GMAT Club

Abby Berry Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep GMAT


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 10 reviews
July 22, 2016
edseckel

Joined: Jul 22, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

Amazing Experience with Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was very happy with my experience with Manhattan Prep and my instructor Abby. I took a practice GMAT test cold before the course and got a 580. Flash forward to 3 months later after I completed the course, I walked out of the testing center beaming with a 730 score, hitting my target. Abby kept her classes engaging, and really got to know her students. I personally really appreciated her continuous involvement in my studying even after the course had ended (I took the GMAT about a month after the course was over). She was the perfect combination of encouraging and realism when we discussed my goals. She gave me great insight on ways to improve my school beyond what the Manhattan syllabus regimented as my goal was to achieve a score competitive enough for top business school.
Instructor aside, I found all the tools provided by Manhattan Prep to be very helpful. My personal favorite thing about the program is that their practice exams are harder than the actual GMAT, which made my feel more at ease when taking the actual exam.
Overall I would definitely say they are worth the investment!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 31, 2016
neojoker

Joined: Nov 06, 2013

Posts: 10

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
680 Q45 V38

Amazing prep course!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

The course taught by abby was amazing! she was extremely attentive to the students needs and wasn't afraid to call out students who were paying attention. Her special tips helped me save many minutes on my questions and helped me actually complete the whole exam (as opposed to never finished the exam). I highly recommend her. I first scored a 540 after taking gmat pill and just generally studying by myself. After Manhattan, I scored a 680 (38V, 45Q)! I will attempt to shoot for the golden 700 soon! One particular skill that she taught us was the timing on questions. This skill alone helped my score by 50 points alone! The one area that I wished that there was more of a focus on: IR section. While this is an experimental section, I went into the test not feeling too prepared. Overall, I highly recommend this course to everyone and anyone. Thanks Abby!

Read More

September 02, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Incredible resources available

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

MGMAT instructors are properly vetted (99%ile) and prepped, the course has been developed and refined over years and years, and the amount of resources are so vast they're simply unusable. The course is expensive, but will doubtless help you to organize your study habits and provide you the resources to effectively target your weaknesses. I came in with strong test content knowledge, but I was impressed with how logically and comprehensively the necessary concepts were taught. As with anything, you'll take out of this class what you put into it - but with MGMAT, there's no ceiling to how much you can put in. From homework, to class sessions, to practice tests, each problem you do provides a data point for attacking your weaknesses. If you're willing to do the work, you can't be disappointed with the resources MGMAT puts at your disposal.

Read More

August 08, 2014
aliyasaigol

Joined: Aug 07, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Go with Manhattan GMAT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I would absolutely recommend the Manhattan GMAT course to anyone considering taking the GMAT. I took the 9-week course on UPenn's campus with instructor Abby Berry. Manhattan GMAT provides you with access to more resources than you could ever need to help you prepare for the test (books, practice exams, one-on-one instructor office hours, and their own set of detailed solutions to old GMAT questions). Not only that, the in-class sessions teach amazing test-taking tips and strategies that ultimately helped me score in the 99th percentile on the GMAT. Manhattan GMAT is truly the way to go if you want to score above 700.

Read More

July 11, 2014
gconway

Joined: Jul 11, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Manhattan GMAT -- got me to a 740

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took a 9-week course in Spring 2014. The materials provided by Manhattan GMAT are invaluable. I found the set of math books to be extremely helpful -- the books are separated into various topics, such as Fractions/Decimals/Percents or Word Problems, and provide easy-to-follow steps and quick tricks to solve these problems. I had a very limited understanding of these basic math concepts (I hadn't taken a math class in a few years) before taking this course and the books quickly brought me up to competitive levels. The Quant problems are very difficult which also helped prepare me for test day. There are also plenty of practice problems provided both by Manhattan and MBA.com's Official Guide of problems. I found the online resources unrivaled with any other program. The online resources provide a platform for you to time yourself and plug in the answers to problems from the Official Guide and then synthesize all of the data to highlight weak and strong points. The online practice tests have similar tools, such as showing areas where you move too fast or too slowly, or where you need the most work. I found that incredibly helpful as I was able to focus on my problem areas for most of the course and then honed in on my strengths in the days before the exam. The IR sections are incredibly difficult on Manhattan GMAT, but again, they prepared me for test day and I received a score of 8. My instructor for the course (Abby Berry) was professional, energetic and had a genuine interest in each student. She tailored the course to fit the class's needs rather than following a rigid and generic structure which I found very helpful. Manhattan GMAT helped me bring my score to levels competitive with the averages of the top five business schools and I am very satisfied with my outcome. I would highly recommend this course.

Read More


5 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Abby Berry