GMAT Club

David Mahler Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep GMAT


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 18 reviews
October 07, 2019
Carnage18

Joined: May 05, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

The Best for GMAT Preparation. Dave Mahler is Awesome

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took both the in-person 9 week course as well as a few supplemental in-person tutoring sessions with Dave Mahler (instructor for both).

The course was a great introduction to the proper approach to each section and topic matters as well as best practices. The books are well-written and there is a wide range of basic through advanced material for everyone. Dave did a great job managing students' different levels of comfort with each topic and is a very engaging teacher. He cuts through a lot of the BS and makes sure that his students are focusing their time on the most important topics. Dave was also generous with his time, both before and after class as well as offering to answer one off questions or review practice test scores with all his students via email. My score went from an initial 660 up to 700 following the class when I had to take some time off from studying due to work commitments.

I engaged Dave for some top-up tutoring a few weeks later and he helped me diagnose a few key process areas that were deflating my score as well as teaching me new techniques to help with problematic content areas. He was also great about providing tailored follow-up problems that helped reinforce the areas covered each session for extra practice. Following a few one on one sessions with him I was able to bump my score to 740 and couldn't be happier with my decision to use MGMAT for my prep.

From the instructors to the online portal for tracking assignments and all of the excellent content, Manhattan Prep definitely went the extra mile to help its students succeed.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 10, 2018
tconklin1992

Joined: Sep 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V46

Great Success

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I participated in David Mahler’s ten-week Manhattan Prep GMAT course in Spring/Summer 2018. Following an initial practice exam score of 590, I scored a 760 on my first and only GMAT sitting in July.



Having not been acquainted with the exam format or any official GMAT resources, I selected Manhattan Prep as a familiar service with a positive reputation in New York and among my undergraduate classmates. I completed my undergraduate degree in 2014 and am applying this fall to MBA programs for matriculation in Fall 2019. I considered the GMAT to be an unpredictable and time-consuming first step in the admissions process. I knew I needed to prepare strategically, given my time constraint, which justified the course investment.



For me, the robust course materials and carefully organized curriculum were critical for achieving a high score. The strategy guides necessarily walked me through a massive variety of content I hadn’t encountered since high school. Infamously, this content represents only half the battle. The GMAT also tests strategy and decision making, and, in my experience, emotional composure. Rather than separating the content from these components, the strategy guides themselves incorporate these challenges throughout. For example: I found the importance of strategy selection during the Quant section to be remarkable. Solving a problem with even the most refined “textbook” technique is frequently penalized by way of time. As the curriculum advances through Quant subjects, the books reiterate alternative (or “shortcut”) strategies in their different applications. Only purposeful practice with several strategies and, more importantly, review of that practice, can bolster one’s ability to select efficient strategies or cut bait when necessary. Not only do the Manhattan Prep strategy guides cover content with digestible pace and organization, they immerse that content in strategy and in the context of agile decision-making. While it is impossible to benchmark, I think the strategy guides alone enabled me to score in the 700-720 range (a far cry from where I began). The books are ordered, which helps organize studying and makes them less daunting to approach. For those on a budget and/or not local to New York, the materials are a rich resource on their own and well worth the investment.



In order to score those additional 40-60 points (it’s all relative), I believe the in-person class to be worth the incremental investment. Research the instructors and consult the online reviews. I had an exceptional and memorable experience with David Mahler, whose instruction was as effective as any college professor I can remember. While I chose Dave because we shared an Alma Mater and he recorded a 790 GMAT, I believe online reviews such as this one testify to his talent and led many of my classmates to choose his course. I’ll begin there: my section was fully booked with ~12 students as opposed to a section with four or five students that I addended as a make-up. All things equal, the smaller section was surprisingly less productive than the larger. The smaller headcount did not come closer to resembling a tutored course—if there is even one other student the curriculum cannot be tailored to you. The increased individual attention only caused the instructor to check in with each student before proceeding to the next practice question or topic. Class is not about solving individual problems—there are too many to address. Rather, as Dave emphasized, a class succeeds if it can polish your study and review process. You must prepare mostly on your own. As a person that struggles with self-regimen, I needed Dave’s guidance to “work smarter” and accomplish as much as possible with the little time I had. Dave held us accountable in our coursework. There was no passing his class, as his objective was to nudge us as close to our potential as was possible in ten weeks… you are not evaluated by your instructor. I performed well on the problems in class, but this was not a barometer of my ability relative to my classmates. It was an opportunity, each time, to recognize areas of improvement and consider better strategies. I got careless and made silly mistakes. Dave did not hesitate to knock me down a peg and I never once felt like I “passed the test”. There was always a critique to be made and a weakness to recognize in future problems, when exams don’t break for discussion, when there are 20 problems ahead, when review is no longer a luxury. Dave was able to challenge every person in the room at once, facilitating discussion and holding attention. It was masterful instruction and it was a blast.



The GMAT is a terrific test. I don’t believe it can be conquered, but I know that it can be whittled down to a more manageable feat. Believe it or not, that process can be fun. No exam, including the GMAT, can print an objective assessment of your intelligence. The GMAT doesn’t try to do this. It anchors itself in 30-60-90 right triangles and comma splices and proceeds to test your decision-making and composure. But it doesn’t do this mysteriously—there’s tape on its schemes that you mustn’t break down yourself. Manhattan Prep has done it for you. I can’t imagine approaching the GMAT without being coached on its tricks. It is my enthusiastic recommendation that any prospective MBA student prepare for the GMAT with David Mahler and Manhattan Prep. The cost was a large investment for me, and provided an overwhelming return, which feels pretty good.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 02, 2018
Tyrontham

Joined: May 30, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V42

720 from 590. David Mahler - The best.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (David Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test. Quite frankly, I could not have managed the 720 without Manhattan Prep.

1. The 9-week course: This was a great start for me as my math skills were very rusty (haven't touched math since high school and my day-to-day work doesn't require the use of any meaningful quant skill - I'm a lawyer). The math foundations and GMAT test strategies explored in class were concise and immediately helpful. Dave Mahler was our instructor - I highly recommend him for the clarity with which he explains tough concepts (particularly Data Sufficiency and Critical Reasoning). FYI the 9-week course comes with the full suite of Manhattan Prep Books, which were all great - concise, clear, and effective - no verbiage which is good for busy professionals.

2. Private tutoring: After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's 9 week course and private tutoring are both very strongly recommended. Manhattan Prep's books are very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 02, 2018
Tyrontham

Joined: May 30, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V42

720 from 590 - Money well spent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (David Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test. Quite frankly, I could not have managed the 720 without Manhattan Prep.

1. The 9-week course: This was a great start for me as my math skills were very rusty (haven't touched math since high school and my day-to-day work doesn't require the use of any meaningful quant skill - I'm a lawyer). The math foundations and GMAT test strategies explored in class were concise and immediately helpful. Dave Mahler was our instructor - I highly recommend him for the clarity with which he explains tough concepts (particularly Data Sufficiency and Critical Reasoning). FYI the 9-week course comes with the full suite of Manhattan Prep Books, which were all great - concise, clear, and effective - no verbiage which is good for busy professionals.

2. Private tutoring: After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's 9 week course and private tutoring are both very strongly recommended. Manhattan Prep's books are very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 29, 2017
accy410

Joined: Dec 29, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41

Thank you David, and Manhattan GMAT!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I got my target score of 720+ thanks to Manhattan Prep, and highly recommend the MP program to anyone who is seriously considering applying to a top b-school. I say this for a few reasons:
1) The resources and course content are unparalleled, and very well structured. You start the process by taking a practice test that immediately pin-points your strengths vs areas that may need improvement, and then track your progress by taking more exams throughout the course.
2) The content is carefully curated, and is structured in a way that makes the classes effective without being overwhelming. The MP problem sets enable you to absorb content in the most efficient way.
3) The online interface is well designed and easy to use. Whenever I saw other interfaces friends were using, I was always thankful I decided on MP.
4) The instructor that I had (David Mahler) was amazing. He was intelligent, personable, always prepared, and a great teacher. He was diligent in answering emails, and always made himself available to students.
5) On top of the classes, Manhattan Prep offered a ton of events with top MBA programs which really helps when you get to the application stage.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 21, 2017
mbreitstein

Joined: Nov 09, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q51 V45

Great Course; Great Teacher

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Really enjoyed my course with David Mahler. My first practice exam was in the 500's range and I ended up with a 770. Even though I could have studied alone, the course itself added great structure, with amazing advice / techniques from David. Then of course, Manhattan Prep has amazing materials / practice tests etc. which get you to an advanced level.

Overall, I recommend the course for anyone, no matter what level they are on the test, unless you're in a particular rush or require individual attention. The structure of going to a weekly course is particularly helpful and the weekly assignments keep you on pace and on track.

Thanks a lot David!!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 24, 2017
maggieaker

Joined: Aug 24, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q42 V44

If you actually take their advice, you'll improve your score.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Manhattan Prep knows what they are doing. Their teachers are experienced and will undoubtedly help you improve your score. Beyond some essential strategies for approaching timing and specific question types, the most valuable thing this class will teach you is how to study for the test. The test is overwhelming enough, so for me, having a class that helped me focus my study time and energy was invaluable. My only gripe is that I wish the class was more affordable so as not to disadvantage those who can't dish out ~$1,500 in addition to the cost of actually taking the test. It would also be great if they had a program to sell back the books from the class, assuming they are in good condition.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 15, 2017
Carlagab

Joined: Jun 15, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q47 V44

Manhattan Prep 9-week course GMAT review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This course was a great starting point to getting me kicked off on my GMAT prep. You go through all the content and get familiarized with all the different types of questions, guided by an instructor who knows the best techniques and teaches you how to approach the exam both from a holistic viewpoint (timing, mindset, scoring system, etc) and a sectioned viewpoint (specific question-type techniques).

I found that ultimately, my score only got better the more I practiced on my own and the more practice tests I took. This course was super important in guiding my approach and ensuring I was tackling questions and problems the right way.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 15, 2017
mattgroves12

Joined: Oct 24, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q44 V44

Great Success with Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took a 9-session GMAT prep class with Manhattan Prep in the fall of 2016 and had great success. My instructor was David Mahler and he did a really good job at getting the class involved and fostering discussion around the questions. I took a practice test completely cold before attending the class or reviewing any materials and got a 600. After completing the class I studied independently for another month and then scored a 720. My target score was anything above a 700 so I was very happy with my result. Below is pro/con summary of the Manhattan Prep (MGMAT) class:

Pros:
- Attending class keeps you motivated and focused on studying for the GMAT and provides a structured curriculum
- MGMAT study materials are very good
- The class forces you to take additional practice tests which is very valuable and you can the practice tests at their office in the test environment which is similar to the actual test
- My instructor, David Mahler, was very patient and good at explaining the material and get the class thinking on their own how to solve problems
- The course provides a good homework curriculum outside of class. There is significant homework (if you are serious about studying, around 15 hours a week) but in my book this is a good thing. The homework is typically studying lessons from MGMAT materials and then associated problem sets in the Official Guide.

Cons:
- My only complaint is that I would have liked to focus on more advanced math concepts in class (the homework curriculum and study guides include advanced math concepts, however we did not go that deep in class)

Bottom Line: If you are serious about scoring well on the GMAT and putting in the work, there is no doubt that Manhattan Prep will boost your score. I would 100% recommend to anyone planning on taking the test.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 26, 2016
jasdnat

Joined: May 27, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

Went into class blind - walked out with 740

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I went into Manhattan Prep’s 9 week GMAT course (with teacher David Mahler) completely blind - I had not opened a book prior to the first class and was 6 years removed from my last college course. The class was totally comprehensive - after the 9 weeks, plus a few extra sessions with David to polish off my skills, I was in a great place to take the test. Got a 740 on my first attempt and never have to think about it again!

I highly recommend this course to anybody who could use a bit of structure in their studying. Also David rocks.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

2 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for David Mahler