GMAT Club

Ryan Starr Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep GMAT


4.8 /5 Average Rating
Based on 8 reviews
October 16, 2018
alicepike

Joined: Oct 16, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

Highly recommended!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I got 730 in the GMAT after taking the 10 week course with Ryan Starr. I had taken it twice before and I wish I had done the course earlier! Ryan has a great teaching style, he really knows his stuff so you feel confident in what you're learning and the classes are fun. The course covers all aspects of the GMAT from exam content to test day strategy to how to control nerves, so all bases are covered. If you want to get your best score then this is absolutely the course you should invest in, don't waste your time with anything else!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 07, 2018
olito

Joined: Dec 26, 2017

Posts: 29

Kudos: 59

Verified score:
700 Q50 V34

AMAZING TUTORING : RYAN STARR !

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Ryan Starr

Location Seoul, Korea

Having already some tutoring experience with another big prep company I am able to distinguish a good tutor from a bad tutor. I have taken about 6 hours with my tutor in the other prep company and it has not brought me much, I guess my quant score improved by 2 or 3. This was because the tutor was focused on trying to teach me things I already knew and did not make much effort to find out where the problem is.

On the other hand, working with Ryan is more or less like going to see a doctor. He will try to get into your shoes and find everything that is wrong. In four hours of tutoring he has not taught me once any concept I could just learn in a guide, instead, he pointed out each and every problem I had and helped me to find a tailored solution. Some of the techniques prep companies teach to students do not all work for everyone, but Ryan knows it and helped me to build my own strategies.

But much more than helping me to build strategies, he has helped me to get into the mindset that gets people to score over 700 on the GMAT. He has initiated his so-called “epiphany”, and a week after I hit a 700 Q50V34 (before we started the tutoring I scored 610 Q45V28). Now I am able to look at more or less any GMAT question, see the traps and avoid them.

Also, Ryan is not someone here just to collect money, you can really feel that he takes pleasure in teaching. He is aware that tutoring is not cheap at all and will tell you to do the things where you do not need him on your own so that you can spend time with him on things that matter.

The return on investment was huge, I very strongly recommend Ryan!

Read More

May 31, 2017
elsa_mou

Joined: May 31, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q45 V42

4-Week Bootcamp London

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I completed the 4-week bootcamp in London in December 2016 and took the GMAT 3 times after bootcamp, getting 720 (42 Verbal / 45 Quant) on the last try. What I loved about the bootcamp was that the classes were structured according to the actual GMAT timing - two ~75m sessions per day and during class we had 2 minutes to work out every question. We learned not only content but invaluable strategies and mindsets that were crucial to acing the test. After the bootcamp, students had access to various free one-on-one sessions (either via Skype or in person) where instructors helped to closely review our strengths/weaknesses and analyze our performance on practice/actual GMAT. I’d highly recommend bootcamp to those who prefer short and intensive studying and have time for a 4-week full-time immersion.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 16, 2016
tmk01

Joined: Mar 05, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
590 Q37 V34

AMAZING TEACHERS = AMAZING RESULTS

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Ryan Starr

Location Online

I cannot say enough GREAT things about the Manhattan Prep Course. From the teachers to the content, the course is definitely worth every penny spent (and more). With the GMAT exam being so long and covering a lot of material, Manhattan Prep does a great job of breaking down the sections. The teachers not only know the material inside and out, but they're also always willing to take extra time to help the individual student. As long as you are willing to put in the effort, the Manhattan Prep course will definitely pay off.

There are so many courses out there to take, and although Manhattan Prep doesn't guarantee, I still decided to take the course because of the structure, broken-down syllabus provided, and the availability of the course content after the course is completed. Manhattan Prep thoroughly screens potential instructors, which is comforting going into a course knowing your instructor is one of the best in the markets.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 17, 2015
Andmmartins

Joined: May 22, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
200

Great On-Demand and Live Classes

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Based on my experience, Manhattan course is the best GMAT prep course out there. Before I started the Manhattan course, I was using Veritas Prep on demand and did not see huge improvement in my practice test scores.

I enrolled in the Manhattan GMAT 9 week prep course and I am finishing my preparation to enroll in the exam.

I attended all the classes and felt that they were a great supplement to my studying. I cannot recommend Manhattan Prep and instructor Ryan Starr enough. Ryan Starr is a fantastic teacher who genuinely cares about his students' performance. Ryan’s tricks and words of encouragement were incredibly helpful in improving my score.

In addition, the website is amazing - "homework help" hours, the on demand prep, the evaluation of the preparation – its making a huge difference.

I believe that the approach to learning that Manhattan Prep has created is what truly makes the course successful.

I can only think of good things to say about the company and the employees of Manhattan.

Read More

December 12, 2015
Jmnjd

Joined: May 22, 2013

Posts: 6

Kudos: 5

A must for the Quant Section

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Ryan Starr

Location Online

Its True: Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success !

The course is very comprehensive given you the opportunity to improve your skills in each of the section tested on Gmat Exam.

The course is special good for the ones who want to improve the quant score - i notice that the mocks exams on quant section are harder than the real exam.

My improvement on quant section were from Q37 to Q47.

Notice that our score really depends on the work he put into studying plan. With discipline, focus, and a time, he can achieve our dream score.

Read More

August 05, 2014
viini

Joined: Aug 05, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Fantastic Course! Bit pricey but worth it

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Ryan Starr

Location Online

I took the Live Online course in preparationg for my first (and only) time taking the GMAT. The class was great - the teachers were engaging and they cover a lot of material. Manhattan GMAT itself has a lot of resources on the website: PDFS, flashcards, practice exams, forums, bonus questions, etc.. They honestly had more resources than I could use and I found the books and the timed practice exams extremeley helpful. I'm very satisfied with the course and my GMAT score - I took the GMAT 3 weeks after my class ended.

Overall, definitely consider taking a course with Manhattan GMAT - it's extremeley pricey (the only reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5) but it's worth it in the end.

Read More

January 03, 2014
anisak

Joined: Jan 03, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best thing I could've done

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The first practice test I took, before I started classes at Manhattan Review, I got a 430. I went to a good university for undergrad and I've always done pretty well in school. So it wasn't the best feeling when I scored that low, especially since my goal was to get at least a 700.

The classes and the books from Manhattan were priceless. My instructor, Ryan Starr (who teaches in Orange County), was exceptional. He's exceptionally patient and very knowledgeable about the content he teaches and about the course itself. Also, the set of Manhattan books became my bible(s) for a couple months - I lived and breathed those books for a couple months.

Needless to say, I received a 710 on my first try. I wouldn't have been able to get that score with out the help of Manhattan Review.

Read More