GMAT Club

David White Reviews

Company: Menlo Coaching

David’s 15-year tech career included executive roles at startups (Efficient Frontier, acquired by Adobe) and publicly traded companies (Yahoo, Travelzoo) across the SF Bay Area and Europe, during which time he hired, trained and developed dozens of young professionals. He has been coaching MBA applicants since 2012 with a special focus on developing the right career goals.

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 25 reviews
May 13, 2020
cadyjlee

Joined: Jan 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Above & Beyond His "Job Title"

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I was accepted to Wharton, Stern (with full scholarship), and Ross (with $$). David helped make my MBA admission dreams come true!

Looking back to when I was first researching MBA consultants, I was hesitant about the price, but I KNOW now that David and Menlo Coaching were worth every penny. He exceeded my expectations as an MBA coach. Not only did he provide the services that I expected (with recommendations, essays, interviewing, etc.), but he helped me beyond what I was paying for. David helped me develop a very sensitive, personal story (that I have only shared with a handful of people including David) into essays that I am still proud of and gave me guidance with multiple, unexpected issues that came up at my job, including one that I was concerned would affect my MBA candidacy. He gave me the advice I needed to handle these problems at work and still produce the best applications with great results!

I believe in David and Menlo’s work and have been referring David to my friends and co-workers who are thinking about going to business school. One of my best friends is currently working with him now.

Read More

May 10, 2020
Abaileyb

Joined: Dec 06, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q51 V42

David @ Menlo- best in the business!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

If you want to work with the best consultant in the game, look no further. I worked with an admissions consultant for undergrad, and then again to apply for deferred MBA programs while still in school, and most recently for full-time MBA applications with David. The experience working with David when compared to the others I have worked with or friends have worked with is astounding.

David and I started working together about a year before I submitted my first application. He did a great job helping me make professional decisions that would improve my candidacy. Unlike other consultants I’ve worked within the past, David is continually available to meet via Zoom.

David doesn’t just help with the tangibles (resume/essays etc), he works to learn about you and help you write your story. I think we spent 3-4 hours just discussing my “story”. I truly feel like David got to know me (and that I got to know David) and it made working together more useful and more interesting.

David’s no bull attitude is refreshing. He won’t pull any punches and isn’t afraid to tell it like it is, which is important when working on MBA applications. David forced me to think not only about where I wanted to go to school but what I truly wanted to do after. He even connected me with multiple of his previous clients so I could learn about what work they were doing.

End result: CBS admit with 100k merit scholarship, Wharton admit with 80k merit scholarship

I could not recommend David (and the rest of his team who helped with interview prep) any more highly. If you are here looking for the best, you’ve found him.

Read More

April 27, 2020
thespaniard1

Joined: Apr 22, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Adversity vs Persistence: A Four Year MBA Journey

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I first started working with David White back in 2016. I had just started my first job out of college and wanted his help in strategizing my career while I plan to apply for MBA programs in the next 2-3 years. From the first time we chatted, David demonstrated that he was committed to helping me achieve my dreams. Always responsive, professional and structured, he spent so much time helping me craft my story, advising me on making the right career moves, and even connecting me with great GMAT tutors.

I was definitely not the easiest client to work with: I had a lot to juggle along with my job and extra curriculars, I had a below average GMAT/GPA, came from a non-orthodox background, and went through family hardships during the process. David was there in my corner every step of the way, continuously encouraging and advising me on how best to move forward. I had even applied during the 2018-2019 cycle, when I only applied to H/S/W with only a 640 GMAT - though I was able to secure an interview at Wharton, I of course didn't make it into any schools. It didn't stop him from continuing to help me during next admissions cycle.

I had a lot going against me. I started in community college and even went through a job layoff during the process - Menlo Coaching was kind enough to waive fees for me during this cycle because of the layoff. Despite all this, I was able to make it into four top 10 programs. I'm excited to be starting at Wharton this fall (with $$$ on top of it!). This would not have been possible without David there constantly backing me up. He became more than just a consultant, he was a trusted advisor and friend. I cannot recommend him and Menlo Coaching enough - he was absolutely vital in helping me make my dream come true.

He stuck with and never gave up on me, even when I almost did - for that I am eternally grateful. If you're looking to maximize your chances of making into one of these programs - you can rest easy knowing this man will be there to guide you all the way.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 14, 2020
Dfarahi5

Joined: Jun 30, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

My only regret was that I wish I started working with David and his team earlier in the process! Not to say that I ran out of time or felt rushed, but David referred me to a fantastic GMAT tutor that I wish I started with earlier and has great insights on how to approve your application. Menlo coaching has put together a thorough set of materials that lays out the application in a very structured way, making it tough to procrastinate.

I required a lot of attention throughout the application process and David always responded within one day, even on weekends. I was persistent and non-orthodox in my approach and appreciated David’s support. He continued to assist me while I was wait-listed at Wharton and even supported me in my appeal to HBS.

At each step of the way David has prepared materials, additional resources at your disposal and unique insights that allow you to put your best foot forward.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2019
lsn2021

Joined: Apr 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best of the best! Admitted to Wharton with low test scores

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I highly recommend everyone to consider a consultant especially if you are applying internationally (like I did). There are SO many ill-informed "facts" out there and what you should/should not do. Firstly, I just could NOT get anywhere near my target GMAT/GRE scores and ran out of time to even consider it further (do not recommend!). I was well aware that this was a huge risk submitting with a low 600 score, gave up hope many times, BUT throughout the whole process, David went above and beyond to ensure I was equipped to do my best in other parts of the application. With a low test score, it meant truly bringing out the best parts of my story in my essays and smashing those interviews (David does mock TBDs with real humans, other clients, and it was amazing). Everyone has a unique story (even when I did not think so and I bet you do too!) and David will help you bring this out. There are SO many more reasons I can write to recommend David further but I truly would not have been admitted into Wharton with a low 600 score if I did it alone and I would be very happy to use David/Menlo again but thankfully I don't need to!

Read More

April 05, 2019
zhaonator

Joined: Apr 22, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Overcame Employment History Obstacles

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

After graduating from college I had always had plans of attending a top business program. I decided to reach out early in my career to seek advice, so set up a few initial phone calls with admissions consultants. Although I wasn’t looking to sign up for any formal programs, I was so impressed with Alice and David during my initial phone call that I decided to hire them 3 years ahead of applying. Their initial thoughts about my background, story, and goals were extremely helpful and I was excited about working through their comments the next few years.
However, something unexpected happened soon after. I was fired from the company I was working at. It was a stressful experience, and I knew this would leave a blemish on my employment history that could potentially sink my MBA dreams. I felt comfortable opening up to David about this new development, and he jumped in to help me land on my feet in a new industry that I was very passionate about and that he had experience in. In addition to helping me fix my resume to highlight the transferable qualities and skills that would be attractive to my new employers, he also shared his perspective about the industry and where I should focus my efforts to achieve my long-term goals. David did not mince words, and was very honest and objective with his feedback. But I could tell he always had my long-term interest in mind and so I paid special attention to all his suggestions. After a few twists and turns I managed to secure my dream job, and finally felt like my career was back on track. This would not have been possible without David’s mentorship.
When I began applying to business school, you can guess who I turned to. However I knew it was a long shot. An admissions officer looking at my resume would wince at my incongruent path when compared against candidates with more pristine and understandable career progression. There was less associated risk. David helped me use the personal essay to explain who I was, the events that led up to the firing, and the subsequent decisions and actions that led me to where I am today. It was delicately done, something I am confident I would have botched on my own. But because David had taken the time to get to know me over the years, he was able to give me the important feedback I needed to write my story. He was very professional and instrumental throughout the process, responding back within the same day. By the end, and after back and forth revisions with David, I came away with a story I felt was uniquely my own and that I was proud of. Working with David gave me peace of mind that I put everything on the table. I applied to the top 5 schools, and received interview invites from two of them. When the dust settled, Booth gave me a call congratulating me on my acceptance and thanking me for my honesty in my application. All things considered, I was a risk and they took a chance on me. I could not have been more grateful and I know I would not have the chance to write this had it not been for David’s guidance, encouragement, and diligence through this long journey. He is a great person who will always have my thanks. Anyone looking to overcome obstacles in the admissions process would be extremely lucky to have him on their side.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 02, 2019
bovinematters

Joined: Mar 13, 2016

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q48 V36

Great experience - more than your typical MBA Coach

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I’ve been very fortunate to have worked with Menlo Coaching : David, Alice and team!
As a male Indian tech applicant with a < 700 score, I knew that I was in a very competitive pool of applicants. With Menlo’s help I was able to secure admission into a top 15 school in the US (with significant scholarship) and a top school in Europe, and I’m super happy with the result!

The fact that Menlo choses to work with only a limited no of students per round, maximizes their value add and personalized attention to help you succeed. In our 30min introductory call itself, I realized that David and team really care for you and want you to succeed in getting an admit and not just help you apply to schools.

Firstly, I was very impressed by Menlo’s extremely structured approach - The process is divided into modules and each module (in the form of videos) highlights what you need to do, what mistakes candidates usually make and what are the important actionable takeaways that you need to focus on. It removes the pressure and the anxiety that you feel as an applicant and helps you focus on important things at the right time - from networking events to resume building and perfecting your essays. You won’t have to think much - just follow the steps and you’ll get there!
They also do a brilliant job of pairing you in groups with other applicants with similar backgrounds - so you feel you aren’t alone and makes the whole process fun !

Second, David’s insights into how the admissions process works, and how your profile would be evaluated (depending on nationality, industry background etc) w.r.t your applicant pool was very valuable in deciding what schools I wanted to apply this time (unlike last time where I got 0 interviews despite using a coach). He helped me introspect about my life in way that enabled me to identify and creatively write about my life experiences. It’s easy to not think of such life experiences as true differentiators or “something worthy of writing about in an MBA essay” but this is where David’s creativity comes to the rescue - crafting a compelling story in a *genuine* and simple way which makes the Adcom member reading your application remember you. This is super important - It helps you stand out!

Regarding my resume and essays - I’ve had a lot of anxiety in the past - filled with tech jargons and not having enough examples to quantify my progress (unlike someone coming from a finance/consulting background). My resume has transformed now ! We went through ~ 6 to 7 revisions to discuss each and every line/word to perfect it - convey a result in each bullet in a simple way which makes it easy to understand.
For the essays, David’s help was phenomenal. He really helped me refine my career goals so that it follows a compelling and logical story. He even shared industry trends/ links with me to help me identify trends to speak about in my goals essay. This is the level of personalized attention he gives ! The fact that David has a tech+ business background is a great advantage you have as a tech applicant - he gets the industry, he gets the jargon and then refines it in a simple way that anyone can understand! His turn around time on the essay revisions was super quick (within a day for every draft) and yes, he won’t stop until he feels he has produced the best version! If you have writing anxiety, again..dont worry! Just follow David’s advice, do the work and you’ll churn out great essays!
I completed all my essays 10 days before the Rd1 deadlines !

Finally, menlo’s support for interview prep is top notch! They partner you with a communication coach with whom you can have multiple sessions and get feedback on the way you speak, your body language etc. Super helpful tips which are applicable otherwise to your career.
David and I spent multiple sessions brainstorming how to present my stories in my interviews. I did ~ 4 mock interview sessions and had more than 1 example for each question. The practice sessions were a great confidence booster going into the interviews - no pressure since we had already practiced almost all the questions :)

@All - the investment with Menlo Coaching is worth it! You want to get into an MBA program and you will, and in the process you’ll gain a lot of useful insights and takeaways which are going to help you in your career as well! so dont think twice - these folks are the best out there!

Thank you again David, Alice and Team!

Read More

February 23, 2019
lv25861

Joined: Feb 23, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V45

Incredible MBA Coach!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I first began working with David as part of Menlo’s “Early Birds” program, which is designed to help candidates develop/improve elements of their application profile that require ample lead time (GMAT score, brainstorming “your story”, etc.). As someone from a very non-target background, I found this program to be incredibly helpful. I was able to hear firsthand the experiences of previous Menlo clients, and David worked closely with me to develop my story.

After finding the Early Birds program so valuable, I decided to work with David through the primary application process as well. I applied within a very competitive industry pool, and David spent hours helping me think through ways to position my profile as unique. Then, while writing essays, David continually challenged me to dig deeper and explore how my unique experiences might resonate with each individual program.

I was invited to interview at several M7 programs to which I applied. With David’s help, I went into each interview feeling calm and well prepared. After receiving acceptance letters, David helped me form a negotiation strategy for merit-based financial aid, which ultimately led to several sizable scholarships.

Working with David was a great experience. He provided highly personalized support during each step of my application. He also provided constant guidance and advice, helping me through the ups and downs of the MBA application process. For those reasons, I can’t recommend David enough.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 08, 2019
nr1989

Joined: Mar 15, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q51 V40

Admitted to HBS, Kellogg, Sloan, and Haas!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

The journey to get admitted to top MBA programs, some including scholarship, is an arduous marathon and I couldn’t have asked for better support than David. I am admitted to HBS, Kellogg, Sloan, and Haas, including a full scholarship at one of the schools, making me humbled and elated!

Menlo Coaching’s structured approach to the admission process ensures that you submit the best possible version of your candidacy to the schools because you spent time understanding what schools are looking for and more importantly your own personal story.

Before I approached David, I already had a good GMAT score (750) and knew that I only wanted to apply to a few top 10 programs.

I appreciated that David’s involvement emphasized networking with schools heavily including campus visits and alumni chats and these upfront investments paid off in unexpected ways throughout the process in essays and in interviews, not to mention that they were also instrumental in school selection.

Then, over the course of 6 months, we covered my personal story, career goals, recommender preparation, and writing and speaking styles before we even started looking at the essays. My personal favorites were his work with recommenders and his original ‘training’ on communication.

- I really liked that my recommenders could work with David, if they chose to, to get a second opinion on content/writing style because both my recommenders were new to the process. It is easier for a trusted third-person to discuss praise/critique about me rather than having to do it myself. I was feeling pretty vain writing and talking about myself and I couldn’t have comfortably asked my recommenders to do so in addition.

- Regarding communication, I enjoyed an hour with a public speaking coach who was also an actor. Having a toolkit to loosen up, breathe, and get in the right mindset before the big interviews was priceless

I requested free consultations with numerous consultants and I clicked best with David. The rapport was also extremely important because of the deep personal reflections that are required from this process.

I whole-heartedly recommend Menlo Coaching to anyone who wants to seriously pursue an MBA at a top program. Thank you!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 07, 2019
Dorchester

Joined: Mar 17, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted to HBS Wharton Yale Som

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

My husband and I both worked with David on our applications. David really helped the two of us to create coherent and resonating stories in order to maximize the chances of us getting into the same school. Along the process, he was a true friend who always thought about our applications from our perspectives, offering advice at every single decision making point. A few things that I really appreciated
1) Timeliness: Even though he is located in Europe, the time difference actually helped to get very efficient turnarounds. He was also in NYC for quite some time so that we could have face to face meetings, which was very efficient.
2) Organized: He'll never miss any emails/questions, and all the answers he provided are well thought out
3) Resourcefulness: David always offered good ideas, and chatting with him whenever I felt stuck had a therapeutic effect -- I knew that I was in good hands
4) He's a genuine person: A lot of consultants single goal is to make money and rip people off. It never felt that way. David and Alice always tried to make this holistic experience (organizing gatherings for their clients in the same city, etc). It felt like a community

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.