools because you spent time understanding what schools are looking for and more importantly your own personal story.

Before I approached David, I already had a good GMAT score (750) and knew that I only wanted to apply to a few top 10 programs.

I appreciated that David’s involvement emphasized networking with schools heavily including campus visits and alumni chats and these upfront investments paid off in unexpected ways throughout the process in essays and in interviews, not to mention that they were also instrumental in school selection.

Then, over the course of 6 months, we covered my personal story, career goals, recommender preparation, and writing and speaking styles before we even started looking at the essays. My personal favorites were his work with recommenders and his original ‘training’ on communication.

- I really liked that my recommenders could work with David, if they chose to, to get a second opinion on content/writing style because both my recommenders were new to the process. It is easier for a trusted third-person to discuss praise/critique about me rather than having to do it myself. I was feeling pretty vain writing and talking about myself and I couldn’t have comfortably asked my recommenders to do so in addition.

- Regarding communication, I enjoyed an hour with a public speaking coach who was also an actor. Having a toolkit to loosen up, breathe, and get in the right mindset before the big interviews was priceless

I requested free consultations with numerous consultants and I clicked best with David. The rapport was also extremely important because of the deep personal reflections that are required from this process.

I whole-heartedly recommend Menlo Coaching to anyone who wants to seriously pursue an MBA at a top program. Thank you!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 07, 2019
Dorchester

Joined: Mar 17, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted to HBS Wharton Yale Som

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

My husband and I both worked with David on our applications. David really helped the two of us to create coherent and resonating stories in order to maximize the chances of us getting into the same school. Along the process, he was a true friend who always thought about our applications from our perspectives, offering advice at every single decision making point. A few things that I really appreciated
1) Timeliness: Even though he is located in Europe, the time difference actually helped to get very efficient turnarounds. He was also in NYC for quite some time so that we could have face to face meetings, which was very efficient.
2) Organized: He'll never miss any emails/questions, and all the answers he provided are well thought out
3) Resourcefulness: David always offered good ideas, and chatting with him whenever I felt stuck had a therapeutic effect -- I knew that I was in good hands
4) He's a genuine person: A lot of consultants single goal is to make money and rip people off. It never felt that way. David and Alice always tried to make this holistic experience (organizing gatherings for their clients in the same city, etc). It felt like a community

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 05, 2019
rockzhangkai

Joined: Mar 18, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Great experience - admitted by Wharton

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I strongly recommend Menlo Coaching for anyone who is looking to get into top tier MBA programs.

I started my application in early 2018. After shopping around for a few consultants, I decided to go with David and Alice because of the fabulous reviews on the internet. I am glad that I made the decision as I received an offer from a few to programs including Wharton. Personally, I especially appreciated three aspects of my journey with Menlo Coaching. First, Menlo Coaching helped me to manage a hectic application timeline. I work long hours, and setting aside time for MBA application is extremely challenging. David helped me to compartmentalized the entire application progress into smaller, digestible pieces, which made my application process much more efficient. Second, I got some honest, valuable inputs from David on my essays. He and Alice are great at what they do. David helped me to brainstorm my stories, and pushed me where I could do better. I finally turned my essays into cohesive, interesting stories. Had I not had David's help, my essays would have read like mumbles at best. Third, David cares. I always felt comfortable reaching out to him for advice on my application, and I would always receive timely, candid feedbacks from him. I applied with my spouse and our application profiles were a bit unconventional. David carefully curated our stories lines; beyond that, he also gave us advice on the potential impacts of our admissions on our lives. I appreciate the thoughtfulness. I consider David not only as my consultant, but also as my friend.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 19, 2018
CanadianActuary

Joined: Jan 31, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V44

Admitted to CBS and Wharton

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

This was my second year working with David. Last year, in the first admissions cycle under the Trump administration, my best result was being wait-listed at Booth and eventually denied admission. I’m a Canadian applicant looking to pivot in to investment banking and after David analyzed R1 2017 trends, he helped me trace the issue back to schools being wary of potential H-1B Visa issues.
Despite a disappointing outcome, I had zero doubts that David and I shaped an effective narrative for my story (actuary working with pension funds on investment strategy, wanted to continue to make an impact in this space by moving in to infrastructure investing at a pension fund). David really helped my essays reflect that this was a very well thought out endeavour and that I had a high probability of succeeding in my post-MBA employment goals.
This year, I worked with David to re-apply and he advised me in two areas which made all the difference:
1. Visited CBS prior to submitting my application and had a brief chat with admissions
2. Addressed the Visa issue outright in my supplementary essays by indicating that I would look to recruit in Toronto/London instead
Finally, David also helped me prepare for the Wharton team-based discussion by organizing a group of applicants for a mock interview. In the end, I was admitted to two out of the three schools and would have zero hesitation in recommending David to future applicants.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 03, 2018
ehom

Joined: Jul 30, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted at Wharton, Kellogg, and Anderson with Scholarships!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

Investing in David, Alice, and their holistic approach to the application process is an investment in 1) admission to a program that is right for you and 2) your subsequent success there (which is to say, VERY important!).

Starting Day 1, David gave me invaluable guidance on exactly how to research each target school in a meaningful way – with this research, I painted a 75% picture of what my experience would look like at each program, which removed the uncertainty I felt about whether a program was “right” for me. The research also provided ample material for my essays, reducing the time it took to produce a usable first draft. Since David is based in Amsterdam, his feedback was almost instantaneous – I would send him a draft right before I slept, and the edits were waiting in my inbox the next morning without fail. This made the entire application process extremely efficient and much more enjoyable than I anticipated!

Outside of the application itself, what really sets David and Alice apart is how much they care about you as an individual. Without repeating too much of what other reviewers have mentioned, I can confirm that I truly felt David believed in my story (even sending me related news articles for personal interest) and worked hard to ensure my ideas and experiences came through in my essays and interview responses. I have no regrets about any aspect of the applications because everything was authentic – I’m just glad I had David on my side to ensure I could tell my story in the most compelling way.

I didn’t anticipate getting into more than two schools, but I ended up with acceptances to all my targets and with scholarships. The price tag is higher for Menlo Coaching compared to other consultants, but the ROI is unbeatable! I attribute the scholarships entirely to the quality of my applications and interview prep, and I know the quality was due to David’s constant coaching and support.

As one final proof point, I’m now a first year at Wharton and have checked off half of the items I mentioned in my application essay because I had done the hard research at the beginning of the process. While it’s still overwhelming to adjust to all the opportunities available in school, it has been very helpful to know my game plan to stay focused on my goals and take advantage of targeted resources.

I couldn’t recommend David and Alice more – I can assure that your process from start to finish (and even throughout your program) will be worth it!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 13, 2018
nfangvb

Joined: Jun 19, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great, personable experience with David

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

David was always extremely accessible and truly cared about understanding me as a candidate/applicant. I had changed my timing by pushing out applying for schools by one year and he helped me come up with a game plan in regards to timeline and key steps – including introducing me to a tutor to raise my GMAT score from a 700 to a 720. During the in-between period, he would check-in on me and send interesting e-mails that resonated with my interests. I love how personable he was.

During the application process, David was very helpful in providing feedback, pushing me to think about things and develop my ideas further to be the best essays they could possibly be. He also connected me with other people when I was trying to decide between which school to apply. Least to say, he has an amazing network!

David is a great resource and is always very candid and helpful in sharing advice and insights. I learned a lot about myself throughout the process thanks to David’s guidance. He supported me beyond the application by doing some mock interviews – had a mock with Alice as well to get additional practice and feedback! And the feedback from both sessions were valuable as it not only improved my interview content/responses but also improved the way I presented myself from a subtle soft skills perspective. The interview feedback will be applicable to beyond the MBA application.

Even after the being admitted, the Menlo Coaching team provides support post-admittance! I truly love their service as they are the complete, whole package and both David and Alice go above and beyond with their thoughtfulness. Their team truly cares about the client and this is shown by the support they provide through all facets of the MBA from application to even post-MBA career.

You cannot go wrong working with the Menlo team!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.