GMAT Club

MBA Admissions All-in Services Reviews

Since 2001, Stacy Blackman Consulting (SBC) clients have been admitted to every top business school worldwide, often with merit scholarships. SBC has a complete panel of former Admissions Officers from every top MBA program in-house. The SBC team has MBA expertise at every top US and EU school, has graduated from the best MBA programs and understands career paths in every industry, traditional and non- traditional. 

SBC deeply values mentor-ship within its client engagements and limits the number of clients for each consultant, engaging with clients only after its Validation Team evaluates candidacy strength. Stacy Blackman Consulting delivers results, as shown through its record of the highest number of online reviews across multiple sites, such as YELP. SBC offers a limited number of free consultations weekly for inquiries who have been pre-screened by our tenured team. Contact us for a free consultation to request time with an SBC Principal.      
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
512
4 star
18
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Based on 531 reviews
+ 1 non-rated reviews
March 05, 2022
tt890

Joined: May 19, 2021

Posts: 2

Kudos: 1

Absolute pleasure to work with Dawn!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Accepted by HBS and Wharton (with substantial merit fellowship) - very happy about the outcome of my cooperation with Dawn!

I am an international candidate, therefore I was not familiar with the US admissions process. From the very beginning, Dawn laid out step by step what we needed do and supported me along the way. I felt she truly cared and was very strategic. I also appreciated her kind and upbeat approach to getting things done.

All in all, I believe the investment was worthwhile. I will be going to my top-choice MBA program in the fall. Thank you Dawn!

Read More

January 26, 2022
Jackhuang64

Joined: Oct 30, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q48 V37

Awesome Experience with Christine Hawkins at SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was able to receive offers from both Rotman and Stern FT MBA thanks to months of back and forth working with Christine Hawkins from SBC. She was very knowledgeable about the entire process and helped me break down a daunting mission into very doable tasks by providing detailed guidance every step of the way. She was completely honest with me and gave me no-BS feedback from the very start which was what I appreciated from her the most. She also pushed me to think hard about how I can improve my application when I needed it the most. The entire SBC staff from intro to mock interview was also amazing. I couldn't have gotten these amazing opportunities without the SBC team and Christine's patience and expertise!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 24, 2022
ACalderon

Joined: Dec 13, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Honest & Extremely Impactful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Christina was an absolute pleasure to work with. From the very first session, she was extremely honest and provided the very best advice with all the information she had, which then lead to the creation of an extremely effective and impactful action plan for our time together. Things ended up working great in the end, as I got into my top MBA choice (Columbia Business School, early decision), and I have Christina to thank for a good portion of my success in the application process. She also works tirelessly for her clients and will make herself available when you need her. She is a very special individual that will be genuinely immersed in your process from start to finish and will go above and beyond the call of duty to maximize your chances of success. Words will not do justice to how much I recommend Christina’s advisory services!

Read More

January 14, 2022
Harshinic1

Joined: Nov 02, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V45

Amazing experience with Caryn Altman and SBC!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I really can't say enough good things about Caryn and the entire team at SBC! After researching a ton of different firms and speaking with more than a few other consultants, I started to have decision paralysis because everyone seemed so similar. What separated SBC for me, however, was the team-based approach they took to my application. From my very first screening call with Bill, my strategy sessions with Caryn, and the flight test / interview prep I took part in with other consultants, SBC gave me access to 4-5 MBA consultants / ex-admissions officers who all gave me unique perspectives and advice for improving my candidacy.

Caryn in particular completely exceeded all of my expectations. Because I had a job with long hours, one of my biggest concerns was how I'd get all my apps done in time but Caryn handles everything with a laser-focused efficiency that kept me on track and moving at a steady pace throughout the 6 months I worked with her. She was always responsive (within a day), gave clear/detailed instructions and comments, and even followed up with me whenever I got behind (which was often..). She also helped me take disparate parts of my resume and finance-heavy background and craft a narrative that clearly articulated my career transition goals and all-important why MBA response.

With Caryn's (and the whole SBC team's) help, I received admission to HBS, Wharton and Kellogg (with a scholarship) and I could not be more thrilled with the outcome! While hiring a consultant was a big investment, I knew that getting an MBA would be an ever bigger one so I wanted to make sure I gave myself the best possible chance of getting into my dream schools. I really don't think I could've gotten into the schools I did without Caryn's help and would highly recommend SBC to anyone who's considering applying.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 08, 2022
Adjitra

Joined: Jul 20, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
620 Q47 V28 (Online)

Laura Nelson

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up for the all in package with Laura Nelson and was successfully admitted into LBS and UCLA. I signed up before finishing my GMAT and Laura was helpful throughout the process. Going through the brag sheet early in the process was very in depth and helpful and allowed us to craft the best story that was a great fit for each school I applied to. Laura was very resourceful and pushed me to find current students and alumni to talk to which was incredibly helpful to understanding each school. The SBC wiki has a ton of resources on the schools, application tips and essay samples. Laura did a great job of making every sentence count in my essays. Overall, she was very easy work with, available and efficient, and easy to be vulnerable with and run ideas by. She will keep it real with you which I appreciated. You will need to be proactive to get the most out of SBC, but this shouldn't be a problem for those motivated to have a succesful application and it pays off!

Read More

January 07, 2022
Chubsandra

Joined: Dec 01, 2021

Posts: 2

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
720 Q49 V38 (Online)

Glad I chose SBC!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Why I decided to hire an MBA consultant:
Honestly, I was quite confident in my own profile, and really pondered on the idea of whether or not to hire an MBA consultant. After all, it’s thousand of additional dollars adding to the total cost of pursuing an MBA. I made the decision to hire a consultant because: 1) neither me nor anyone in my close circle had experience applying to a top US MBA program. I have no one to turn to to ask questions related to the application process; 2) I needed guidance to put everything into a format that tailors to top business schools.

Why SBC?
I interviewed a few (5-6) MBA consultants from different firms. My gut feeling tells me that some over-evaluated my profile and some under-evaluated my profile - I do not want to work with either, as they could be biased. I had an initial call with Bill from SBC - he was confident that I could get into one of the schools on my narrow list, but he also pointed out what I needed to work on based what I got. I really appreciate the confidence booster and the practicality of his advise.

Overall experience with SBC and some afterthoughts:
I had a very good experience with SBC. I was able to get into my dream school with a decent scholarship! Of course, this is largely made possible by my consultant, Kim, who was wonderful to work with. During the application, I also did a Flight Test with another consultant, who was also very professional and helpful.

Looking back, I’m so glad that I hired a consultant - the whole process was way more competitive and challenging than I ever thought. It’s not just about how good your profile is; what also matters is presenting it in a cohesive and persuasive way to business schools - and this definitely requires a third-person perspective during the application process.

Read More

January 06, 2022
ashtonkripalani

Joined: Jun 28, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted to Columbia!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

If I were to share every detail about how truly invaluable SBC and Christine's help was, my review would be 10 pages long...

In summary, Christine is the best consultant you can ask for. She listens to your experiences, thinks critically, identifies those key interconnections, and helps you craft the most compelling narrative that will be your strongest asset when submitting your application. A lot of people go back and forth on investing in a consultant, but working with Christine was absolutely worth every penny - I wouldn't have been accepted to Columbia had it not been for her seasoned guidance and insight. She forces you to think outside of the box and is with you every step of the journey, from thinking through all pieces of your last 10+ years to writing up essays to interview prep. Christine ended up being my true partner and support system throughout the entire MBA application process.

I couldn't recommend Christine and SBC more!

Read More

December 27, 2021
dtan2021

Joined: Apr 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Carol P / SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I personally learned out about SBC through a few friends and decided to give them a shot after reading some of the positive reviews online. My business school application process spanned 6 months (the first 3 were at quite a leisurely pace, so realistically 3 active months) and I applied to two schools. SBC’s team-driven culture stood out to me from the beginning - for example, after reaching out on the SBC website, I was connected with Esther - my initial match maker - who eventually paired me with Carol P. As an all-in package client, SBC also gave me access to valuable resources on the wiki database, which housed a good number of essays and other reference material, and access to a flight test by Amy, a former admissions officer. Throughout the entire period, Carol’s wealth of experience and passion for helping others tell their stories certainly showed. She was a great sounding board for ideas and an invaluable source of advice. Carol was also very quick to respond whenever I had any questions, even in the days leading up to the submission deadline. Despite juggling numerous clients, she was able to recall specific nuances about my background/examples we spoke about and offered targeted suggestions to craft impactful essays. This ultimately helped me secure a spot at the Stanford GSB as a finance industry applicant from a non-feeder firm in Round 1. I have nothing but great things to say about Carol and the SBC team, and highly recommend business school applicants to consider them.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 21, 2021
bschoolhopeful123

Joined: Dec 16, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q44 V38

Dawn is the BEST MBA Admissions Consultant. PERIOD!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After receiving my acceptance to HBS, I immediately sent a note to Dawn: "DAWN, WE DID IT!!!". I say "we" because I truly could not have rendered such a thoughtful and thorough application without Dawn's remarkable guidance. From the beginning of the written application through the conclusion of my interview, Dawn provided clear, actionable, and insightful guidance that I would have been completely lost without. I never thought I'd be the one to say this, but I actually enjoyed the application process as I learned more and more about myself in my sessions with Dawn. Dawn's greatest strength - amongst many - is her ability to look granularly at every single element of an application (literally, line by line of an essay if she needs to) while also taking a holistic approach to ensure a compelling story is told for the admissions committee. Her guidance is also a masterclass in keeping the application process moving and progressing: she always keeps you informed of timelines, what progress needs to be made, and why she is recommending certain edits. When I had my intro call with Dawn, there were a few minutes of pleasantries followed by a tactical discussion of how we would succeed - after those short moments, I knew Dawn was best-in-class. For anyone thinking about applying to business school, I have two pieces of advice: 1) hire an admissions consultant, and 2) make sure it's Dawn. Thank you again, Dawn, for all of your help, I could not be more grateful.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 05, 2022
nithyak

Hi congratulations on your acceptance!! I am applying to HBS as well and I have a current GMAT online score of 680 and was told that my score is too low for HBS. These colleges apparently filter student applications by the GMAT score and CV first; if the CV and score are not up to the mark, the Adcoms don't even go through the essays is what I was told.

I see that you have a similar score, so I was wondering how it didn't come in the way of your admission! Would really appreciate it if you have any insight on this :)
Thank you!

January 05, 2022
bschoolhopeful123

Hello and thank you! While I'm not an expert, I have seen many articles detailing that HBS does not use any filters in the application process (some of these articles are published by HBS itself). My understanding is they read every application thoroughly and and make an assessment on a holistic basis. No one element of the application will get you accepted, and the same goes for a rejection. If your GMAT score is below the median of prior classes, you should do your best to highlight other great parts of your application that are unique. The best piece of advice I received was to just apply!

December 20, 2021
cocacolanyc

Joined: Sep 22, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V46

Strongly Recommend Dione and SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had a great experience using the SBC comprehensive package. I was referred to SBC by a former colleague who matriculated at a T10 MBA program with scholarship. While I was looking at consulting firms, I was already impressed during my initial introductory call with Esther and her evaluation of my profile's strengths and weaknesses. After my initial conversation with Esther, I was matched with Dione as my dedicated admissions consultant.

Dione was an incredibly experienced and dedicated admissions consultant. Her expertise shone during our first few calls where we started working together to craft my application strategy and career vision. Throughout the application process, she was extremely responsive and provided feedback on my resume, essays and revisions, and other materials within 24 hours. I also appreciated the team-based approach that SBC took, e.g., Kim, a former Admissions Officer at Booth, conducted a flight test of my application before submission and Anthony, a former Admissions Officer at Wharton, helped conduct a mock team-based discussion in preparation for my Wharton interview

With Dione and the rest of the SBC team's support, I was accepted to two M7 schools, Wharton and Sloan with significant scholarship offerings from both schools. I would strongly recommend the Dione and SBC for anyone with the goal of being admitted to a top business school!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

198 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Stacy Blackman Consulting