GMAT Club

Target Test Prep Maximum Learning Reviews

As of February 1, 2024, the GMAT Focus is the only GMAT. But not to worry: Target Test Prep™ (TTP™) will give you only what you need for the GMAT Focus Edition and nothing you don’t need.

Target Test Prep™ is an innovative test prep company that has been helping students break long-standing barriers to success on the GMAT for the past 16 years. TTP™ has created a powerful, online self-study platform that helps students earn impressive Quant, Verbal, and Data Insights scores with the Target Test Prep™ GMAT Focus course.

The Target Test Prep™ GMAT Focus course is accessible on all devices and includes the following:
  • 52 rigorous chapters broken into 1,500+ lessons
  • 4,000+ realistic GMAT Focus Quant, Verbal, and Data Insights problems
  • 1,300+ instructor-led HD videos
  • 1,200+ digital flashcards for studying on the go
  • 130-point score improvement guarantee
  • A personalized study plan and daily study calendar
  • Customizable practice tests
  • Intelligent analytics and a detailed error tracker
  • Live online support from GMAT Focus experts
So, what are you waiting for? Sign up for a full-access, risk-free 5-day trial for FREE and get every lesson, every practice question, every tool and feature that the TTP course provides with a paid subscription.
 
Don’t settle for GMAT Focus prep that gives you only some of what you need. With the Target Test Prep™ GMAT Focus course, you get everything you need to succeed on test day!
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
102
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Based on 103 reviews
December 23, 2023
chasinggutshots

Joined: Mar 02, 2022

Posts: 1

Kudos: 5

Verified GMAT Classic score:
710 Q49 V38 (Online)

660 to 710 using TTP

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

Strengths:

- very responsive community
- extremely detailed program
- easy to follow layout and keeps reader hooked with bite size lessons
- relatively affordable

Would make the product better:

The biggest improvement I would suggest is the ability to further customize tests within the program.

I first took on the approach of only using the OG book to study for the GMAT and scored a 660 after months of studying. So, I decided to start TTP and the way they lay out the lessons finally enabled me to sit down and consume the concepts, which is especially important for people who struggle with a short attention span. After a few months of TTP, my score increased from a 660 to 710 which is right in the middle of the range that I had chose in my TTP study plan. Another major upside of this program is the error log, I constantly went back to this log to master the concepts that I was weak at.

Read More

January 14, 2024
rodrigomaac98

Joined: Jan 07, 2024

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
740 Q49 V42

Best GMAT self stufy course, helped me achieve 740

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

Strengths:

The course structure of the TTP course is outstanding, and it really helps ease the mind and to not worry about deciding what to study each day, and allows users to focus their mental power on studying.

I felt the questions were almost if not identical to the questions I encountered in official GMAT practice tests and the real GMAT. This made me feel very confident that I was studying the right material.

Would make the product better:

The amount of sentence correction questions TTP has could be extended, especially the hard category.

I used TTP course as my only preparation for the GMAT (without considering the official practice exams)

I found TTP's course structure easy to follow, and removed the mental stress to figure out my own course structure, I could dedicate my whole time to study.

As for the content, I think both Quant and Verbal are tought brilliantly, the course curriculum covers everything you need to know for the GMAT, the explanations are very clear, and the questions resemble the GMAT perfectly, when I took the practice tests/offical test I din't feel any difference vs the TTP questions.

Overall, I am very happy with my TTP experience and would definately reccomend to anyone looking to get an excellent GMAT score

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 30, 2023
hectorcarpizo

Joined: Jul 26, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
750 Q50 V41

Only GMAT resource you'll ever need

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

Strengths:

- Well organized. The user doesn't have to worry about making a study plan, it's already created for them
- Very thorough and detailed
- Makes the user actually learn the material, avoids cheap "tricks" to improve your score
- Video explanations on how to solve practice questions

Would make the product better:

Create a virtual flashcard section where students can you a default set of flashcards to study theory or create ones of their own. Have a funcionality similar to custom tests.

Recommend a flexible study plan for people who have a limited amount of time to study for the test.

TTP was the best resource I could have asked for to prepare for the GMAT. Before I began studying, I had no idea how to effectively study and wasted a few months solving random OG practice questions without actually learning the material. After searching for a more structured study plan, I found TTP was the most recommended choice and decided to stick with it after my $1 one week trial given how thorough it is. Turned out to be a great choice.

TTP basically holds your hand all throughout the process and is so detailed and simple to use that you don't need any other resources to study for the GMAT. The study plan has you alternate between Quant and Verbal so you never lose focus on either section and ends each lesson with practice tests that ensure you don't forget what you just learned.

As everyone says, the Quant section is amazing, but the Verbal section was also a life-saver for me, more so given that English is not my first language. Every single topic the GMAT could ask you is covered in the lessons. This ensures the score you get is not luck-based, my practice tests were 10-20 points from my real GMAT score, and I was able to exceed my target score on my first try.

I really believe that TTP is the best plan out there with its combination of lessons, practice questions, practice tests, and video explanations, keeping you engaged every step of the way.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 24, 2023
justinengel97

Joined: Aug 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
690 Q48 V36

Verbal lacking and course provided wrong information

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

Strengths:

Quant sectionexplanations are great
Chat allows you to ask questions to tutors
The software is easy to use

Would make the product better:

Verbal section is lacking, the theory is super repetitive and not particularly useful, one is much better off watching gmat ninja videos. Overall I would say the verbal section is overloaded with useless theory. In addition, the list of available exercises is very limited, I encountered repeat questions.
Quant section is too detailed for my taste, after doing the same exercise 10x i don't see the value in doing it 10x more, the number of practicing questions testing the same concepts during the course are IMO too many,
Wrong information was reported during the course, the course mentioned it was possible to take the gmat at a test center and immediately afterwards (no cool down period) take the gmat online. This is what I tried to do right before a holiday, I planned the test center option early in the week before holidays (knowing this would be a good practice run) to then take the "real" one in the more favourable online gmat environment. Imagine my frustration when I spoke to people at gmac who informed me a 14 day cool down period applied even after switching from test center to online... This completely messed up my schedule, here I am months later still practicing after taking off 1 month due to holiday (during which I obviously didn't plan to study) Overall really let down the course displayed the wrong information

Pros:
Quant section explanations are great
Chat allows you to ask questions to tutors
The software is easy to use
Cons:
Verbal section is lacking, the theory is super repetitive and not particularly useful, one is much better off watching gmat ninja videos. Overall I would say the verbal section is overloaded with useless theory. In addition, the list of available exercises is very limited, I encountered repeat questions.
Quant section is too detailed for my taste, after doing the same exercise 10x i don't see the value in doing it 10x more, the number of practicing questions testing the same concepts during the course are IMO too many,
Wrong information was reported during the course, the course mentioned it was possible to take the gmat at a test center and immediately afterwards (no cool down period) take the gmat online. This is what I tried to do right before a holiday, I planned the test center option early in the week before holidays (knowing this would be a good practice run) to then take the "real" one in the more favourable online gmat environment. Imagine my frustration when I spoke to people at gmac who informed me a 14 day cool down period applied even after switching from test center to online... This completely messed up my schedule, here I am months later still practicing after taking off 1 month due to holiday (during which I obviously didn't plan to study) Overall really let down the course displayed the wrong information

Overall disappointing, I expected more from the highest rated course.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 11, 2023
raf1

Joined: Oct 04, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
770 Q50 V47

A lot of work, but well worth it

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

Strengths:

The best thing about the course is how thoroughly they break every section down for you. Be it the quant or the verbal, everything is covered with such depth that you know for sure that you will cover all of the material on the test as long as you are diligent and thorough with working your way through the lessons. The way the lessons are broken down into smaller sections is also helpful, as it's a good way to feel like you're making progress as you work your way through the vast amount of material

Would make the product better:

Only 2 improvements I'd like to see. The first is breaking down some of the earlier, longer sections into smaller pieces, as they can be a somewhat daunting way to start due to length alone even if the material is not among the most challenging in the course. The second is that TTP needs to highlight the tools available in the course more at the start, things like the analytics and the error tracker need a greater emphasis beyond just the course material

TTP was invaluable to my GMAT prep. All of the material that is on the test is covered with considerable depth, with a seemingly unending number of practice problems to go through and tons of lessons that will break down everything that you need to know. Even as a former English teacher, I found the way they approach the verbal section to be very helpful, as while I would disagree with some of the answers initially, the breakdown and explanation of why a specific answer was correct did a great job of demonstrating what the GMAT considers to be correct, not just what is the cleanest English. The same goes for all of the quant lessons, as the step by step solutions and videos were immensely helpful in understanding how to approach problems and in fully grasping the material

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 20, 2023
winflutter

Joined: Sep 20, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
760 Q49 V45

Pretty much guaranteed path to a great score.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

Strengths:

The course content is thorough, well explained, and comprehensive. The interface is really easy and pleasing to use--completing lessons and practice problems gives you a little dopamine rush. The practice and review tests are great, and the ability to create custom practice tests is invaluable.

Would make the product better:

Firstly, it's a colossal amount of content. I realize this is a feature, but it's hard for me to comprehend how someone could get through the course in four months. I did the six month course while not working full time and I still didn't finish it in the allotted time. Secondly, I wish the IR section had more questions or even practice tests. Despite having a good grasp of quant, I was frequently stymied by IR questions and didn't know how to practice and improve. Finally, there are some sections with attempts at humor that didn't click with me.

If you want a great score on the GMAT, TTP is a clear path to get there. I started studying with a solid grasp on verbal but really shaky quant skills. TTP's thorough, methodical process got me to a point where I felt really confident answering quant questions, and ultimately I scored higher on quant than verbal. For both quant and verbal, TTP does a great job of teaching you not just the topic, but also how to approach questions and eliminate wrong answers. By the time I was taking my practice tests, I was scoring highly and feeling confident in my knowledge. On test day I got surprisingly psyched out by the experience, but even while feeling really nervous and like I was doing poorly, I was still able to keep my eyes on the prize, keep moving, and secure a 760.

Even if you're already using some other prep materials, I'd highly recommend the $1 trial so you can experience the custom practice tests with clear, detailed explanations. I found myself really missing these explanations when taking the official practice tests or using questions from other sources.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 11, 2023
Yamram92

Joined: Jun 12, 2021

Posts: 16

Kudos: 4

Verified GMAT Classic score:
710 Q50 V36

Keep calm and trust TTP

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

Strengths:

The biggest strength of this product is the attention to detail. Yes, the course is extensive, but it is for a reason. After every chapter, you gain a deeper understanding of the concepts tested and start to think like the GMAT question maker. Strongly recommend TTP for quants and for the foundation of verbal.

Would make the product better:

While it lacks a full length CAT mock test, it can always be purchased from GMAC.
Verbal questions/examples can be a little bit more tailored to GMAT style.

If you are in the hunt to find a great course, especially for quant, look no further. The quant modules are designed exactly to maximize your potential score and the chapters are well crafted. While the verbal questions/examples are designed specifically to test the concepts taught, they help lay the foundation and get you ready for OG. The calendar application is very helpful, and the whole team is very responsive. Shout out to Marty, one never feels like the verbal course is one sided.

Great UI, helpful error log, immediate response to queries, helpful articles in between the course and Scott's soothing voice make TTP a great product to invest in and to achieve your best possible score.

Read More

August 30, 2023
marchimself

Joined: Apr 06, 2023

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Verified GMAT Classic score:
740 Q49 V41

Improvement 200 Points

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

Strengths:

TTP is super comprehensive. TTP teaches you the basics, tricks and advanced-level tips to ace every GMAT topic. It also has hundreds of practice questions for you to master each topic.

Would make the product better:

More practice questions for the Verbal session. Probably the verbal CR chapters could be shortened. Some verbal CR lessons seemed repetitive

There's nothing like going to the exam and being super confident that you've covered EVERY SINGLE TOPIC in depth. TTP covers the end-to-end GMAT curriculum. There's a ready study plan to follow. The topics are systematically arranged: you start with the foundational topics and gradually move to the advanced ones. I learnt the topics from first principles - beyond just knowing how to get questions right. TTP will teach you the concepts behind the questions.
There are thousands of practice questions to ensure you're comfortable with each topic. If you're willing to put in the time and learn systematically, TTP surely is the way.

Read More

August 13, 2023
sharanya98

Joined: Dec 11, 2022

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
740 Q49 V42

6 months to 690 and 7 months to 740 using TTP

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

Strengths:

Strengths:
1)TTP provides simple and clear explanations on conceptual topics. It comprehensively explains all the steps so that your foundations are clear and you know exactly how to get to the answer. As you practice more you are able to tweak things and skip steps as per the question and time constraints but it's very important to have all the steps and foundational knowledge clear
2) Personalised and flexible learning plans
3) Flash cards, diagnostic tests, custom tests based on weaknesses
4)Comprehensive quant course - built the entire basis of my preparation
5)Large number of questions available for practice
6) Quant questions are made in such a way that they check what you’ve learnt and how clear your basics are. They are different from official gmat questions but I feel they are very important as they strengthen your basics and force you to think so you’re able to apply the knowledge on harder official questions
7) User friendly interface
8) Enjoyed the CR course because it was extremely simple and ensured the correct approach to question

Would make the product better:

The inability to emulate an official mock exam.
Also somehow found it tough to get through SC using TTP. It didn’t work for me.
More material for IR could be provided.

A little background about myself. I graduated in 2019 with a BA in History, but I had math till 12th grade. I am not scared of math but I am not a whiz. I would say my verbal is relatively strong. i scored a 690 in my first attempt and a 740 in my second attempt at the Gmat almost 1.5 months later.

I highly recommend TTP to prepare for the GMAT. It may take some time to complete everything but it's worth spending the effort to do all the missions including all the practice tests. Also, it's necessary to build strong foundations for quant to achieve a high score and be self reliant so that you don’t depend on explanations for tough questions for example - a speed time distance or compound interest question could be solved in multiple ways. By having a strong quant foundation you can try doing the question in different ways and figure out the way that works best for you, instead of just relying on one explanation and trying to apply only that method during the exam, as stress or a different style of question could make you get stuck but if you have strong foundations you’ll be able to think on your feet under pressure and workout another method to solve it and i do credit TTP for creating that base for me.
Also, do make use of their articles. Some of their tips regarding how to manage time, the streaks method and tips for verbal in their articles really helped me.



Highlights: 1) Clear explanations of concepts in both quantitative and verbal reasoning, along with video guides on approaching questions

2) Custom and diagnostic tests to help you attack weaker areas of your preparation and dial in your score.



The one consideration I would make is that, along with TTP, I did solve a lot of questions from GMAT club that were 700+ level (only for quant), official guide questions and historical GMAT advanced guide questions for more practice. However I did these questions untimed and my time management was developed via TTP tests and official mocks. Whether or not this is necessary comes down to your personal preparation and ability to afford additional material and time.

Read More

August 06, 2023
guestuser12345

Joined: Feb 18, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
760 Q48 V47

TTP Expert+ – Highly Recommended!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Target Test Prep Maximum Learning

Location Online

Strengths:

– All material in one place
– Custom tests
– Curriculum
– Analytics/real-time feedback

Would make the product better:

– Flashcards functionality needs a little work

When I first started my GMAT prep I had no idea TTP existed and planned to use a mix of different books/resources from a variety of providers. After getting the various materials together, I knew that I was in for a uphill battle and thought there must be a better way. Fortunately, I found TTP after some cursory searching for online programs. After spending more than six months and 500 hours with the product I don't believe there is anything better out there if you're self-motivated and can devote the time to go through the course. Having all the material you need in one place is invaluable and I thought the ability to create custom tests was absolutely essential when it came time to review after I finished the material.

I scored a 760 on the GMAT and while I think I could have scored even higher based on my mocks and performance on TTP, I'm happy with the results and can now focus on other aspects of my applications. Give yourself plenty of time by not setting an arbitrary date you need to take your test by. Things happen and in the end you're better off finishing the course and a sustainable pace without the added pressure of a looming test date.

Thanks to Scott and team for creating a great product that is effective, thoughtfully designed, and fun to use!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.