GMAT Club

Kim Cabot Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep GMAT


4.8 /5 Average Rating
Based on 11 reviews
January 18, 2017
ppplll

Joined: Feb 28, 2016

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q47 V44

Great for verbal. Good for quant up to a point.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Instructed by Kim Cabot.

She was truly excellent. I think the Manhattan Prep materials are pretty good, but Kim was great, because where they weren't, she would provide alternative strategies. A good example here would be the Critical Reasoning questions. Kim taught us a more efficient method than Manhattan Prep had in its materials. This saved me at least 20 seconds per question, which could then be used elsewhere.

The online Manhattan Prep materials were great. I really appreciated there answer explanations to official questions, because the answers in the official book tend to be poor.

My only critique with Manhattan Prep is I feel like their materials are not set up for you to get a great score in quant. For the max difficulty questions, you have to have a bunch of tricks and alternative techniques on hand. I had to find these on message boards.

Would recommend, Kim especially.

Read More

September 15, 2016
gracekmyers

Joined: Sep 15, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q49 V47

Kim at Manhattan Prep was incredible... highly recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Kim was well prepared for every class and shared insights that were unbelievably helpful for my performance. She made us feel comfortable asking questions but held us to a high standard in terms of keeping pace with the class. The class was the perfect length and helped me feel confident to take the GMAT 4 weeks after my last class ended. I've taken other courses like this in the past and none worked or made me feel as prepared as Kim did. Manhattan has great materials and both verbal and quant supplementary guides so you never run out of content to practice with.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 09, 2016
shortstop

Joined: Apr 02, 2015

Posts: 42

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Highly recommend course, materials, and instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I did a TON of research into prep classes and ultimately decided with Manhattan Prep. For me, I knew I needed an in-person/structured format to keep me on track. I am very happy I did. When I took an MP diagnostic, I got a very upsetting score of 520. How would I ever improve to my goal of 700+?? Thankfully I took my class with Kim Cabot!

Thoughts on Manhattan Prep: the materials they provide are second to none. With the 9-session prep course, you get all their books, full suite of tests, and interactive lessons/OG answer bank. I was referencing these materials for months after the course and found them to be invaluable learning and practice tools. Be warned, their tests (particularly Quant and IR) are much more difficult than GMAT Prep in my opinion, likely by design. In addition, they offer phone support: end of class review/personal study plan + retake advice.

Thoughts on my instructor, Kim Cabot: very engaging and SO knowledgeable. If I didn't have an instructor like Kim, I likely would have psyched myself out of taking the test long ago. Not only did she teach the technical skills in an engaging manner, but also the tips & tricks of being a GMAT boss that were only provided in the context of a classroom — such as when it came to timing, proving to be invaluable. She brought insight to both core sections very well, helping emphasize the importance of verbal even when we (the students) were all so focused on quant. She was also very accessible and personable.

In the end, I got a 760. For a score like this, definitely be prepared to put in the work. Overall, though, I definitely recommend Manhattan!

Read More

August 01, 2016
mittalrajat

Joined: Aug 01, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Excellent Course and Instructor !!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Course Material and Content
Let me start by saying that I highly recommend his course. I needed help primarily with the verbal section as I am a non-native English speaker. The course starts with fundamentals and gradually builds upon them. The Navigator tool and in-depth review of mock tests are extremely useful as they inform you very precisely of the areas where you are lagging behind.

Instructor
Kim Cabot needs no introduction as is evident from already existing reviews of hers. She has a great understanding of GMAT questions and knows exactly what to look for in the responses. In Quants, some of the tricks she mentioned in the classes provided me with an alternate way of solving problems. With regards to the verbal section, I found her structured approach to problem solving extremely useful. Very soon you realize that GMAT verbal section is a test less of English proficiency but more of eliminating wrong choices as quickly as possible. The most remarkable attribute of her instruction is that it instills in you a belief that a good score can be achieved with smart work and meticulous error logging.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 07, 2014
chnster888

Joined: Aug 07, 2014

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
760 Q48 V47

Manhattan GMAT - 5 Stars!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took Manhattan GMAT's in person complete course and had a great experience. Kim, my teacher, was awesome - she was passionate about the subject and was excellent at both explaining the concepts needed for the exam and presenting strategies for dealing with difficult problems. The course materials were great as well – the practice exams were a good simulation of the real thing, the homework was helpful in learning/reviewing the necessary concepts, and the extra problems excellent at providing additional practice. Overall my score improved 110 points from the first diagnostic test that I took, and I ended up scoring in the 99th percentile on the real test.

Read More


6 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Kim Cabot