GMAT Club

Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep Powered by Kaplan prepares students to excel on the GMAT and in business school. All of our teachers have scored in the 99th percentile on the GMAT and have a median of 8 years of experience teaching the GMAT. We don't just teach you the skills and strategies essential to achieving a high score on the test. We also teach you how to study, think logically and critically, make effective decisions...in short, we give you all the tools you need so that you're well equipped to succeed on the GMAT and in grad school.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan Prep courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
Manhattan Prep Deal Page

Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$510
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep MGMAT Interact
 $999  $899
Reviews
23
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Live Online
 $1599  $1599
Reviews
133
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$2450
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Bootcamp
$2599
Reviews
0
Average Rating
0
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$4600
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$6750
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Manhattan Prep GMAT Instructors

Jamie Nelson
Reviews
39
Average Rating
5.0
Mark Sullivan
Reviews
31
Average Rating
4.7
Jonathan Schneider
Reviews
29
Average Rating
5.0
Keith Blume
Reviews
25
Average Rating
4.9
Avi Gutman
Reviews
24
Average Rating
4.8

Reviews:

696 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
May 25, 2021
jd23

Joined: May 24, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q47 V39

Improvement 50 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

Let me start off by saying that Jamie is an absolutely incredible instructor. She is able to distill and convey complicated information in a way that is both engaging and easy to comprehend. I don’t know how she does it, but Jamie somehow makes a virtual classroom with students at various skill levels seem as if the entire course were customized especially for you and your individual needs.

Prior to taking the course, I had been doing self-guided study for a few months but had not seen any meaningful progress in my performance. I had scored a 650 on the mba.com practice test, but like many MBA hopefuls, I was aiming to score in the 700+ range. Through the course, I learned more efficient study frameworks, test taking strategies and how to tackle thornier subjects and question types. Jamie was an enormous help through the whole process and a wonderful coach. For example, after each of my practice tests throughout the course, Jamie provided personalized analysis and in-depth feedback on where I was losing points and what tweaks I could make in my approach in order to see the results I was looking for. Her insights were spot-on, and with some fine-tuning I was able to reach the 700 score I was shooting for.

In short, this course is an incredible resource for those prepping for the GMAT, regardless of your current skill level. Jamie is a pro at helping her students reach their full potential and giving them the tools and confidence to succeed.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 24, 2021
marco6998

Joined: May 24, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
590 Q31 V40

I Improved 110 points in just 4 weeks!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Manhattan Prep MGMAT Interact

Location Online

This course is honestly great. You can take it as quickly or as slowly as you like as there are no live classes. Everything is pre-recorded and interactive so tailored to your strengths and weaknesses. It's also divided up into many sub-sections within Verbal, Quand, and IR. This means that you have the possibility to focus on just certain bits of the GMAT (even though I would recommend going through the whole course. I completed it in 4 weeks but I must honestly say that this was working at least 3 hours a day. I wish I had had more time to fully enjoy this course and do it over 3 months. It would have allowed me to practice more and use some of the extra resources that Manhattan Prep offers as part of the course (extra practice questions etc). I did however add 110 points to my previous score so I was very satisfied.
There are 6 CAT exams which are really useful to get used to the exam and also to see how you improve as you complete the course. One great thing as well, is that they have articles on time management which I found really useful because they give you special techniques of how to keep track of time as you do the exam (this is something I really struggled with initially), and how to use your whiteboard in the most efficient way given the time constraints.
Quant: I learnt some great techniques to go faster and how to recognise specific types of questions and strategies to go about them. MPrep Interact also often provides different strategies and let's you choose which one you prefer because it acknowledges the fact that we don't all go about math problems in the same way.
Verbal: I thought verbal was the best section of this course so if you're looking to improve your verbal score then I'd really recommend this MPrep Interact. It goes through everything you need to know for SC and RC but more importantly it has helped me recognise when the GMAT tries to catch you out, especially on the toughest questions which I found were in the CR section of the exam.
Overall I highly recommend this course, especially if like me you like to organise your studying with your own schedule and take more or less time depending on which sections of the exam you wish to focus on. I wouldn't recommend it however if you're looking to do it in just a few weeks like me, it's possible but really not much fun! If you're not an organised person, then maybe courses with actual live tutors would be more suited. I didn't buy the paper books, just the online PDFs that are included for free and that was fine! They're really useful (unlike the OG book that really is not enough to do well on the exam!)

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 20, 2021
kevzhang

Joined: Mar 14, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V44

Advanced course is worth the money!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the Advanced Manhattan Prep GMAT course with Mark Sullivan. He was an excellent instructor, and really put a lot of effort into clearly explaining how to approach the test and different question types, rather than how to simply solve a specific problem.

I had taken the GMAT previously (~3 years prior), but the prep I received from the course with Mark made me feel much more confident about my ability to achieve a high score.

In particular, the post-course assessment with him (30 minutes to talk through a customized post-course study path) was very useful to prioritize how to prepare ahead of the exam.

I can't recommend taking classes with Mark enough.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 17, 2021
rebeccatakespics

Joined: May 17, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q38 V46

Focused, Energetic Coaching

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Reed Arnold

Location Online

I signed up for an intensive course with Reed Arnold at Manhattan Prep. The group met twice per week for a month, and at the end I came within ten points of my goal score (and 15 points above the median for the school I want to go to). This class is HARD, but if you stay focused and do the work, it will absolutely get you the results you're looking for. Quant was much weaker than verbal for me, and after months of studying on my own, I had made very little improvement on my practice tests. By the end of the online course, I had learned how to break down quant problems to understand what was really being asked, and how to do fast, accurate GMAT math. Manhattan Prep is a powerhouse for a reason; they have tons of great data and insight into what you should be putting your time and energy toward learning. From timing strategies to daily meditation, they really take studying to the next level.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 14, 2021
GMATcanadian

Joined: Jan 31, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V44 (Online)

Great Self-Paced Study

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep MGMAT Interact

Location Online

I found the Interact program through Manhattan Prep to be quite beneficial in helping me to achieve my target score. I began studying in early February and by early April I was consistently achieving above 700 on the official practice exams.

The course is a great combination of original material and official guide problem sets, and the video lessons almost always helped me to better understand the topics covered.

My only issue was finding the Manhattan mock exams a lot more difficult than the real thing. For example, I scored 590 on a Manhattan mock and a 760 on an official mock two days later. At the same time, however, I can't argue that they didn't help prepare me for the real exam.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 10, 2021
joshc

Joined: Oct 20, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q48 V44 (Online)

Great resource

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 160 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

My experience with taking the full GMAT live course at Manhattan prep went very well. First of all, the breadth of resources that they provide to you is second to none. I ended up spending way more time than I had anticipated on utilizing the online resources included. The resources that I found to be especially helpful were the GMAT Navigator, CAT analytic reports, Interact lessons, and companion e-books. However, one thing that I want to note is that the process of accessing the companion books wasn't the easiest.

With regards to the live instruction, I found Jamie to be very successful at teaching people the underlying concepts of the GMAT. In leading the GMAT class, she was not only very thorough in her instruction, but also relatable to the common student. Her ability to break down difficult questions into simpler parts was very helpful for me to understand certain questions that I struggled with. Her personal tips/tricks for certain question types ended up being a game-changer on the actual GMAT.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 19, 2021
singh23

Joined: Jan 19, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V41

Mark Sullivan is a great instructor!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Online

Before I started working with Mark Sullivan, my dream to get into an M7 program was just that - a dream. I scored a 620 on the practice test and I needed to significantly increase my scores to be in contention for a top program.

I was in a general management position that could be all-encompassing - so I knew that I needed a structured program to keep the ball rolling, that was also compatible with my travel schedule. Taking all this into account, the live online program was the perfect fit for me.

From day one, it was an absolute pleasure working with Mark. He was friendly, approachable, and was always enthusiastic about the subject matter. As a 790 scorer, he had lots of tips and tricks to solve problems more effectively. He helped us reframe "problems" to look at them as "puzzles", and challenged us to find the quickest way to the destination. In addition to the Manhattan Prep material, he had tons of additional tools, such as the "arithmetic game" to sharpen our skills. Also, he worked with us to put together individual study plans for us to increase our scores.

He was a great teacher, and a pleasure to learn from. Would wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone looking to sign up for GMAT classes.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 08, 2021
grqchen

Joined: Jun 25, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V41

Manhattan GMAT Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location San Francisco, CA USA

I took both the Manhattan GMAT course and 1x1 sessions with Mark Sullivan. He was AWESOME. He's naturally a great teacher (probably b/c he is a professor by trade!). The class was super engaging (I can genuinely say I actually enjoyed the class and looked forward to it every week, as odd as that sounds!) and he was really good at flexing the material and difficulty levels to the needs of the class. He is SO patient, and adapts the explanation from your point of view, i.e., how you went about the problem and your thought process. He was also SO helpful in follow-up questions I had after class. For one specific instance, I had a quant problem that I followed up with him on via email, and he not only responded quickly, but followed up with a recorded video of him explaining the problem... I was mind blown at the dedication and generosity.

I also really enjoyed our 1x1 sessions. I was struggling with how to organize my personal prep after the class over, so I sought 1x1s with him to prep the last mile ahead of taking the test. He laid out in extreme detail, the daily prep schedule, with drills, additional exercise sheets, etc. Definitely super helpful to have Mark on your team, he is all around a thoughtful, kind, and pleasant person to be around, who inspires confidence in your success :)

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 29, 2020
nyc08

Joined: Dec 29, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

Jamie was fantastic! Take a course with her, you won't regret it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

Jamie is a fantastic instructor and makes the online course format as engaging as possible. She makes the material, particularly Quant, easy to understand and provides her unique strategies for tackling certain types of problems. The post-course assessment was great to provide some structure on how to study after the course ends and before the real exam. It's also great that Manhattan Prep offers a post-exam assessment if you don't meet your score goals so you know what to focus on to prepare for the next exam. Overall Manhattan Prep is a great service for studying for the GMAT, and Jamie in particular is a fantastic instructor who will help you achieve your goal score!

Read More

December 27, 2020
PaulQ

Joined: Dec 19, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

Jamie Nelson is Incredible

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jamie Nelson and the Manhattan Prep team are the reason I scored a 710 and am competitive at any program. The course is tailored toward the needs of the class and Jamie provides tips that cannot me found anywhere else.
She is responsive outside of class and is truly interested in her student's success. I want to especially point out that I am a non-native speaker and scored in the 96th percentile in Verbal. Jamie provides a great process to attack any question and helps you feel confident no matter what level question you face.
She is your best shot at a 700+ score!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

190 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep