GMAT Club

Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep Powered by Kaplan prepares students to excel on the GMAT and in business school. All of our teachers have scored in the 99th percentile on the GMAT and have a median of 8 years of experience teaching the GMAT. We don't just teach you the skills and strategies essential to achieving a high score on the test. We also teach you how to study, think logically and critically, make effective decisions...in short, we give you all the tools you need so that you're well equipped to succeed on the GMAT and in grad school.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan Prep courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
Manhattan Prep Deal Page

Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$510
Reviews
87
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep MGMAT Interact
 $999  $899
Reviews
23
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Live Online
 $1599  $1599
Reviews
129
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$2450
Reviews
87
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Bootcamp
$2599
Reviews
0
Average Rating
0
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$4600
Reviews
87
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$6750
Reviews
87
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Manhattan Prep GMAT Instructors

Jamie Nelson
Reviews
35
Average Rating
5.0
Mark Sullivan
Reviews
31
Average Rating
4.7
Jonathan Schneider
Reviews
29
Average Rating
5.0
Keith Blume
Reviews
25
Average Rating
4.9
Avi Gutman
Reviews
24
Average Rating
4.8

Reviews:

690 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
November 10, 2021
theasianlife

Joined: Feb 18, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q45 V41

Wonderful foundation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Manhattan Prep MGMAT Interact

Location Online

The Manhattan Prep self-paced online class is a wonderful way to learn the foundation of everything you need to know for the GMAT. The books were extremely helpful in nailing down actual content with practice, especially for the quantitative reasoning section. Although I personally struggled with critical reasoning, I feel like the live online course where you had an instructor would be better to tailor your specific needs. However, I still am happy with the foundation that was given to me during this course. If you have a hectic schedule, this self-paced studying is a great option! The combination of video and module based learning combined with offline homework was great. However, if you are able to set aside the time for a class with a live tutor, that would probably be best.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 01, 2021
sramanujam93

Joined: Aug 07, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
650 Q46 V34

Improvement 60 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Location Online

The Live Online GMAT Prep Course taught by Tiffany Berkebile Manhattan Prep GMAT set me up for success with GMAT (and, subsequently, my MBA applications). For a variety of reasons, I had a crunched application timeline that started on November 1 but I had yet to earn a competitive GMAT score.

Enter, Tiffany Berkebile. After spending one month getting trained in her accelerated sessions, I take the test again, and my score went up 60 points. I improved my verbal by 25 percentile points, quant by 5 percentile points, and earned a perfect 8.0 on IR and 6.0 on AWA.

Tiffany is an excellent communicator, both during and outside the class sessions. She changed my entire perception of the GMAT exam. She taught me new and novel strategies, simplified some of the content, and – really – trained me to be more intuitive when taking the exam. Not for nothing, but intuition is a big help in determining whether one is straying away from a good score. If one has been trained as I have been, they will be able to quickly recover and march on to earn a satisfying score. Finally, she is a wonderful person, with a great sense of humor, and a knack for boosting people’s confidence and spirits as they gear up for this stressful exam.

A quick shout out to Manhattan: Thanks for facilitating this training. And for the fantastic resources, you have offered. Your navigator, score assessment templates, and content were excellent tools without which I would have been underprepared.

Last point: I am under no illusions that the coursework and resources could be expensive for some. But it is very much worth it if you would like to do this right and have no idea where to begin. Good luck and remember to have fun!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 11, 2021
BAJohnson1234

Joined: Oct 11, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V44

Chris Gentry made the difference

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Chris Gentry

Location Online

I began my GMAT studying in May 2020. After 2 test attempts, my highest score was a 640 and I felt like I had hit a plateau. In the past, I've always pushed through this kind of test roadblock, but this time was different. This time I needed help.

After some research, I chose Manhattan Prep and was paired with Chris Gentry. It's been incredible to work with someone as talented as Chris throughout my GMAT studying process. In addition to being really smart and skilled at the GMAT, Chris also has a great personality. But above all else, I've really appreciated Chris's flexibility and understanding. I always felt like Chris catered his lessons and plans to my strengths and tendencies, which allowed me to succeed in ways I could have never done myself.

After 4 months of prep, I was able to push through the plateau and score a 710. However, my time with Chris didn't end there. I also had plans to take the LSAT, and Chris again put me in the best position to succeed.

To master any standardized test is tough, even for the best test takers. But how hard is it to master two standardized tests, especially when they are applicable to separate fields? The obvious answer is really hard, but Chris was more than up to the task. With his help I walked into the 2021 October LSAT (just 4 months removed from my 710 GMAT) with more confidence than I could have ever imagined. While I won't know my LSAT score for a couple of weeks, I've seen success on a few practice test and feel confident that Chris has made the difference for me, again.

It should come then as no surprise that I heavily recommend having lessons with Chris, so that he can make the difference for you too!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 04, 2021
rebeccaglanzer

Joined: Sep 18, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42 (Online)

Amazing experience with live online class

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

Jamie was an incredible instructor. She has been doing this for several years, and you can tell that she has curated the class and her teaching style based on her experience. During class, Jamie made topics fun, by telling funny anecdotes and examples that really help the material stick in your head. She also pushes useful tips, such as keeping an error log and taking the practice tests at a certain cadence, which I think made all of the difference in my study experience. Thirdly, she really goes the extra mile to give every student individual attention, by being very accessible over email in between classes and helping you build your individual study plan based on analyses of your practice tests. Lastly, she brought interesting problem examples to class that we wouldn't have found necessarily in the Original Guide or in the standard Manhattan Prep curriculum. I found these problems to be very exemplary of the actual problems I encountered on the GMAT and doing them in class helped me solidify the methods to solve them. Can't thank Jamie enough for the amazing experience!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 06, 2021
hcaz9311

Joined: Sep 06, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q47 V40

5 Stars!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I work a busy schedule and Manhattan Prep provided exactly what I needed to get my desired score on the GMAT. The virtual class was helpful to learn in person with Jamie, who provided excellent shortcuts and advice on how to answer complex questions, and I also utilized all of the practice materials that Manhattan Prep provided. Having the ability to take 6 practice exams before I even walked into the exam was extremely helpful from a preparation standpoint and having error logging templates and video resources at my fingertips was extremely helpful. Manhattan Prep gives you the tools to succeed and then its just about logging the hours to get to where you want to be. Simple as that.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 16, 2021
nickstevens95

Joined: Aug 16, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
780 Q50 V51

Manhattan Prep Well Worth It & Jeff Volmer is THE MAN!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

First, I found that the Manhattan Prep 9-week course exceeded expectations. Looking for how to get started? For help with pace? A framework to set goals and stay organized? A wealth of resources, including a syllabus, practice problems, video solutions, practice exams, and more? If you need direction in your GMAT prep, Manhattan Prep will provide that and more. It gave me exactly the one-stop-shop I needed as I tried to balance GMAT prep with a busy work schedule.

Second, if you are wondering which instructor to target, whether for the 9-week course or for private tutoring, look no further than Jeff Volmer. Jeff is THE man. Absolute whiz intellectually? Check. Awesome communicator able to distill concepts and takeaways clearly? Check. Engaging presenter that blends lecture, examples, humor, and more in a way that captures and keeps your attention? Check. Dedicated teacher than seems to take a genuine interest in each pupil and is always willing to stay after class to help with an extra question or provide a quick response offline? Check. I could go on...but if this gets much longer, no one will read it :)

I really can't say enough about Jeff. I was incredibly lucky that he happened to be teaching the course I signed up for last-second. I'd strongly recommend anyone looking for guidance on their GMAT journey to not rely on the luck I had. Seek out Manhattan Prep, and seek out Jeff. You won't regret it.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 29, 2021
sgoulas13

Joined: Jul 29, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

Manhattan Prep is GREAT! Jamie is EVEN BETTER!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

I started a Manhattan Prep GMAT course online with Jamie Nelson in the middle of April 2021. I went into the process pretty nervous since I had taken an official exam without studying the right way back in 2019 and got a 580. My goal score was a 730 going into the class. I got there on my 1st retake of the official exam!

JAMIE WAS A ROCKSTAR!!! She taught us the tips and tricks to approach questions and really guided us throughout the process. The online course was very organized and easy to follow. If I were to do it all over again, I would 100% do this course and request Jamie specifically. If you're considering taking the class I would recommend requesting Jamie, hands down.

The only two things I would note is that I found the Manhattan exams to be MUCH HARDER than the actual. I was getting low to mid 600s on the those exams. Which is probably a good thing cause you'll find the real one easier, but that did shake my confidence a bit. I went from those scores with Manhattan to a 760 on my first official practice test. Maybe the gap is a bit more for me than others potentially.

And...only other thing I wish was different was that this class would have been live / in person. Jamie is such a great / cool person that it would have been awesome to get know her outside of Zoom :)

Thanks so much Jamie - I owe you big time!! You'll be the first email I send after (hopeful) biz school acceptances.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 24, 2021
abc234

Joined: Dec 22, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Great at your own pace

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Manhattan Prep MGMAT Interact

Location Online

As far as features that Interact provides, Navigator is an incredibly useful tool to accompany official GMAT questions. Solutions in Navigator fit in with content in the Manhattan Prep course, and help clarify the often complex solutions found in the official books.

The quant section videos do not often delve into difficult topics, but the strategy components are most helpful. The advanced quant eBook, which is included with the course, covers useful material and additional challenging practice. I found the actual GMAT's quant section to be much easier than the quant found in Interact's practice exams.

The verbal content in Interact covers tricky rules well, and quizzes you on them. Blog posts (which can also be accessed for free) cover strategy for timing, which I used when taking my exam.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 23, 2021
sqin12

Joined: Mar 14, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Jeff is the best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

I initially requested Jeff to be my tutor after I had attended one of his free online GMAT prep hours and saw that he was strong in Quant. I was convinced that Quant was my weakness since I had a lower percentile score in Quant than Verbal. Right off the bat, he showed me how percentiles lie and recommended that I primarily focus my efforts on Verbal. He taught me how to effectively deconstruct an argument in critical reasoning questions and corrected some grammar misconceptions I had in sentence correction (i.e., adverbial vs. noun modifiers, -ing words are not all present tense). With reading comprehension, I learned to stick very closely to the text, especially for inference questions. Do not assume anything in verbal without evidence from the passage to back your conclusion!

I had considered giving up on the GMAT and MBA applications this year after taking the exam multiple times and not getting the results I wanted. With Jeff’s guidance and expertise, I found the motivation and vigor to keep going. Not only did I get the score I wanted, but I also enjoyed the process of studying for the GMAT. Highly recommend Jeff as a tutor if you are new to the GMAT or stuck in a rut but determined to reach your goal!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 18, 2021
elizhunpatin

Joined: Jul 18, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V40

Great Class

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

Jamie Nelson is a fantastic tutor. She is caring and attentive to all your needs. While teaching a large class, she is able to provide tailored solutions to individual students in order to target their weaknesses. Jamie is also great at communication, she will make sure you reach your study goals throughout the course and after it. She helped me craft the study template that gave me a 100+ GMAT score improvement. If you are particularly struggling with Quant, Jamie would be the perfect instructor for you. The course gives you the structure you need to maintain the motivation necessary to reach your target score.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

190 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep