GMAT Club

Dawn (SBC) Reviews

Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 18 reviews
March 14, 2022
vetmba16

Joined: Jan 25, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

A successful but also fun partnership with Dawn!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Dreaming of just one admission to an M7 school. I applied to 6 of them and received acceptances to 4! I am so grateful to Dawn and excited to say that I will be matriculating at The Wharton School this fall!

After I decided to transition out of the military, I knew that a full-time MBA was the bridge that I wanted to cross to the private sector. While I felt that I had a good chance with my unique experience, I wanted someone to provide me with some direction. After my initial Plan Ahead call with Dawn, I knew that she was someone who truly goes against the “one size fits all” approach and fully supports an applicant’s future dreams during the process.

In the beginning (about 9 months out from the Rd 1 deadlines), Dawn provided me with actionable advice on how to strengthen my applications: try the GRE to compare with the GMAT, make impacts to my professional and personal communities in a COVID-inflicted environment, carefully decide between two different positions to serve my last duty in. I followed through on her recommendations, and I believe our work ahead of time truly set me up in the best position.

Once application preparation was in full-swing, Dawn would provide very customized feedback on my essays, resume, and recommender strategies in accordance with the school. While it wasn’t always easy going back to the drawing board, I really want to thank Dawn for not settling and just letting me have it my (wrong) way. Once you communicate who you are and what you want to do, she is not afraid to take more time and energy to help you get to the desired end goal. She has a gift for reading both for clarity and in between the lines.

Looking back, I was lucky to have some rocks to lean on throughout the stressful process. Dawn was a rock from Day 1, and I strongly recommend her to anyone who is serious about attending a top business school!

Read More

March 05, 2022
tt890

Joined: May 19, 2021

Posts: 2

Kudos: 1

Absolute pleasure to work with Dawn!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Accepted by HBS and Wharton (with substantial merit fellowship) - very happy about the outcome of my cooperation with Dawn!

I am an international candidate, therefore I was not familiar with the US admissions process. From the very beginning, Dawn laid out step by step what we needed do and supported me along the way. I felt she truly cared and was very strategic. I also appreciated her kind and upbeat approach to getting things done.

All in all, I believe the investment was worthwhile. I will be going to my top-choice MBA program in the fall. Thank you Dawn!

Read More

December 21, 2021
bschoolhopeful123

Joined: Dec 16, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q44 V38

Dawn is the BEST MBA Admissions Consultant. PERIOD!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After receiving my acceptance to HBS, I immediately sent a note to Dawn: "DAWN, WE DID IT!!!". I say "we" because I truly could not have rendered such a thoughtful and thorough application without Dawn's remarkable guidance. From the beginning of the written application through the conclusion of my interview, Dawn provided clear, actionable, and insightful guidance that I would have been completely lost without. I never thought I'd be the one to say this, but I actually enjoyed the application process as I learned more and more about myself in my sessions with Dawn. Dawn's greatest strength - amongst many - is her ability to look granularly at every single element of an application (literally, line by line of an essay if she needs to) while also taking a holistic approach to ensure a compelling story is told for the admissions committee. Her guidance is also a masterclass in keeping the application process moving and progressing: she always keeps you informed of timelines, what progress needs to be made, and why she is recommending certain edits. When I had my intro call with Dawn, there were a few minutes of pleasantries followed by a tactical discussion of how we would succeed - after those short moments, I knew Dawn was best-in-class. For anyone thinking about applying to business school, I have two pieces of advice: 1) hire an admissions consultant, and 2) make sure it's Dawn. Thank you again, Dawn, for all of your help, I could not be more grateful.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 05, 2022
nithyak

Hi congratulations on your acceptance!! I am applying to HBS as well and I have a current GMAT online score of 680 and was told that my score is too low for HBS. These colleges apparently filter student applications by the GMAT score and CV first; if the CV and score are not up to the mark, the Adcoms don't even go through the essays is what I was told.

I see that you have a similar score, so I was wondering how it didn't come in the way of your admission! Would really appreciate it if you have any insight on this :)
Thank you!

January 05, 2022
bschoolhopeful123

Hello and thank you! While I'm not an expert, I have seen many articles detailing that HBS does not use any filters in the application process (some of these articles are published by HBS itself). My understanding is they read every application thoroughly and and make an assessment on a holistic basis. No one element of the application will get you accepted, and the same goes for a rejection. If your GMAT score is below the median of prior classes, you should do your best to highlight other great parts of your application that are unique. The best piece of advice I received was to just apply!

November 19, 2021
SASHANVI

Joined: Feb 01, 2015

Posts: 37

Kudos: 12

Verified score:
740 Q50 V41 (Online)

Dawn Clare from SBC helped me secure a top MBA admit (CBS)!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Before starting my MBA application, I spoke to at least 10 admission consultants. Stacy Blackman stood out to me because of consistently good reviews and also because I felt they were very straightforward while analyzing my profile.

I worked with Dawn Clare, who is one of their senior consultants. Dawn has a very high admit record for whoever works with her on a 4 school package.

My experience with her was extremely positive. I felt so comfortable discussing all my personal stories with her. Dawn has a strategic bent of mind to use the stories and help form strong narrative for the essays. She helped me distinguish my profile which was specially important given I come from an overcrowded background (Finance / India). Her way of working with the candidates is very interesting. She makes the process so smooth - I was able to work on my essays in a very stress free manner compared to my colleagues who used other consultants and were overwhelmed with the process most of the times.

I would STRONGLY suggest anyone to work with her. For me, it was a completely worthwhile investment.

I would be going to Columbia Business School next fall - thanks to Dawn!!

Read More

March 03, 2018
edwardredden

Joined: Mar 03, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q47 V44

Amazing help from Amazing People

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Trust the process. That's what I kept telling myself when decided to re-apply to the top 2 business schools in the world. I knew even an interview was beyond a long shot after being dinged without an interview in 2016 Round 2 but after the previous year's rushed and half hearted submission, I was determined to give it my all.

I vetted both MBAMission and SBC and after my introductory call with Dawn I knew I had found my match. SBC's approach was more introspective, not formulaic, and was specific to who I was as an applicant and the experiences that had shaped me into who I was. I was indeed a unique candidate and Dawn had a unique approach that was tailored to me, my experiences and my story. Her in depth knowledge of both schools and their specific applications helped put me at ease and gave me confidence that I could get past the black box of admissions and get to the interview stage. Not only did I get interviews at both schools but I got offer letters from both as well. I would not have made it without her help and guidance.

I would highly recommend SBC to anyone who is considering applying for an MBA. The investment is well worth it.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 01, 2018
wharton2020

Joined: Jun 26, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

Highly Recommend Dawn & SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had a great experience working with Stacy Blackman and in particular, my consultant Dawn.

When looking for an admissions consultant, I wanted someone who was ethical and who could best help craft my story and position me for each school's unique criteria. I selected Dawn because it was clear she was a very intelligent, strategic thinker who would give me honest feedback.

While working together Dawn developed a very helpful strategic plan/assessment for my candidacy - a roadmap for mitigating my weaknesses and highlighting my strengths. As someone who is not naturally and consistently introspective, this was feedback was very helpful! I flipped back to this plan often while writing my essays.

In addition, Dawn's honesty and willingness to hold me accountable were important throughout the application process. During one stretch, I was so jammed at work that I was not able to write a quality essay, and instead sent Dawn a half-baked draft. Dawn held me accountable and told me to completely re-do the draft, which was definitely the honest feedback that I needed to submit the best application possible.

All in all, I had a very good experience and it led to a great outcome - I will be going to Wharton next year! Thanks Dawn!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 02, 2017
BearPride08

Joined: Nov 04, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

SBC Comprehensive Package

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

A quick summary of my profile - liberal arts undergraduate university, double major in business/econ, IB then PE, white, male.

After evaluating a number of consulting firms (MBA Mission, Paul Bodine, Critical Square, Square One Prep, Personal MBA Coach), I chose to work with Dawn at SBC. I also liked Square One Prep and Menlo Coaching.

As an HBS graduate, I felt Dawn was most comfortable with HBS but had a good handle on Wharton and Columbia as well. Dawn's strength was helping me evaluate my profile and craft a story. She then worked with me to develop the high level structure / flow of the document. Thereafter, the heavy lifting was on me to develop a detailed outline of each essay and ultimately write the essay. Dawn explained that I was a strong writer so she essentially provided zero edits on most essays after I wrote the essays (this is in part because we got so detailed on the outlines).

Overall, I enjoyed working with Dawn. She is extremely positive and supportive. She is great at helping you craft stories and I am sure she can dig into the language / grammar if need be.

I used the comprehensive package for 3 schools. I was accepted to my top choice.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 15, 2016
Brandods

Joined: Jun 14, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Dawn & SBC were incredible

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I chose to work with SBC because I felt that they were the most realistic in helping me determine my target schools. In fact, in my initial call with SBC they were VERY upfront with me about the quality of my candidacy. I really appreciated this and ultimately chose to work with SBC because of how direct they were.

After my initial call with SBC, I spoke with Dawn (who eventually became my admissions consultant). The purpose of this call was to determine if we were a good "fit". I will say this - the people at SBC know how to pair their clients with the right consultants because our call could not have gone better. Dawn was highly intelligent, extremely motivated, and expressed a genuine interest to help me get into each one of my target schools.

Working with Dawn was an absolute pleasure. She helped me navigate the process with ease and was always VERY responsive. Dawn knew all of the intricacies of each of my target schools' applications and did an excellent job of helping me to identify how to connect my story to each application. I genuinely believe that any prospective MBA applicant would be lucky to work with Dawn throughout the admissions process.

Thanks to Dawn and SBC I was accepted to every school that I applied to (all top 10 programs) and received significant scholarship offers to multiple programs.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 18, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Absolute top quality. Worth every penny.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I cannot recommend Dawn Clare and Stacy Blackman Consulting more highly. Coming in as a foreign applicant with good work experience and strong grades, I knew that telling my story through admissions essays would be the crucial decider in whether I was admitted to any of the top schools. Dawn spent many hours helping me to craft my story, using language that would resonate with adcoms in the US. She was exceptionally patient, considered and thoughtful throughout the process.

Additionally the plethora of resources that SBC gave me access to were crucial when it came to interview prep and school selection.

I have no doubt that I would not have been admitted to several of the top business schools in the world were it not for the assistance of Dawn and the team at SBC.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 18, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

SBC and Dawn: The catalysts that helped me get into my dream school

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I started out with SBC targeting a magnificent 7 B-school with GMAT score that was in range but slightly below average. I spoke to Dawn before signing on and was immediately drawn by her clear and direct approach to the application process. Dawn helped me plan my strategy; she helped me bring out things in my application that actually mattered. Things that adcom actually cared about. She put an entire strategy together with clear target dates, proof read my essays and gave me a mock interview. Her approach was systematic and through various steps she helped me think about different aspects of my application that put my essays in shape. Without Dawn and SBC I wouldn’t have put my best foot forward and wouldn’t have gone for my interview with such confidence. Today, I am finally going to my dream school and couldn’t be happier with my experience with SBC.
In summary, I highly recommend SBC and Dawn if you are targeting a top 10 B-School.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

5 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Dawn (SBC)